C-24.2, r. 52.1 - Regulation respecting the visibility and traffic of farm machines wider than 2.6 metres

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 52.1
Regulation respecting the visibility and traffic of farm machines wider than 2.6 metres
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — VISIBILITY AND TRAFFIC OF FARM MACHINES
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 621, 1st par., subpars. 20.4 and 20.5).
C-24.2
December 1 2013
1. This Regulation applies to farm machines and combinations of farm vehicles wider than 2.6 m and that are not outsized vehicles in respect of their width under the Vehicle Load and Size Limits Regulation (chapter C-24.2, r. 31).
This Regulation does not apply to farm machines or combinations of farm vehicles when they only cross a public highway.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
“amber beacon or strobe light” means a 360-degree rotating amber lamp that flashes at a rate of not less than 60 and not more than 90 flashes per minute and that has a lens not less than 10 cm high, or an equivalent light bar; (feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique)
“combination of farm vehicles” means a combination consisting of a farm machine or a farm motor vehicle within the meaning of the Regulation respecting road vehicle registration (chapter C-24.2, r. 29) drawing a farm machine or a farm trailer; (ensemble de véhicules agricoles)
“escort vehicle” means
(1)  a vehicle whose gross vehicle weight rating is under 4,500 kg, except a moped, a motorcycle or a three-wheel vehicle; or
(2)  a vehicle whose gross vehicle weight rating is 4,500 kg or more and whose net mass is 4,000 kg or less that originally had an open truck box and a tailgate or is a sport utility vehicle; (véhicule d’escorte)
“flashing amber warning lamp” means an amber lamp whose effective projected luminous area is not less than 77.5 cm2, that flashes at a rate of not less than 60 and not more than 120 flashes per minute and is bidirectional, and that conforms to SAE Standard J974 entitled “Flashing Warning Lamp for Agricultural Equipment”, revised in April 2011, or SAE Standard J845 entitled “Optical Warning Devices for Authorized Emergency, Maintenance, and Service Vehicles”, revised in December 2007, but in that case, the amber lamp must be at least Class 2. The standards are published by the Society of Automotive Engineers; (feu jaune clignotant)
“strip of retroreflective material” means a strip made of a material that meets the requirements of clause 3.3 of CSA Standard M669-F11, published by the Canadian Standards Association, and that is at least 50 mm wide and 230 mm long. (bande faite d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant)
O.C. 733-2013, s. 2.
3. For the purposes of this Regulation, the width of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles is measured by excluding their rear-view mirrors and lamps.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 3.
4. Every farm machine and combination of farm vehicles must, at night if more than 2.6 m wide without exceeding 3.1 m wide and in the day if more than 2.6 m wide without exceeding 3.7 m wide, be equipped with
(1)  at least 2 flashing amber warning lamps that flash in unison, mounted as symmetrically as possible on the lateral extremities of the vehicle without exceeding them. If one of the lamps cannot be mounted on a lateral extremity of the vehicle, it must be mounted in all cases at less than 40 cm from the extremity. The lamps must be mounted at not less than 1 m and not more than 3.7 m from the roadway so as to be visible to the driver of a road vehicle approaching from the front or rear at a distance between 300 m and 30 m; or
(2)  at least 1 amber beacon or strobe light or an equivalent light bar mounted on or as near as practicable to the top of the vehicle. The amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar must be visible to the driver of a road vehicle approaching from the front or rear at a distance between 300 m and 30 m.
Every farmer who is the owner of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $120 to $360. However, the fine is $60 to $180 if the offence is committed because of the colour, position or visibility of a lamp, light or light bar.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 4.
5. Every farm machine and combination of farm vehicles must, at night if more than 3.1 m wide and in the day if more than 3.7 m wide, be equipped with
(1)  at least 2 flashing amber warning lamps that flash in unison, mounted as symmetrically as possible on the lateral extremities of the vehicle without exceeding them. If one of the lamps cannot be mounted on a lateral extremity of the vehicle, it must be mounted in all cases at less than 40 cm from the extremity. The lamps must be mounted at not less than 1 m and not more than 3.7 m from the roadway;
(2)  at least 2 strips of amber retroreflective material visible from the front of the vehicle, placed as horizontally as practicable, each less than 40 cm from the lateral extremities; and
(3)  strips of red retroreflective material visible from the rear of the vehicle, placed as horizontally and as aligned and evenly spaced as practicable without exceeding 1.8 m, and the strips placed on the lateral extremities must be less than 40 cm from them.
