C-24.2, r. 30 - Cargo Securement Standards Regulation

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 30
Cargo Securement Standards Regulation
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — CARGO SECUREMENT STANDARDS
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 621, 1st par., subpar. 23).
C-24.2
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
OBJECT AND INTERPRETATION
1. This Regulation governs the securement of cargo carried by heavy vehicles. It also governs the securement of the contents of intermodal containers and containers carried on heavy vehicles. For that purpose, the provisions of this Regulation integrate the provisions of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement, published by the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators, available on the website http://www.ccmta.ca, as it reads on the date of the shipment.
This Regulation does not govern the securement of cargo transported by farm motor vehicles or farm trailers within the meaning of the Regulation respecting road vehicle registration (chapter C-24.2, r. 29) if
(1)  the warning sign required by section 274 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) is attached to the rear of the vehicle or combination of vehicles;
(2)  the vehicle travels at a speed of less than 40 km/h; and
(3)  the cargo is contained against the structure of the vehicle and the structure is strong enough to prevent any horizontal movement or the cargo is secured to prevent such movement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation, “operator” means an operator of heavy vehicles within the meaning of subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 2 of the Act respecting owners, operators and drivers of heavy vehicles (chapter P-30.3).
Except for the definitions of “driver” and “heavy vehicle”, the definitions and abbreviations in National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement, apply.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 2.
3. A securement system may be considered equivalent to a securement system prescribed by this Regulation if the operator establishes that
(1)  it is designed to withstand the forces that result if the vehicle is subjected to 0.8 g deceleration in a forward direction, 0.5 g deceleration in a rearward direction and 0.5 g acceleration in a lateral direction;
(2)  it provides a downward force equal to at least 20% of the weight of an article of cargo that is not fully contained within the structure of the vehicle; and
(3)  the load on each component of the cargo securement system that reacts to a force referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 does not exceed the working load limit of the component.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 3.
DIVISION II
GENERAL CARGO SECUREMENT STANDARDS
4. Cargo, except bulk cargo, must be secured in accordance with section 9 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
Cargo securement systems and their components must comply with subsections 2 and 3 of section 4 and sections 6 and 15 to 18 of that Standard and their strength must comply with the minimum strength requirements prescribed by sections 10 to 12, 14 and 21 of that Standard.
Tiedowns must be used in accordance with sections 13, 19, 20 and 22 of that Standard.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 4.
5. The front-end structure of a heavy vehicle must, when used to immobilize cargo, comply with the minimum strength requirements prescribed by sections 23 to 26 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 5.
DIVISION III
SPECIAL STANDARDS
6. The special standards in this Division apply in addition to the standards in sections 4 and 5. The special standards prevail to the extent of any inconsistency.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 6.
§ 1.  — Logs
7. A cargo of logs must be secured in accordance with sections 28 to 40 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
Where debarked shortwood is loaded in the upper third of the load without the logs being contained at their ends, the cargo must also be retained by a netting with a mesh size not greater than 100 mm that covers the entire load and that extends at least 90 cm beyond the parts that are not contained. The netting must be solidly fixed to the deck with tensioned tiedowns attached every 1.20 m or less around the deck.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 7.
§ 2.  — Dressed lumber
8. A cargo of dressed lumber must be secured in accordance with sections 41 and 42 and section 43 as regards the application of section 44, 45, 46 or 47 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 8.
§ 3.  — Metal coils, paper rolls and concrete pipe
9. A cargo of metal coils must be secured in accordance with sections 48 to 50, section 51 as regards the application of section 52, 53 or 54, and sections 55 to 58 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 9.
10. A cargo of paper rolls must be secured in accordance with sections 59 to 72 of that Standard.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 10.
11. A cargo of concrete pipe must be secured in accordance with sections 73 to 82 of that Standard.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 11.
§ 4.  — Intermodal containers and special containers
12. Intermodal containers must be secured in accordance with sections 83 to 86 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 12.
13. Roll-on/roll-off containers and hook lift containers must be secured in accordance with sections 94 to 96 of that Standard.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 13.
§ 5.  — Transportation of vehicles
14. A cargo of vehicles with an individual weight of 4,500 kg or less must be secured in accordance with section 88 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement or, in the case of flattened or crushed vehicles, in accordance with sections 91 to 93 of that Standard.
