C-26, r. 221 - Regulation respecting the keeping of records and consulting-rooms by psychologists

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 221
Regulation respecting the keeping of records and consulting-rooms by psychologists
PSYCHOLOGISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — KEEPING OF RECORDS AND CONSULTING-ROOMS
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
KEEPING OF RECORDS
1. Subject to sections 12 and 13, a psychologist entered on the roll of the Ordre professionnel des psychologues du Québec shall keep a record for each of his clients at the place where he practises his profession.
A psychologist shall ensure that each record is filed and kept up to date.
O.C. 448-92, s. 1.
2. A psychologist may use data processing or any other method in constituting and keeping his records, provided that the confidentiality of the information contained therein is ensured.
O.C. 448-92, s. 2.
3. A psychologist shall enter the following information in each record:
(1)  the date of opening the record;
(2)  where the client is a natural person, his name at birth, sex, date of birth, address and telephone number;
(3)  where the client is a partnership or legal person, its name, business address and telephone number, together with the full name, address, telephone number and title of the position of an authorized representative;
(4)  a brief description of the reasons for the consultation;
(5)  a brief description of the professional services provided and their dates;
(6)  the conclusions deriving from the psychological assessment or a description of the treatment plan and recommendations;
(7)  notes on the client’s progress after services have been provided;
(8)  any document pertaining to the sending of information to third parties, in particular any document signed by the client and authorizing the sending of such information;
(9)  a copy of any service contract or the description of any special agreement concerning the nature and procedures of treatment;
(10)  the signature of the psychologist who has entered the information mentioned in paragraphs 1 to 9 in the record.
O.C. 448-92, s. 3.
4. Notwithstanding sections 1 and 3, a psychologist may, for a group consultation, keep a single record for any treatment including the information mentioned in paragraph 2 of section 3, a description and evaluation of the treatment and, where applicable, the information mentioned in paragraph 9 of section 3.
O.C. 448-92, s. 4.
5. Without restricting the scope of section 3, a psychologist shall avoid adding to a file any unprocessed data or any unverified information that could harm the client.
O.C. 448-92, s. 5.
6. A psychologist shall keep the record of each client up to date until he ceases to provide professional services to the client.
O.C. 448-92, s. 6.
7. A psychologist shall keep his records in a cabinet that is not readily accessible to the public and that can be locked with a key or otherwise.
O.C. 448-92, s. 7.
8. A psychologist shall keep each record for at least 5 years from the date of the last professional services provided.
O.C. 448-92, s. 8.
9. Subject to section 8, a psychologist may destroy a record, provided that he does so in a manner that ensures the confidentiality of the information contained in the record.
O.C. 448-92, s. 9.
10. Where a client requests that a copy of his record or some information in his record be sent to a third party, the psychologist may provide the information not less than 15 days following the date of the authorization signed by the client to that effect. The client may within that period revoke his authorization. Nevertheless, the client may, in an emergency, renounce the 15-day period.
Where a client is sent a copy of a document in his record, or where a client requests that such a copy or information in the records be sent to a third party, the psychologist shall add to the record a note to that effect that is signed by the client and dated.
O.C. 448-92, s. 10.
11. A psychologist adding all or some of the information mentioned in section 3 to a client’s record shall ensure that the provisions of section 10 are complied with where a copy of a document in the record and pertaining to his services is sent to the client in question or to a third party.
O.C. 448-92, s. 11.
12. Where a psychologist practises in an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5), the record of a recipient within the meaning of those Acts and their regulations is considered, for the purposes of this Regulation, to be the record kept by the psychologist if he is able to enter or have entered in the record, as a report or otherwise, the information mentioned in section 3, provided that the confidentiality of the record is ensured. Sections 8 to 10 do not apply to that psychologist.
A psychologist shall sign or initial any entry he adds to the record.
O.C. 448-92, s. 12.
13. Where a psychologist is a member of or employed by a partnership or where he is employed by a natural or legal person, he may enter in the records of the partnership or employer all or some of the information mentioned in section 3 concerning clients to whom he provided services, provided that the confidentiality of the records is ensured. If the information is not entered in the records of the partnership or employer, the psychologist shall keep a record for each of his clients.
A psychologist shall sign or initial any entry or report he adds to the records of the partnership or employer.
O.C. 448-92, s. 13.
DIVISION II
KEEPING OF CONSULTING-ROOMS
14. A psychologist’s consulting-room must be so designed that the identity of the persons therein cannot be established or their conversations heard from outside the room.
A consulting-room must not include the waiting room or any room in which a psychologist or his employees work.
O.C. 448-92, s. 14.
15. A psychologist shall have a waiting room for his clients near his consulting-room.
O.C. 448-92, s. 15.
