C-26, r. 189 - Regulation respecting the standards for diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 189
Regulation respecting the standards for diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
SPEECH THERAPISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PERMIT — STANDARDS
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
December 25 2014
Replaced, Décision 2014-11-10, 2014 G.O. 2, 4425, eff. 2014-12-25; see chapter C-26, r. 188.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. This Regulation applies to every person who does not hold a diploma giving access to the permit of the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec and who applies for the recognition of a diploma issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec as equivalent for the purpose of obtaining a permit.
It also applies to every person who neither holds a diploma giving access to the Order’s permit nor a diploma issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec that may be recognized as equivalent under this Regulation and who applies for the recognition of training received in Québec or elsewhere as equivalent to the diploma giving access to the permit, for the purpose of obtaining that permit.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
“diploma equivalence” means the recognition by the Order that a diploma issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec certifies that a candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit;
“diploma giving access to the permit” means a diploma recognized by regulation of the Government as giving access to the permit of the Order, made under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
“training equivalence” means the recognition by the Order that a candidate’s training has enabled him to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 2; O.C. 398-2009, s. 1.
3. The secretary of the Order shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a person applying for a diploma or training equivalence for the purposes of obtaining a permit from the Order.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 3.
DIVISION II
STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS
4. A person holding a master’s degree in speech therapy or audiology issued by a Canadian university situated outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 4.
5. Except in the case provided for in section 4, a person holding a diploma in speech therapy or audiology issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if that diploma was issued upon completion of master’s-level studies comprising a minimum of 60 credits for courses and practical work and a minimum of 350 hours of clinical practicum and internship.
Each credit corresponds to 15 hours of formal courses, 30 hours of attendance at laboratory exercises or 45 hours of supervised clinical practicum. The hours of clinical practicum and internship shall involve direct contact with clients. The credits and hours of clinical practicum and internship shall be distributed as described in Schedule I.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 5.
DIVISION III
STANDARDS OF EQUIVALENCE OF TRAINING
6. A person shall be granted a training equivalence if he acquired, upon completion of at least 5 years of relevant work experience, knowledge and skills equivalent to those acquired by a holder of a diploma recognized as giving access to the permit.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 6.
7. In appraising the training presented in support of an application for training equivalence, the Order shall take the following factors into account, in particular:
(1)  type and years of experience;
(2)  type of courses taken and course content;
(3)  clinical practicum served;
(4)  total years of education; and
(5)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more diplomas issued in Québec or elsewhere.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 7; O.C. 398-2009, s. 2.
DIVISION IV
PROCEDURE FOR RECOGNITION OF EQUIVALENCE
8. A person who, for the purpose of obtaining a permit of the Order, must be granted a diploma or training equivalence shall provide the secretary of the Order with the following documents and information:
(1)  an application in writing to that effect, along with the filing of study fees prescribed pursuant to paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(2)  his academic record, with a description of the courses taken, the number of course hours completed or credits obtained, and an official transcript of the marks obtained;
(3)  a true copy of the diplomas he holds;
(4)  a document issued by the educational institution or competent authority, attesting to the candidate’s participation in and successful completion of any practicum, internship or practical work;
(5)  a document attesting to his relevant work experience in the field of speech therapy or audiology, with a description thereof;
(6)  where applicable, an official document attesting to any additional training received during the last 5 years; and
(7)  where applicable, any information related to the factors that may take into account pursuant to section 7.
Where documents submitted in support of an application for recognition of an equivalence are written in a language other than French or English, they shall be accompanied by a translation in French, certified in a sworn statement by the person who did the translation.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 8; O.C. 398-2009, s. 3.
9. The secretary of the Order shall forward the documents and information prescribed in section 8 to a committee formed by the board of directors of the Order, in accordance with paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), to study equivalence applications and make an appropriate recommendation to the board of directors of the Order.
In order to make an appropriate recommendation, the committee may require the applicant to pass an examination or to complete a clinical practicum or both.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 9.
10. At the first meeting of the board of directors of the Order following receipt of the committee’s recommendation, the board of directors shall decide
(1)  to grant a diploma or training equivalence; or
(2)  to deny a diploma or training equivalence.
The board of directors of the Order shall send a written notice of its decision to the person in question by registered mail, within 15 days of the date on which the decision was made.
Where the board of directors decides not to grant a diploma or training equivalence, it shall, on the same occasion, inform the candidate in writing of the programs of study leading to a diploma giving access to the permit or of additional training that should be successfully completed within the time period indicated by the board of directors, taking into account the candidate’s level of knowledge and skills at the time of his application, for the equivalence to be granted.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 10.
11. A candidate who is informed of the board of director’s decision not to recognize the diploma or training equivalence applied for may apply for review, provided that the candidate applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days of the mailing of the board of director’s decision.
The decision must be reviewed within 60 days of receipt of the application by a committee formed by the board of directors made up of persons other than members of the board of directors or the committee referred to in section 9, but with no less than a member holding a permit of each of the 2 categories established within the Order. Before disposing of the review application, the committee must allow the candidate to make submissions.
For this purpose, the secretary of the Order must inform the candidate of the date, time and place of the meeting where the application will be examined, by means of a written notice sent by registered mail at least 15 days before the date of the hearing.
A candidate who wishes to make submissions in person at the meeting must notify the secretary at least 5 days before the date scheduled for the meeting. The candidate may, however, send written submissions to the secretary at any time before the date scheduled for the meeting.
The decision of the committee is final and must be sent to the candidate in writing by registered mail within 30 days following the date it is made.
O.C. 1141-98, s. 11; O.C. 398-2009, s. 4.
12. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas issued by educational establishments outside Québec, for the issue of a permit by the Ordre professionnel des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec (O.C. 282-93, 93-03-03).
O.C. 1141-98, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 1141-98, s. 13.

