C-26, r. 277 - Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 277
Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec
CERTIFIED TRANSLATORS, TERMINOLOGIST AND INTERPRETERS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
December 17 2015
Replaced, Décision 2015-11-06; 2015 G.O. 2, 4572; eff. 2015-12-17; see chapter C-26, r. 276.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The Certification Committee of the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate who is applying for an equivalence.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 1.
2. The Committee shall meet at least once every 4 months and not less than 4 times per year.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 2.
DIVISION II
PROCEDURE FOR THE RECOGNITION OF AN EQUIVALENCE
3. A candidate applying for an equivalence shall provide the board of directors with the documents below that are necessary to support the application accompanied with the fees related to the examination of the application:
(1)  the candidate’s academic record, including a description of the courses taken and the marks obtained;
(2)  proof that the candidate has obtained a diploma, that is, a true copy certified by the educational establishment that issued the diploma;
(3)  an official document attesting to the candidate’s participation in a training period or relevant work experience.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 3.
4. The documents sent to support an application for equivalence of a diploma or training, written in a language other than French or English, shall be accompanied by a translation in French or English, certified in a sworn statement by the person who translated them.
In this Regulation,
“diploma equivalence” means recognition by the board of directors that a diploma certifies that the level of knowledge attained by a candidate is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as giving access to the permit;
“training equivalence” means recognition by the board of directors that a candidate’s training demonstrates that the latter has attained a level of knowledge equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 4.
5. The board of directors shall forward the documents prescribed in section 3 to the Committee which shall study the application for equivalence and make a recommendation.
For the purposes of the first paragraph, the Committee may call on the provincial, national and international university network or the diplomatic network to obtain a notice that should give the Committee reasonable certainty of the candidate’s professional knowledge of both languages that the latter wishes to include in the pair of transfer languages (source language and target language).
O.C. 1042-98, s. 5.
6. At the first meeting following the receipt of the Committee’s report, the board of directors shall decide whether or not the equivalence shall be recognized and inform each candidate in writing thereof.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 6.
7. Within 30 days of the decision not to recognize an equivalence, the board of directors shall notify the candidate in writing thereof, giving reasons and indicating the program of studies or training sessions to be successfully completed for an equivalence to be recognized considering the candidate’s current level of knowledge.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 7.
8. The candidate who receives the information referred to in section 7 may ask the board of directors to be heard on the condition that the candidate applies in writing to the secretary within 30 days of the mailing of the decision not to recognize a diploma or training equivalence.
The board of directors shall hear the candidate within 45 days of receipt of that request for a hearing and, where applicable, review its decision. For that purpose, the secretary shall convene the candidate in writing, by certified or registered mail, at least 10 days before such hearing.
The decision of the board of directors is final and shall be sent to the candidate in writing, within 30 days of the hearing.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 8.
DIVISION III
EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS FOR DIPLOMAS
9. A candidate who holds a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec may be granted an equivalence if the candidate meets the conditions provided for in section 3 and if the diploma was awarded upon completion of university-level studies complying with the following parameters:
(1)  for the category of Certified Translator, an undergraduate degree comprising a minimum of 30 credits concentrated on language transfer (in particular, translation into the foreign language, translation into the mother tongue, research techniques and revision) from a source language to a target language and vice versa, and 30 credits in fields such as modern languages, comparative stylistics (language differentials), cultural topics, grammar and writing;
(2)  for the category of Certified Interpreter, a graduate degree comprising a minimum of 15 credits concentrated on interpretation from a source language to a target language and vice versa, and 9 credits concentrated on a directed study in interpretation;
(3)  for the category of Certified Terminologist, an undergraduate degree comprising a minimum of 30 credits concentrated on language transfer (in particular translation into the foreign language, translation into the mother tongue, research techniques and revision), a minimum of 6 credits in terminology and 24 credits in fields such as modern languages, comparative stylistics (language differentials), cultural topics, grammar and writing.
In this section, “credit” means the quantitative value allotted to the work load required from a student, one credit corresponding to 45 hours of attendance at a course and of personal work as part of a course.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 9.
10. Notwithstanding section 9, where the diploma that is the subject of an application for equivalence was awarded 5 years or more before the application, the equivalence shall be refused if, following developments in the profession, the knowledge acquired by the candidate no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently taught.
In such a case, a training equivalence may be granted in accordance with section 11 if the training acquired since then allowed him to attain the required level of knowledge.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 10.
DIVISION IV
EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS FOR TRAINING
11. A candidate may be granted a training equivalence if the latter proves that he has acquired
(1)  a level of knowledge equivalent to the level of knowledge attained by the holder of a university-level diploma in translation, terminology or interpretation recognized by the Government under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26); and
(2)  certified relevant work experience of at least 5 years full-time.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 11.
12. To determine whether a candidate has attained the level of knowledge and experience required in section 11, the board of directors shall take all of the following factors into account:
(1)  the fact that the candidate holds one or several diplomas awarded in Québec or elsewhere;
(2)  the courses taken;
(3)  the training periods completed;
(4)  the total number of years of schooling.
In cases where the assessment made under the first paragraph does not allow for a decision to be made, the board of directors may ask the candidate to complete a training period or pass an examination in order to complete the assessment.
O.C. 1042-98, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 1042-98, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1042-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 3697
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-26, r. 277 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 277
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec
TRADUCTEURS, TERMINOLOGUES ET INTERPRÈTES AGRÉÉS — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c and c.1).
C-26
17 décembre 2015
Remplacé, Décision 2015-11-06; 2015 G.O. 2, 4572; eff. 2015-12-17; voir chapitre C-26, r. 276.1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le comité de l’agrément de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui désire faire reconnaître une équivalence.
