C-26, r. 273 - Regulation respecting the terms and conditions for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 273
Regulation respecting the terms and conditions for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec
CERTIFIED TRANSLATORS, TERMINOLOGIST AND INTERPRETERS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PERMIT
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, par. i).
C-26
December 17 2015
Replaced, Décision 2015-11-06, 2015 G.O. 2, 4564; eff. 2015-12-17, see chapter C-26, r. 273.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. In this Regulation, “Committee” means the Certification Committee of the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes du Québec which shall meet at least once every 4 months and not less than 4 times per year.
O.C. 219-98, s. 1.
DIVISION II
ISSUE OF PERMIT
2. The board of directors of the Order shall issue a permit to a candidate who meets the following requirements:
(1)  he holds a diploma recognized by the Government under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), a diploma recognized as equivalent by the board of directors under paragraph c of section 93 of the Code, or his training is recognized as equivalent by the board of directors under that section;
(2)  he meets the additional requirements listed in Division III or is granted an equivalence pursuant to Division IV;
(3)  he pays the required fees for the issue of the permit.
O.C. 219-98, s. 2.
DIVISION III
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
3. In order to be issued a permit by the Order, the candidate shall have successfully completed the training program on ethics and standards of professional practice of a duration of at least 12 hours.
The program, given by the Order at least once a year, deals in particular with the Québec laws and regulations applicable to the Order and its members.
O.C. 219-98, s. 3.
4. To obtain a certified translator’s permit, a certified terminologist’s permit or a certified interpreter’s permit, the candidate shall also complete the supervised initiation program for professional practice with respect to the specific category of permit applied for, the components and objectives of which are as follows:
(1)  the program is set up and supervised by the Order;
(2)  it shall take place over a period of 6 consecutive months;
(3)  its objective is to allow a candidate for certification in translation, terminology or interpretation to benefit from the advice and supervision of an experienced translator, hereafter called a mentor, who will help the candidate to assimilate the professional standards, rules, tools and responsibilities along with university acquired skills, within the framework of professional practice;
(4)  during regularly scheduled meetings, the mentor examines the candidate’s work and discusses with him all aspects of the professional act, suggests topics for further reflection on the practice and answers questions, then assesses the meeting, the progress noted and any improvements to be made;
(5)  at the end of the program, the mentor makes an assessment of the candidate’s aptitude to practise the profession in accordance with recognized standards and draws up a recommendation for the Committee. The Committee shall receive the recommendation within the month following the end of the program;
(6)  within 3 months following the end of the program, the Committee files its recommendations with the board of directors.
O.C. 219-98, s. 4.
5. In order to act as a mentor, a member shall
(1)  practise in the same field as the candidate;
(2)  have a minimum of 5 years of relevant experience.
O.C. 219-98, s. 5.
DIVISION IV
EQUIVALENCE OF ADDITIONAL CONDITIONS
6. A candidate may be exempted from the training program on ethics and standards of professional practice referred to in section 3 if the board of directors, upon recommendation by the Committee, concludes that the candidate has successfully completed one or several university courses lasting at least 12 hours and dealing specifically with ethics, in particular with the Québec laws and regulations governing the Order and its members.
In the case where the assessment made under the first paragraph does not result in a decision, the board of directors may request that the candidate take an examination on the items mentioned in the first paragraph.
O.C. 219-98, s. 6.
7. A candidate shall be granted an equivalence for the supervised initiation program for professional practice referred to in section 4 if he demonstrates that he has a minimum of 2 years’ relevant work experience in the field of translation, terminology or interpretation.
The knowledge and skills of such candidate shall be equal to those acquired by a person who has successfully completed the appropriate supervised initiation program for professional practice; where applicable, the candidate is deemed to have completed such program.
O.C. 219-98, s. 7.
8. In carrying out the assessment for equivalence purposes, the Committee shall consider the following, in particular:
(1)  the type and extent of the candidate’s experience;
(2)  the degrees the candidate obtained in Québec or elsewhere;
(3)  the type and content of courses;
(4)  the training periods;
(5)  the total number of years of schooling.