The flashing amber warning lamps and, at night, the strips of retroreflective material must, when directly in front of the low beams of the headlamps, be visible to the driver of a road vehicle approaching from the front or rear at a distance between 300 m and 30 m.
In the case of a combination of farm vehicles, if the towed vehicle exceeds the width of the towing vehicle on both sides, the flashing amber warning lamps may be mounted on the towing vehicle provided they are less than 6 m from the lateral extremities at the rear of the towed vehicle and the distance between the lamps is the width of the towed vehicle. If the towed vehicle exceeds the width of the towing vehicle on one side, the distance between the lamps must be the distance between the width of the towed vehicle on the wider side and the width of the towing vehicle on the other side.
A farm motor vehicle that is part of a combination of farm vehicles and a self-propelled farm machine may, in addition to the lamps prescribed in this section, be equipped with an amber beacon or strobe light or an equivalent light bar mounted on or as near as practicable to the top of the vehicle.
Every farmer who is the owner of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $120 to $360. However, the fine is
(1)  $60 to $180 if the offence is committed because of the colour of a retroreflective material or a lamp or of the position of a strip of retroreflective material or a lamp other than a lamp referred to in the fourth paragraph; or
(2)  $60 to $180 if the offence is committed because of the visibility of a retroreflective material or a lamp referred to in the second paragraph.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 5.
6. An escort vehicle must precede a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles that is wider than 5.3 m.
Where a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles encroaches on the incoming lane, an escort vehicle must also follow the farm machine or combination of farm vehicles at night.
Every driver of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $240 to $720. However, the fine is $120 to $360 if the offence is committed because of an escort vehicle missing at the rear.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 6.
7. An escort vehicle at the rear must accompany a farm machine or a combination of farm vehicles that is wider than 7 m.
Every driver of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $120 to $360.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 7.
8. An escort vehicle that precedes a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles must be equipped with at least one amber beacon or strobe light or an equivalent light bar mounted on top of the vehicle. The amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar must be visible to the driver of a road vehicle approaching from the front at a distance between 300 m and 30 m.
Every driver of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $240 to $720. However, the fine is $60 to $180 if the offence is committed because of the colour, position or visibility of an amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 8.
9. An escort vehicle that follows a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles must be equipped with at least one amber beacon or strobe light or an equivalent light bar mounted on top of the vehicle or at not less than 1.5 m from the roadway. The amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar must be visible to the driver of a road vehicle approaching from the rear at a distance between 300 m and 30 m.
Every driver of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $120 to $360. However, the fine is $60 to $180 if the offence is committed because of the colour, position or visibility of an amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 9.
10. No person may drive a farm machine or a combination of farm vehicles that is wider than 5.3 m
(1)  if, due to weather conditions, the visibility is less than 500 m; or
(2)  in school zones from 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m., 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. on school days.
Every driver of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles who contravenes subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph is liable to a fine of $240 to $720. Every driver who contravenes subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph is liable to a fine of $120 to $360.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 10.
11. The driver of an escort vehicle must
(1)  maintain a distance between 100 m and 150 m from the farm machine or combination of farm vehicles being escorted;
(2)  be able to communicate, using a radio system, with the driver of the farm machine or combination of farm vehicles and with the driver of the other escort vehicle, if applicable;
(3)  drive with the amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar of the escort vehicle turned on;
(4)  turn off the amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar when the escort vehicle is no longer required under section 6 or 7; and
(5)  reduce the brightness of the light bar when used at night.
Every driver of an escort vehicle who contravenes
(1)  subparagraph 1, 4 or 5 of the first paragraph is liable to a fine of $60 to $180; or
(2)  subparagraph 2 or 3 of the first paragraph is liable to a fine of $120 to $360; however, if the offence is committed in relation to the amber beacon or strobe light or the light bar of the escort vehicle preceding the farm machine or the combination of farm vehicles, the driver is liable to a fine of $240 to $720.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 11.
12. The driver of a farm machine or combination of farm vehicles referred to in section 4 or 5 must drive with the lamps prescribed by those sections turned on.
