C-24.2, r. 39.3 - Pilot project to exempt electric vehicles from paying a toll

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 39.3
Pilot project to exempt electric vehicles from paying a toll
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — PILOT PROJECT — EXEMPT ELECTRIC VEHICLES FROM PAYING A TOLL
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 633.1).
C-24.2
January 1 2016
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The Pilot project to exempt electric vehicles from paying a toll (“Pilot project”) is authorized on the following grounds:
(1)  to develop special rules, different from the rules prescribed by the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) for electric vehicles used on a public highway subject to a toll under the Act respecting transport infrastructure partnerships (chapter P-9.001);
(2)  to authorize all persons who travel on a public highway with an electric vehicle to avail themselves of the special rules provided for in the Pilot project;
(3)  to collect information on the results obtained, particularly with regard to the number of electric vehicles that were used on public highways.
M.O. 2015-16, s. 1.
2. For the purposes of this Pilot project, an “electric vehicle”, within the meaning of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2), means a passenger vehicle, a bus or a commercial vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 4,500 kg and belonging to one of the following categories:
(1)  fully electric vehicles equipped with an electric motor and a battery rechargeable from the electric network;
(2)  extended-range electric vehicles equipped with an electric motor, an electric battery rechargeable from the electric network and a fuel-powered generator producing electricity;
(3)  rechargeable hybrid vehicles, from the electric network, equipped with an electric motor operating in combination with a fuel engine, depending on the speed and acceleration of the vehicle.
An electric vehicle referred to in the first paragraph must have a registration plate with green letters and the electric vehicle pictogram in the lower left hand corner.
M.O. 2015-16, s. 2.
DIVISION II
RULES SPECIFIC TO ELECTRIC VEHICLES
3. Despite section 417.2 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2), a person who travels with an electric vehicle on a public highway subject to a toll under the Act respecting transport infrastructure partnerships (chapter P-9.001) is not required to pay the amount of the toll and the fees fixed in accordance with that Act.
However, in order to be exempted from paying the toll under the first paragraph, a person who travels with an electric vehicle on such a public highway must have a duly registered transponder for that road vehicle and that device must be inside the vehicle and in good working order.
M.O. 2015-16, s. 3.
DIVISION III
COLLECTION OF INFORMATION
4. The Minister of Transport is responsible for collecting information on the use of electric vehicles on a road subject to a toll under the Act respecting transport infrastructure partnerships (chapter P-9.001).
M.O. 2015-16, s. 4.
DIVISION IV
MISCELLANEOUS AND FINAL
5. In this Pilot project, a reference to an electric vehicle is also a reference, within the meaning of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2), to a motorcycle, provided that it moves using electricity and has a registration plate with green letters and the green electric vehicle pictogram in the lower land hand corner.
M.O. 2015-16, s. 5.
6. This Pilot project does not apply when a road vehicle is already exempt from paying a toll under a regulation made by the Government under the second paragraph of section 11 of the Act respecting transport infrastructure partnerships (chapter P-9.001).
M.O. 2015-16, s. 6.
7. This Pilot project is revoked as of 1 January 2019.
M.O. 2015-16, s. 7.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2015-16, 2015 G.O. 2, 3373

C-24.2, r. 39.3 - Projet pilote dispensant les véhicules électriques du paiement d’un péage

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 39.3
Projet pilote dispensant les véhicules électriques du paiement d’un péage
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — PROJET PILOTE — VÉHICULES ÉLECTRIQUES — PÉAGE
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 633.1).
C-24.2
1er janvier 2016
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Est autorisé la mise en oeuvre du Projet pilote dispensant les véhicules électriques du paiement d’un péage («Projet pilote») sur les bases suivantes:
1°  élaborer des règles particulières, différentes de celles prévues par le Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) pour les véhicules électriques circulant sur un chemin public assujetti à un péage en vertu de la Loi concernant les partenariats en matière d’infrastructure de transport (chapitre P-9.001);
2°  autoriser toute personne, qui circule sur un tel chemin public avec un véhicule électrique, à se prévaloir des règles particulières prévues au Projet pilote;
3°  recueillir de l’information sur les résultats obtenus notamment en ce qui concerne le nombre de véhicules électriques ayant emprunté un tel chemin public.
A.M. 2015-16, a. 1.
2. Pour l’application du Projet pilote, on entend par «véhicule électrique», au sens du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), un véhicule de promenade, un autobus ou un véhicule de commerce dont le poids nominal brut est moins de 4 500 kg, appartenant à l’une des catégories suivantes:
1°  les véhicules entièrement électriques étant équipés d’un moteur électrique et d’une batterie rechargeable à partir du réseau électrique;
2°  les véhicules électriques à autonomie prolongée étant équipés d’un moteur électrique, d’une batterie électrique rechargeable à partir du réseau électrique et d’une génératrice à essence produisant de l’électricité;
3°  les véhicules hybrides rechargeables à partir du réseau électrique étant équipés d’un moteur électrique et d’un moteur à essence fonctionnant en combinaison, selon la vitesse et l’accélération du véhicule.
Le véhicule électrique visé au premier alinéa doit être muni d’une plaque d’immatriculation comportant un lettrage vert et le pictogramme des véhicules électriques dans son coin inférieur gauche.
A.M. 2015-16, a. 2.
SECTION II
RÈGLES PARTICULIÈRES POUR LES VÉHICULES ÉLECTRIQUES
3. Malgré l’article 417.2 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), toute personne, qui circule avec un véhicule électrique sur un chemin public assujetti à un péage en vertu de la Loi concernant les partenariats en matière d’infrastructures de transport (chapire P-9.001), n’est pas tenue d’acquitter le montant du péage et les frais fixés conformément à cette loi.
Toutefois, pour être dispensée du paiement en application du premier alinéa, la personne qui circule avec un véhicule électrique sur un tel chemin doit avoir un transpondeur dûment enregistré pour ce véhicule routier et tel dispositif doit se trouver à l’intérieur du véhicule en bon état de fonctionnement.
A.M. 2015-16, a. 3.
SECTION III
CUEILLETTE D’INFORMATION
4. Le ministre des Transports est chargé de recueillir l’information concernant la circulation, avec un véhicule électrique, sur un chemin assujetti à un péage en vertu de la Loi concernant les partenariats en matière d’infrastructures de transport (chapitre P-9.001).
A.M. 2015-16, a. 4.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSE ET FINALE
5. Dans le présent Projet pilote, une référence à un véhicule électrique est également une référence, au sens du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), à une motocyclette dans la mesure où elle se meut à l’électricité, et qu’elle est munie d’une plaque d’immatriculation comportant un lettrage vert ainsi que le pictogramme vert de l’électrification dans son coin inférieur gauche.
A.M. 2015-16, a. 5.
6. Le présent Projet pilote ne s’applique pas lorsqu’un véhicule routier est déjà dispensé du montant d’un péage en vertu d’un règlement pris par le gouvernement en vertu du deuxième alinéa de l’article 11 de Loi concernant les partenariats en matière d’infrastructures de transport (chapitre P-9.001).
A.M. 2015-16, a. 6.
7. Le présent Projet pilote est abrogé le 1er janvier 2019.
A.M. 2015-16, a. 7.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2015-16, 2015 G.O. 2, 4836