C-26, r. 117 - Regulation respecting the standards for diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 117
Regulation respecting the standards for diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec
ERGOTHÉRAPEUTES — PROFESSIONAL CODE — STANDARDS FOR DIPLOMA EQUIVALENCE
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
Replaced, Décision 2012-03-19, 2012 G.O. 2, 2067; eff. 2012-05-10, see c. C-26, r. 116.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. This Regulation applies to every person who does not hold a diploma giving access to the permit of the Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec and who applies for the recognition of a diploma issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec as equivalent for the purpose of obtaining a permit.
It also applies to every person who neither holds a diploma giving access to the Order’s permit nor a diploma issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec that may be recognized as equivalent under this Regulation and who applies for the recognition of training received in Québec or elsewhere as equivalent to the diploma giving access to the permit, for the purpose of obtaining that permit.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
“diploma giving access to the permit” means a diploma recognized by regulation of the Government as giving access to the permit of the Order, made under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
“diploma equivalence” means the recognition by the Order, that a diploma issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec certifies that a candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit;
“training equivalence” means the recognition by the Order, that a candidate’s training has enabled him to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma giving access to the permit.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 2; O.C. 733-2009, s. 1.
3. The secretary of the Order shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a person applying for a diploma or training equivalence for the purposes of obtaining a permit from the Order.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 3.
DIVISION II
STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS
4. A person holding a diploma in occupational therapy issued by an educational institution situated outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if that diploma was issued upon completion of university studies comprising the equivalent of the number of credits required by Québec universities to obtain a degree conferring the right to practise the profession. Each credit corresponds to 15 hours of theory and 30 hours of practice, or 45 hours of supervised clinical practicum. The credits shall be distributed as described in Schedule I and shall cover each of the identified subjects. In addition, the diploma thus obtained shall be accessible only to candidates with a collegial training or the equivalent.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 4.
5. Notwithstanding section 4, where the diploma for which equivalence is applied was obtained 5 years or more prior to the application, a diploma equivalence shall be denied if the knowledge acquired by the person no longer corresponds, taking into account developments in the profession, to the knowledge which, at the time of the application, is being taught in a program of study leading to a diploma recognized as giving access to the permit.
In such a case, training may be recognized as equivalent in accordance with section 6, if the training received by the person since then has enabled him to attain the required level of knowledge.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 5.
DIVISION III
STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE OF TRAINING
6. A person shall be granted a training equivalence if he has, at the end of at least 5 years full-time or 8,750 hours relevant work experience in occupational therapy, a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level that may be acquired by a holder of a diploma recognized as giving access to the permit.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 6.
7. Notwithstanding section 6, where the training for which equivalence is applied was completed 5 years or more before the application, equivalence shall be denied if the knowledge and skills acquired by the person no longer correspond, taking into account developments in the profession, to the knowledge and skills which, at the time of the application, are acquired after a program of study leading to a diploma recognized as giving access to the permit.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 7.
8. In appraising the training presented in support of an application for training equivalence, the Order shall take the following factors into account, in particular:
(1)  type and years of experience;
(2)  type of courses taken and course content;
(3)  clinical practicum served in occupational therapy under supervision;
(4)  total years of education; and
(5)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more diplomas issued in Québec or elsewhere.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 8; O.C. 733-2009, s. 2.
DIVISION IV
PROCEDURE FOR RECOGNITION OF EQUIVALENCE
9. A person who, for the purpose of obtaining a permit of the Order, must be granted a diploma or training equivalence shall provide the secretary of the Order with the following documents and information:
(1)  an application in writing to that effect, along with the filing of study fees prescribed pursuant to paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(2)  his academic record, with a detailed description of the courses taken, the number of course hours completed or credits obtained, and an official transcript of the marks obtained;
(3)  a true copy of the diplomas he holds;
(4)  a true copy of his act of birth or, failing that, a copy of his passport;
(5)  where applicable, an official document issued by the educational institution or competent authority, attesting to the candidate’s participation in and successful completion of any clinical practicum in occupational therapy;
(6)  where applicable, an official document attesting to his relevant work experience in occupational therapy, with a description thereof;
(7)  where applicable, an official document attesting to any additional training received during the last 5 years, with a description thereof; and
(8)  where applicable, any information related to the factors that the Order may take into account pursuant to section 8.
Where documents submitted in support of an application for recognition of an equivalence are written in a language other than French or English, they shall be accompanied by a translation in French. The translation shall be certified true to the original by a member of the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec or by an authorized consular or diplomatic representative.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 9; O.C. 733-2009, s. 3.
10. The secretary of the Order sends the documents and information prescribed in section 9 to a committee formed by the board of directors of the Order, in accordance with paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), for the purpose of examining applications for equivalence and deciding, as the case may be,
(1)  to recognize a diploma or training equivalence; or
(2)  not to recognize a diploma or training equivalence.
The committee is composed of persons other than members of the board of directors of the Order.
For the purpose of making an appropriate decision, the committee may require that the applicant undergo an assessment of competence including an interview, a situation scenario, an examination, a training period or a combination of those measures.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 10; O.C. 733-2009, s. 4.
11. The committee informs the person concerned in writing of its decision by sending the decision by registered mail, within 30 days of the date on which the decision was made.
Where the committee decides not to recognize the equivalence applied for, it must inform the person in writing of the programs of study leading to a diploma giving access to the permit or any complementary training, supervised clinical training sessions or examinations which if successfully completed within the allotted time would enable the person to be granted the equivalence.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 11; O.C. 733-2009, s. 4.
12. The person informed of the committee’s decision not to recognize the equivalence applied for may apply for a review by the board of directors of the Order.
The person must apply for a review in writing to the secretary of the Order within 30 days of receipt of the decision. The board of directors of the Order must, before making a decision in respect of the application, allow the person to make submissions.
For that purpose, the secretary of the Order informs the person of the date, place and time of the meeting of the board of directors of the Order where the application will be examined, by means of a written notice sent by registered mail at least 15 days before the date set for the meeting.
A person who wishes to make submissions in person at the meeting must notify the secretary of the Order in writing at least 10 days before the date scheduled for the meeting. The person may also send written submissions to the secretary of the Order at any time before the date scheduled for the meeting.
The board of directors of the Order has 90 days from the date of receipt of the application for review to make its decision.
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 12; O.C. 733-2009, s. 4.
12.1. The decision of the board of directors of the Order made pursuant to section 12 is final and must be sent to the person by registered mail within 30 days of the date on which the decision was made.
O.C. 733-2009, s. 4.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 13.
14. (Omitted).
O.C. 1262-2000, s. 14.