O.C. 219-98, s. 8.
9. In assessing the candidate’s application for equivalence, the Committee may decide:
(1)  that an equivalence for the supervised initiation program for professional practice be recognized to the candidate;
(2)  that a partial equivalence for that program be recognized and that the candidate be informed of the training he shall have to successfully complete to obtain an equivalence; or
(3)  that no equivalence for that program for such candidate be recognized.
O.C. 219-98, s. 9.
10. At the first meeting following the receipt of the report of the Committee’s report, the board of directors shall decide whether or not an equivalence shall be recognized and inform the candidate thereof in writing.
O.C. 219-98, s. 10.
11. Within 30 days of the decision not to recognize an equivalence, the board of directors shall notify the candidate in writing thereof, giving reasons and indicating the program of studies, training sessions or examinations to be successfully completed for an equivalence to be recognized considering his current level of knowledge.
O.C. 219-98, s. 11.
12. The candidate who is informed of the decision of the board of directors not to recognize an equivalence may ask to be heard on the condition that he applies in writing to the secretary within 30 days of the mailing of the decision.
The board of directors shall hear the candidate within 45 days of the receipt of that request for a hearing and, where applicable, review its decision. For that purpose, the secretary shall summon the candidate in writing, by certified or registered mail, at least 10 days before such hearing.
The decision of the board of directors is final and shall be sent to the candidate in writing, within 30 days of the hearing.
O.C. 219-98, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 219-98, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 219-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 1257
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-26, r. 273 - Règlement sur les conditions et modalités de délivrance des permis de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologue et interprètes agréés du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 273
Règlement sur les conditions et modalités de délivrance des permis de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologue et interprètes agréés du Québec
TRADUCTEURS, TERMINOLOGUES ET INTERPRÈTES AGRÉÉS — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — PERMIS
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. i).
C-26
17 décembre 2015
Remplacé, Décision 2015-11-06, 2015 G.O. 2, 4564; eff. 2015-12-17, voir chapitre C-26, r. 273.1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITION GÉNÉRALE
1. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par «Comité» le Comité de l’agrément de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec qui doit se réunir au moins une fois par 4 mois et pas moins de 4 fois par année.
D. 219-98, a. 1.
SECTION II
DÉLIVRANCE DU PERMIS
2. Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre délivre un permis au candidat qui satisfait aux conditions suivantes:
1°  il est titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) ou reconnu équivalent par le Conseil d’administration en vertu du paragraphe c de l’article 93 du Code ou il possède une formation reconnue équivalente par le Conseil d’administration en vertu de cet article;
2°  il satisfait aux conditions supplémentaires énoncées à la Section III ou bénéficie d’une équivalence aux termes de la Section IV;
3°  il acquitte les frais exigibles et relatifs à la délivrance du permis.
D. 219-98, a. 2.
SECTION III
CONDITIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES
3. Pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre, le candidat doit avoir complété et réussi le programme de formation sur la déontologie et les normes de pratique professionnelle d’une durée d’au moins 12 heures.
Ce cours, offert par l’Ordre au moins une fois par année, porte notamment sur la législation et la réglementation en vigueur au Québec et applicables à l’Ordre et à ses membres.
D. 219-98, a. 3.
4. Pour obtenir le permis de traducteur agréé, de terminologue agréé ou d’interprète agréé, le candidat doit également suivre le programme d’initiation encadrée à la pratique professionnelle propre à la catégorie de permis désirée, dont les éléments et les objectifs sont les suivants:
1°  le programme est organisé et supervisé par l’Ordre;
2°  il doit s’étaler sur une période de 6 mois consécutifs;
3°  l’objectif est de permettre au candidat à l’agrément en traduction, en terminologie ou en interprétation, de profiter des conseils et de la supervision d’un membre d’expérience, appelé mentor, qui l’aidera à intégrer les normes, règles, outils et responsabilités professionnels de même que les acquis universitaires dans le contexte de la pratique professionnelle;
4°  au cours d’entrevues régulières, le mentor prend connaissance des travaux réalisés par le candidat et discute avec ce dernier de tous les aspects de l’acte professionnel, lui propose des pistes de réflexion sur sa pratique, répond à ses questions et fait un bilan de la rencontre, des progrès enregistrés et des améliorations à apporter;
5°  au terme du programme, le mentor dresse le bilan de l’aptitude du candidat à exercer la profession selon les normes reconnues et formule un avis à l’intention du Comité qui en est saisi dans le mois suivant le fin du programme;
6°  dans les 3 mois suivant la fin du programme, le Comité dépose ses recommandations au Conseil d’administration.
