C-24.2, r. 46 - Ministerial Order concerning the use of three-wheeled motorcycles

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 46
Ministerial Order concerning the use of three-wheeled motorcycles
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — THREE-WHEELED MOTORCYCLES
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 633.2).
C-24.2
September 1 2012
1. The application of sections 65 and 209.1 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) is suspended until 31 December 2011 with regard to the operation of three-wheeled motorcycles.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 1.
2. In order to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle, a person must hold a class 5 driver’s licence bearing an endorsement indicating that the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec authorizes the licence holder to drive that type of motorcycle or the person must hold a class 6A driver’s licence, probationary licence or learner’s licence.
The requirement of an endorsement does not apply to a person during the period the person is enrolled in a driving course, approved by the Société, to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle. A class 5 driver’s licence authorizes the operation of that type of motorcycle notwithstanding the provisions of sections 28 and 28.7 to 28.10 of the Regulation respecting licences (chapter C-24.2, r. 34).
A person who contravenes the first paragraph is guilty of an offence and is liable to a fine of $300 to $360.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 2.
3. Where a class 5 driver’s licence authorizing the operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle was issued under Order number 2008-06 dated 11 June 2008 (G.O. 2, 2339A) and Order number 2009-13 dated 28 May 2009 (G.O. 2, 1804) and was valid on 31 October 2009, the authorization to drive a three-wheeled motorcycle is once again valid until 31 December 2011 or until the expiry date of the licence, whichever comes first.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 3.
4. In order to obtain an initial class 5 driver’s licence bearing an endorsement indicating that the Société authorizes the licence holder to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle, a person must hold a class 5 driver’s licence and must have successfully completed a driving course, approved by the Société, to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle.
The requirement of a proficiency examination set forth in sections 67 and 81 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) does not apply to a person seeking to obtain such a licence.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 4.
5. In order to renew or replace a class 5 driver’s licence bearing an endorsement indicating that the Société authorizes the licence holder to operate a three-wheeled vehicle, or in order to obtain a new driver’s licence of that class and bearing that endorsement, a person must hold a class 5 driver’s licence.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 5.
6. A class 5 driver’s licence bearing an endorsement indicating that the Société authorizes the licence holder to operate a three-wheeled motorcycle consists of 2 parts produced on 2 documents, one of which contains the information determined in section 5 of the Regulation respecting licences (chapter C-24.2, r. 34), and the other of which, in addition to the endorsement, contains the following information:
(1)  the licence holder’s file number;
(2)  the licence holder’s surname and usual given name;
(3)  the date the authorization comes into force and the date it expires;
(4)  a note indicating that payment is due each year on the licence holder’s birth date.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 6.
7. Where a class 5 driver’s licence authorizing the operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle is issued under this Order, authorization to drive such a motorcycle is valid from the date the licence is issued until 31 December 2011 or until the expiry date of the licence, whichever comes first.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 7.
8. For the purposes of enforcing section 100 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2), a holder of a class 5 driver’s licence authorizing the operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle may not serve as the accompanying rider for the holder of a learner’s licence to drive a motorcycle.
A person who contravenes the first paragraph is liable to a fine of $30 to $60.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 8.
9. A peace officer who has reasonable grounds to believe that a person driving a three-wheeled motorcycle does not hold the licence prescribed in section 2 may, at the expense of the owner and on behalf of the Société, immediately seize the vehicle and have it impounded for 30 days.
Sections 209.3 to 209.26 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) apply to a seizure carried out pursuant to the first paragraph, with the necessary modifications.
M.O. 2010-03, s. 9.
10. (Omitted).
M.O. 2010-03, s. 10.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2010-03, 2010 G.O. 2, 721

C-24.2, r. 46 - Arrêté ministériel concernant l’utilisation des motocyclettes à 3 roues

