C-26, r. 144 - Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas or training for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 144
Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas or training for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec
DENTAL HYGIENISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The secretary of the Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec must forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate who, for the purpose of obtaining a permit from the Order, wishes to have a diploma or training recognized as equivalent.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
(1)  “diploma giving access to the permit” means a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government made under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) as giving access to the permit issued by the Order;
(2)  “diploma equivalence” means recognition by the Order that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that the candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit issued by the Order;
(3)  “training equivalence” means recognition by the Order that a candidate’s training has enabled the candidate to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit issued by the Order.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 2.
DIVISION II
STANDARDS FOR A DIPLOMA EQUIVALENCE
3. A candidate who holds a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec is granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was obtained on completion of studies equivalent to at least 2,460 hours of study at the college level, including 1,800 hours of training specific to dental hygiene. At least 1,145 hours out of those 1,800 hours must be apportioned as follows:
(1)  at least 740 hours in the following subjects, excluding training hours, including:
(a)  at least 60 hours in oral radiology;
(b)  at least 60 hours in orthodontics;
(c)  at least 45 hours in operative dentistry;
(d)  at least 45 hours in prosthodontics;
(e)  at least 45 hours in making connections between nutrition and oral health;
(f)  at least 80 hours in occupational health and safety and in the implementation of universal protection measures to prevent infections, including the use of various means to clean, disinfect and sterilize equipment;
(g)  at least 60 hours in scaling;
(h)  at least 90 hours in subjects related to the analysis of the structures and normal functions of the head and neck;
(i)  at least 60 hours in the screening of oral diseases and the connections between health history and dental hygiene treatments, including knowledge of the effect of pharmaceutical products on preventive and curative interventions;
(j)  at least 195 hours in teaching and intervention in the field of preventive dental health; and
(2)  at least 405 hours of training in dental hygiene including at least 30 hours in operative dentistry.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 3.
4. Despite section 3, where the diploma in respect of which an application for equivalence has been filed was issued 5 years or more before the application and the knowledge to which the diploma attests no longer corresponds, having regard to the developments in the profession, to the knowledge being taught at the time of the application in a program of study leading to a diploma giving access to the permit, the candidate is granted a training equivalence pursuant to section 5 if the candidate has attained the required level of knowledge and skills since being awarded the diploma.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 4.
DIVISION III
STANDARDS FOR TRAINING EQUIVALENCE
5. A candidate is granted a training equivalence if the candidate demonstrates a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level of the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit at the time of the application.
In assessing the training equivalence of a candidate, the board of directors must take into account the following factors:
(1)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more diplomas awarded in Québec or elsewhere and the year in which they were awarded;
(2)  the type of courses taken, course content and duration and marks obtained;
(3)  training periods, their duration and the related evaluation reports; and
(4)  the nature and length of relevant work experience.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 5.
DIVISION IV
EQUIVALENCE RECOGNITION PROCEDURE
6. A candidate wishing to have a diploma or training equivalence recognized must provide the secretary or the person designated by the board of directors for that purpose with the following documents required in support of the candidate’s written application, together with the fees for the examination of the application required under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26):
(1)  the candidate’s academic record, with a description of the courses taken, the number of hours for each course and the marks obtained;
(2)  a certified true copy of all diplomas held;
(3)  a document attesting to participation in a training period including its duration and the evaluation report and, where applicable, in ongoing or upgrading training activities related to the professional activities described in paragraph k of section 37 of the Professional Code;
(4)  a document attesting to the candidate’s work experience and a description thereof; and
(5)  where applicable, any information related to the factors that the board of directors of the Order may take into account pursuant to section 5.
Documents written in a language other than French or English that are submitted in support of an application for diploma or training equivalence must be accompanied by a French or English translation. The translation must be certified as true to the original by a member of the Ordre professionnel des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 6.
7. The secretary or the person designated by the board of directors for that purpose must send the documents prescribed by section 6 to the committee set up by the board of directors to examine applications for equivalence and to make appropriate recommendations to the board of directors.
In order to make an appropriate recommendation, the committee may require a candidate who applied for a training equivalence to be interviewed, to write an examination or to serve a training period, or all 3.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 7.
