C-26, r. 116.02 - Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of occupational therapist within a partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 116.02
Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of occupational therapist within a partnership or a joint-stock company
THERAPISTE — PRACTICE WITHIN A PARTNERSHIP OR A JOINT-STOCK COMPANY
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. g and h and s. 94, par. p).
C-26
May 14 2015
DIVISION I
CONDITIONS FOR PRACTISING
1. Occupational therapists may carry on professional activities within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), subject to the following conditions:
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the company shares or partnership units are held by the following persons or trusts or combination of persons or trusts:
(a)  an occupational therapist, another professional from the health and social services sector governed by the Professional Code, or a professional from the health and social services sector governed by a Canadian regulating authority;
(b)  a joint-stock company where 100% of the voting rights attached to the shares are held by at least one of the persons mentioned in subparagraph a;
(c)  a trust where all trustees are persons mentioned in subparagraph  a;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the board of directors of the joint-stock company, the partners or, as the case may be, the managers appointed by the partners of the limited liability partnership are persons mentioned in subparagraph a of paragraph 1;
(3)  to constitute a quorum for a meeting of the board of directors of the joint-stock company, a majority of the members present must be persons mentioned in subparagraph a of paragraph 1;
(4)  the conditions set forth in this section are listed in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the contract of the partnership and that those documents also provide that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities;
(5)  the articles of the joint-stock company or the contract of the partnership must include the conditions to transfer company shares or partnership units in the event of the death, disability, strike off, or bankruptcy of one of the persons mentioned in subparagraph a of paragraph 1.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 1.
2. To carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, occupational therapists must provide the Order with the following documents:
(1)  a sworn declaration duly completed on the form provided by the Order containing the following information:
(a)  the partnership or joint-stock company name and any other names used in Québec by the partnership or joint-stock company within which the occupational therapists carry on professional activities, and the registration number assigned to it by the competent authority;
(b)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(c)  in the case of a joint-stock company:
i.  the address of the head office of the company and the addresses of its establishments in Québec;
ii.  the names of the shareholders referred to in paragraph 1 of section 1, their percentage of shares with voting rights, the Order or professional association of which they are members and their permit number;
iii.  the names of the directors of the company, the Order or professional association of which they are members, if applicable, and their permit number;
(d)  in the case of a limited liability partnership:
i.  the addresses of the establishments of the partnership in Québec, specifying the address of the principal establishment;
ii.  the names of the partners referred to in paragraph 1 of section 1, their percentage of partnership units, the Order or professional association of which they are members and their permit number;
iii.  the names of the partnership’s managers, the Order or professional association of which they are members, if applicable, and their permit number;
(e)  the occupational therapist’s name, permit number, and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(f)  a certificate to the effect that the shares or units held, the rules of administration of the partnership or company, and the articles of the joint-stock company or the contract of the limited liability partnership comply with the conditions set out in this Regulation;
(2)  a written document issued by a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company has complied with the security requirements as provided in Division III;
(3)  an irrevocable written authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company within which the occupational therapists carry on professional activities allowing a person, committee, disciplinary body, or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to require disclosure of and obtain any document listed in section 8 from a person, or to obtain a copy of such a document;
(4)  the fees payable prescribed by the Order’s board of directors.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 2.
3. Occupational therapists must:
(1)  update and provide the Order with the declaration referred to in section 2, accompanied by a written document issued by a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company has complied with the security requirements as provided in Division III and by the fees payable prescribed by the Order’s board of directors, before March 31 of each year;
(2)  promptly notify the Order of any change in the security prescribed in Division III or in the information given in the declaration set out in section 2 that would affect compliance with the conditions set out in this Regulation.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 3.
4. Occupational therapists immediately cease to be authorized to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company if the occupational therapists no longer comply with the conditions set out in this Regulation or in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
O.C. 341-2015, s. 4.
DIVISION II
REPRESENTATIVE
5. If 2 or more occupational therapists carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, a representative must be designated to act on behalf of all the occupational therapists practicing there to satisfy the terms and conditions in sections 2 and 3.
The representative must ensure the accuracy of the information provided to the Order.
The representative is also designated by the occupational therapists carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company to reply to requests made by a representative of the Order and provide, where applicable, the documents the occupational therapists are required to submit.
The representative must be an occupational therapist and carry on professional activities in Québec within the partnership or joint-stock company, and be a partner or a director and shareholder of the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 5.
DIVISION III
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
6. To be authorized to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, occupational therapists must provide and maintain on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company, by means of an insurance contract or by participating in a group insurance plan entered into by the Order, security coverage against the liability of the partnership or joint-stock company that may arise from the fault of the occupational therapists in the course of carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 6.
