C-25.01, r. 0.2.2 - Regulation of the Superior Court of Québec in civil and family matters for the district of Montréal

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-25.01, r. 0.2.2
Regulation of the Superior Court of Québec in civil and family matters for the district of Montréal
CIVIL PROCEDURE— SUPERIOR COURT— CIVIL AND FAMILY MATTERS— MONTRÉAL
Code of Civil Procedure
(chapter C-25.01, a. 63).
C-25.01
May 20 2016June 16 2016
DIVISION I
PRELIMINARIES
1. The rules set out in the Regulation of the Superior Court of Québec in Civil Matters (chapter C-25.01, r. 0.2.1) are replaced, amended or completed, as the case may be, by the rules set out in this Regulation, which apply in the district of Montréal.
More specifically, rules 22 and 25 of the Regulation of the Superior Court of Québec in Civil Matters are replaced, for the district of Montréal, by the rules in this Regulation.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 1.
DIVISION II
ROLLS FOR HEARING
2. Under the authority of the Chief Justice, the master of the rolls distributes the cases among the available judges according to the nature of each case and the anticipated duration of the trial.
The roll for hearing thus prepared shows the name of the judge, the number of the case, the name of the parties and their lawyers, the date and hour of hearing and the number of the court room.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 2.
3. At least 2 months before the opening of the term, the master of the rolls posts the roll for hearing on the website or otherwise and notifies, by messenger or by mail, an extract of the roll relating to their cases to each of the lawyers of record or to the parties if they have no lawyer.
The transmission to the lawyers by the clerk of an extract of the roll relating to their cases constitutes the notice to lawyers required by article 178 of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25.01).
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 3.
DIVISION III
HEARING OF CASES
4. If a case cannot be heard in the court room where it has been fixed for hearing, the master of the rolls, under the authority of the Chief Justice, refers it to another judge who is available, in such manner as will assure the greatest efficiency; if there is no judge available for either sitting on that day, the master of the rolls fixes the case as soon as possible on a subsequent roll.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 4.
5. The trial of a case which has been started must continue until it has been completed without adjournment to a subsequent session of the Court. If it cannot be completed, the master of the rolls must fix it as soon as possible on a subsequent roll.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 5.
DIVISION IV
POSTPONEMENTS
6. Any request for a postponement is made within 30 days of the publication of the roll for hearing, by written application presented before the judge in chambers; the judge disposes of the application at discretion and may, if granting the postponement, fix the case for hearing as soon as possible on a subsequent roll or ask the clerk to place it on the roll for the fixing of another date.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 6.
7. Subject to article 265 of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25.01), no later application for postponement may be taken into consideration unless there are truly exceptional circumstances which have been alleged by written application presented to the Chief Justice, who decides the matter at discretion.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 7.
8. An advocate who is unable, for serious reasons, to make a written application for postponement before the case is called may communicate orally or in writing with the Chief Justice or the presiding judge.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 8.
DIVISION V
SUMMARY ROLL
9. Applications to have a case fixed on the summary roll may be presented to the officer appointed by the Chief Justice on Mondays and Tuesdays of each week between 2:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. or at such other time as may be fixed by the Chief Justice.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 9.
DIVISION VI
PRACTICE CHAMBER
10. The Chief Justice determines the number of sections of the Practice Chamber. The distribution of cases therein is made according to the instructions of the Chief Justice.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 10.
11. Unless the Chief Justice decides otherwise, notice of presentation of any proceeding is given for 9:15 a.m. in the rooms designated respectively for civil matters, family matters or for the special clerk.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 11.
12. Any proceeding in respect of which no interested lawyer appears before the final daily adjournment is struck from the roll.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 12.
13. Any proceeding which has already been adjourned twice and with respect to which the parties are not ready to proceed is struck from the roll.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 13.
DIVISION VII
DELEGATION OF POWERS BY THE CHIEF JUSTICE
14. The Chief Justice may designate a judge to hear and dispose of applications made under any of these rules of practice.
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 14.
DIVISION VIII
FINAL PROVISIONS
15. This Regulation replaces the Rules of practice of the Superior Court of the district of Montréal in Civil Matters and Family Matters (chapter C-25.01, r. 11).
2016-05-20-bDecision 2016-05-20, s. 15.
REFERENCES
Decision 2016-05-20, 2016 G.O. 2, 2174

C-25.01, r. 0.2.2 - Règlement de la Cour supérieure du Québec en matière civile et familiale pour le district de Montréal