Minimum credits or
Subjects hours required

_____________________________________________________________

(1) BASIC SCIENCES 29 credits

Anatomy 8
- gross anatomy
- musculoskeletal system
- neuroanatomy

Physiology 5

- gross physiology
- neurophysiology

Pathology 8

- gross pathology
- psychopathology

Kinesiology 3

- human motion, motor system
and biomechanical

Human development 2

- theory of development
(children, adults, elderly)
- stages of child development
(cognitive-psychomotor-affective)
- barriers to adult development

Psychology/sociology 3

- basic concepts

(2) SCIENCES OF OCCUPATIONAL
THERAPY INTERVENTION 38 credits

Models and frames of reference 6

Models
In particular:
- human occupation, occupational
performance, ICIDH

Frames of reference
In particular:
- humanist, developmental,
psychoanalytic, systemic

Analysis of activities 3

- components, therapeutical
potential and adaptation

Occupational therapy with
various clienteles (children,
adults, elderly) in the fields
of mental and physical health
24

- assessment
- treatment planning
- follow-up

Environment 5

- technology and technical aids
- health promotion
- community intervention

(3) RESEARCH METHODS 5 credits

Statistics and methodology

(4) MANAGEMENT 2 credits

Professionalism, ethics
Health care system
Management skills


(5) CLINICAL TRAINING 1,000 hours

Supervised practicum with
various clienteles (children-
adults-elderly) in the field of
mental and physical health


- assessment
- intervention
O.C. 1262-2000, Sch. I.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1262-2000, 2000 G.O. 2, 5263
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212
O.C. 733-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1888

