C-26, r. 276 - Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of certified translator, terminologist or interpreter within a partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 276
Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of certified translator, terminologist or interpreter within a partnership or a joint-stock company
CERTIFIED TRANSLATORS, TERMINOLOGISTS AND INTERPRETERS — PRACTICE
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. g and h and s. 94, par. p).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. A member of the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec may, on the terms, conditions and restrictions set out in this Regulation, carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 1.
2. A member of the Order may carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company that holds itself out to be exclusively a partnership or joint-stock company of certified translators, terminologists or interpreters or a combination of translators, terminologists or interpreters, if
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the company shares or partnership units are held by the following persons or trusts or a combination of persons or trusts:
(a)  members of the Order;
(b)  a joint-stock company where at least 90% of the voting rights attached to the shares are held by members of the Order;
(c)  a trust where all the trustees are members of the Order;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the board of directors of the joint-stock company, the partners or, as the case may be, the managers appointed by the partners to manage the affairs of the limited liability partnership are members of the Order;
(3)  the quorum for the board of directors of the joint-stock company is formed of a majority of members of the Order; and
(4)  the chair of the board of directors of the joint-stock company or the person who performs similar functions in a limited liability partnership is a member of the Order and, as the case may be, a shareholder with voting rights or a partner.
A member of the Order must ensure that the conditions listed in the first paragraph appear, as the case may be, in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the contract of the partnership and that those documents also provide that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 2.
3. In cases other than those provided for in section 2, a member of the Order is authorized to carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership, if
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the company shares or partnership units are held by the following persons or trusts or a combination of persons or trusts:
(a)  1 or more members of a professional order governed by the Professional Code (chapter C-26) or 1 member of one of the following professional associations:
— an association of translators, terminologists or interpreters that is a member of the Canadian Translators, Terminologists and Interpreters Council;
— an order of accountants governed by the law of another Canadian province or territory;
— a law society governed by the law of another Canadian province or territory;
(b)  a joint-stock company where at least 90% of the voting rights attached to the shares are held by persons referred to in subparagraph a;
(c)  a trust where all the trustees are persons referred to in subparagraph a;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the board of directors of the joint-stock company, the partners or, as the case may be, the managers appointed by the partners to manage the affairs of the limited liability partnership are persons referred to in subparagraph a of subparagraph 1; and
(3)  the quorum for the board of directors of the joint-stock company is formed of a majority of persons referred to in subparagraph a of subparagraph 1.
A member of the Order must ensure that the conditions listed in the first paragraph appear, as the case may be, in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the contract of the limited liability partnership and that those documents also provide that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 3.
4. A member of the Order who wishes to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must, before carrying on those activities, provide the secretary of the Order with
(1)  a declaration made on the form provided by the Order, accompanied by the fees set by the board of directors, containing
(a)  the member’s name, number and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(b)  the partnership or joint-stock company name and any other names used in Québec by the partnership or joint-stock company and the registration number assigned to it by the enterprise registrar;
(c)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(d)  in the case of a joint-stock company, the address of the head office of the company and of its establishments in Québec, the names and home addresses of all the shareholders, their percentage of shares with voting rights and of shares without voting rights, the names and home addresses of the directors and officers, and the Order or professional association of which they are members, if applicable;
(e)  in the case of a limited liability partnership, the address of the establishments of the partnership in Québec, specifying the address of the principal establishment, names and home addresses of the partners, and, if applicable, the names and home addresses of the directors appointed by the partners to manage the partnership, whether or not they reside in Québec and the Order or professional association of which they are members, if applicable; and
(f)  if applicable, the date on which the general partnership has become a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company;
(2)  a document issued by a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is covered by security in compliance with Division II;
(3)  in the case of a joint-stock company, a copy of its constituting act and a document issued by a competent authority certifying that the company exists;
(4)  a document issued by a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is registered in Québec;
(5)  an irrevocable authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company within which the member practises allowing a person, committee, council or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to require disclosure of and obtain any document listed in section 11 from a person or to obtain a true copy of such a document; and
(6)  if applicable, a true copy of the declaration required under the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (chapter P-44.1), stating that the general partnership has become a limited liability partnership.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 4.
5. A member of the Order must
(1)  update and provide, before 31 March of each year, the declaration prescribed in paragraph 1 of section 4; and
(2)  promptly notify the secretary of the Order of any change in the security prescribed in Division II or in the information given under paragraph 1 of section 4 which would entail a violation of the conditions set out in section 2 or 3.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 5.