Every driver who contravenes this section is liable to a fine of $120 to $360.
O.C. 733-2013, s. 12.
13. Farm machines or combinations of farm vehicles do not need to be equipped with strips of retroreflective material or flashing amber warning lamps that conform to the standards set out in section 2 and published by the designated standardizing bodies if they were equipped with strips or lamps that provide equivalent visibility before the coming into force of this Regulation (2013-12-01).
O.C. 733-2013, s. 13.
14. (Omitted).
O.C. 733-2013, s. 14.
REFERENCES
O.C. 733-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1866

C-24.2, r. 52.1 - Règlement concernant la visibilité et la circulation des machines agricoles d’une largeur de plus de 2,6 mètres

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 52.1
Règlement concernant la visibilité et la circulation des machines agricoles d’une largeur de plus de 2,6 mètres
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — VISIBILITÉ ET CIRCULATION DES MACHINES AGRICOLES
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 621, 1er al., par. 20.4 et 20.5).
C-24.2
1er décembre 2013
1. Les dispositions du présent règlement s’appliquent aux machines agricoles et aux ensembles de véhicules agricoles qui ont une largeur de plus de 2,6 m et qui ne sont pas des véhicules hors normes quant à leur largeur en vertu du Règlement sur les normes de charges et de dimensions applicables aux véhicules routiers et aux ensembles de véhicules routiers (chapitre C-24.2, r. 31).
Les dispositions du présent règlement ne s’appliquent pas cependant à de telles machines ou à de tels ensembles lorsque ceux-ci ne font que traverser un chemin public.
D. 733-2013, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«bande faite d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant»: une bande faite d’un matériau conforme aux exigences de l’article 3.3 de la norme CSA M669-F11, publiée par l’Association canadienne de normalisation, et dont la largeur est d’au moins 50 mm et la longueur d’au moins 230 mm;
«ensemble de véhicules agricoles»: un ensemble formé d’une machine agricole ou d’un véhicule de ferme, au sens que donne à ces expressions le Règlement sur l’immatriculation des véhicules routiers (chapitre C-24.2, r. 29) qui tirent une machine agricole ou une remorque agricole;
«feu jaune clignotant»: un feu jaune dont la surface effective de projection de la lumière est d’au moins 77,5 cm2, clignotant à une fréquence d’au moins 60 et d’au plus 120 clignotements à la minute, bidirectionnel et conforme à la norme SAE J974 intitulée «Flashing Warning Lamp for Agricultural Equipment», telle que révisée en avril 2011, ou à la norme SAE J845 intitulée «Optical Warning Devices for Authorized Emergency, Maintenance, and Service Vehicles», telle que révisée en décembre 2007, mais, dans ce cas, le feu jaune doit être d’au moins de classe 2. Ces normes sont publiées par la Society of Automotive Engineers;
«feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique»: un feu jaune ayant un rayon d’action de 360 degrés, clignotant à une fréquence d’au moins 60 et d’au plus 90 clignotements à la minute et possédant une lentille d’une hauteur minimale de 10 cm, ou une barre de signalisation équivalente;
«véhicule d’escorte»: l’un ou l’autre des véhicules routiers suivants:
1°  un véhicule ayant un poids nominal brut inférieur à 4 500 kg, à l’exception d’un cyclomoteur, d’une motocyclette ou d’un véhicule à trois roues;
2°  un véhicule ayant un poids nominal brut de 4 500 kg ou plus et une masse nette de 4 000 kg ou moins et qui est un véhicule possédant à l’origine une caisse découverte et un hayon ou un véhicule utilitaire sport.
D. 733-2013, a. 2.
3. Pour l’application du présent règlement, la largeur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles se mesure en excluant leurs rétroviseurs et leurs feux.