C-26, r. 117 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 117
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec
ERGOTHÉRAPEUTES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DES DIPLÔMES
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c.1).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
Remplacé, Décision 2012-03-19, 2012 G.O. 2, 2067; eff. 2012-05-10, voir c. C-26, r. 116.1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à toute personne qui, n’étant pas titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec, demande, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis, à faire reconnaître équivalent à ce diplôme, un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec.
Il s’applique également à toute personne qui, n’étant pas titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, ni d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec et pouvant être reconnu équivalent en application du présent règlement, demande, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis, à faire reconnaître équivalente au diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, une formation qui a pu être acquise au Québec ou à l’extérieur du Québec.
D. 1262-2000, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«diplôme donnant ouverture au permis»: un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre, pris en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
«équivalence des diplômes»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre, qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste l’acquisition par son titulaire d’un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de la formation»: la reconnaissance par l’Ordre, que la formation d’une personne démontre que celle-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1262-2000, a. 2; D. 733-2009, a. 1.
3. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre transmet une copie du présent règlement à la personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, demande à faire reconnaître une équivalence des diplômes ou une équivalence de la formation.
D. 1262-2000, a. 3.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DES DIPLÔMES
4. La personne qui est titulaire d’un diplôme en ergothérapie délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence des diplômes si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau universitaire comportant l’équivalent du nombre de crédits exigé par les universités québécoises pour l’obtention d’un grade universitaire donnant accès à l’exercice de la profession. Chacun des crédits représente 15 heures de cours théorique et 30 heures de travaux pratiques, ou 45 heures de stages cliniques supervisés. Ces crédits sont répartis de la façon décrite à l’annexe I et doivent couvrir chacune des matières identifiées. De plus, le diplôme ainsi acquis n’est accessible qu’à un candidat détenant une formation collégiale ou son équivalent.
D. 1262-2000, a. 4.
5. Malgré l’article 4, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant cette demande, l’équivalence des diplômes doit être refusée si les connaissances acquises par la personne ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession, aux connaissances qui, à l’époque de la demande, sont enseignées dans un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
Dans ce cas, une équivalence de formation peut être reconnue conformément à l’article 6, si la formation qu’elle a pu acquérir depuis lui a permis d’atteindre le niveau de connaissances requis.
D. 1262-2000, a. 5.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE LA FORMATION
6. Une personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation si elle démontre qu’elle possède, au terme d’une expérience pertinente de travail, d’une durée minimale de 5 ans à temps plein ou de 8 750 heures, en ergothérapie, un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1262-2000, a. 6.
7. Malgré l’article 6, lorsque la formation qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été complétée plus de 5 ans avant cette demande, l’équivalence doit être refusée si les connaissances et les habiletés acquises par la personne ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession, aux connaissances et aux habiletés qui, à l’époque de la demande, sont obtenues après un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1262-2000, a. 7.
8. Dans l’appréciation de la formation invoquée au soutien d’une demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence, l’Ordre tient compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience;
2°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
3°  les stages de formation clinique supervisée qu’elle a effectués en ergothérapie;
4°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité;
5°  le fait qu’elle soit titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes délivrés au Québec ou ailleurs.
D. 1262-2000, a. 8; D. 733-2009, a. 2.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE DE L’ÉQUIVALENCE
9. La personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, doit faire reconnaître une équivalence des diplômes ou une équivalence de la formation, doit fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents et les renseignements suivants:
1°  une demande écrite à ce sujet accompagnée des frais d’étude de son dossier fixés en application du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
2°  son dossier scolaire incluant les descriptions détaillées des cours suivis, le nombre d’heures de cours suivis ou de crédits obtenus et le relevé officiel des notes obtenues;
3°  une copie certifiée conforme de tout diplôme dont elle est titulaire;
4°  une copie authentique de son acte de naissance ou, à défaut, une photocopie de son passeport;
5°  le cas échéant, une attestation officielle par l’établissement d’enseignement ou par l’organisme en autorité de sa participation à tout stage de formation clinique en ergothérapie et de la réussite de ce stage;
6°  le cas échéant, une attestation officielle et une description de son expérience pertinente de travail dans le domaine de l’ergothérapie;
7°  le cas échéant, une attestation officielle et une description de toute formation additionnelle reçue au cours des 5 dernières années;
8°  le cas échéant, tout renseignement relatif aux facteurs dont l’Ordre peut tenir compte en application de l’article 8.
Les documents transmis à l’appui de la demande de reconnaissance d’une équivalence, qui sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français. La traduction doit être certifiée conforme à l’original par un membre de l’Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec ou par un représentant consulaire ou diplomatique autorisé.
D. 1262-2000, a. 9; D. 733-2009, a. 3.
10. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre transmet les documents et les renseignements visés par l’article 9 à un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre, conformément au paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) pour étudier les demandes de reconnaissance d’équivalence et décider, selon le cas:
1°  de reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation;
2°  de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation.
Ce comité est composé de personnes autres que des membres du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
Aux fins de rendre une décision appropriée, ce comité peut demander à la personne qui demande la reconnaissance d’une équivalence de se soumettre à une évaluation de ses compétences comprenant une entrevue, une mise en situation, un examen, un stage ou une combinaison de ces mesures.
D. 1262-2000, a. 10; D. 733-2009, a. 4.
11. Le comité informe par écrit la personne concernée de sa décision en la lui transmettant, par courrier recommandé, dans les 30 jours de la date où elle a été rendue.
Lorsque le comité décide de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence demandée, il doit informer par écrit la personne des programmes d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis ou du complément de formation, des stages de formation clinique supervisée et des examens dont la réussite dans les délais fixés lui permettra de bénéficier de cette équivalence.
D. 1262-2000, a. 11; D. 733-2009, a. 4.
12. La personne qui est informée de la décision du comité de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence demandée peut en demander la révision par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
La personne doit faire la demande de révision par écrit au secrétaire de l’Ordre dans les 30 jours de la réception de la décision. Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre doit, avant de prendre une décision à l’égard de cette demande, permettre à la personne de présenter ses observations.
À cette fin, le secrétaire de l’Ordre informe la personne de la date, du lieu et de l’heure de la séance du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre au cours de laquelle la demande sera examinée, au moyen d’un avis écrit, transmis par courrier recommandé, au moins 15 jours avant sa tenue.
La personne qui désire être présente pour faire état de ses observations doit en informer, par écrit, le secrétaire de l’Ordre au moins 10 jours avant la date prévue pour la séance. Elle peut également faire parvenir au secrétaire de l’Ordre ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour la séance.
Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre dispose d’un délai de 90 jours à compter de la date de la réception de la demande de révision pour rendre sa décision.
D. 1262-2000, a. 12; D. 733-2009, a. 4.
12.1. La décision du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre prise en application de l’article 12 est définitive et doit être transmise à la personne par courrier recommandé dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date où elle a été rendue.
D. 733-2009, a. 4.
13. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas for the issue of a permit by the Ordre professionnel des ergothérapeutes du Québec (D. 1418-92, 92-09-23).
D. 1262-2000, a. 13.
14. (Omis).
D. 1262-2000, a. 14.
ANNEXE I
(a. 4)

