C-26, r. 160 - Regulation respecting standards of equivalence for diplomas and training for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 160
Regulation respecting standards of equivalence for diplomas and training for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec
NURSING ASSISTANTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PERMITS — STANDARDS OF EQUIVALENCE
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. This Regulation applies to any person who does not hold a diploma giving access to a permit issued by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec and who is requesting that, for the purposes of obtaining a permit, a diploma issued by an educational establishment outside Québec be recognized as equivalent.
It also applies to any person who neither holds a diploma giving access to a permit, nor a diploma issued by an educational establishment outside Québec that could be recognized as equivalent under this Regulation and who is requesting, for the purposes of obtaining a permit, that the training received in Québec or outside Québec be recognized as equivalent to that diploma.
In this Regulation,
“diploma giving access to the permit” means a diploma recognized as giving access to the permit issued by the Order, by a government regulation made under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
“diploma equivalence” means recognition pursuant to the Professional Code that a diploma issued by an educational establishment outside Québec certifies that its holder has attained a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit;
“training equivalence” means recognition pursuant to the Professional Code that a person’s training demonstrates that the person has attained a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit.
O.C. 749-98, s. 1; O.C. 436-2008, s. 1.
2. The secretary of the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec shall forward a copy of this Regulation to any person who requests diploma or training equivalence in order to obtain a permit from the Order.
O.C. 749-98, s. 2.
DIVISION II
EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS FOR DIPLOMAS
3. A person who holds a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec is granted a diploma equivalence if the person’s diploma was obtained upon completion of Secondary IV studies in Québec, or the equivalent, comprising at least 1,800 hours apportioned as follows:
(1)  a minimum of 945 theoretical and laboratory hours obtained in subjects dealing with professional training for nursing assistants including
(a)  150 hours on the profession, its ethical and legal aspects in the context of a comprehensive approach to health, and communication at work;
(b)  135 hours in basic care procedures and in establishing a helping relationship;
(c)  330 hours in the musculoskeletal, nervous and sensory systems, endocrine system, cardiovascular and respiratory systems, digestive system, urinary and reproductive systems;
(d)  90 hours in nutrition and pharmacotherapy;
(e)  90 hours of first aid and infection control;
(f)  30 hours in palliative care; and
(g)  120 hours in approaches to mental health and approaches to persons with cognitive deficits and intellectual impairments;
(2)  a minimum of 855 hours of training apportioned as follows:
(a)  135 hours of specific care and basic care to persons suffering from a loss of autonomy;
(b)  120 hours in geronto-geriatric care;
(c)  120 hours of care of persons with mental health problems and persons with physical or intellectual impairments;
(d)  330 hours of care including at least 120 hours in medical care, at least 90 hours of pre- and postoperative care to adults and at least 90 hours of physical rehabilitation care; and
(e)  60 hours of care to persons suffering from a loss of autonomy in family or intermediate-type establishments.
O.C. 749-98, s. 3; O.C. 436-2008, s. 2.
3.1. Despite section 3, if the diploma relating to the application for equivalence was obtained more than 4 years before the application and the knowledge to which it attests no longer corresponds, given the developments within the profession, to the knowledge currently taught, the candidate shall be granted training equivalence in accordance with section 4, provided the candidate has acquired the required level of knowledge and skills since the candidate obtained his or her diploma.
O.C. 436-2008, s. 2.
DIVISION III
EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS FOR TRAINING
4. A person shall be granted a training equivalence if he has
(1)  attained a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level that may be attained upon completion of Secondary IV studies in Québec or the equivalent, comprising the hours specified in paragraph 1 of section 3; and
(2)  gained relevant work experience, taken courses, passed examinations, completed training periods or carried out practical work, comprising a number of hours equivalent to the hours indicated in paragraph 2 of section 3.
A person shall also be granted a training equivalence if
(1)  he holds at least one diploma in childcare obtained following training in childcare that childcare attendants and nurses receive as science learning in order to be able to provide the nursing care required for the treatment of newborn babies and sick children up to the age of 16;
(2)  he has at least 3 years of relevant work experience.
O.C. 749-98, s. 4; O.C. 436-2008, s. 3.