D. 219-98, a. 4.
5. Peut agir à titre de mentor, le membre qui:
1°  exerce dans le même domaine que le candidat;
2°  possède un minimum de 5 années d’expérience pertinente.
D. 219-98, a. 5.
SECTION IV
ÉQUIVALENCE DES CONDITIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES
6. Un candidat peut être exempté de l’obligation de réussir le programme de formation sur la déontologie et les normes de pratique professionnelle visée à l’article 3 si le Conseil d’administration, sur recommandation du Comité, en arrive à la conclusion qu’il a réussi un ou plusieurs cours offerts par un établissement de niveau universitaire, totalisant une durée d’au moins 12 heures et portant sur la législation et la réglementation en vigueur au Québec et applicables à l’Ordre et à ses membres, notamment sur la déontologie.
Dans le cas où l’appréciation faite en vertu du premier alinéa ne permet pas de prendre une décision, le Conseil d’administration peut inviter ce candidat à subir un examen portant sur les éléments énoncés au premier alinéa.
D. 219-98, a. 6.
7. Un candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence relative au programme d’initiation encadrée à la pratique professionnelle visé à l’article 4 s’il démontre qu’il possède une expérience pertinente de travail d’une durée minimale de 2 ans dans le domaine de la traduction, de la terminologie ou de l’interprétation.
Les connaissances et habiletés de ce candidat doivent s’avérer équivalentes à celles acquises par une personne ayant complété avec succès le programme d’initiation encadrée à la pratique professionnelle approprié; le cas échéant, ce candidat est réputé avoir complété ledit programme.
D. 219-98, a. 7.
8. Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de ce programme d’initiation encadrée à la pratique professionnelle, le Comité tient compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et l’étendue de l’expérience du candidat;
2°  le fait que le candidat soit titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
3°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
4°  les stages de formation effectués;
5°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité.
D. 219-98, a. 8.
9. En appréciant la demande d’équivalence d’un candidat, le Comité peut décider:
1°  soit de reconnaître l’équivalence de ce programme d’initiation encadrée à la pratique professionnelle pour ce candidat;
2°  soit de reconnaître en partie l’équivalence de ce programme et d’informer le candidat du cheminement qu’il doit suivre avec succès pour obtenir une équivalence;
3°  soit de refuser de reconnaître l’équivalence de ce programme à ce candidat.
D. 219-98, a. 9.
10. À la première réunion qui suit la réception du rapport du Comité, le Conseil d’administration décide s’il reconnaît ou pas une équivalence et informe le candidat par écrit de sa décision.
D. 219-98, a. 10.
11. Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la décision de ne pas reconnaître une équivalence, le Conseil d’administration doit en faire part par écrit au candidat et lui indiquer les motifs ainsi que les programmes d’études, les stages ou les examens dont la réussite, compte tenu de son niveau actuel de connaissances, lui permettrait de bénéficier de cette équivalence.
D. 219-98, a. 11.
12. Le candidat qui est informé de la décision du Conseil d’administration de ne pas reconnaître une équivalence peut lui demander de se faire entendre à condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la mise à la poste de la décision.
Le Conseil d’administration dispose d’un délai de 45 jours à compter de la date de la réception de cette demande d’audience pour entendre le candidat et, s’il y a lieu, réviser sa décision. À cette fin, le secrétaire convoque le candidat par écrit, transmis sous pli recommandé ou par la poste certifiée, au moins 10 jours avant la date de cette audience.
La décision du Conseil d’administration est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 30 jours de la date de l’audience.
D. 219-98, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 219-98, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 219-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 1512
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212