6. Where a member of the Order becomes aware that a condition set out in this Regulation or in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) is no longer met, the member must, within 15 days, take the necessary measures to comply, failing which, the member is no longer authorized to carry on activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 6.
7. If 2 or more members of the Order carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, they may designate a representative to act on behalf of all the members of the Order in that partnership or company, to meet the conditions set out in section 4 or 5. The representative must provide the information and documents that the members of the Order must send to the Order and reply to requests made by the syndic, an inspector, an investigator or any other representative of the Order.
The representative must be a member of the Order who carries on professional activities in Québec within the partnership or joint-stock company.
The representative must ensure the accuracy of the information indicated in the declaration referred to in section 4, except the home addresses of partners, directors, managers, and officers of the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 7.
DIVISION II
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
8. A member of the Order carrying on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must, to be authorized to carry on professional activities in accordance with this Regulation, furnish and maintain security on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company, by means of an insurance or suretyship contract, or by joining a group plan contract taken out by the Order, against the liability of the partnership or joint-stock company arising from fault on the part of their members in the carrying on of their professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 8.
9. The security must include
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to pay in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company, over and above the amount of the security to be furnished by the member pursuant to the Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec (chapter C-26, r. 267) or the coverage actually taken out by the member if it is greater, up to the amount of the security, any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay to a third person on a claim filed during the coverage period and arising from fault on the part of a member in the carrying on of professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all legal costs and expenses of actions against the partnership or joint-stock company, including those of the inquiry and defence, and interest on the amount of the security;
(3)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety that the security is at least $1,000,000 per claim and for all claims filed against the partnership or joint-stock company within a 12-month coverage period;
(4)  where a member of the Order carries on professional activities as sole shareholder of a joint-stock company, an undertaking by the insurer or surety that the security is at least $500,000 per claim and for all claims filed against the company within a 12-month coverage period;
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to give the secretary of the Order a 30-day prior notice of intent to terminate the security, to modify any of the conditions set out in this section or not to renew the security.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 9; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
10. The suretyship contract referred to in section 8 must be with a bank, a savings and credit union, trust or insurance company domiciled in Canada and having and maintaining sufficient property in Québec to meet the coverage required under this Division.
The surety must waive the benefit of division and discussion.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 10.
DIVISION III
DOCUMENT ACCESSIBILITY
11. The documents that may be required from a partnership or joint-stock company pursuant to paragraph 5 of section 4 are the following:
(1)  if the member of the Order practises within a joint-stock company,
(a)  an up-to-date register of the articles and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(b)  an up-to-date register of the securities of the joint-stock company;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the shareholders of the joint-stock company;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(e)  any shareholders’ agreement or voting agreement, and subsequent amendments;
(f)  any agreement concerning a stock option with voting or concerning any other rights, even if conditional, granted to a person to be issued such stock;
(g)  the registration declaration of the joint-stock company and any update; and
(h)  an up-to-date list of the joint-stock company’s principal officers and their home addresses;
(2)  if the member of the Order practises within a limited liability partnership,
(a)  the partnership contract and subsequent amendments;
(b)  the registration declaration of the partnership and any update;
(c)  an up-to-date list of the managers appointed by the partners to manage the partnership and their home addresses; and
(d)  an up-to-date register of the partners.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 11.
DIVISION IV
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
12. A member of the Order who practises within a joint-stock company constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities before 6 January 2011 must comply with this Regulation not later than one year following that date.
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 1091-2010, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1091-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 4015
S.Q. 2010, c. 7, s. 282

C-26, r. 276 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de traducteur, terminologue ou interprète agréé en société

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 276
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de traducteur, terminologue ou interprète agréé en société
TRADUCTEURS, TERMINOLOGUES ET INTERPRÈTES AGRÉÉS — EXERCICE
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93 par. g et h et a. 94 par. p)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Un membre de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec peut, aux conditions, modalités et restrictions prévues par le présent règlement, exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions ou d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
D. 1091-2010, a. 1.
2. Un membre de l’Ordre peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société qui se présente exclusivement comme une société de traducteurs, de terminologues ou d’interprètes agréés ou une combinaison de ceux-ci, si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus par les personnes ou les fiducies suivantes ou une combinaison de celles-ci:
a)  des membres de l’Ordre;
b)  une société par actions dont au moins 90% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions sont détenus par des membres de l’Ordre;
c)  une fiducie dont tous les fiduciaires sont des membres de l’Ordre;
2°  les administrateurs du conseil d’administration de la société par actions, les associés ou, selon le cas, les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour administrer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée sont en majorité des membres de l’Ordre;
3°  pour constituer le quorum au conseil d’administration de la société, la majorité des membres présents doit être composée de membres de l’Ordre;
4°  le président du conseil d’administration de la société par actions ou la personne qui exerce des fonctions similaires dans une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée est membre de l’Ordre et, selon le cas, actionnaire avec droit de vote ou associé.