8. At its first meeting following receipt of a recommendation from the committee, the board of directors must decide whether to recognize or to deny the equivalence applied for and inform the candidate of its decision in writing within 15 days of its decision.
If the board of directors refuses to recognize the equivalence applied for, the board of directors must at the same time inform the candidate in writing of the programs of study or, where applicable, of the training periods or examinations that the candidate could successfully complete in order to be granted a training equivalence.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 8.
9. A candidate who is informed of the board of director’s decision not to recognize the equivalence applied for may apply to the board of directors for a review, provided the candidate applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days of receiving the decision.
The board of directors must establish a committee to examine the application for review and appoint members to it who are not members of the board of directors or the committee referred to in section 7. Before disposing of the application, the committee must allow the candidate to present observations at a meeting.
For that purpose, the secretary of the Order must inform the candidate of the date, time and place of the meeting where the application will be examined, by means of a written notice sent by registered mail at least 15 days before the date set for the meeting.
A candidate who wishes to present observations in person must inform the secretary in writing at least 10 days before the date set for the meeting. The candidate may also submit written observations to the secretary at any time before the date set for the meeting.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 9.
10. The decision of the committee under section 9 is final and must be sent to the candidate by registered mail within 30 days of the meeting date.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 10.
11. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas or training for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec (O.C. 674-96, 96-06-05).
However, an application for a diploma or training equivalence must be decided on the basis of the replaced Regulation if the committee referred to in section 7 of that Regulation has sent a recommendation to the board of directors of the Order in respect of that application before 7 September 2006.
O.C. 717-2006, s. 11.
12. (Omitted).
O.C. 717-2006, s. 12.
REFERENCES
O.C. 717-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 2939
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-26, r. 144 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de la formation pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 144
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de la formation pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec
HYGIÉNISTES DENTAIRES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c.1).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, désire faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou une équivalence de la formation.
D. 717-2006, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
1°  «diplôme donnant ouverture au permis»: un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement, pris en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre;
2°  «équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste l’acquisition par son titulaire d’un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis;
3°  «équivalence de la formation»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre que la formation d’un candidat démontre que celui-ci possède un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 717-2006, a. 2.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
3. Un candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si son diplôme a été obtenu aux termes d’études de niveau équivalent au niveau collégial comportant un minimum de 2 460 heures de formation, dont 1 800 heures de formation spécifique à l’hygiène dentaire. Au moins 1 145 heures de ces 1 800 heures doivent être réparties comme suit:
1°  un minimum de 740 heures dans les matières suivantes excluant les heures de stages dont:
a)  un minimum de 60 heures en radiologie bucco-dentaire;
b)  un minimum de 60 heures en orthodontie;
c)  un minimum de 45 heures en dentisterie opératoire;
d)  un minimum de 45 heures en prosthodontie;
e)  un minimum de 45 heures sur l’établissement de liens entre la nutrition et la santé bucco-dentaire;
f)  un minimum de 80 heures en santé et sécurité au travail ainsi qu’en application de mesures de protection universelle afin de prévenir les infections dont l’utilisation des différents moyens de nettoyage, de désinfection et de stérilisation des équipements;
g)  un minimum de 60 heures en détartrage;
h)  un minimum de 90 heures dans des matières liées à l’analyse des structures et des fonctions normales de la tête et du cou;
i)  un minimum de 60 heures sur le dépistage des maladies bucco-dentaires et sur l’établissement des liens entre l’anamnèse et les traitements d’hygiène dentaire dont des éléments de connaissance sur l’incidence des produits pharmaceutiques sur les interventions préventives et curatives;
j)  un minimum de 195 heures sur l’enseignement et l’intervention en matière de santé dentaire préventive;
2°  un minimum de 405 heures de stages en hygiène dentaire dont au moins 30 heures en dentisterie opératoire.
D. 717-2006, a. 3.
4. Malgré l’article 3, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence de diplôme a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant cette demande et que les connaissances qu’il atteste ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession, aux connaissances qui, à l’époque de la demande, sont enseignées dans un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, le candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation conformément à l’article 5, s’il a acquis, depuis l’obtention de son diplôme le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés requis.