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 46
Arrêté ministériel concernant l’utilisation des motocyclettes à 3 roues
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — MOTOCYCLETTES À 3 ROUES
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 633.2).
C-24.2
1er septembre 2012
1. L’application des articles 65 et 209.1 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) est suspendue jusqu’au 31 décembre 2011 en ce qui concerne la conduite d’une motocyclette à 3 roues.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 1.
2. Pour conduire une motocyclette à 3 roues, une personne doit être titulaire d’un permis de conduire de classe 5 portant une inscription que la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec autorise son titulaire à conduire une telle motocyclette ou elle doit être titulaire d’un permis de conduire, d’un permis probatoire ou d’un permis d’apprenti-conducteur qui appartiennent à la classe 6A.
L’exigence de l’inscription ne s’applique pas à une personne pendant qu’elle suit un cours, approuvé par la Société, sur la conduite d’une motocyclette à 3 roues. Un permis de conduire de classe 5 l’autorise à conduire une telle motocyclette malgré ce que prévoient les articles 28 et 28.7 à 28.10 du Règlement sur les permis (chapitre C-24.2, r. 34).
La personne qui contrevient au premier alinéa commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 300 $ à 360 $.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 2.
3. Lorsqu’un permis de conduire de classe 5 autorisant la conduite d’une motocyclette à 3 roues a été délivré en vertu des arrêtés numéro 2008-06 du 11 juin 2008 (G.O. 2, 3315A) et numéro 2009-13 du 28 mai 2009 (G.O. 2, 2616) et était valide le 31 octobre 2009, l’autorisation de conduire une motocyclette à 3 roues est de nouveau valide jusqu’au 31 décembre 2011 ou jusqu’à la date d’expiration du permis, selon la première date à survenir.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 3.
4. Pour obtenir un premier permis de conduire de classe 5 portant une inscription que la Société autorise son titulaire à conduire une motocyclette à 3 roues, une personne doit être titulaire d’un permis de conduire de classe 5 et doit avoir suivi avec succès un cours, approuvé par la Société, sur la conduite d’une motocyclette à 3 roues.
L’exigence d’un examen de compétence prévue aux articles 67 et 81 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) ne s’applique pas à l’obtention de ce permis.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 4.
5. Pour renouveler, remplacer ou obtenir de nouveau un permis de conduire de classe 5 portant une inscription que la Société autorise son titulaire à conduire une motocyclette à 3 roues, une personne doit être titulaire d’un permis de conduire de classe 5.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 5.
6. Un permis de conduire de classe 5 portant une inscription que la Société autorise son titulaire à conduire une motocyclette à 3 roues est constitué de 2 parties produites sur 2 documents dont l’un contient les renseignements déterminés à l’article 5 du Règlement sur les permis (chapitre C-24.2, r. 34), et l’autre contient, outre l’inscription, les renseignements suivants:
1°  le numéro de dossier de son titulaire;
2°  le nom de famille et le prénom usuel de son titulaire;
3°  la date d’entrée en vigueur et celle de l’expiration de l’autorisation;
4°  une mention qu’un paiement est exigé chaque année à la date anniversaire de naissance de son titulaire.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 6.
7. Lorsqu’un permis de conduire de classe 5 autorisant la conduite d’une motocyclette à 3 roues est délivré en vertu du présent arrêté, l’autorisation de conduire une telle motocyclette est valide à compter de la délivrance du permis jusqu’au 31 décembre 2011 ou jusqu’à la date d’expiration du permis, selon la première date à survenir.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 7.
8. Pour l’application de l’article 100 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), le titulaire d’un permis de conduire de classe 5 qui autorise la conduite d’une motocyclette à 3 roues ne peut servir d’accompagnateur au titulaire d’un permis d’apprenti-conducteur conduisant une motocyclette.
La personne qui contrevient au premier alinéa est passible d’une amende de 30 $ à 60 $.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 8.
9. L’agent de la paix qui a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une personne conduit une motocyclette à 3 roues sans être titulaire du permis prévu à l’article 2 peut procéder sur-le-champ, aux frais du propriétaire et au nom de la Société, à la saisie du véhicule et à sa mise en fourrière pour une durée de 30 jours.
Les articles 209.3 à 209.26 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) s’appliquent à la saisie pratiquée en vertu du premier alinéa compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
A.M. 2010-03, a. 9.
10. (Omis).
A.M. 2010-03, a. 10.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2010-03, 2010 G.O. 2, 1064