C-26, r. 219 - Regulation respecting diploma and training equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des psychologues du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 219
Regulation respecting diploma and training equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des psychologues du Québec
PSYCHOLOGISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The secretary of the Ordre des psychologues du Québec must forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate who, for the purpose of obtaining a permit from the Order, applies to have a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec or training recognized as equivalent.
In this Regulation,
“credit” means the quantitative value assigned to the activities of a student as part of a university practical training or research program; if the activity is a formal course, one credit represents 15 hours of teaching and 30 hours of personal work;
“diploma equivalence” means recognition by the Order that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that a candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government, made pursuant to the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), as giving access to the permit issued by the Order;
“internship” means an activity allowing a student to assimilate knowledge and apply recognized methods to diverse groups and problems in a professional working environment under the supervision of at least one psychologist having a minimum of 2 years of practical experience if he or she holds a doctorate or a minimum of 6 years of practical experience if he or she holds a master’s degree, in the field in which the internship is being served, or under the supervision of at least one professional working in psychology whose expertise and experience the committee referred to in section 10 considers to be equivalent to that of a psychologist having the same minimum qualifications;
“training equivalence” means recognition by the Order that a candidate’s training has enabled him or her to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government, made pursuant to the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code, as giving access to the permit issued by the Order;
“training period” means an activity allowing a student to become familiar with the practice of the profession of psychologist with a variety of client groups, including children, adolescents, adults and elderly persons, and the use of various methods of evaluation and treatment (individual, group and community) under the supervision of at least one psychologist having a minimum of 2 years of practical experience if he or she holds a doctorate or a minimum of 6 years of practical experience if he or she holds a master’s degree, in the field in which the training period is undertaken, or under the supervision of at least one professional working in psychology or in a related field whose expertise and experience the committee referred to in section 10 considers to be equivalent to that of a psychologist having the same minimum qualifications.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 1.
DIVISION II
DIPLOMA EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
2. A candidate who holds a diploma issued by a university-level educational institution outside Québec is granted a diploma equivalence if he or she can demonstrate that:
(1)  the diploma in psychology was obtained upon completion of a university program in psychology of a level equivalent to that of a program in psychology leading to one of the diplomas in psychology recognized as giving access to the permit issued by the Order.
The programs of studies must include a minimum of 45 credits in courses and research and a minimum of 2,300 hours of supervised practical training (700 hours in training periods and 1,600 hours of internship, for a total of 51 credits) apportioned so as to allow acquisition of the following professional skills considered to be necessary for the practice of psychology:
i.  interpersonal relationships: a minimum of 3 credits;
ii.  psychological evaluation and diagnosis: a minimum of 500 hours of practical training and 9 credits in evaluation methods and in psychopathology or dysfunction;
iii.  treatment: a minimum of 500 hours of practical training and 9 credits of which a minimum of 3 are in the treatment of individuals, 3 in the treatment of systems (couple, family, group, organizations, etc.) and 3 optional credits in treatment;
iv.  research: a minimum of 6 credits in research processes and methods;
v.  ethics and professional conduct: a minimum of 3 credits;
vi.  consultation and supervision: a minimum of 200 hours of practical training including at least 50 hours in consultation and 50 hours in supervision and a minimum of 3 credits in consultation and supervision;
vii.  independent research activity (assignments, dissertations, essays or theses) for a minimum of 12 credits;
(2)  he or she was admitted to the program having previously completed a minimum of 42 credits in courses covering the scientific foundations of psychology, apportioned as follows:
i.  biological bases of behaviour, a minimum of 6 credits;
ii.  cognitive and affective bases of behaviour: a minimum of 6 credits;
iii.  social and cultural bases of behaviour: a minimum of 6 credits;
iv.  developmental psychology: a minimum of 6 credits;
v.  history and systems in psychology: a minimum of 3 credits;
vi.  psychometrics: a minimum of 3 credits;
vii.  research methods: a minimum of 3 credits;
viii.  data analysis: a minimum of 3 credits;
ix.  personality: a minimum of 3 credits;
x.  psychopathology: a minimum of 3 credits.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 2.
3. Despite section 2, if the diploma for which an equivalence application is made was obtained more than 5 years before the application and, considering the developments in the profession, the knowledge certified by the diploma no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently being taught, the candidate is granted a training equivalence pursuant to section 4 if the candidate has attained the required level of knowledge and skills since obtaining his or her diploma.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 3.