A transported vehicle with an individual weight greater than 4,500 kg must be secured in accordance with section 89 of that Standard.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 14.
§ 6.  — Boulders
15. A cargo of boulders must be secured in accordance with sections 97 to 100 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 15.
§ 7.  — Bulk cargo
16. Subject to the third paragraph, bulk cargo in a dump truck, container or other type of container whose upper part is totally or partially open must be restrained by a covering system consisting of a tarpaulin, canvas or other type of equivalent covering.
The covering system must cover at least any portion of the load that extends beyond a reference point 15 cm below the top of the lowest wall. It must remain in direct contact with any portion of the load that extends beyond the nearest wall, unless the covering system is maintained above the load by bows secured to the vehicle. It must be exempt from tears or other damage in the section used for securement.
The first and second paragraphs do not apply if
(1)  the vehicle is proceeding across a public highway from a private road;
(2)  the top of the load does not extend beyond the reference point referred to in the second paragraph;
(3)  the load extending beyond the reference point referred to in the second paragraph consists only of elements exceeding 40 mm in 3 dimensions and the 3 perimeters of the load do not extend beyond the top of the lowest wall;
(4)  the vehicle is applying salt, sand, a mixture of salt and sand or other similar substance in connection with winter road maintenance;
(5)  the vehicle is applying dust suppressants on a road; or
(6)  the vehicle is transporting snow, ice or other similar substance collected during a snow removal operation.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 16.
DIVISION IV
SECUREMENT INSPECTION
17. The driver of a heavy vehicle must inspect the vehicle’s cargo securement in accordance with section 3 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 17.
DIVISION V
PENAL
18. Every driver who contravenes section 4 or 17 as regards the application of section 3, subsections 2 and 3 of section 4, section 6, subsection 4 of section 11, sections 13, 15 and 16 is liable to a fine of $175 to $525.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 18; O.C. 733-2012, s. 1.
19. Every driver who contravenes section 4 or 5, the first paragraph of section 7 or sections 8 to 15 as regards the application of, sections 9, 10, 14, 17 to 20, 22, 31, 33 to 40, 42, 44 to 47, 49, 50, 52 to 58, 60 to 67, subsections 5, 6 and 7 of section 68, section 69, subsection 5 of section 70, sections 71, 72, 75, 76, 79 to 82, 84 to 86, 88, 89, 91 to 93, 95, 96 and 98 to 100 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement, or the second paragraph of section 7 is liable to a fine of $350 to $1,050.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 19; O.C. 733-2012, s. 2.
20. Every operator who contravenes section 4 as regards the application of subsections 2 and 3 of section 4, section 6, subsection 4 of section 11, sections 13 and 16 of National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement, or section 16 is liable to a fine of $350 to $1,050.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 20; O.C. 733-2012, s. 3.
21. Every operator who contravenes section 4 or 5, the first paragraph of section 7 or sections 8 to 15 as regards the application of, sections 9, 10, 14, 17 to 20, 22 to 26, 29 to 31, 33 to 40, 42, 44 to 47, 49, 50, 52 to 58, 60 to 72, 75 to 82, 84 to 86, 88, 89, 91 to 93, 95, 96 and 98 to 100 of the National Safety Code Standard 10, Cargo Securement, or the second paragraph of section 7 is liable to a fine of $700 to $2,100.
O.C. 583-2005, s. 21; O.C. 733-2012, s. 4.
22. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting standards for the securing of loads (O.C. 284-86, 86-03-12).
O.C. 583-2005, s. 22.
23. (Omitted).
O.C. 583-2005, s. 23.
REFERENCES
O.C. 583-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 2061
O.C. 733-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 2340

C-24.2, r. 30 - Règlement sur les normes d’arrimage

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 30
Règlement sur les normes d’arrimage
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — NORMES D’ARRIMAGE
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 621, par. 23).
C-24.2
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
OBJET ET INTERPRÉTATION
1. Le présent règlement régit l’arrimage de la cargaison d’un véhicule lourd. Il régit également l’arrimage de la cargaison des conteneurs intermodaux et celui des conteneurs sur les véhicules lourds. À cette fin, les dispositions du présent règlement intègrent celles de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons publiée par le Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé et accessible sur le site (http://www.ccmta.ca), telle qu’elle se lit à la date du mouvement de transport.