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-25.01, r. 0.2.2
Règlement de la Cour supérieure du Québec en matière civile et familiale pour le district de Montréal
PROCÉDURE CIVILE — COUR SUPÉRIEURE — MATIÈRE CIVILE ET FAMILIALE — MONTRÉAL
Code de procédure civile
(chapitre C-25.01, a. 63).
C-25.01
20 mai 201616 juin 2016
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES
1. Le Règlement de la Cour supérieure du Québec en matière civile (chapitre C-25.01, r. 0.2.1) est, suivant le cas, remplacé, modifié ou complété par les règles du présent règlement qui s’appliquent dans le district de Montréal.
Plus particulièrement, les règles prévues aux articles 22 et 25 du Règlement de procédure en matière civile de la Cour supérieure du Québec sont remplacées, dans le district de Montréal, par celles du présent règlement.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 1.
SECTION II
RÔLES D’AUDIENCE
2. Sous l’autorité du juge en chef, le maître des rôles distribue les causes entre les juges disponibles, suivant la nature de chacune et la durée prévue de l’instruction.
Le rôle d’audience ainsi préparé indique le nom du juge, le numéro de la cause, le nom des parties et de leurs avocats, la date et l’heure de l’audition et le numéro de la salle d’audience.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 2.
3. Au moins 2 mois avant l’ouverture de la session, le maître des rôles affiche, sur le site Internet ou autrement, le rôle d’audience et en notifie à chacun des avocats aux dossiers ou, à défaut, aux parties, un extrait concernant leurs causes, soit par un service de messagerie soit par la poste.
L’expédition aux avocats par le greffier d’un extrait du rôle concernant leurs causes constitue l’avis aux avocats exigé par l’article 178 du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25.01).
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 3.
SECTION III
AUDITION DES CAUSES
4. Si une cause ne peut être entendue dans la salle d’audience où elle est fixée, le maître des rôles, sous l’autorité du juge en chef, la réfère à un juge disponible, selon l’ordre qui assure la meilleure efficacité; s’il n’y a pas de juge disponible à l’une ou l’autre des séances du même jour, le maître des rôles fixe la cause dès que possible sur un rôle subséquent.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 4.
5. L’instruction d’une cause commencée doit se continuer jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit terminée sans ajournement à une session ultérieure de la Cour. Si elle ne peut ainsi se terminer, le maître des rôles en fixe la continuation dès que possible sur un rôle subséquent.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 5.
SECTION IV
REMISES
6. Toute demande de remise est formulée dans les 30 jours de la publication du rôle d’audience, par demande écrite présentable devant le juge en son cabinet; celui-ci décide de la demande à sa discrétion et peut, s’il accorde la remise, fixer la cause dès que possible sur un rôle subséquent ou demander au greffier de la reporter au rôle pour qu’une autre date soit fixée.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 6.
7. Sous réserve de l’article 265 du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25.01), aucune demande ultérieure de remise n’est prise en considération, à moins de circonstances exceptionnelles qui doivent être alléguées par demande écrite présentable devant le juge en chef qui en décide à sa discrétion.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 7.
8. Lorsqu’un avocat est empêché, pour des motifs sérieux, de demander une remise par écrit avant que sa cause ne soit appelée, il peut communiquer par écrit ou oralement avec le juge en chef ou le juge présidant la session.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 8.
SECTION V
RÔLE SOMMAIRE
9. Les demandes pour fixer une cause au rôle sommaire peuvent être présentées à l’officier nommé par le juge en chef les lundi et mardi de chaque semaine entre 14 h et 16 h ou en tout autre temps déterminé par le juge en chef.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 9.
SECTION VI
CHAMBRE DE PRATIQUE
10. Le juge en chef fixe le nombre de divisions de la chambre de pratique. La distribution des causes s’y fait selon ses directives.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 10.
11. À moins que le juge en chef n’en décide autrement, avis de présentation de toute procédure est donné pour 9 h 15 dans la salle prévue respectivement pour les matières civile, familiale et pour le greffier spécial.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 11.
12. Toute procédure au sujet de laquelle aucun des avocats intéressés ne s’est présenté avant la fin de la séance est rayée du rôle.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 12.
13. Toute procédure qui a déjà été ajournée 2 fois et au sujet de laquelle les parties ne sont pas encore prêtes, est rayée du rôle.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 13.
SECTION VII
DÉLÉGATION DE POUVOIRS PAR LE JUGE EN CHEF
14. Le juge en chef peut désigner un juge pour entendre les demandes faites en vertu des présentes règles et en décider.
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 14.
SECTION VIII
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
15. Le présent règlement remplace les Règles de pratique de la Cour supérieure du district de Montréal en matière civile et en matière familiale (chapitre C-25.01, r. 11).
2016-05-20-bDécision 2016-05-20, a. 15.
RÉFÉRENCES
Décision 2016-05-20, 2016 G.O. 2, 2771