DIVISION III
TRAINING EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
4. A candidate is granted a training equivalence if the candidate demonstrates having a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government, made pursuant to the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), as giving access to a permit issued by the Order.
In assessing the training equivalence of a candidate, all the following factors are taken into account:
(1)  the nature and length of work experience in psychology;
(2)  the nature and content of the courses taken and the results obtained;
(3)  the nature and content of work experience and other continuing education or professional development activities;
(4)  the total number of years of education;
(5)  the fact that the candidate has obtained one or more diplomas in Québec or elsewhere.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 4.
DIVISION IV
TRAINING EQUIVALENCE RECOGNITION PROCEDURE
5. A candidate who wishes to have a diploma or training equivalence recognized must provide the secretary with the following documents, which are required to support the candidate’s application, together with the application processing fees payable under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26):
(1)  the candidate’s academic record, including the official transcript, a description of courses taken and the number of hours or credits for each course;
(2)  a copy of any diploma obtained, certified true by the educational institution;
(3)  an official attestation from the university-level educational institution that issued the diploma confirming that the internships and training periods have been successfully completed;
(4)  an official attestation of participation in any other training period or training activity, a description of the activities in the training period or training activity including the number of hours, the number of hours of supervision and the qualifications of the supervisor; and
(5)  an official attestation and a description of relevant work experience, including a description of the duties and responsibilities assumed, the number of hours of work with or without supervision and the qualifications of the immediate manager or, if applicable, the immediate supervisor.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 5.
6. Documents in a language other than French or English submitted in support of an application for diploma or training equivalence must be accompanied by a French or English translation certified by the translator.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 6.
7. As regards diplomas obtained outside Québec, the secretary may require a candidate to obtain a comparative evaluation of studies outside Québec, issued by the Ministère de l’Immigration et des Communautés culturelles.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 7.
8. The secretary must send the documents referred to in section 5 to the committee formed by the board of directors under paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to study diploma or training equivalence applications and make an appropriate recommendation.
For the purposes of the recommendation, the committee may require the applicant to successfully undergo an interview, pass an examination or do both.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 8.
9. At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the recommendation, the executive committee must decide, in accordance with this Regulation, whether it will grant a diploma or training equivalence and inform the candidate in writing within 30 days of its decision.
If the executive committee refuses to grant or decides to partially grant a diploma or training equivalence, it must so inform the candidate in writing and indicate the programs of study or any complementary training, training periods or examinations to be successfully completed within the allotted time to enable the candidate to be granted the equivalence.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 9.
10. A candidate who is informed of the executive committee’s decision not to grant or to partially grant the equivalence may apply to the secretary in writing, with reasons, for a review of the decision within 30 days of receiving it.
The decision must be reviewed within 90 days of receipt of the application by a committee formed by the board of directors under paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), made up of persons other than members of the executive committee or the committee referred to in section 8. Before disposing of the review application, the committee must allow the candidate to make submissions.
A candidate who wishes to be present to make submissions must inform the secretary at least 5 days before the date scheduled for the meeting. The candidate may, however, send written submissions to the secretary at any time before the date scheduled for the meeting.
The decision of the committee is final and must be sent to the candidate in writing within 30 days following the date of the meeting.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 10.
11. This Regulation replaces the Regulation regarding standards for equivalence of diplomas and training for the issue of a permit by the Ordre professionnel des psychologues du Québec (O.C. 133-2001, 01-02-21).
Despite the foregoing, a diploma or training equivalence application duly completed and received with payment of the applicable fees before 1 March 2007 is evaluated in accordance with the Regulation being replaced.
O.C. 56-2007, s. 11.
12. (Omitted).
O.C. 56-2007, s. 12.
REFERENCES
O.C. 56-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 961
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-26, r. 219 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 219
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec
PSYCHOLOGUES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c.1).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, désire faire reconnaître une équivalence d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec ou une équivalence de formation.