D. 733-2013, a. 3.
4. Toute machine agricole et tout ensemble de véhicules agricoles doivent, la nuit si leur largeur excède 2,6 m sans excéder 3,1 m et le jour si leur largeur excède 2,6 m sans excéder 3,7 m, être munis:
1°  soit d’au moins 2 feux jaunes clignotant simultanément, placés de façon aussi symétrique que possible aux extrémités latérales du véhicule mais sans les excéder. Si l’un de ces feux ne peut être placé à une extrémité latérale du véhicule, il doit être placé dans tous les cas à moins de 40 cm de celle-ci. Ces feux doivent être placés également à une hauteur minimale de 1 m et maximale de 3,7 m de la chaussée, de façon à être visibles par le conducteur d’un véhicule routier qui s’approche de l’avant ou de l’arrière et qui est situé entre 300 m et 30 m de distance;
2°  soit d’au moins 1 feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou d’une barre de signalisation équivalente placés au sommet du véhicule ou aussi près que possible de celui-ci. Ce feu ou cette barre de signalisation doit être visible par le conducteur d’un véhicule routier qui s’approche de l’avant ou de l’arrière et qui est situé entre 300 m et 30 m de distance.
L’agriculteur propriétaire d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $. Toutefois, cette amende est de 60 $ à 180 $ lorsque l’infraction est commise en raison de la couleur, de la position ou de la visibilité d’un feu ou de la barre de signalisation.
D. 733-2013, a. 4.
5. Toute machine agricole et tout ensemble de véhicules agricoles doivent, la nuit si leur largeur excède 3,1 m et le jour si leur largeur excède 3,7 m, être munis:
1°  d’au moins 2 feux jaunes clignotant simultanément, placés de façon aussi symétrique que possible aux extrémités latérales du véhicule mais sans les excéder. Si l’un de ces feux ne peut être placé à une extrémité latérale du véhicule, il doit être placé dans tous les cas à moins de 40 cm de celle-ci. Ces feux doivent être placés également à une hauteur minimale de 1 m et maximale de 3,7 m de la chaussée;
2°  d’au moins 2 bandes faites d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant jaune visibles à l’avant du véhicule, placées de façon aussi horizontale que possible, chacune à moins de 40 cm des extrémités latérales;
3°  de bandes faites d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant rouge visibles à l’arrière du véhicule, placées de façon aussi horizontale, alignées et espacées entre elles que possible sans excéder 1,8 m, et celles placées aux extrémités latérales devant être à moins de 40 cm de celles-ci.
Ces feux clignotants et, la nuit, ces bandes faites d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant, lorsque ces dernières sont placées directement en face d’un feu de croisement, doivent être visibles par le conducteur d’un véhicule routier qui s’approche de l’avant ou de l’arrière et qui est situé entre 300 m et 30 m de distance.
Dans le cas d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles, si le véhicule remorqué excède la largeur du véhicule remorqueur des deux côtés, les feux clignotants peuvent être placés sur le véhicule remorqueur pourvu qu’ils soient à moins de 6 m des extrémités arrières latérales du véhicule remorqué et que la distance entre les feux soit délimitée par la largeur du véhicule remorqué. Si le véhicule remorqué excède la largeur du véhicule remorqueur d’un seul côté, la distance entre les feux est délimitée du coté excédentaire par la largeur du véhicule remorqué et de l’autre côté par la largeur du véhicule remorqueur.
Un véhicule de ferme faisant partie d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles et une machine agricole automotrice peuvent, en plus des feux prescrits au présent article, être munis d’un feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou d’une barre de signalisation équivalente placés au sommet du véhicule ou aussi près que possible de celui-ci.
L’agriculteur propriétaire d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $. Toutefois, cette amende est de:
1°  60 $ à 180 $, lorsque l’infraction est commise en raison de la couleur d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant ou d’un feu ou de la position d’une bande de matériau rétroréfléchissant ou d’un feu autre que celui visé au quatrième alinéa;
2°  60 $ à 180 $, lorsque l’infraction est commise en raison de la visibilité d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant ou d’un feu visés au deuxième alinéa.
D. 733-2013, a. 5.
6. Un véhicule d’escorte doit accompagner à l’avant toute machine agricole et tout ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui ont une largeur excédant 5,3 m.
Lorsqu’une telle machine ou un tel ensemble empiète dans la voie inverse, un véhicule d’escorte à l’arrière doit également l’accompagner la nuit.
Le conducteur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 240 $ à 720 $. Toutefois, cette amende est de 120 $ à 360 $ lorsque l’infraction est commise en raison de l’absence d’un véhicule d’escorte à l’arrière.
D. 733-2013, a. 6.
7. De plus, un véhicule d’escorte doit accompagner à l’arrière toute machine agricole et tout ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui ont une largeur excédant 7 m.