Le membre de l’Ordre s’assure que les conditions énoncées au premier alinéa sont, selon le cas, inscrites aux statuts de la société par actions ou stipulées au contrat de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi, selon le cas, inscrit ou stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 1091-2010, a. 2.
3. Dans les autres cas que ceux prévus à l’article 2, un membre de l’Ordre est autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions ou d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus par les personnes ou les fiducies suivantes ou une combinaison de celles-ci:
a)  au moins un membre d’un ordre professionnel régi par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26) ou un membre d’un des regroupements professionnels suivants:
— une association de traducteurs, terminologues ou interprètes membres du Conseil des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes du Canada;
— un ordre de comptables régi par une loi d’une autre province ou territoire canadien;
— un ordre de juristes régi par une loi d’une autre province ou territoire canadien.
b)  une société par actions dont au moins 90% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions sont détenus par des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a;
c)  une fiducie dont tous les fiduciaires sont des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a;
2°  les administrateurs du conseil d’administration de la société par actions, les associés ou, selon le cas, les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour administrer la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée sont en majorité des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1;
3°  pour constituer le quorum au conseil d’administration de la société, la majorité des membres présents doit être composée de personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1.
Le membre de l’Ordre s’assure que les conditions énoncées au premier alinéa sont, selon le cas, inscrites aux statuts de la société par actions ou stipulées au contrat de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi, selon le cas, inscrit ou stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 1091-2010, a. 3.
4. Le membre de l’Ordre qui veut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, avant le début de ces activités, fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents suivants:
1°  une déclaration faite sur le formulaire prévu par l’Ordre, accompagnée du paiement des frais fixés par le Conseil d’administration et qui contient les renseignements suivants:
a)  le nom et le numéro du membre et son statut au sein de la société;
b)  le nom de la société ainsi que les autres noms utilisés au Québec par cette société et le numéro d’entreprise que lui a attribué le Registraire des entreprises;
c)  la forme juridique de la société;
d)  s’il s’agit d’une société par actions, l’adresse du siège de la société et de ses établissements au Québec, le nom et l’adresse du domicile de tous les actionnaires, leur pourcentage d’actions avec droit de vote et celui sans droit de vote, le nom et l’adresse du domicile des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la société ainsi que l’Ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent, le cas échéant;
e)  s’il s’agit d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, l’adresse des établissements au Québec de la société en précisant celle du principal établissement, le nom et l’adresse du domicile des associés ainsi que, le cas échéant, le nom et l’adresse du domicile des administrateurs nommés par les associés pour administrer la société, qu’ils soient ou non domiciliés au Québec et l’Ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent, le cas échéant;
f)  le cas échéant, la date à laquelle la société en nom collectif est devenue une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou une société par actions.
2°  un document émanant de l’autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section II;
3°  dans le cas d’une société par actions, une copie de son acte constitutif et un document émanant de l’autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
4°  un document émanant de l’autorité compétente attestant que la société est immatriculée au Québec;
5°  une autorisation irrévocable de la société au sein de laquelle il exerce sa profession donnant le droit à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal visé à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de toute personne la communication et l’obtention d’un document mentionné à l’article 11 ou d’une copie conforme d’un tel document;
6°  le cas échéant, une copie conforme de la déclaration requise en vertu de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (chapitre P-44.1) indiquant que la société en nom collectif est devenue une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée.
D. 1091-2010, a. 4.
5. Le membre de l’Ordre doit:
1°  avant le 31 mars de chaque année, mettre à jour et fournir la déclaration prévue au paragraphe 1 de l’article 4;
2°  sans délai, informer le secrétaire de l’Ordre de toute modification à la garantie prévue à la section II ou aux renseignements fournis en vertu du paragraphe 1 de l’article 4 qui aurait pour effet d’entraîner un manquement aux conditions prévues aux articles 2 ou 3.
