C-26, r. 239 - Regulation respecting professional liability insurance for medical technologists

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 239
Regulation respecting professional liability insurance for medical technologists
MEDICAL TECHNOLOGISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. d and g).
C-26
October 10 2013
Replaced, Décision 2013-09-09, 2013 G.O. 2, 4232; eff. 2013-10-10; see chapter C-26, r. 238.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS
1.01. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise,
(a)  “Order” means the Ordre professionnel des technologistes médicaux du Québec;
(b)  “medical technologist” means a person who is entered on the roll of the Order;
(c)  “committee” means the committee on the examination of insurance contracts;
(d)  “secretary” means the secretary of the Order.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 1.01.
1.02. The Interpretation Act (chapter I-16) applies to this Regulation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 1.02.
DIVISION II
COMMITTEE
2.01. The board of directors shall appoint the 3 members of the committee each year and designate a chair from among them.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 2.01.
2.02. The committee shall hold its sittings on the dates and at the hour and place determined by its chair. The quorum of the committee shall be 2 members.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 2.02.
2.03. The committee shall verify, in particular by studying the proofs of insurance provided for in section 3.05, whether each medical technologist is complying with the obligation prescribed in section 3.01 and report thereon to the board of directors.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 2.03.
2.04. The committee shall make the recommendations it considers appropriate to the board of directors and submit an annual report on its activities.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 2.04.
DIVISION III
LIABILITY INSURANCE
3.01. A medical technologist must be covered by an insurance contract establishing a guarantee against the liability which he may incur owing to fault or negligence committed in the exercise of his profession.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 3.01.
3.02. The insurance contract must provide that:
(a)  the coverage is for an amount of not less than $500,000 per claim and $500,000 for the aggregate of claims relative to the term of the coverage;
(b)  the insurer undertakes to pay in lieu and stead of the insured, within the limits of the coverage, any amount that the insured may legally be bound to pay in damages to a third party respecting a claim filed during the period of coverage and resulting from professional services rendered or that should have been rendered by the insured or his employees in the performance of their duties;
(c)  the coverage applies to services rendered or to the failure to render services prior to the coming into force of the insurance contract until the expiry of the period of coverage;
(d)  when the insured ceases to practise his profession of his own will or dies, the insurer undertakes to sign with the insured or his legal heirs an insurance contract with a coverage for services rendered or failed to be rendered by the insured or his employees in the performance of their duties prior to the coming into force of such contract;
(e)  the insurer undertakes to take up the interest of the insured and to assume his defence in any action brought against him before a court of civil jurisdiction; the costs and expenses of suits against the insured, including those of the defence and interest upon conviction, are borne by the insurer over and above the amounts prescribed in paragraph a.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 3.02.
3.03. An exclusion contained in an insurance contract pertaining to acts committed under the influence of narcotics, soporifics, drugs or alcohol may not apply to a third party referred to in paragraph b of section 3.02 to whom the insured is legally bound to pay damages.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 3.03.
3.04. Where the Order has taken out a liability insurance policy in accordance with this Division for all or part of its members, a medical technologist may join this group insurance policy for the purposes of section 3.01.
An insurance certificate must be issued to each medical technologist joining the insurance policy taken out by the Order and a copy of this insurance policy must be given to him upon written request.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 3.04.
3.05. Except if he is insured under section 3.04, the medical technologist must furnish proof to the secretary before 1 April each year that he holds an insurance policy in force for a period of 12 months from that date and that it is in compliance with this Regulation. However, where the name of a medical technologist is entered or re-entered on the roll on a date other than 1 April, he must furnish proof to the secretary that he holds an insurance policy in force at least until 1 April following and that it is in compliance with this Regulation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, s. 3.05.
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, ss. 212 and 213

C-26, r. 239 - Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des technologistes médicaux