Minimum
credits or
Subject hours required


(1) Speech-language pathology

Basic sciences:
12 credits
- Anatomy and physiology of the systems basic to 3
human communication
- Language development 3
- Speech and language sciences 3
- Research methodology 3

Professional training: 48 credits

- Language disorders in children 9
- Language disorders in adults 6
- Articulation disorders 3
- Neurologically-based speech disorders 3
- Fluency disorders 3
- Voice disorders 3
- Resonance disorders 3
- Audiology and rehabilitation of the hearing-impaired 6
- Alternative and augmentative communication methods 3
- Professional practices and issues 3
- Initiation to research in speech-language pathology 3
- Counselling 3

Clinical practicum and internship: 350 hours*

- Developmental language disorders 40
- Acquired language disorders 20
- Fluency disorders 20
- Voice and resonance disorders 20
- Articulation disorders 20

(2) Audiology

Basic sciences:
12 credits

- Anatomy and physiology of the phonatory, auditory and 3
otovestibular systems and their central connections
- Acoustics and psychoacoustics of the auditory system 3
- Auditory perception 3
- Research methodology 3

Professional training (audiology): 48 credits

- Auditory and otovestibular disorders 6
- Principles of audiological evaluation 9
- Evaluation principles applied to specific populations 3
- Principles of audiological
rehabilitation:
· technical approaches 6
· non-technical approaches 6
- Principles of rehabilitation applied to specific populations 3
- Instrumentation in audiology 3
- Speech-language pathology for audiologists 3
- Professional practices and issues 3
- Initiation to research in audiology 3
- Counselling 3

Clinical practicum and internship: 350 hours**

- Audiological evaluation: 100 hours
· needs identification and analysis
· selection and application of diagnostic methods
and analysis of data
- Audiological habilitation and rehabilitation:
· technical approaches
· non-technical approaches 100 hours
* Of the 350 hours of clinical practicum and internship, at least 50 shall be completed with children, 50 with adults, 25 in the area of assessment and diagnostics, and 100 in the area of habilitation, rehabilitation and reeducation. Those hours of clinical practicum and internship may not include more than 35 hours in audiology.
** Of the 350 hours of training and internship, at least 50 shall be completed with children and 50 with adults. Those hours of training and internship may not include more than 35 hours in orthophony.
O.C. 1141-98, Sch. I.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1141-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 3765
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212
O.C. 398-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1303