Nombre de crédits
ou d’heures
Matières minimum requis

_____________________________________________________________

1) SCIENCES DE BASE 29 crédits

Anatomie 8

- humaine générale
- appareil locomoteur
- neuroanatomie

Physiologie 5

- humaine générale
- neurophysiologie

Pathologie 8

- humaine générale
- psychopathologie

Kinésiologie 3

- mouvement humain,
système moteur et
éléments biomécaniques

Développement humain 2

- théorie du développement
(enfants adultes -
personnes âgées)

- stades de développement
de l’enfant (cognitif -
psychomoteur - affectif)

- crise de développement
de l’adulte

Psychologie/Sociologie 3

- concepts fondamentaux

2) SCIENCES DE
L’INTERVENTION
ERGOTHÉRAPIQUE 38 crédits

Modèles et cadres
de référence
6

Modèles
Notamment:

- occupation humaine,
rendement occupationnel,
CIDIH

Cadres de référence

Notamment:

- humaniste, développemental,
psychanalytique, systémique

Analyse d’activités 3

- composantes, potentiel
thérapeutique et adaptation

Intervention ergothérapique
auprès d’une clientèle
diversifiée (enfants - adultes
- personnes âgées) dans les
domaines de la santé mentale
et de la santé physique
24

- évaluation
- planification du traitement
- suivi

Environnement 5

- technologies et aides techniques
- promotion de la santé
- intervention communautaire

3) INITIATION À LA RECHERCHE 5 crédits

Statistiques et méthodologie

4) GESTION 2 crédits

Système professionnel
Système de santé
Habiletés de gestion


5) FORMATION CLINIQUE 1 000 heures

Stages supervisés réalisés
auprès d’une clientèle
diversifiée (enfants - adultes
- personnes âgées) dans les
domaines de la santé mentale
et de la santé physique


- évaluation
- intervention
D. 1262-2000, Ann. I.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1262-2000, 2000 G.O. 2, 6821
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212
D. 733-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 2832