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 239
Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des technologistes médicaux
TECHNOLOGISTES MÉDICAUX — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. d et g).
C-26
10 octobre 2013
Remplacé, Décision 2013-09-09, 2013 G.O. 2, 4232; eff. 2013-10-10; voir chapitre C-26, r. 238.1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1.01. Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par:
a)  «Ordre»: l’Ordre professionnel des technologistes médicaux du Québec;
b)  «technologiste médical»: quiconque est inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre;
c)  «comité»: le comité d’examen des contrats d’assurances;
d)  «secrétaire»: le secrétaire de l’Ordre.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 1.01.
1.02. La Loi d’interprétation (chapitre I-16) s’applique au présent règlement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 1.02.
SECTION II
COMITÉ
2.01. Le Conseil d’administration nomme à chaque année les 3 membres du comité et désigne parmi eux un président.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 2.01.
2.02. Le comité tient ses séances aux dates, heures et lieux que détermine son président. Le quorum du comité est de 2 membres.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 2.02.
2.03. Le comité vérifie, notamment en étudiant les preuves d’assurances prévues à l’article 3.05, si chaque technologiste médical se conforme à l’obligation prévue à l’article 3.01 et il en fait rapport au Conseil d’administration.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 2.03.
2.04. Le comité formule au Conseil d’administration les recommandations qu’il juge appropriées et lui soumet un rapport annuel de ses activités.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 2.04.
SECTION III
ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
3.01. Un technologiste médical doit être couvert par un contrat d’assurance établissant une garantie contre la responsabilité qu’il peut encourir en raison des fautes ou négligences commises dans l’exercice de sa profession.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 3.01.
3.02. Le contrat d’assurance doit prévoir que:
a)  le minimum de la garantie est de 500 000 $ par sinistre, et de 500 000 $ pour l’ensemble des sinistres relatifs à la période de garantie;
b)  l’assureur s’engage à payer aux lieu et place de l’assuré, dans le cadre des limites de la garantie, tout montant que l’assuré peut légalement être tenu de payer à un tiers à titre de dommages-intérêts relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant de services professionnels rendus ou qui auraient dû être rendus par l’assuré ou ses préposés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions;
c)  la garantie s’étend aux services rendus ou à l’omission de rendre des services, avant l’entrée en vigueur du contrat d’assurance, jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de garantie;
d)  lorsque l’assuré cesse volontairement d’exercer sa profession ou décède, l’assureur s’engage à signer avec l’assuré ou ses héritiers légaux un contrat d’assurance dont la garantie s’étend aux services rendus ou à l’omission de rendre des services par l’assuré ou ses préposés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, avant l’entrée en vigueur de ce contrat;
e)  l’assureur s’engage à prendre le fait et cause de l’assuré et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action intentée contre lui devant une juridiction civile; les frais et dépens des poursuites contre l’assuré, y compris ceux de la défense et les intérêts sur condamnation, sont à la charge de l’assureur en plus des montants prévus au paragraphe a.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 3.02.
3.03. Une exclusion contenue au contrat d’assurance concernant les actes commis sous l’influence de narcotiques, de soporifiques, de drogues ou l’alcool ne peut être opposable à un tiers visé au paragraphe b de l’article 3.02 à qui l’assuré est légalement tenu de payer des dommages-intérêts.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 3.03.
3.04. Dans le cas où l’Ordre a contracté pour l’ensemble ou une partie de ses membres, une police d’assurance responsabilité conforme à la présente section, un technologiste médical peut adhérer, aux fins de l’article 3.01, à cette police d’assurance collective.
Un certificat d’assurance doit être délivré à chaque technologiste médical adhérant à la police d’assurance contractée par l’Ordre et une copie de cette police d’assurance doit lui être remise sur demande écrite.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 3.04.
3.05. Sauf s’il est assuré en vertu de l’article 3.04, le technologiste médical doit fournir au secrétaire, avant le 1er avril de chaque année, la preuve qu’il détient une police d’assurance en vigueur pour une période de 12 mois à compter de cette date et qu’elle est conforme au présent règlement. Cependant, lorsqu’un technologiste médical s’inscrit ou se réinscrit au tableau à une date autre que celle du 1er avril, il doit fournir au secrétaire la preuve qu’il détient une police d’assurance en vigueur au moins jusqu’au 1er avril suivant et qu’elle est conforme au présent règlement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168, a. 3.05.
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 168
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212