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés du candidat titulaire de ce diplôme est équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement, pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), comme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de formation»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre que la formation d’un candidat démontre que celui-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement, pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions, comme donnant ouverture au permis;
«crédit»: la valeur quantitative attribuée aux activités d’un étudiant dans le cadre d’un programme universitaire de formation pratique ou de recherche; lorsque l’activité est un cours formel, un crédit représente 15 heures d’enseignement et 30 heures de travaux d’intégration;
«stage»: activité permettant à un étudiant de se familiariser avec l’exercice de la profession de psychologue auprès d’une clientèle diversifiée, soit enfants, adolescents, adultes et personnes âgées, et l’utilisation de divers modes d’évaluation et d’intervention (individuelle, groupe, communautaire) sous supervision d’au moins un psychologue possédant un minimum de 2 années d’expérience pratique s’il est titulaire d’un doctorat et d’un minimum de 6 années d’expérience pratique s’il est titulaire d’une maîtrise dans le domaine visé par le stage ou par au moins un professionnel oeuvrant en psychologie et dont la compétence et l’expérience sont jugées, par le comité visé à l’article 8, équivalentes à celles d’un psychologue possédant ce minimum;
«internat»: activité permettant à un étudiant d’intégrer les connaissances et d’appliquer les méthodes reconnues à une diversité de clientèles et de problématiques par l’insertion dans un milieu professionnel avec supervision par au moins un psychologue possédant un minimum de 2 années d’expérience pratique s’il est titulaire d’un doctorat et d’un minimum de 6 années d’expérience pratique s’il est titulaire d’une maîtrise dans le domaine visé par l’internat ou par au moins un professionnel oeuvrant en psychologie ou dans un domaine connexe à la psychologie et dont la compétence et l’expérience sont jugées, par le comité visé à l’article 8, équivalentes à celles d’un psychologue possédant ce minimum.
D. 56-2007, a. 1; Décision 2014-05-26, a. 1.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
2. Un candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme en psychologie délivré par un établissement d’enseignement universitaire situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme s’il démontre ce qui suit:
1°  son diplôme en psychologie a été obtenu au terme d’un programme d’études universitaires en psychologie de niveau équivalent à celui d’un programme d’études en psychologie donnant ouverture à un des diplômes en psychologie reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre.
Ces programmes d’études doivent comprendre un minimum de 45 crédits de cours et de recherche et un minimum de 2 300 heures de formation pratique supervisée (700 heures de stages et 1 600 heures d’internats, pour un total de 51 crédits) qui sont répartis de façon à permettre l’apprentissage des compétences professionnelles suivantes jugées nécessaires à la pratique de la psychologie, soit:
i.  relations interpersonnelles: un minimum de 3 crédits;
ii.  évaluation et diagnostic psychologiques: un minimum de 500 heures de formation pratique et de 9 crédits sur les méthodes d’évaluation et sur la psychopathologie ou le dysfonctionnement;
iii.  intervention: un minimum de 500 heures de formation pratique et de 9 crédits dont un minimum de 3 crédits en intervention individuelle, de 3 crédits en intervention auprès de systèmes (couple, famille, groupe, organisations) et de 3 crédits au choix en intervention;
iv.  recherche: un minimum de 6 crédits portant sur les processus et méthodes de recherche;
v.  éthique et déontologie: un minimum de 3 crédits;
vi.  consultation et supervision: un minimum de 50 heures de formation pratique portant sur la consultation et 50 heures de formation pratique portant sur la supervision et un minimum de 3 crédits portant sur la consultation et la supervision;
vii.  activité autonome de recherche (travaux dirigés, mémoires, essais ou thèses): un minimum de 12 crédits;
2°  il a été admis dans ce programme en ayant préalablement complété un minimum de 42 crédits de cours dans les bases scientifiques de la psychologie réparties de la façon suivante:
i.  bases biologiques du comportement: un minimum de 6 crédits;
ii.  bases cognitives et affectives du comportement: un minimum de 6 crédits;
iii.  bases sociales culturelles du comportement: un minimum de 6 crédits;
iv.  psychologie du développement: un minimum de 6 crédits;
v.  histoire et systèmes en psychologie: un minimum de 3 crédits;
vi.  psychométrie: un minimum de 3 crédits;
vii.  méthodes de recherche: un minimum de 3 crédits;
viii.  analyse de données: un minimum de 3 crédits;
ix.  personnalité: un minimum de 3 crédits;
x.  psychopathologie: un minimum de 3 crédits.
D. 56-2007, a. 2; Décision 2014-05-26, a. 2.
3. Malgré l’article 2, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu plus de 5 ans avant cette demande et que les connaissances qu’il atteste ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession aux connaissances présentement enseignées, le candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation conformément à l’article 4, s’il a acquis, depuis l’obtention de son diplôme, le niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés requis.
