C-26, r. 121 - Regulation respecting the keeping of records and consulting-rooms by a member of the Ordre professionnel des ergothérapeutes du Québec

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 121
Regulation respecting the keeping of records and consulting-rooms by a member of the Ordre professionnel des ergothérapeutes du Québec
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — RECORDS AND CONSULTING-ROOMS
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91).
C-26
December 12 2013
Replaced, Décision 2013-11-15, 2013 G.O. 2, 5148; eff. 2013-12-12; see chapter C-26, r. 121.1.
DIVISION I
KEEPING OF RECORDS
1. An occupational therapist shall keep, in accordance with sections 10 and 11, a record for each client at the place where the occupational therapist practises the profession.
O.C. 354-93, s. 1.
2. The occupational therapist’s record shall contain the following items and information:
(1)  the date on which the record is opened;
(2)  where the client is a natural person, the client’s name at birth, sex, birthdate, address and telephone number;
(3)  where the client is a partnership or legal person, the client’s name, the address and telephone number of the client’s establishment and the name, address, telephone number and official title of the authorized representative;
(4)  a summary description of the reasons for the consultation;
(5)  a description and the date of all professional services provided;
(6)  a summary of the conclusions of the evaluation and, where applicable, a description of the occupational therapy treatment plan and recommendations;
(7)  notes on the client’s progress;
(8)  annotations, correspondence and any other documents relating to the professional services provided;
(9)  any document referred to in section 6 relating to the sending of information to the client or third parties, and, in particular, any document signed and dated by the client authorizing such information to be sent;
(10)  a copy of any service contract or a description of any specific agreement concerning the nature and terms of a professional service;
(11)  the signature of the occupational therapist who entered the information prescribed in paragraphs 1 to 10 in the record.
O.C. 354-93, s. 2.
3. An occupational therapist shall keep each person’s record up-to-date until professional services are no longer provided to that person.
O.C. 354-93, s. 3.
4. An occupational therapist shall keep each record for at least 5 years following the date on which the last service was provided.
O.C. 354-93, s. 4.
5. An occupational therapist shall keep all records in a room or cabinet to which the general public does not have access and which can be locked with a key or otherwise so as to ensure the confidentiality of the information contained therein.
O.C. 354-93, s. 5.
6. Where a copy of a document in the client’s record is sent to that client, or where a client asks that such copy or information be sent to a third party, the occupational therapist shall insert a note in the record to that effect, dated and signed by the client in compliance with paragraph 9 of section 2.
O.C. 354-93, s. 6.
7. Without restricting the scope of section 2, no occupational therapist may be required to include in the record all the unprocessed data analyzed and the result of which is written in the record.
O.C. 354-93, s. 7.
8. Upon the expiry of the time period set out in section 4, an occupational therapist may destroy a record provided it is done in such a way that the confidentiality of the information contained in the record is ensured.
O.C. 354-93, s. 8.
9. Nothing in this Regulation shall be interpreted as excluding the use of computers or any other technology for the drawing up and keeping of an occupational therapist’s records, provided that their confidentiality is ensured.
O.C. 354-93, s. 9.
10. Where an occupational therapist practises in an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5), the user’s record within the meaning of those Acts and their regulations is considered, for the purpose of this Regulation, to be the occupational therapist’s record if the occupational therapist can enter, or have entered, the information prescribed in section 2 in the form of a report or otherwise. In such case, sections 4, 5 and 8 do not apply to the occupational therapist.
If an occupational therapist practising in an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons cannot enter, or have entered, the information prescribed in section 2 in the form of a report or otherwise in the user’s record within the meaning of those Acts and their regulations, the occupational therapist shall keep a separate record for each user.
O.C. 354-93, s. 10.
11. Where an occupational therapist is a member of or is employed in a partnership of occupational therapists, or is employed by a natural or legal person, the occupational therapist may include in the records of such partnership or such employer the information prescribed in section 2 relating to the client to whom services are rendered by the occupational therapist. If the information is not included in the records of the partnership or employer, the occupational therapist shall keep a record for each client.