DIVISION IV
PROCEDURE FOR THE RECOGNITION OF AN EQUIVALENCE
5. A person who applies for a diploma equivalence to obtain a permit issued by the Order shall provide the secretary of the Order with
(1)  a written application, enclosing the fees fixed for the processing of records pursuant to paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(2)  his academic record, including a description of the courses taken, the number of hours for each course and the corresponding official transcript; and
(3)  official proof that the diploma was conferred.
O.C. 749-98, s. 5.
6. A person who applies for a training equivalence to obtain a permit issued by the Order shall provide the secretary of the Order with
(1)  a written application, enclosing the fees fixed for the processing of records pursuant to paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(2)  his academic record, including a description of the courses taken, the number of hours for each course and the corresponding official transcript, if applicable;
(3)  official proof that one or more diplomas were conferred in Québec or elsewhere, if applicable;
(4)  total years of education; and
(5)  an attestation of his relevant work experience and an attestation that he has taken courses, passed examinations, completed training periods or carried out practical work.
O.C. 749-98, s. 6.
7. Documents in support of an application for an equivalence that are not written in French or English shall be accompanied by a French or English translation provided by the applicant. The translation shall be certified as true to the original by a member of the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec or by an authorized diplomatic or consular representative.
O.C. 749-98, s. 7.
8. The secretary of the Order shall forward the documents and information provided in support of an application to the committee of the Order formed in accordance with paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) for the purpose of examining applications for equivalence. The committee shall examine the application and make an appropriate recommendation to the executive committee.
For the purposes of making an appropriate recommendation, the committee may require that the applicant do one or more of the following: take a course, pass an examination, complete a training session or carry out practical work.
O.C. 749-98, s. 8; O.C. 436-2008, s. 4.
9. At its first meeting following the date of receipt of the committee’s recommendation, the executive committee shall decide
(1)  that the person shall be granted a diploma or training equivalence;
(2)  that the person shall be granted partial training equivalence; or
(3)  that the person shall not be granted a diploma or training equivalence.
Within 30 days of its decision, the executive committee shall inform the person in writing by registered mail.
Where partial training equivalence is granted, the executive committee shall notify the person, at the same time and in writing, that he is required to take a course, pass an examination, complete a training session or carry out practical work within the time limit given by the executive committee for a full training equivalence to be granted.
Where no equivalence is granted, the executive committee shall inform the person, at the same time and in writing, of the programs of study leading to a diploma that gives access to the permit or, if the diploma that was submitted is appropriate, inform him of the courses, examinations, training sessions or practical work which must be taken, passed, completed or carried out, as the case may be, within the time limit given by the executive committee for a training equivalence to be granted.
O.C. 749-98, s. 9; O.C. 436-2008, s. 5; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
10. A person who is granted partial training equivalence by the executive committee or is not granted a diploma or training equivalence may apply for a review of the decision provided that the person applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days of receiving the decision.
The review must be made within 90 days following the date of receipt of the application by a committee formed by the board of directors, pursuant to paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26). The committee must be composed of persons other than members of the executive committee or of the committee referred to in section 8. The committee must, before making its decision, allow the person concerned to present observations.
For that purpose, the secretary must inform the person concerned of the date, time and place of the meeting where the application will be examined, by means of a written notice sent by registered mail at least 10 days before the date set for the meeting.
A person who wishes to present observations in person must inform the secretary at least 5 days before the date set for the meeting. The person may also submit written observations to the secretary at any time before the date set for the meeting.
The decision of the committee is final and must be sent to the person concerned in writing within 30 days following the date of the meeting.
O.C. 749-98, s. 10; O.C. 436-2008, s. 6; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
11. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting equivalence standards for a permit to be issued by the Ordre professionnel des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec (R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 116).
However, an application for equivalence shall be examined according to that Regulation if the committee referred to in section 2.02 of that Regulation made its recommendation to the administrative committee of the Order before 2 July 1998.
O.C. 749-98, s. 11.
12. (Omitted).
O.C. 749-98, s. 12.
REFERENCES
O.C. 749-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 2211
O.C. 436-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 1377
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-26, r. 160 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 160
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec
INFIRMIÈRES ET INFIRMIERS AUXILIAIRES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — PERMIS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c.1).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à toute personne qui, n’étant pas titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec, demande, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis, à faire reconnaître équivalent à ce diplôme, un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec.
Il s’applique également à toute personne qui, n’étant pas titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, ni d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec et pouvant être reconnu équivalent en application du présent règlement, demande, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis, à faire reconnaître équivalente au diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, une formation qui a pu être acquise au Québec ou à l’extérieur du Québec.