C-26, r. 189 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 189
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec
ORTHOPHONISTES ET AUDIOLOGISTES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — PERMIS — NORMES
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c.1).
C-26
25 décembre 2014
Remplacé, Décision 2014-11-10, 2014 G.O. 2, 4425, eff. 2014-12-25; voir chapitre C-26, r. 188.1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à toute personne qui, n’étant pas titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec, demande, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis, à faire reconnaître équivalent à ce diplôme, un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec.
Il s’applique également à toute personne qui, n’étant pas titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, ni d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec et pouvant être reconnu équivalent en application du présent règlement, demande, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis, à faire reconnaître équivalente au diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, une formation qui a pu être acquise au Québec ou à l’extérieur du Québec.
D. 1141-98, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«diplôme donnant ouverture au permis»: un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre, pris en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
«équivalence des diplômes»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste l’acquisition par son titulaire d’un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de la formation»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre que la formation d’une personne démontre que celle-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1141-98, a. 2; D. 398-2009, a. 1.
3. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre transmet une copie du présent règlement à la personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, demande à faire reconnaître une équivalence des diplômes ou une équivalence de la formation.
D. 1141-98, a. 3.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DES DIPLÔMES
4. La personne qui est titulaire d’une maîtrise en orthophonie ou en audiologie délivrée par une université canadienne située hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme.
D. 1141-98, a. 4.
5. Sauf dans le cas prévu à l’article 4, la personne qui est titulaire d’un diplôme en orthophonie ou en audiologie délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études universitaires de deuxième cycle comportant un minimum de 60 crédits de cours et de travaux pratiques et un minimum de 350 heures de stages et d’internat.
Chacun des crédits représente 15 heures de cours formels, 30 heures de présence en laboratoire ou 45 heures de stages supervisés. Les heures de stages et d’internat doivent comporter un contact direct avec la clientèle. Les crédits et heures de stages et d’internat son répartis de la façon décrite à l’annexe I.
D. 1141-98, a. 5.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE LA FORMATION
6. Une personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation si elle possède, au terme d’une expérience pertinente de travail d’une durée minimale de 5 ans, des connaissances et habiletés équivalentes à celles acquises par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1141-98, a. 6.
7. Dans l’appréciation de la formation invoquée au soutien d’une demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence, l’Ordre tient compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience;
2°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
3°  les stages de formation qu’elle a effectués;
4°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité;
5°  le fait qu’elle soit titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes délivrés au Québec ou ailleurs.
D. 1141-98, a. 7; D. 398-2009, a. 2.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE DE L’ÉQUIVALENCE
8. La personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, doit faire reconnaître une équivalence des diplômes ou une équivalence de la formation, doit fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents et renseignements suivants:
1°  une demande écrite à ce sujet accompagnée des frais d’étude de son dossier prescrits en application du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
2°  son dossier scolaire incluant les descriptions des cours suivis, le nombre d’heures de cours suivis ou de crédits obtenus et le relevé officiel des notes obtenues;
3°  une copie authentique de tout diplôme dont elle est titulaire;
4°  le cas échéant, une attestation par l’établissement d’enseignement ou par l’organisme en autorité de sa participation à tout stage de formation, internat ou travaux pratiques et de la réussite de ce stage, de cet internat ou de ces travaux pratiques;
5°  le cas échéant, une attestation et une description de son expérience pertinente de travail dans le domaine de l’orthophonie ou de l’audiologie;
6°  le cas échéant, une attestation officielle de toute formation additionnelle reçue au cours des 5 dernières années;
7°  le cas échéant, tout renseignement relatif aux facteurs dont l’Ordre peut tenir compte en application de l’article 7.
Si un document transmis à l’appui de la demande de reconnaissance d’une équivalence est rédigé dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, la personne qui fait la demande doit fournir une traduction du document en français, attestée par une déclaration sous serment de la personne qui en a fait la traduction.
D. 1141-98, a. 8; D. 398-2009, a. 3.
9. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre transmet les documents et renseignements visés par l’article 8 à un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre, conformément au paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), pour étudier les demandes de reconnaissance d’une équivalence et formuler une recommandation appropriée au Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
Aux fins de formuler une recommandation appropriée, ce comité peut demander à la personne qui demande la reconnaissance d’une équivalence de réussir un examen ou de compléter un stage, ou de faire les deux à la fois.
D. 1141-98, a. 9.
10. À la première réunion du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre qui suit la date de réception de la recommandation du comité, le Conseil d’administration décide, selon le cas:
1°  que la personne bénéficie d’une équivalence des diplômes ou d’une équivalence de la formation;
2°  que la personne ne bénéficie pas d’une équivalence des diplômes ou d’une équivalence de la formation.
Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre informe par écrit la personne concernée de sa décision en la lui transmettant, par poste recommandée, dans les 15 jours de la date où elle a été rendue.
Lorsque le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre décide que la personne ne bénéficie pas d’une équivalence des diplômes ou d’une équivalence de la formation, il doit, à la même occasion, l’informer par écrit de l’existence des programmes d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis ou du complément de formation qu’elle devrait suivre avec succès dans le délai indiqué par le Conseil d’administration, compte tenu du niveau de ses connaissances et habiletés à l’époque de sa demande, pour bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation.
D. 1141-98, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
11. La personne à qui le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre ne reconnaît pas l’équivalence des diplômes ou l’équivalence de la formation peut en demander la révision à la condition qu’elle fasse parvenir au secrétaire de l’Ordre une demande écrite à ce sujet dans les 30 jours de la date de la mise à la poste de la décision du Conseil d’administration.
La révision est effectuée dans les 60 jours de la date de réception de cette demande par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration, composé de personnes autres que des membres du Conseil d’administration ou du comité visé à l’article 9 et d’au moins un titulaire de chacune des catégories de permis délivrés par l’Ordre. Ce comité doit, avant de prendre une décision, permettre au candidat de présenter ses observations.
À cette fin, le secrétaire de l’Ordre informe le candidat de la date, du lieu et de l’heure de la réunion au cours de laquelle la demande sera examinée, au moyen d’un avis écrit, transmis par poste recommandée, au moins 15 jours avant sa tenue.
Le candidat qui désire être présent pour se faire entendre doit en informer le secrétaire au moins 5 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. Le candidat peut cependant faire parvenir au secrétaire ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour cette réunion.
La décision du comité est définitive et doit être transmise à la personne par écrit et par poste recommandée dans les 30 jours de la date où elle a été rendue.
D. 1141-98, a. 11; D. 398-2009, a. 4; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes délivrés par les établissements d’enseignement situés hors du Québec, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre professionnel des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec (D. 282-93, 93-03-03).
D. 1141-98, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 1141-98, a. 13.
ANNEXE I
(a. 5)