O.C. 354-93, s. 11.
DIVISION II
KEEPING OF CONSULTING-ROOMS
12. An occupational therapist’s consulting-room shall be laid out in such a manner that confidentiality is ensured.
O.C. 354-93, s. 12.
13. An occupational therapist shall set up a waiting room near the consulting-room for the persons who are to receive professional services.
O.C. 354-93, s. 13.
14. An occupational therapist’s permit shall be posted in public view.
O.C. 354-93, s. 14.
15. An occupational therapist who is to be absent from the consulting-room for more than 5 consecutive working days shall take the necessary measures to inform any client who attempts to contact the occupational therapist of the duration of the absence and of the procedure to follow in an emergency.
O.C. 354-93, s. 15.
16. Sections 12 to 15 apply only with respect to a consulting-room where an occupational therapist practises independently, for another occupational therapist or for a partnership of occupational therapists.
O.C. 354-93, s. 16.
17. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the keeping of records and consulting offices by occupational therapists (R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 87).
O.C. 354-93, s. 17.
18. (Omitted).
O.C. 354-93, s. 18.
REFERENCES
O.C. 354-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 1964

C-26, r. 121 - Règlement sur la tenue des dossiers et des cabinets de consultation d’un membre de l’Ordre professionnel des ergothérapeutes du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 121
Règlement sur la tenue des dossiers et des cabinets de consultation d’un membre de l’Ordre professionnel des ergothérapeutes du Québec
ERGOTHÉRAPEUTES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — DOSSIERS ET CABINETS DE CONSULTATION
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91).
C-26
12 décembre 2013
Remplacé, Décision 2013-11-15, 2013 G.O. 2, 5148; eff. 2013-12-12; voir chapitre C-26, r. 121.1.
SECTION I
TENUE DES DOSSIERS
1. Un ergothérapeute doit tenir, sous réserve des articles 10 et 11, à l’endroit où il exerce sa profession, un dossier pour chacun de ses clients.
D. 354-93, a. 1.
2. Le dossier de l’ergothérapeute doit contenir les éléments et renseignements suivants:
1°  la date d’ouverture du dossier;
2°  lorsque le client est une personne physique, le nom de ce client à sa naissance, son sexe, sa date de naissance, son adresse et son numéro de téléphone;
3°  lorsque le client est une société ou une personne morale, le nom de ce client, l’adresse de son établissement, son numéro de téléphone, de même que le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et le titre de la fonction d’un représentant autorisé;
4°  une description sommaire des motifs de la consultation;
5°  une description des services professionnels rendus et leur date;
6°  la synthèse des conclusions de l’évaluation et, le cas échéant, la description du plan d’intervention en ergothérapie et les recommandations;
7°  les notes sur l’évolution du client;
8°  les annotations, la correspondance et les autres documents relatifs aux services professionnels rendus;
9°  tout document visé à l’article 6 relatif à la transmission de renseignements au client et à des tiers, et, notamment, tout document signé et daté par le client autorisant la transmission de tels renseignements;
10°  une copie de tout contrat de service ou la description de toute entente particulière concernant la nature et les modalités d’une intervention;
11°  la signature de l’ergothérapeute qui a inscrit dans le dossier les renseignements mentionnés aux paragraphes 1 à 10.
D. 354-93, a. 2.
3. Un ergothérapeute doit tenir à jour chaque dossier jusqu’au moment où il cesse de rendre des services professionnels à la personne concernée par ce dossier.
D. 354-93, a. 3.
4. Un ergothérapeute doit conserver chaque dossier pendant au moins 5 ans à compter de la date du dernier service rendu.
D. 354-93, a. 4.
5. Un ergothérapeute doit conserver ses dossiers dans un local ou un meuble auquel le public n’a pas librement accès et pouvant être fermé à clé ou autrement, de manière à ce que la confidentialité des renseignements qui y sont contenus soit assurée.