16. A psychologist practising in an institution shall hold his consultations in a consulting-room complying with this Regulation.
O.C. 448-92, s. 16.
17. A psychologist shall post his permit in public view.
O.C. 448-92, s. 17.
18. A psychologist shall post in his waiting room a copy of the Code of ethics of psychologists (chapter C-26, r. 212), a copy of this Regulation and, where a psychologist charges his clients fees, a copy of the Regulation respecting the procedure for conciliation and arbitration of the accounts of psychologists (chapter C-26, r. 220). He shall also write the address of the Order on the copy of each of those regulations.
O.C. 448-92, s. 18.
19. A psychologist may, in addition to decorative or utilitarian objects, display only diplomas related to the practice of his profession in his consulting-room and any other room used in that practice.
O.C. 448-92, s. 19.
20. A psychologist who is absent from his consulting-room for more than 5 consecutive working days shall take the necessary measures to inform clients trying to contact him of the length of his absence and of the procedure to follow in an emergency.
O.C. 448-92, s. 20.
21. Where the work environment of a psychologist not practising for his own account or in partnership hinders compliance with a provision of this Regulation, the psychologist shall, after informing his employer thereof in writing, notify the Order of the situation.
O.C. 448-92, s. 21.
22. (Omitted).
O.C. 448-92, s. 22.
REFERENCES
O.C. 448-92, 1992 G.O. 2, 1886
S.Q. 1992, c. 21, s. 375

C-26, r. 221 - Règlement sur la tenue des dossiers et des cabinets de consultation des psychologues

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 221
Règlement sur la tenue des dossiers et des cabinets de consultation des psychologues
PSYCHOLOGUES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — TENUE DES DOSSIERS ET DES CABINETS DE CONSULTATION
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
TENUE DES DOSSIERS
1. Le psychologue inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre professionnel des psychologues du Québec doit tenir, sous réserve des articles 12 et 13, à l’endroit où il exerce sa profession, un dossier pour chacun de ses clients.
Le psychologue doit assurer la mise à jour et la conservation de chaque dossier.
D. 448-92, a. 1.
2. Le psychologue peut utiliser l’informatique ou toute autre technique pour la constitution et la tenue de ses dossiers pourvu que la confidentialité des renseignements qui y sont contenus soit assurée.
D. 448-92, a. 2.
3. Le psychologue doit inscrire dans chaque dossier les renseignements suivants:
1°  la date d’ouverture du dossier;
2°  lorsque le client est une personne physique, le nom de ce client à sa naissance, son sexe, sa date de naissance, son adresse et son numéro de téléphone;
3°  lorsque le client est une société ou une personne morale, le nom de ce client, l’adresse de son établissement, son numéro de téléphone, de même que les nom et prénom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et le titre de la fonction d’un représentant autorisé;
4°  une description sommaire des motifs de la consultation;
5°  une description sommaire des services professionnels rendus et leur date;
6°  les conclusions de l’examen psychologique ou la description du programme d’intervention et les recommandations;
7°  les notations sur l’évolution du client à la suite des services rendus;
8°  tout document relatif à la transmission de renseignements à des tiers et, notamment, tout document signé par le client autorisant la transmission de tels renseignements;
9°  une copie de tout contrat de service ou la description de toute entente particulière concernant la nature et les modalités d’une intervention;
10°  la signature du psychologue qui a inscrit dans un dossier les renseignements mentionnés aux paragraphes 1 à 9.
D. 448-92, a. 3.
4. Malgré les articles 1 et 3, le psychologue peut, lors d’une consultation de groupe, tenir un dossier unique de l’intervention comprenant les renseignements mentionnés au paragraphe 2 de l’article 3, la description et une évaluation de l’intervention et, s’il y a lieu, les renseignements mentionnés au paragraphe 9 de l’article 3.
D. 448-92, a. 4.
5. Sans restreindre la portée de l’article 3, un psychologue évite de verser dans un dossier toute donnée brute qui n’a pas fait l’objet d’un traitement ou toute information non vérifiée susceptible de porter préjudice au client.
D. 448-92, a. 5.
6. Le psychologue doit tenir à jour chaque dossier jusqu’au moment où il cesse de rendre des services professionnels au client concerné par ce dossier.
D. 448-92, a. 6.
7. Le psychologue doit conserver ses dossiers dans un meuble auquel le public n’a pas librement accès et fermé à clef ou autrement.
D. 448-92, a. 7.
8. Le psychologue doit conserver chaque dossier pendant au moins 5 ans à compter de la date du dernier service professionnel dispensé.
D. 448-92, a. 8.
9. Sous réserve de l’article 8, le psychologue peut procéder à la destruction d’un dossier à condition que celle-ci soit faite de manière à ce que la confidentialité des renseignements qui y sont contenus soit assurée.