Toutefois le présent règlement ne régit pas l’arrimage de la cargaison d’un véhicule de ferme ou d’une remorque de ferme, au sens du Règlement sur l’immatriculation des véhicules routiers (chapitre C-24.2, r. 29), si toutes les conditions suivantes sont réunies:
1°  le panneau avertisseur visé à l’article 274 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) est apposé à l’arrière du véhicule ou de l’ensemble de véhicules;
2°  le véhicule circule à une vitesse inférieure à 40 km/h;
3°  la cargaison est confinée contre la structure du véhicule et celle-ci est suffisamment résistante pour en empêcher tout mouvement horizontal ou la cargaison est arrimée pour empêcher un tel mouvement.
D. 583-2005, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par «exploitant» l’exploitant de véhicules lourds au sens du paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 2 de la Loi concernant les propriétaires, les exploitants et les conducteurs de véhicules lourds (chapitre P-30.3).
Sauf les définitions de «conducteur» et de «véhicule lourd», les définitions et les abréviations contenues dans la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons s’appliquent.
D. 583-2005, a. 2.
3. Tout système d’arrimage peut être considéré équivalent à l’un de ceux prescrits par le présent règlement si l’exploitant établit que toutes les conditions suivantes sont réunies:
1°  il est conçu pour supporter les forces imposées lorsque le véhicule est soumis à une décélération de 0,8 g en direction avant, à une décélération de 0,5 g en direction arrière et à une accélération de 0,5 g dans le sens latéral, d’un côté ou de l’autre;
2°  il exerce une force vers le bas correspondant à au moins 20% de la masse de tout article de la cargaison qui n’est pas entièrement confiné par la structure du véhicule;
3°  les contraintes exercées sur chacun des composants du système d’arrimage par les forces décrites aux paragraphes 1 et 2 ne doivent pas dépasser la limite de charge nominale de ceux-ci.
D. 583-2005, a. 3.
SECTION II
NORMES GÉNÉRALES D’ARRIMAGE DE LA CARGAISON
4. Toute cargaison, sauf celle de vrac, doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions de l’article 9 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
Les systèmes d’arrimage utilisés et leurs composants doivent être conformes aux dispositions des paragraphes (2) et (3) de l’article 4 et à celles des articles 6 et 15 à 18 de cette norme et leur résistance doit satisfaire aux normes minimales prescrites par les dispositions des articles 10 à 12, 14 et 21 de cette norme.
Les appareils d’arrimage doivent être utilisés conformément aux dispositions des articles 13, 19, 20 et 22 de cette norme.
D. 583-2005, a. 4.
5. La structure d’extrémité avant du véhicule lourd doit, lorsqu’elle sert à immobiliser la cargaison, être conforme aux normes de résistance prescrites par les articles 23 à 26 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
D. 583-2005, a. 5.
SECTION III
NORMES PARTICULIÈRES
6. Les normes particulières des dispositions de la présente section s’appliquent en complément avec celles des articles 4 et 5. En cas d’incompatibilité, les normes particulières prévalent.
D. 583-2005, a. 6.
§ 1.  — Grumes
7. Toute cargaison de grumes doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions des articles 28 à 40 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
Lorsque des courtes grumes écorcées se trouvent dans le premier tiers supérieur du chargement sans être confinées à leurs extrémités, la cargaison doit, en outre, être retenue par un treillis dont les mailles ont, au plus, 100 mm de côté qui recouvre tout le chargement et qui déborde les parties non confinées d’au moins 90 cm. Ce treillis doit être fixé solidement à la plate-forme avec des appareils d’arrimage maintenus sous tension et disposés tout autour, à tous les 1,20 m ou moins.
D. 583-2005, a. 7.
§ 2.  — Bois ouvré
8. Toute cargaison de bois ouvré doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions des articles 41 et 42 ainsi qu’à celles de l’article 43 concernant l’application des articles 44, 45, 46 ou 47 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
D. 583-2005, a. 8.
§ 3.  — Bobine de métal, rouleaux de papier et tuyaux de béton
9. Toute cargaison de bobines de métal doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions des articles 48 à 50, 51 concernant l’application des articles 52, 53 ou 54 et aux dispositions des articles 55 à 58 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
D. 583-2005, a. 9.
10. Toute cargaison de rouleaux de papier doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions des articles 59 à 72 de cette norme.
