C-24.2, r. 39.1.01 - Pilot Project for the use of a flashing green light on a road vehicle driven by a firefighter responding to an emergency call

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 39.1.01
Pilot Project for the use of a flashing green light on a road vehicle driven by a firefighter responding to an emergency call
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — FIREFIGHTER RESPONDING TO AN EMERGENCY CALL
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 633.1).
C-24.2
August 24 2015
1. The Pilot Project for the use of a flashing green light on a road vehicle driven by a firefighter responding to an emergency call from a fire safety service serving the territory of the regional county municipality of Les Collines-de-l’Outaouais or Bécancour is established. Its purpose is to compare the response time of firefighters called to respond to an emergency call based on whether or not they use a flashing green light on the road vehicles they drive.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 1.
2. The administration and the assessment of the pilot project are entrusted to the Minister of Public Security.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 2.
3. For the purposes of the administration of the pilot project, agreements may be entered into with the regional county municipalities of Les Collines-de-l’Outaouais and Bécancour and with their local authorities that have established a fire safety service.
The agreements may provide for any clause useful for the administration of the pilot project, including:
(1)  the obligation to transmit information concerning the pilot project, among others, to the firefighters of the fire safety services serving the territory concerned, to the citizens of the regional county municipalities of Les Collines-de-l’Outaouais, Papineau, La Vallée-de-la-Gatineau, Pontiac, Bécancour, Lotbinière, L’Érable, Arthabaska or Nicolet-Yamaska, or Ville de Gatineau, as applicable, and to the police forces serving the territory of those municipalities;
(2)  the terms and conditions of funding;
(3)  the data to be collated;
(4)  an accounting to be rendered to the Minister of Public Security.
The agreements are published on the websites of the Ministère de la Sécurité publique and of the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 3.
4. Only a firefighter in the territory of the regional county municipality of Les Collines-de-l’Outaouais, Papineau, La Vallée-de-la-Gatineau, Pontiac, Bécancour, Lotbinière, L’Érable, Arthabaska or Nicolet-Yamaska, or in the Ville de Gatineau, who is responding to an emergency call from a fire safety service covered by an agreement entered into in accordance with section 3 may activate the flashing green light of the road vehicle he or she is driving. The firefighter is authorized, where the circumstances so require and where the light is activated, to drive on the shoulder and to stop the vehicle in any place. The firefighter must act in a manner that does not endanger human life or safety.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 4.
5. The road vehicle on which the flashing green light is installed must not be an emergency vehicle. The light must be installed on the inside of the windshield by means of suction cups, within the area covered by the motion of the windshield wipers and outside the tinted area at the upper border of the windshield.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 5.
6. The green flashing light must be of the light-emitting diode (LED) type and must be equipped with an integrated light-shield device to minimize glare affecting the driver due to the reflections of the green light on the windshield.
The light must be powered by an electrical plug inserted into a 12-V socket in the vehicle. It must be no more than 180 mm wide, 76 mm high and 185 mm deep in size. It may be of the single- or double-module type. Its light-emitting diodes must flash simultaneously when it is activated, including where it is of the double-module type. The flash rate must be between 1 Hz and 4 Hz.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 6.
7. Anyone who activates a flashing green light, travels with a road vehicle or stops it in violation of section 4 or a firefighter who activates the flashing green light of a road vehicle where the vehicle or the installation of the light in the vehicle does not comply with section 5 or where the light does not comply with section 6 is guilty of an offence and is liable to a fine of $200 to $300.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 7.
8. Where a firefighter who has activated a flashing green light is involved in an accident, the authority responsible for the fire safety service must, within 8 days, give notification of the accident to the Direction de l’expertise et de la sécurité des véhicules of the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec, 333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-4-21, C. P. 19600, Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6, email: desv@saaq.gouv.qc.ca
M.O. 2015-08, s. 8.
9. An assessment of the pilot project is made annually within 90 days following the date of its coming into force.
An assessment including recommendations in respect of the use of a flashing green light on a road vehicle driven by a firefighter responding to an emergency call is also made not later than 90 days after the expiry of the pilot project.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 9.
10. This Order applies despite sections 226.1, 239, 347, 381, 382 to 384, 386, 388 and 418 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2).
M.O. 2015-08, s. 10.
11. This Order is revoked on 24 August 2019.
M.O. 2015-08, s. 11; S.Q. 2018, c. 7, s. 199.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2015-08, 2015 G.O. 2, 1066
S.Q. 2018, c. 7, s. 199

C-24.2, r. 39.1.01 - Projet-pilote relatif à l’utilisation d’un feu vert clignotant sur un véhicule routier conduit par un pompier répondant à un appel d’urgence