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«diplôme donnant ouverture au permis»: un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre, pris en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
«équivalence des diplômes»: la reconnaissance, en application du Code des professions, qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste l’acquisition par son titulaire d’un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de la formation»: la reconnaissance, en application du Code des professions, que la formation d’une personne démontre que celle-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 749-98, a. 1; D. 436-2008, a. 1.
2. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement à la personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, demande à faire reconnaître une équivalence des diplômes ou une équivalence de la formation.
D. 749-98, a. 2.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DES DIPLÔMES
3. Une personne qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études postérieures à la quatrième secondaire du Québec, ou l’équivalent, et comportant un minimum de 1 800 heures réparties de la façon suivante:
1°  un minimum de 945 heures théoriques et de laboratoire obtenues dans des matières reliées à la formation professionnelle pour les infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires dont:
a)  150 heures sur la profession, ses aspects éthique et légal dans le contexte global de la santé ainsi que sur la communication au travail;
b)  135 heures en procédés de soins d’assistance et en relation aidante;
c)  330 heures sur les systèmes musculo-squelettique, nerveux et sensoriel, endocrinien, cardiovasculaire et respiratoire, digestif, urinaire et reproducteur;
d)  90 heures en nutrition et en pharmacothérapie;
e)  90 heures de premiers soins et de prévention de l’infection;
f)  30 heures sur l’approche en soins palliatifs;
g)  120 heures sur les approches en santé mentale et sur les approches auprès de personnes présentant des déficits cognitifs et des incapacités intellectuelles;
2°  un minimum de 855 heures de stages réparties de la façon suivante:
a)  135 heures de soins spécifiques et de soins d’assistance à des personnes en perte d’autonomie;
b)  120 heures de soins en géronto-gériatrie;
c)  120 heures de soins auprès de personnes présentant des problèmes de santé mentale et de personnes présentant des déficiences physiques ou des incapacités intellectuelles;
d)  330 heures de soins dont 120 heures dans une unité de médecine, 90 heures de soins préopératoires et postopératoires à des adultes et 90 heures de soins à des personnes en réadaptation physique;
e)  60 heures de soins à des personnes en perte d’autonomie dans des établissements de type familial ou intermédiaire.
D. 749-98, a. 3; D. 436-2008, a. 2.
3.1. Malgré l’article 3, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu depuis plus de 4 ans et que les connaissances qu’il atteste ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession, aux connaissances présentement enseignées, le candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation conformément à l’article 4, s’il a acquis, depuis l’obtention de son diplôme, le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés requis.
D. 436-2008, a. 2.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE LA FORMATION
4. Une personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation si:
1°  elle a acquis un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalant à celui qui peut être acquis au terme d’études postérieures à la quatrième secondaire du Québec, ou l’équivalent, et comportant les heures définies au paragraphe 1 de l’article 3;
2°  elle a acquis une expérience pertinente de travail, suivi des cours, réussi des examens, complété des stages ou fait des travaux pratiques comportant l’équivalent des heures définies au paragraphe 2 de l’article 3.
Une personne bénéficie également d’une équivalence de la formation si:
1°  elle est titulaire d’au moins un diplôme en puériculture, obtenu au terme d’une formation en puériculture se rapportant à la science apprise par les garde-bébés et puéricultrices concernant la dispensation des soins infirmiers que requiert le traitement des nouveau-nés et des enfants malades âgés d’au plus de 16 ans;
2°  elle possède une expérience pertinente de travail d’au moins 3 ans.
D. 749-98, a. 4; D. 436-2008, a. 3.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE DE L’ÉQUIVALENCE
5. La personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, doit faire reconnaître une équivalence des diplômes doit fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents et renseignements suivants:
1°  une demande écrite à ce sujet, accompagnée des frais d’étude de son dossier fixés en application du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
2°  son dossier scolaire, incluant la description des cours suivis, le nombre d’heures se rapportant à chacun et le relevé officiel de notes correspondant;
3°  une preuve officielle de l’obtention de son diplôme.
