C-26, r. 237 - Regulation respecting the professional activities that may be engaged in by medical technology externs

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 237
Regulation respecting the professional activities that may be engaged in by medical technology externs
MEDICAL TECHNOLOGISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, par. h).
C-26
September 1 2012
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to determine, from among the professional activities that may be engaged in by medical technologists, those that may be engaged in by medical technology externs, on the terms and conditions set out herein, outside the framework of the program of studies in medical technology.
O.C. 644-2006, s. 1.
2. To be authorized to engage in the activities referred to in the first paragraph of section 3, a medical technology extern must
(1)  have successfully completed the first 2 years of a program of studies leading to a diploma giving access to the permit issued by the Ordre professionnel des technologistes médicaux du Québec less than 18 months previously, including the skills involved in “Client intervention” and “Specimen taking”, and provide to the secretary of the Order an attestation to that effect signed by the program director;
(2)  be entered in the register of externs held by the Order;
(3)  have completed an integration program of at least 15 days designed to familiarize the extern with the policies and guidelines of the institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5) where the extern is engaged in the activities; and
(4)  have the required knowledge and skill.
O.C. 644-2006, s. 2.
3. A medical technology extern may engage in the following activities, from 15 May to 31 August and 15 December to 20 January, in an institution referred to in paragraph 3 of section 2, if the health status of the patient is not critical, on the condition that the extern does so under the supervision of a medical technologist who is on the premises:
(1)  take specimens; and
(2)  introduce an instrument, according to a prescription, into a peripheral vein.
When engaging in those activities, a medical technology extern must comply with the rules that apply to medical technologists, in particular the rules relating to ethics and the standards governing the practice of the profession of medical technologist.
O.C. 644-2006, s. 3.
4. A medical technology extern must record all interventions in the user’s record and sign each entry, adding the abbreviation “M.T. ext.”.
O.C. 644-2006, s. 4.
5. (Omitted).
O.C. 644-2006, s. 5.
REFERENCES
O.C. 644-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 2097

C-26, r. 237 - Règlement sur les activités professionnelles qui peuvent être exercées par des externes en technologie médicale

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 237
Règlement sur les activités professionnelles qui peuvent être exercées par des externes en technologie médicale
TECHNOLOGISTES MÉDICAUX — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — ACTIVITÉS PROFESSIONNELLES
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. h).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet de déterminer parmi les activités professionnelles que peuvent exercer les technologistes médicaux celles qui, suivant les conditions et les modalités qui y sont déterminées, peuvent l’être par un externe en technologie médicale en dehors du cadre de son programme d’études en technologie médicale.
D. 644-2006, a. 1.
2. Pour être autorisé à exercer les activités professionnelles mentionnées au premier alinéa de l’article 3, un externe en technologie médicale doit respecter les conditions suivantes:
1°  il a complété avec succès les 2 premières années du programme d’études qui conduit à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par l’Ordre professionnel des technologistes médicaux du Québec depuis moins de 18 mois incluant les compétences «Intervenir auprès d’un client» ainsi que «Faire des prélèvements», et il a produit au secrétaire de l’Ordre une attestation à cet effet signée par le directeur de ce programme d’études;
2°  il est inscrit au registre des externes tenu par l’Ordre;
3°  il a complété un programme d’intégration d’une durée de 15 jours visant à le familiariser avec les politiques et directives de l’établissement, au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5), où il exerce ces activités;
4°  il possède les connaissances et les habiletés nécessaires pour les exercer.
D. 644-2006, a. 2.
3. Un externe en technologie médicale peut exercer les activités suivantes, du 15 mai au 31 août et du 15 décembre au 20 janvier, dans un établissement visé au paragraphe 3 de l’article 2 lorsque l’état de santé de l’usager n’est pas dans une phase critique et à la condition qu’il les exerce sous la supervision d’un technologiste médical présent sur place:
1°  effectuer des prélèvements;
2°  introduire un instrument, selon une ordonnance, dans une veine périphérique.
Il doit aussi exercer ces activités en respectant les règles applicables aux technologistes médicaux, notamment celles sur la déontologie et les normes de pratique de la profession de technologiste médical.
D. 644-2006, a. 3.
4. L’externe en technologie médicale consigne ses interventions au dossier de l’usager en apposant sa signature, accompagnée des abréviations: «Ext. T.M.».
D. 644-2006, a. 4.
5. (Omis).
D. 644-2006, a. 5.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 644-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 2897