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 39.1.01
Projet-pilote relatif à l’utilisation d’un feu vert clignotant sur un véhicule routier conduit par un pompier répondant à un appel d’urgence
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — POMPIER RÉPONDANT À UN APPEL D’URGENCE
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 633.1).
C-24.2
24 août 2015
1. Est mis en oeuvre le Projet-pilote relatif à l’utilisation d’un feu vert clignotant sur un véhicule routier conduit par un pompier répondant à un appel d’urgence provenant d’un service de sécurité incendie desservant le territoire de la municipalité régionale de comté des Collines-de-l’Outaouais ou de Bécancour. Il a pour but de comparer les temps de déplacement des pompiers appelés à intervenir lors d’un appel d’urgence selon qu’ils utilisent ou non un feu vert clignotant sur les véhicules routiers qu’ils conduisent.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 1.
2. L’administration et l’évaluation du projet-pilote sont confiées à la ministre de la Sécurité publique.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 2.
3. Aux fins de l’application du projet-pilote, des ententes peuvent être conclues avec les municipalités régionales de comté des Collines-de-l’Outaouais et de Bécancour ainsi qu’avec leurs autorités locales qui ont établi un service de sécurité incendie.
Les ententes peuvent prévoir toute clause utile à l’administration du projet-pilote, incluant:
1°  l’obligation de communiquer l’information concernant le projet-pilote, entre autres, aux pompiers des services de sécurité incendie qui desservent le territoire visé, aux citoyens des municipalités régionales de comté des Collines-de-l’Outaouais, de Papineau, de La Vallée-de-la-Gatineau, de Pontiac, de Bécancour, de Lotbinière, de L’Érable, d’Arthabaska ou de Nicolet-Yamaska ou de la Ville de Gatineau, selon le cas, ainsi qu’aux corps de police desservant le territoire de ces municipalités;
2°  les modalités de financement;
3°  les données à colliger;
4°  une reddition de comptes à la ministre de la Sécurité publique.
Les ententes sont publiées sur le site Internet du ministère de la Sécurité publique et sur celui de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 3.
4. Seul un pompier se trouvant sur le territoire de la municipalité régionale de comté des Collines-de-l’Outaouais, de Papineau, de La Vallée-de-la-Gatineau, de Pontiac, de Bécancour, de Lotbinière, de L’Érable, d’Arthabaska ou de Nicolet-Yamaska ou de la Ville de Gatineau qui répond à un appel d’urgence provenant d’un service de sécurité incendie visé par une entente conclue conformément à l’article 3 peut actionner le feu vert clignotant du véhicule routier qu’il conduit. Il est autorisé, lorsque les circonstances l’exigent et que le feu est actionné, à circuler sur l’accotement et à immobiliser le véhicule à tout endroit. Le pompier doit agir de manière à ne pas mettre en péril la vie ou la sécurité des personnes.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 4.
5. Le véhicule routier sur lequel le feu vert clignotant est fixé ne doit pas être un véhicule d’urgence. Le feu doit être fixé du côté intérieur du pare-brise à l’aide de ventouses, dans la zone balayée par les essuie-glaces et en dehors de la zone teintée située au haut du pare-brise.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 5.
6. Le feu vert clignotant doit être à diodes électroluminescente (DEL) et muni d’un dispositif pare-lumière intégré pour réduire au minimum l’éblouissement du conducteur par les réflexions de la lumière du feu sur le pare-brise.
L’alimentation électrique du feu doit être faite par une fiche insérée dans un réceptacle 12 V du véhicule. Ses dimensions maximales doivent être de 180 mm pour la largeur, de 76 mm pour la hauteur et de 185 mm pour la profondeur. Le feu peut être du type à simple module ou à double module. Les diodes électroluminescentes du feu doivent clignoter simultanément lorsqu’il est actionné y compris lorsque le feu est à double module. La fréquence de clignotement doit se situer entre 1 Hz et 4 Hz.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 6.
7. Quiconque actionne un feu vert clignotant, circule avec un véhicule routier ou l’immobilise en contravention de l’article 4 ou le pompier qui actionne le feu vert clignotant d’un véhicule routier alors que le véhicule ou la fixation du feu au véhicule ne satisfait pas à l’article 5 ou alors que le feu ne satisfait pas à l’article 6 commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 200 $ à 300 $.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 7.
8. Lorsqu’un pompier ayant actionné un feu vert clignotant est impliqué dans un accident, l’autorité responsable du service de sécurité incendie doit, dans les 8 jours, aviser de l’accident la Direction de l’expertise et de la sécurité des véhicules de la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec, 333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-4-21, C. P. 19600, Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6, courriel: desv@saaq.gouv.qc.ca
A.M. 2015-08, a. 8.
9. Une évaluation du projet-pilote est effectuée annuellement dans les 90 jours suivant la date anniversaire de son entrée en vigueur.
Une évaluation comportant des recommandations relativement à l’utilisation d’un feu vert clignotant sur un véhicule routier conduit par un pompier répondant à un appel d’urgence est également effectuée au plus tard 90 jours après l’expiration du projet-pilote.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 9.
10. Le présent arrêté s’applique malgré les articles 226.1, 239, 347, 381, 382 à 384, 386, 388 et 418 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2).
A.M. 2015-08, a. 10.
11. Le présent arrêté est abrogé à compter du 24 août 2018.
A.M. 2015-08, a. 11.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2015-08, 2015 G.O. 2, 1704