D. 749-98, a. 5.
6. La personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, doit faire reconnaître une équivalence de la formation doit fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents et renseignements suivants:
1°  une demande écrite à ce sujet, accompagnée des frais d’étude de son dossier fixés en application du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
2°  son dossier scolaire, incluant la description des cours suivis, le nombre d’heures se rapportant à chacun et le relevé officiel de notes correspondant, le cas échéant;
3°  une preuve officielle de l’obtention d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes, obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs, le cas échéant;
4°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité;
5°  une attestation de son expérience pertinente de travail et une attestation indiquant qu’elle a suivi des cours, réussi des examens, complété des stages ou fait des travaux pratiques.
D. 749-98, a. 6.
7. Si un document transmis à l’appui de la demande de reconnaissance d’une équivalence est rédigé dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, la personne qui fait la demande fournit également une traduction du document en français ou en anglais. La traduction doit être certifiée conforme à l’original par un membre de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec ou par un représentant consulaire ou diplomatique autorisé.
D. 749-98, a. 7.
8. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre transmet les documents et renseignements fournis au soutien d’une demande au comité de l’Ordre formé, aux fins d’étudier les demandes de reconnaissance d’équivalence, conformément au paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26). Ce comité étudie la demande et formule une recommandation appropriée au comité exécutif.
Aux fins de formuler une recommandation appropriée, le comité peut demander à la personne qui demande la reconnaissance d’une équivalence de suivre un cours, de réussir un examen, de compléter un stage, de faire des travaux pratiques ou de faire l’un et l’autre à la fois.
D. 749-98, a. 8; D. 436-2008, a. 4.
9. À la première réunion du comité exécutif qui suit la date de réception de la recommandation du comité, le comité exécutif décide, selon le cas:
1°  que la personne bénéficie d’une équivalence des diplômes ou d’une équivalence de la formation;
2°  que la personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation partielle;
3°  que la personne ne bénéficie pas d’une équivalence des diplômes ou d’une équivalence de la formation.
Le comité exécutif informe par écrit la personne concernée de sa décision en la lui transmettant par poste recommandée dans les 30 jours de la date où elle a été rendue.
Lorsque le comité exécutif décide que la personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation partielle, il doit, à la même occasion, l’informer par écrit des cours, des examens, des stages et des travaux pratiques qui, selon le cas, devraient être suivis, réussis, complétés et faits dans le délai indiqué par le comité exécutif pour bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation complète.
Lorsque le comité exécutif décide que la personne ne bénéficie pas d’une équivalence des diplômes ou d’une équivalence de la formation, il doit, à la même occasion, l’informer par écrit de l’existence des programmes d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis ou, si la nature du diplôme présenté au soutien de la demande de reconnaissance de l’équivalence le permet, l’informer par écrit des cours, des examens, des stages et des travaux pratiques qui, selon le cas, devraient être suivis, réussis, complétés et faits dans le délai indiqué par le comité exécutif pour bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation.
D. 749-98, a. 9; D. 436-2008, a. 5; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
10. La personne à qui le comité exécutif ne reconnaît qu’une équivalence de la formation partielle ou ne reconnaît pas l’équivalence des diplômes ou l’équivalence de la formation peut demander la révision de cette décision à la condition qu’elle en fasse la demande motivée par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de la décision.
La révision est effectuée dans les 90 jours suivant la date de réception de cette demande par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration, en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26). Ce comité est composé de personnes autres que des membres du comité exécutif ou du comité visé à l’article 8. Il doit, avant de prendre sa décision, permettre à la personne concernée de présenter ses observations.
À cette fin, le secrétaire informe la personne concernée de la date, du lieu et de l’heure de la réunion au cours de laquelle la demande sera examinée, au moyen d’un avis écrit transmis par poste recommandée, au moins 10 jours avant sa tenue.
La personne qui désire être présente pour faire ses observations doit en informer le secrétaire au moins 5 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. Elle peut cependant faire parvenir au secrétaire ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour cette réunion.
La décision du comité est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit à la personne concernée dans les 30 jours de la date de cette réunion.
D. 749-98, a. 10; D. 436-2008, a. 6; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
11. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre professionnel des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec (R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 116).
Cependant, une demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence à l’égard de laquelle le comité visé par l’article 2.02 de ce règlement a, avant le 2 juillet 1998, transmis sa recommandation au comité administratif de l’Ordre est évaluée en fonction de ce règlement.
D. 749-98, a. 11.
12. (Omis).
D. 749-98, a. 12.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 749-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 3061
D. 436-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2185
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212