D. 1042-98, a. 1.
2. Le comité doit se réunir au moins une fois par 4 mois et pas moins de 4 fois par année.
D. 1042-98, a. 2.
SECTION II
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE D’UNE ÉQUIVALENCE
3. Un candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence doit fournir au Conseil d’administration ceux des documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande, accompagnés des frais relatifs à l’étude de son dossier:
1°  son dossier d’études incluant la description des cours suivis et des résultats obtenus;
2°  une preuve de l’obtention de tout diplôme, à savoir une copie certifiée conforme par l’établissement d’enseignement ayant délivré le diplôme;
3°  une attestation et une description de sa participation à des stages de formation ou de son expérience pertinente de travail.
D. 1042-98, a. 3.
4. Les documents transmis à l’appui de la demande d’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation, qui sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français ou en anglais, attestée par une déclaration sous serment de la personne responsable de la traduction.
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration qu’un diplôme atteste l’acquisition par un candidat d’un niveau de connaissances équivalent à celui acquis par le détenteur d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de formation»: la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration que la formation d’un candidat démontre que celui-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances équivalent à celui acquis par le détenteur d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1042-98, a. 4.
5. Le Conseil d’administration transmet les documents prévus à l’article 3 au comité qui étudie les demandes d’équivalence et formule une recommandation.
Aux fins du premier alinéa, le comité peut faire appel au réseau universitaire provincial, national et international ou au réseau diplomatique pour obtenir un avis devant lui donner l’assurance raisonnable que le candidat a une connaissance professionnelle des langues qu’il veut inclure dans le binôme de transfert linguistique (langues de départ et d’arrivée).
D. 1042-98, a. 5.
6. À la première réunion qui suit la réception du rapport de ce comité, le Conseil d’administration décide s’il reconnaît ou non l’équivalence et informe chaque candidat par écrit de sa décision.
D. 1042-98, a. 6.
7. Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence, le Conseil d’administration doit en faire part par écrit au candidat et lui en indiquer les motifs ainsi que les programmes d’études et les stages dont la réussite, compte tenu de son niveau actuel de connaissances, lui permettraient de bénéficier de cette équivalence.
D. 1042-98, a. 7.
8. Le candidat qui reçoit les informations visées à l’article 7 peut demander au Conseil d’administration de se faire entendre à condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la mise à la poste de la décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation.
Le Conseil d’administration dispose d’un délai de 45 jours à compter de la date de la réception de cette demande d’audience pour entendre le candidat et, s’il y a lieu, réviser sa décision. À cette fin, le secrétaire envoie au candidat une convocation par écrit, transmise sous pli recommandé ou par poste certifiée, au moins 10 jours avant la date de cette audience.
La décision du Conseil d’administration est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 30 jours de la date de l’audience.
D. 1042-98, a. 8.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
9. Un candidat qui détient un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec peut obtenir une équivalence s’il a rempli les conditions prévues à l’article 3 et si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau universitaire respectant les paramètres suivants:
1°  pour la catégorie de traducteur agréé, un diplôme de 1er cycle comportant un minimum de 30 crédits axés sur le transfert linguistique (notamment thèmes, versions, techniques de recherche documentaire et révision) d’une langue passive à une langue active et vice-versa, et de 30 crédits portant entre autres sur les langues vivantes, la stylistique comparée (interférence linguistique), le contexte culturel, la grammaire et la rédaction;
2°  pour la catégorie d’interprète agréé, un diplôme de 2e cycle comportant un minimum de 15 crédits axés sur l’interprétation d’une langue passive à une langue active et vice-versa, et de 9 crédits portant sur un travail dirigé en interprétation;
3°  pour la catégorie de terminologue agréé, un diplôme de 1er cycle comportant un minimum de 30 crédits axés sur le transfert linguistique (notamment thèmes, versions, techniques de recherche documentaire et révision), un minimum de 6 crédits sur l’apprentissage de la terminologie et 24 crédits portant entre autres sur les langues vivantes, la stylistique comparée (interférence linguistique), le contexte culturel, la grammaire et la rédaction.
Dans le présent article, on entend par «crédit» la valeur quantitative attribuée à la charge de travail exigée d’un étudiant, un crédit représentant 45 heures de présence en classe et de travail personnel dans le cadre d’un cours.
D. 1042-98, a. 9.
10. Nonobstant l’article 9, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant cette demande, l’équivalence doit être refusée si les connaissances acquises par le candidat ne correspondent plus, suite au développement de la profession, aux connaissances présentement enseignées.
Dans ce cas, une équivalence de formation peut être reconnue conformément à l’article 11 si la formation qu’il a pu acquérir depuis lui a permis d’atteindre le niveau de connaissances requis.
D. 1042-98, a. 10.
SECTION IV
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE FORMATION
11. Un candidat peut bénéficier d’une équivalence de formation si celui-ci démontre qu’il possède à la fois:
1°  un niveau de connaissances équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme de niveau universitaire en traduction, en terminologie ou en interprétation reconnu par le gouvernement en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
2°  une expérience pertinente de travail attestée d’une durée minimale de 5 ans à temps plein.
D. 1042-98, a. 11.
12. Afin de déterminer si le candidat démontre qu’il possède le niveau de connaissances et d’expérience requis à l’article 11, le Conseil d’administration tient compte de l’ensemble des facteurs suivants:
1°  le fait que le candidat détienne un ou plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
2°  les cours suivis;
3°  les stages de formation suivis;
4°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité.
Dans les cas où l’appréciation faite en vertu du premier alinéa ne permet pas de prendre une décision, le Conseil d’administration peut demander à la personne de faire un stage ou de réussir un examen afin de compléter cette appréciation.
D. 1042-98, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 1042-98, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1042-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 4953
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212