D. 448-92, a. 9.
10. Lorsqu’un client demande qu’une copie de son dossier ou que des renseignements contenus dans ce dossier soient transmis à un tiers, le psychologue ne peut transmettre ces renseignements que 15 jours après la date de signature par le client d’un consentement à cet effet. Le client peut, à l’intérieur de ce délai, révoquer son consentement. Toutefois, dans les cas d’urgence, le client peut renoncer à ce délai de 15 jours.
Lorsqu’une copie d’un document du dossier qui le concerne est transmise à un client ou lorsque ce dernier demande qu’une telle copie ou des renseignements contenus au dossier soient transmis à une tierce personne, le psychologue doit insérer dans ce dossier une note en ce sens, signée par le client et datée.
D. 448-92, a. 10.
11. Le psychologue qui verse tout ou partie des renseignements mentionnés à l’article 3 au dossier d’un client, doit s’assurer que l’on procède conformément aux prescriptions de l’article 10 lorsqu’une copie d’un document contenu à ce dossier et relatif à ses services est transmise au client concerné ou à une tierce personne.
D. 448-92, a. 11.
12. Lorsque le psychologue exerce dans un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autchtones cris (chapitre S-5), le dossier du bénéficiaire au sens de ces lois et de leurs règlements est considéré, aux fins du présent règlement, comme le dossier de ce psychologue s’il peut y inscrire ou y faire inscrire, sous forme de rapport ou autrement, les renseignements mentionnés à l’article 3 pourvu que soit assurée la confidentialité de ce dossier. Les articles 8 à 10 ne s’appliquent pas à ce psychologue.
Le psychologue doit signer ou parapher toute inscription qu’il introduit dans ce dossier.
D. 448-92, a. 12.
13. Lorsque le psychologue est membre ou à l’emploi d’une société ou lorsqu’il est à l’emploi d’une personne physique ou morale, il peut inclure dans les dossiers de cette société ou de cet employeur tout ou partie des renseignements mentionnés à l’article 3, relativement aux clients à qui il dispense ses services pourvu que soit assurée la confidentialité de ces dossiers. Si ces renseignements ne sont pas ainsi inclus dans les dossiers de cette société ou de cet employeur, il doit tenir un dossier pour chacun de ses clients.
Le psychologue doit signer ou parapher toute inscription ou tout rapport qu’il introduit dans un dossier de cette société ou de cet employeur.
D. 448-92, a. 13.
SECTION II
TENUE DES CABINETS DE CONSULTATION
14. Le cabinet de consultation d’un psychologue doit être aménagé de façon à ce que l’identité et les conversations des personnes qui s’y trouvent ne puissent être perçues de l’extérieur de ce cabinet.
Ce cabinet de consultation ne comprend pas la salle d’attente, ni la salle de travail du psychologue ou des employés de ce psychologue.
D. 448-92, a. 14.
15. Près du cabinet de consultation du psychologue doit être aménagée une salle d’attente pour ses clients.
D. 448-92, a. 15.
16. Le psychologue qui exerce dans un établissement doit effectuer ses consultations dans un cabinet conforme au présent règlement.
D. 448-92, a. 16.
17. Le psychologue doit afficher son permis à la vue du public.
D. 448-92, a. 17.
18. Le psychologue doit exposer dans sa salle d’attente une copie du Code de déontologie des psychologues (chapitre C-26, r. 212), du présent règlement et, dans le cas d’un psychologue percevant des honoraires de ses clients, du Règlement sur la procédure de conciliation et d’arbitrage des comptes des psychologues (chapitre C-26, r. 220). Il doit également inscrire sur la copie de chacun de ces règlements l’adresse de l’Ordre.
D. 448-92, a. 18.
19. Outre les objets décoratifs et utilitaires, le psychologue ne peut afficher dans son cabinet de consultation et dans les autres locaux reliés à la pratique de sa profession que les diplômes ayant un rapport avec l’exercice de sa profession.
D. 448-92, a. 19.
20. Le psychologue qui s’absente de son cabinet de consultation pour plus de 5 jours ouvrables consécutifs doit prendre les mesures nécessaires pour informer les clients qui tentent de le rejoindre de la durée de cette absence et de la procédure à suivre en cas d’urgence.
D. 448-92, a. 20.
21. Lorsque le milieu de travail dans lequel exerce un psychologue qui n’est pas à son propre compte ou en société constitue un obstacle au respect d’une disposition du présent règlement, le psychologue doit, après en avoir informé son employeur par écrit, aviser l’Ordre de cette situation.
D. 448-92, a. 21.
22. (Omis).
D. 448-92, a. 22.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 448-92, 1992 G.O. 2, 2484