D. 1091-2010, a. 5.
6. S’il constate que l’une des conditions prévues au présent règlement ou au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) n’est plus satisfaite, le membre de l’Ordre doit, dans les 15 jours de cette constatation, prendre les mesures nécessaires pour s’y conformer, à défaut de quoi, il cesse d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités au sein de la société.
D. 1091-2010, a. 6.
7. Lorsque plusieurs membres de l’Ordre exercent leurs activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société, ils peuvent désigner un répondant pour agir au nom de l’ensemble des membres de l’Ordre de cette société pour remplir les conditions prévues aux articles 4 ou 5. Le répondant doit fournir les informations et les documents qu’ils sont tenus de transmettre à l’Ordre et répondre aux demandes formulées par le syndic, un inspecteur, un enquêteur ou tout autre représentant de l’Ordre.
Le répondant doit être un membre de l’Ordre et exercer ses activités professionnelles au Québec au sein de la société.
Le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis dans la déclaration visée à l’article 4 à l’exception de l’adresse résidentielle des associés, des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la société.
D. 1091-2010, a. 7.
SECTION II
GARANTIE DE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
8. Le membre de l’Ordre qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, pour être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles conformément au présent règlement, fournir et maintenir pour cette société, soit par contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement, soit par l’adhésion à une assurance collective souscrite par l’Ordre, une garantie contre la responsabilité professionnelle que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes commises par ses membres dans l’exercice de leur profession au sein de cette société.
D. 1091-2010, a. 8.
9. Cette garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de payer en lieu et place de la société, en excédent du montant de garantie que doit fournir le membre conformément au Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec (chapitre C-26, r. 267) ou de tout autre montant souscrit par le membre s’il est plus élevé, jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à des tiers relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant de la faute commise par le membre dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action dirigée contre elle et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais de justice et autres frais des actions contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution que la garantie soit d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par sinistre et pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie de 12 mois;
4°  lorsqu’un membre de l’Ordre exerce ses activités professionnelles à titre d’actionnaire unique d’une société par actions, l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution que la garantie soit d’au moins 500 000 $ par sinistre et pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie de 12 mois;
5°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de donner au secrétaire de l’Ordre un préavis d’au moins 30 jours lorsqu’il entend résilier la garantie, la modifier quant à l’une des conditions prévues au présent article ou ne pas la renouveler.
D. 1091-2010, a. 9; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
10. Le contrat de cautionnement visé à l’article 8 doit être conclu auprès d’une banque, d’une caisse d’épargne et de crédit, d’une compagnie de fiducie ou d’assurance, laquelle doit être domiciliée au Canada, ainsi qu’avoir et maintenir au Québec des biens suffisants pour répondre à la garantie requise à la présente section.
La caution doit renoncer aux bénéfices de division et de discussion.
D. 1091-2010, a. 10.
SECTION III
ACCESSIBILITÉ DES DOCUMENTS
11. Les documents qui peuvent être exigés de la société en vertu du paragraphe 5 de l’article 4 sont les suivants:
1°  si le membre de l’Ordre exerce au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre complet et à jour des statuts et règlements de la société;
b)  le registre complet et à jour des valeurs mobilières de la société;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des actionnaires de la société;
d)  le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
e)  toute convention entre actionnaires et toute entente relative au vote et leurs modifications;
f)  toute convention portant sur l’octroi d’option d’achat d’actions comportant droit de vote ou portant sur tout autre droit, même conditionnel, conféré à une personne et lui permettant de se faire émettre de telles actions;
g)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
h)  la liste à jour des principaux dirigeants de la société et l’adresse de leur domicile;
2°  si le membre de l’Ordre exerce au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
b)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
c)  la liste à jour des administrateurs nommés par les associés pour administrer les affaires de la société et l’adresse de leur domicile;
d)  le registre complet et à jour des associés de la société.
D. 1091-2010, a. 11.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRE ET FINALE
12. Le membre de l’Ordre qui exerce sa profession au sein d’une société par actions constituée aux fins de l’exercice de la profession avant le 6 janvier 2011 doit, au plus tard dans l’année qui suit cette date, se conformer au présent règlement.
D. 1091-2010, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 1091-2010, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1091-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 5673
L.Q. 2010, c. 7, a. 282