7. Such coverage must provide the following minimum conditions:
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer to pay on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay to a third party regarding a claim filed during the coverage period as a result of a fault on the part of an occupational therapist in the course of carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all expenses and legal costs of proceedings against the partnership or joint-stock company, including those of the inquiry and defence, and interest on the amount of the security;
(3)  an undertaking by the insurer that the security extends to all claims submitted in the 5 years after the coverage period during which a member in the partnership or joint-stock company dies, withdraws from the partnership or joint-stock company, or ceases to be a member of the Order, in order to maintain coverage for the partnership or joint-stock company for fault on the part of an occupational therapist while carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  an amount of security of at least $1,000,000 per claim, for a maximum of $3,000,000 for all claims filed against the partnership or joint-stock company within a coverage period not exceeding 12 months regardless of the number of occupational therapists in the partnership or joint-stock company;
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer to provide the secretary of the Order with a 30-day notice of intent to cancel the insurance contract, to amend it in relation to a condition of this section, or not to renew the contract.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 7; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
DIVISION IV
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
8. The following documents may be required pursuant to paragraph 3 of section 2:
(1)  if occupational therapists carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company:
(a)  a written document from a competent authority attesting to the existence of the joint-stock company;
(b)  an up-to-date register of the articles and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the shares of the joint-stock company;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the shareholders of the joint-stock company;
(e)  an up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(f)  any shareholders’ agreement or voting agreement and amendments;
(g)  the declaration of registration and registration certificate of the joint-stock company and any update;
(h)  a complete and up-to-date list of the joint-stock company’s principal officers and their home addresses;
(2)  if occupational therapists carry on professional activities within a limited liability partnership:
(a)  where applicable, a certified true copy of the declaration from the competent authority stating that the general partnership has been continued as a limited liability partnership;
(b)  the declaration of registration of the partnership and any update;
(c)  the partnership contract and amendments;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the partners of the partnership;
(e)  if applicable, an up-to-date register of the managers of the partnership;
(f)  the compete and up-to-date list of the names and home addresses of the partnership’s principal officers;
(3)  a written document attesting that the partnership or joint-stock company is duly registered in Québec;
(4)  a written document attesting that the partnership or joint-stock company has an establishment in Québec.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 8.
DIVISION V
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
9. Occupational therapists who practice within a joint-stock company constituted before the date of coming into force of this Regulation (2015-05-14) must comply with the provisions contained herein at the latest within one year after that date.
O.C. 341-2015, s. 9.
10. (Omitted).
O.C. 341-2015, s. 10.
REFERENCES
O.C. 341-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 570

C-26, r. 116.02 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession d’ergothérapeute en société

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 116.02
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession d’ergothérapeute en société
ERGOTHÉRAPEUTES — EXERCICE EN SOCIÉTÉ
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h et a. 94, par. p).
C-26
14 mai 2015
SECTION I
CONDITIONS ET MODALITÉS D’EXERCICE
1. Un ergothérapeute peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions ou d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus par les personnes ou les patrimoines fiduciaires suivants ou une combinaison de ceux-ci:
a)  un ergothérapeute, un autre professionnel du secteur de la santé et des services sociaux régi par le Code des professions ou un professionnel du secteur de la santé et des services sociaux régi par un organisme de réglementation au Canada;
b)  une société par actions dont 100% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions sont détenus par au moins une des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a;
c)  une fiducie dont tous les fiduciaires sont des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a;
2°  les administrateurs du Conseil d’administration de la société par actions ou les associés ou, s’il y a lieu, les administrateurs nommés par les associés de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, sont en majorité des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1;
3°  pour constituer le quorum à une assemblée des administrateurs de la société, la majorité des membres présents doit être composée des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1;
4°  les conditions prévues au présent article sont inscrites dans les statuts constitutifs de la société par actions ou stipulées dans le contrat constituant la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et il y est aussi prévu que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles;
5°  les statuts constitutifs de la société par actions ou le contrat constituant la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée doivent prévoir les modalités de transmission des actions ou parts sociales, advenant le décès, l’invalidité, la radiation ou la faillite d’une des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1.
D. 341-2015, a. 1.
2. Pour pouvoir exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société l’ergothérapeute doit fournir à l’Ordre les documents suivants:
1°  une déclaration sous serment dûment remplie sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre, laquelle contient les renseignements suivants:
a)  le nom ou la dénomination sociale de la société au sein de laquelle l’ergothérapeute exerce ses activités professionnelles, ainsi que les autres noms utilisés au Québec par cette dernière et son numéro d’entreprise attribué par l’autorité compétente;
b)  la forme juridique de la société;
c)  s’il s’agit d’une société par actions:
i.  l’adresse du siège de la société et de ses établissements au Québec;
ii.  le nom des actionnaires visés au paragraphe 1 de l’article 1, leur pourcentage d’actions avec droit de vote, l’ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent ainsi que leur numéro de permis;
iii.  le nom des administrateurs de cette société, l’ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent, le cas échéant, ainsi que leur numéro de permis;
d)  s’il s’agit d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
i.  l’adresse des établissements de cette société au Québec, en précisant celle du principal;
ii.  le nom des associés visés au paragraphe 1 de l’article 1, leur pourcentage de parts sociales, l’ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent ainsi que leur numéro de permis;
iii.  le nom des administrateurs de cette société, l’ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent, le cas échéant, ainsi que leur numéro de permis;
e)  le nom de l’ergothérapeute, son numéro de permis et son statut au sein de la société;
f)  une attestation a l’effet que les actions ou les parts sociales détenues, les règles d’administration de la société ainsi que les statuts constitutifs de la société par actions ou le contrat constituant la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée respectent les conditions prévues au présent règlement;
2°  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section III;
3°  une autorisation écrite irrévocable de la société au sein de laquelle il exerce ses activités professionnelles donnant le droit à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal visé à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de toute personne un document ou une copie d’un document visé à l’article 8;