D. 354-93, a. 5.
6. Lorsqu’une copie d’un document du dossier qui le concerne est transmise à un client, ou lorsque ce dernier demande qu’une telle copie ou des renseignements contenus au dossier soient transmis à une tierce personne, l’ergothérapeute doit insérer dans ce dossier une note en ce sens, signée et datée par le client, conformément au paragraphe 9 de l’article 2.
D. 354-93, a. 6.
7. Sans restreindre la portée de l’article 2, un ergothérapeute n’est pas tenu de verser au dossier toute donnée à l’état brut qui a fait l’objet d’une analyse et dont le résultat est inscrit au dossier.
D. 354-93, a. 7.
8. À l’expiration du délai prévu à l’article 4, l’ergothérapeute peut procéder à la destruction d’un dossier à condition que celle-ci soit faite de manière à ce que la confidentialité des renseignements qui y sont contenus soit assurée.
D. 354-93, a. 8.
9. Rien dans le présent règlement ne doit être interprété comme excluant l’utilisation de l’informatique ou de toute autre technique pour la constitution et la tenue des dossiers d’un ergothérapeute, pourvu que leur confidentialité soit respectée.
D. 354-93, a. 9.
10. Lorsque l’ergothérapeute exerce dans un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5), le dossier de l’usager au sens de ces lois et de leurs règlements est considéré, aux fins du présent règlement, comme le dossier de l’ergothérapeute s’il peut y inscrire ou y faire inscrire sous forme de rapport ou autrement les renseignements mentionnés à l’article 2. Les articles 4, 5 et 8 ne s’appliquent pas à cet ergothérapeute.
Si l’ergothérapeute qui exerce dans un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris ne peut inscrire ou faire inscrire dans le dossier de l’usager au sens de ces lois et de leurs règlements sous forme de rapport ou autrement les renseignements mentionnés à l’article 2, il doit tenir un dossier pour chacun de ces usagers.
D. 354-93, a. 10.
11. Lorsque l’ergothérapeute est membre ou est à l’emploi d’une société d’ergothérapeutes ou lorsqu’il est à l’emploi d’une personne physique ou morale, il peut inclure dans les dossiers de cette société ou de cet employeur les renseignements mentionnés à l’article 2 relativement au client à qui il dispense ses services. Si ces renseignements ne sont pas ainsi inclus dans les dossiers de cette société ou de cet employeur, il doit tenir un dossier pour chacun de ces clients.
D. 354-93, a. 11.
SECTION II
TENUE DES CABINETS DE CONSULTATION
12. Un ergothérapeute doit aménager son cabinet de consultation de façon à ce que la confidentialité soit respectée.
D. 354-93, a. 12.
13. Un ergothérapeute doit aménager près de son cabinet de consultation un endroit destiné à recevoir les personnes à qui il rend des services professionnels.
D. 354-93, a. 13.
14. Un ergothérapeute doit afficher son permis à la vue du public.
D. 354-93, a. 14.
15. Un ergothérapeute qui s’absente de son cabinet de consultation pour plus de 5 jours ouvrables consécutifs doit prendre les mesures nécessaires pour informer les clients qui tentent de le rejoindre de la durée de cette absence et de la procédure à suivre en cas d’urgence.
D. 354-93, a. 15.
16. Les articles 12 à 15 ne s’appliquent qu’à l’égard d’un cabinet de consultation où un ergothérapeute exerce à son propre compte ou pour le compte d’un ergothérapeute ou d’une société d’ergothérapeutes.
D. 354-93, a. 16.
17. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur la tenue des dossiers et des cabinets de consultation des ergothérapeutes (R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-26, r. 87).
D. 354-93, a. 17.
18. (Omis).
D. 354-93, a. 18.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 354-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 2454