D. 717-2006, a. 4.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE LA FORMATION
5. Un candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation s’il démontre qu’il possède un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis à la date de la demande.
Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de la formation du candidat, le Conseil d’administration tient compte de l’ensemble des facteurs suivants:
1°  le fait que le candidat soit titulaire d’un ou plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs, ainsi que la date de leur obtention;
2°  la nature, le contenu et la durée des cours ainsi que les résultats obtenus;
3°  les stages effectués, leur durée ainsi que leurs rapports d’évaluation;
4°  la nature et la durée de son expérience pertinente de travail.
D. 717-2006, a. 5.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE D’ÉQUIVALENCE
6. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou une équivalence de la formation doit fournir au secrétaire, ou à la personne désignée à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration, les documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande écrite, accompagnés des frais d’étude de son dossier prescrits en application du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26):
1°  son dossier académique incluant la description des cours suivis, le nombre d’heures s’y rapportant, de même que les résultats obtenus;
2°  une copie certifiée conforme des diplômes dont il est titulaire;
3°  une attestation de sa participation à un stage, sa durée ainsi que le rapport d’évaluation et, le cas échéant, à des activités de formation continue ou de perfectionnement concernant des activités professionnelles décrites au paragraphe k de l’article 37 du Code des professions;
4°  une attestation et une description de son expérience de travail;
5°  le cas échéant, tout renseignement relatif aux facteurs dont le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre peut tenir compte en application de l’article 5.
Les documents transmis à l’appui d’une demande d’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation qui sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français ou en anglais. La traduction doit être certifiée conforme à l’original par un membre de l’Ordre professionnel des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec.
D. 717-2006, a. 6.
7. Le secrétaire ou la personne désignée à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration transmet les documents prévus à l’article 6 au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence et formuler des recommandations appropriées au Conseil d’administration.
Aux fins de formuler une recommandation appropriée, ce comité peut demander au candidat qui demande la reconnaissance d’une équivalence de la formation de se présenter à une entrevue, de subir un examen ou d’effectuer un stage, ou de faire les 3 à la fois.
D. 717-2006, a. 7.
8. À la première réunion du Conseil d’administration qui suit la date de réception d’une recommandation du comité, le Conseil d’administration décide s’il reconnaît ou refuse de reconnaître l’équivalence demandée et en informe par écrit le candidat, dans les 15 jours qui suivent la date de sa décision.
Lorsque le Conseil d’administration refuse de reconnaître l’équivalence demandée, il doit, par la même occasion, informer, par écrit, le candidat de l’existence des programmes d’études ou, le cas échéant, des stages ou des examens dont la réussite lui permettrait de bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation.
D. 717-2006, a. 8.
9. Le candidat, qui est avisé de la décision du Conseil d’administration de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence demandée, peut en demander la révision à la condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de cette décision.
Le Conseil d’administration forme un comité pour examiner la demande de révision. Il y nomme des membres qui ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration ou du comité prévu à l’article 7. Le comité doit, avant de prendre une décision à l’égard de cette demande, permettre au candidat de présenter ses observations à cette réunion.
À cette fin, le secrétaire de l’Ordre informe le candidat de la date, du lieu et de l’heure de la réunion au cours de laquelle la demande sera examinée, au moyen d’un avis écrit, transmis par poste recommandée, au moins 15 jours avant sa tenue.
Le candidat qui désire être présent pour présenter ses observations doit en informer, par écrit, le secrétaire au moins 10 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. Il peut également faire parvenir au secrétaire ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour la réunion.
D. 717-2006, a. 9; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
10. La décision du comité prise en application de l’article 9 est définitive et doit être transmise au candidat par poste recommandée dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de la réunion.
D. 717-2006, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
11. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation pour la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des hygiénistes dentaires du Québec (D. 674-96, 96-06-05).
Cependant, une demande de reconnaissance de diplôme ou de la formation à l’égard de laquelle le comité visé à l’article 7 de ce règlement a, avant le 7 septembre 2006, transmis sa recommandation au Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre, est évaluée en fonction du règlement que le présent règlement remplace.
D. 717-2006, a. 11.
12. (Omis).
D. 717-2006, a. 12.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 717-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 4085
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212