4°  les frais exigibles prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
D. 341-2015, a. 2.
3. L’ergothérapeute doit:
1°  mettre à jour et fournir à l’Ordre, avant le 31 mars de chaque année, la déclaration prévue à l’article 2, accompagnée d’un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section III et des frais exigibles prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
2°  informer l’Ordre sans délai de toute modification à la garantie prévue à la section III ou aux informations transmises dans la déclaration prévue à l’article 2 qui aurait pour effet d’affecter le respect des conditions prévues au présent règlement.
D. 341-2015, a. 3.
4. L’ergothérapeute cesse immédiatement d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société si les conditions prévues au présent règlement ou celles du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) ne sont plus respectées.
D. 341-2015, a. 4.
SECTION II
RÉPONDANT
5. Lorsque 2 ergothérapeutes ou plus exercent leurs activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société, un répondant doit être désigné pour agir pour l’ensemble des ergothérapeutes y exerçant leurs activités professionnelles afin de remplir les conditions et modalités prévues aux articles 2 et 3.
Le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis à l’Ordre.
Le répondant est également désigné par les ergothérapeutes exerçant leurs activités professionnelles au sein de la société pour répondre aux demandes formulées par un représentant de l’Ordre et pour fournir, le cas échéant, les documents que les ergothérapeutes sont tenus de transmettre.
Le répondant doit être un ergothérapeute, exercer ses activités professionnelles au Québec au sein de la société et être soit associé, soit administrateur et actionnaire de la société.
D. 341-2015, a. 5.
SECTION III
GARANTIE DE LA RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
6. L’ergothérapeute doit, pour être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société, fournir et maintenir pour cette société par contrat d’assurance ou par l’adhésion à une assurance collective contractée par l’Ordre, une garantie contre la responsabilité que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes commises par l’ergothérapeute dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de cette société.
D. 341-2015, a. 6.
7. La garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  l’engagement de l’assureur de payer en lieu et place de la société toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à un tiers relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant des fautes commises par l’ergothérapeute dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement de l’assureur de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action qui fait l’objet de la garantie et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais et frais de justice des actions contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense, et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  l’engagement de l’assureur suivant lequel cette garantie s’étend à toute réclamation présentée pendant les 5 années qui suivent la période de garantie au cours de laquelle un membre de la société décède, quitte la société ou cesse d’être membre de l’Ordre, de façon à maintenir une garantie en faveur de la société pour les fautes commises par le membre dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de la société;
4°  un montant de garantie d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par réclamation présentée contre la société, sujet à une limite de 3 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie n’excédant pas 12 mois, et ce, quel que soit le nombre d’ergothérapeutes dans la société;
5°  l’engagement de l’assureur de donner au secrétaire de l’Ordre un préavis de 30 jours lorsqu’il entend résilier le contrat d’assurance, le modifier quant à l’une des conditions prévues au présent article ou ne pas le renouveler.
D. 341-2015, a. 7; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION IV
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
8. Les documents qui peuvent être exigés en vertu du paragraphe 3 de l’article 2 sont les suivants:
1°  si l’ergothérapeute exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
b)  le registre à jour des statuts et règlements de la société;
c)  le registre à jour des actions de la société;
d)  le registre à jour des actionnaires de la société;
e)  le registre à jour des administrateurs de la société;
f)  toute convention entre actionnaires et entente relative à leur droit de vote ainsi que leurs modifications;
g)  la déclaration et le certificat d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
h)  la liste complète et à jour des principaux dirigeants de cette société et leur adresse résidentielle;
2°  si l’ergothérapeute exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  s’il y a lieu, une copie certifiée conforme de la déclaration donnée par l’autorité compétente indiquant que la société en nom collectif a été continuée en une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
b)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
c)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
d)  le registre à jour des associés de la société;
e)  le cas échéant, le registre à jour des administrateurs de cette société;
f)  la liste complète et à jour des principaux dirigeants de cette société et leur adresse résidentielle;
3°  un document écrit attestant que la société est dûment immatriculée au Québec;
4°  un document écrit attestant que la société maintient un établissement au Québec.
D. 341-2015, a. 8.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRE ET FINALE
9. L’ergothérapeute qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions formée avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent règlement (2015-05-14) doit, au plus tard dans l’année suivant cette date, se conformer aux exigences qui y sont établies.
D. 341-2015, a. 9.
10. (Omis).
D. 341-2015, a. 10.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 341-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 970