Matières Nombre de crédits
ou d’heures
minimum requis


1) ORTHOPHONIE

Sciences fondamentales 12 crédits

- anatomophysiologie des systèmes sous-tendant la 3
communication humaine
- développement du langage 3
- science de la parole et du langage 3
- méthodologie de la recherche 3

Formation professionnelle 48 crédits

- troubles du langage chez l’enfant 9
- troubles du langage chez l’adulte 6
- troubles d’articulation 3
- troubles de la parole d’origine neurologique 3
- troubles de la fluidité 3
- troubles de la phonation 3
- troubles de la résonance 3
- audiologie et réadaptation du déficient auditif 6
- méthodes compensatoires 3
- problématiques reliées à la pratique professionnelle 3
- initiation à la recherche en orthophonie 3
- counselling 3

Stages et internat 350 heures*

- troubles d’acquisition du langage 40
- troubles acquis du langage 20
- troubles de la fluidité 20
- troubles de la voix et de la résonance 20
- troubles d’articulation 20

2) AUDIOLOGIE

Sciences fondamentales 12 crédits

- anatomophysiologie des systèmes phonatoire, auditif, 3
oto-vestibulaire et leurs connexions centrales
- phénomènes acoustiques et psycho-acoustiques reliés au 3
système auditif
- processus de perception auditive 3
- méthodologie de la recherche 3

Formation professionnelle en audiologie 48 crédits

- étude des manifestations des troubles du système auditif et 6
oto-vestibulaire
- principes d’évaluation audiologique 9
- principes d’évaluation appliqués à des populations spécifiques 3
- principes de réadaptation audiologique:
- approches techniques 6
- approches non techniques 6
- principes de réadaptation appliqués à des populations 3
spécifiques
- instrumentation en audiologie 3
- concepts d’orthophonie pertinents à l’audiologie 3
- problématiques reliées à la pratique professionnelle 3
- initiation à la recherche en audiologie 3
- counselling 3

Stages et internat 350 heures**

- évaluation audiologique: 100
- identification et analyse des besoins
- sélection, application de méthodes diagnostiques et
analyse des données ainsi recueillies
- adaptation/réadaptation audiologique: 100
- approches techniques
- approches non techniques
* Parmi ces 350 heures de stages et d’internat, au moins 50 heures doivent être effectuées auprès des enfants, 50 auprès des adultes, 25 en interventions diagnostiques et 100 en interventions de réadaptation, de rééducation et d’adaptation. Ces heures de stages ou d’internat ne peuvent comporter plus de 35 heures en audiologie.
** Parmi ces 350 heures de stages et d’internat, au moins 50 doivent être effectuées auprès des enfants et 50 auprès des adultes. Ces heures de stages ou d’internat ne peuvent comporter plus de 35 heures en orthophonie.
D. 1141-98, Ann. I.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1141-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 5091
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212
D. 398-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1783