Le conducteur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $.
D. 733-2013, a. 7.
8. Le véhicule d’escorte qui précède une machine agricole ou un ensemble de véhicules agricoles doit être muni d’au moins un feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou d’une barre de signalisation équivalente placés au sommet du véhicule. Ce feu ou cette barre de signalisation doit être visible par le conducteur d’un véhicule routier qui s’approche de l’avant et qui est situé entre 300 m et 30 m de distance.
Le conducteur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 240 $ à 720 $. Toutefois, cette amende est de 60 $ à 180 $ lorsque l’infraction est commise en raison de la couleur, de la position ou de la visibilité du feu ou de la barre de signalisation.
D. 733-2013, a. 8.
9. Le véhicule d’escorte qui suit une machine agricole ou un ensemble de véhicules agricoles doit être muni d’au moins un feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou d’une barre de signalisation équivalente placés au sommet du véhicule ou à une hauteur minimale de 1,5 m de la chaussée. Ce feu ou cette barre de signalisation doit être visible par le conducteur d’un véhicule routier qui s’approche de l’arrière et qui est situé entre 300 m et 30 m de distance.
Le conducteur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $. Toutefois, cette amende est de 60 $ à 180 $ lorsque l’infraction est commise en raison de la couleur, de la position ou de la visibilité du feu ou de la barre de signalisation.
D. 733-2013, a. 9.
10. Nul ne peut conduire une machine agricole ou un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui ont une largeur excédant 5,3 m:
1°  lorsque la visibilité, en raison des conditions atmosphériques, ne s’étend pas sur une distance d’au moins 500 m;
2°  dans une zone scolaire, de 7 h 30 à 8 h 30, de 11 h 30 à 13 h 30 et de 15 h à 16 h 30, durant les jours scolaires.
Le conducteur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles qui contrevient au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa est passible d’une amende de 240 $ à 720 $. Lorsqu’il contrevient au paragraphe 2 de cet alinéa, il est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $.
D. 733-2013, a. 10.
11. Le conducteur d’un véhicule d’escorte doit:
1°  respecter une distance minimale de 100 m et maximale de 150 m entre son véhicule et la machine agricole ou l’ensemble de véhicules agricoles qu’il escorte;
2°  pouvoir communiquer, à l’aide d’un système de radiocommunication, avec le conducteur de la machine agricole ou de l’ensemble de véhicules agricoles et avec celui de l’autre véhicule d’escorte, le cas échéant;
3°  circuler avec le feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou la barre de signalisation du véhicule d’escorte en fonction;
4°  éteindre le feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou la barre de signalisation lorsque le véhicule d’escorte n’est plus requis suivant l’un des articles 6 et 7;
5°  réduire la luminosité de la barre de signalisation lorsqu’elle est utilisée la nuit.
Le conducteur d’un véhicule d’escorte qui contrevient:
1°  à l’un des paragraphes 1, 4 et 5 du premier alinéa, est passible d’une amende de 60 $ à 180 $;
2°  à l’un des paragraphes 2 et 3 du premier alinéa, est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $; toutefois, lorsque l’infraction est commise à l’égard du feu jaune rotatif ou stroboscopique ou de la barre de signalisation du véhicule d’escorte qui précède la machine agricole ou l’ensemble de véhicules agricoles, le conducteur est passible d’une amende de 240 $ à 720 $.
D. 733-2013, a. 11.
12. Le conducteur d’une machine agricole ou d’un ensemble de véhicules agricoles visés à l’un des articles 4 et 5 doit circuler avec les feux prescrits par ces articles en fonction.
Le conducteur qui contrevient au présent article est passible d’une amende de 120 $ à 360 $.
D. 733-2013, a. 12.
13. Les machines agricoles et les ensembles de véhicules agricoles n’ont pas à être munis de bandes faites d’un matériau rétroréfléchissant ni de feux jaunes clignotants conformes aux normes visées à l’article 2 et publiées par les organismes de normalisation désignés s’ils ont été munis, avant l’entrée en vigueur du présent Règlement (2013-12-01), de bandes ou de feux assurant une visibilité équivalente.
D. 733-2013, a. 13.
14. (Omis).
D. 733-2013, a. 14.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 733-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 2816