D. 56-2007, a. 3.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE FORMATION
4. Un candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation s’il démontre qu’il possède un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement, pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre.
Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de formation du candidat, il est tenu compte de l’ensemble des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience de travail en psychologie;
2°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis et les résultats obtenus;
3°  la nature et le contenu des stages de formation et des autres activités de formation continue ou de perfectionnement;
4°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité;
5°  le fait que le candidat soit titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs.
D. 56-2007, a. 4.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE D’ÉQUIVALENCE
5. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou une équivalence de formation doit fournir au secrétaire ceux des documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande, accompagnés des frais d’étude de son dossier exigés conformément au paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26):
1°  son dossier académique incluant le relevé officiel des résultats obtenus, la description du contenu des cours suivis et le nombre d’heures s’y rapportant;
2°  une copie certifiée conforme par l’établissement d’enseignement de tout diplôme obtenu;
3°  une attestation officielle de l’établissement d’enseignement de niveau universitaire qui a délivré le diplôme confirmant qu’il a complété et réussi les internats et les stages;
4°  une attestation officielle de sa participation à tout autre stage ou à toute autre activité de formation, la description des activités du stage ou de l’activité de formation comprenant notamment le nombre d’heures du stage ou de l’activité de formation, le nombre d’heures de supervision et les qualifications du superviseur;
5°  une attestation officielle et une description de son expérience pertinente de travail comprenant une description des fonctions et des responsabilités assumées ainsi que le nombre d’heures de travail effectuées avec ou sans encadrement ainsi que les qualifications du supérieur immédiat ou du superviseur, s’il y a lieu.
D. 56-2007, a. 5.
6. Les documents transmis à l’appui de la demande d’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation, qui sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français ou en anglais, attestée par une déclaration sous serment du traducteur qui en a rédigé la traduction.
D. 56-2007, a. 6.
7. Le secrétaire peut exiger d’un candidat une évaluation comparative des études effectuées à l’extérieur du Canada, réalisée par un organisme compétent, à l’égard de tout diplôme obtenu à l’extérieur du Canada.
Pour déterminer si un organisme est compétent, l’Ordre tient compte des pratiques appliquées par l’organisme pour garantir la qualité de ses services d’évaluation, y compris les critères d’évaluation utilisés.
D. 56-2007, a. 7; Décision 2014-05-26, a. 3.
8. Le secrétaire transmet les documents prévus à l’article 5 au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration, en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation et formuler une recommandation appropriée.
Aux fins de formuler une recommandation, ce comité peut demander au candidat qui demande la reconnaissance d’une équivalence de passer avec succès une entrevue, de réussir un examen ou de faire les deux.
D. 56-2007, a. 8.
9. À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de cette recommandation, le comité exécutif décide, conformément au présent règlement, s’il reconnaît l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation et en informe par écrit le candidat dans les 30 jours de sa décision.
Lorsque le comité exécutif refuse de reconnaître l’équivalence demandée ou décide de la reconnaître en partie, il doit, par la même occasion, informer par écrit le candidat des programmes d’études à suivre ou, le cas échéant, du complément de formation, des stages ou des examens dont la réussite, dans le délai fixé, lui permettrait de bénéficier de cette équivalence.
D. 56-2007, a. 9.
10. Le candidat, qui est informé de la décision du comité exécutif de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence demandée ou de la reconnaître en partie, peut en demander la révision à la condition qu’il en fasse la demande motivée par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de cette décision.
La révision est effectuée dans les 90 jours suivant la date de réception de cette demande par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration, en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), composé de personnes autres que des membres du comité exécutif ou du comité visé à l’article 8. Ce comité doit, avant de prendre une décision, permettre au candidat de présenter ses observations.
Le candidat qui désire être présent pour faire ses observations doit en informer le secrétaire au moins 5 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. Le candidat peut cependant faire parvenir au secrétaire ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour cette réunion.
La décision du comité est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 30 jours de la date de cette réunion.
D. 56-2007, a. 10.
11. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre professionnel des psychologues du Québec (D. 133-2001, 01-02-21).
Cependant, une demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation reçue, dûment complétée et dont les frais ont été acquittés avant le 1er mars 2007, est évaluée en fonction du règlement que le présent règlement remplace.
D. 56-2007, a. 11.
12. (Omis).
D. 56-2007, a. 12.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 56-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 1175
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212
Décision 2014-05-26, 2014 G.O. 2, 1990