D. 583-2005, a. 10.
11. Toute cargaison de tuyaux de béton doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions des articles 73 à 82 de cette norme.
D. 583-2005, a. 11.
§ 4.  — Conteneurs intermodaux et conteneurs de types particuliers
12. Les conteneurs intermodaux doivent être arrimés conformément aux dispositions des articles 83 à 86 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
D. 583-2005, a. 12.
13. Les conteneurs de type «Roll-on/Roll-off» et ceux de type «Hook Lift» doivent être arrimés conformément aux dispositions des articles 94 à 96 de cette norme.
D. 583-2005, a. 13.
§ 5.  — Transport de véhicules
14. Toute cargaison constituée de véhicules dont la masse individuelle est de 4 500 kg ou moins doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions de l’article 88 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons ou, s’il s’agit de véhicules aplatis ou écrasés, conformément à celles des articles 91 à 93 de cette norme.
Tout véhicule transporté dont la masse individuelle est de plus de 4 500 kg doit être arrimé conformément aux dispositions de l’article 89 de cette norme.
D. 583-2005, a. 14.
§ 6.  — Cargaison de gros blocs de pierre
15. Toute cargaison de gros blocs de pierre doit être arrimée conformément aux dispositions des articles 97 à 100 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
D. 583-2005, a. 15.
§ 7.  — Cargaison de vrac
16. Sous réserve des dispositions du troisième alinéa, toute cargaison de vrac dans une benne, un conteneur ou tout autre type de contenant dont la partie supérieure est totalement ou partiellement ouverte doit être retenue par un système de recouvrement constitué d’une bâche, d’une toile ou de tout autre type de couverture équivalente.
Le système de recouvrement doit recouvrir au moins toute portion du chargement qui dépasse un point de référence situé à 15 cm sous le sommet de la paroi la plus basse. Il doit demeurer en contact direct avec toute portion du chargement qui dépasse la paroi la plus près, à moins que le système de recouvrement ne soit maintenu au-dessus du chargement par des arceaux arrimés au véhicule. Il doit être exempt de déchirures ou autres bris dans la section utilisée pour l’arrimage.
Les premier et deuxième alinéas ne s’appliquent pas dans l’une des situations suivantes:
1°  le véhicule traverse un chemin public à partir d’un chemin privé;
2°  le sommet du chargement ne dépasse pas le point de référence visé au deuxième alinéa;
3°  le chargement qui excède le point de référence visé au deuxième alinéa est constitué uniquement d’éléments de plus de 40 mm dans les 3 dimensions et la portion du chargement qui se situe en périphérie n’excède pas le sommet de la paroi la plus basse;
4°  il s’agit d’une opération d’épandage de sel, de sable, d’un mélange de sel et de sable ou de toute autre substance similaire, dans le cadre de l’entretien hivernal d’une route;
5°  il s’agit d’une opération d’épandage d’un abat poussière sur une route;
6°  il s’agit du transport de neige, de glace ou de toute autre substance similaire recueillie dans le cadre d’une opération de déneigement.
D. 583-2005, a. 16.
SECTION IV
VÉRIFICATION DE L’ARRIMAGE
17. Le conducteur d’un véhicule lourd doit procéder à la vérification de l’arrimage du véhicule conformément aux dispositions de l’article 3 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons.
D. 583-2005, a. 17.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS PÉNALES
18. Le conducteur qui contrevient à l’une des dispositions des articles 4 et 17 concernant l’application de l’article 3, des paragraphes (2) et (3) de l’article 4, de l’article 6, du paragraphe (4) de l’article 11, des articles 13, 15 et 16 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons ainsi qu’à l’une des dispositions de l’article 16 est passible d’une amende de 175 $ à 525 $.
D. 583-2005, a. 18; D. 733-2012, a. 1.
19. Le conducteur qui contrevient à l’une des dispositions des articles 4, 5, du premier alinéa de l’article 7 et des articles 8 à 15 concernant l’application, des articles 9, 10, 14, 17 à 20, 22, 31, 33 à 40, 42, 44 à 47, 49, 50, 52 à 58, 60 à 67, des paragraphes (5), (6) et (7) de l’article 68, de l’article 69, du paragraphe (5) de l’article 70, des articles 71, 72, 75, 76, 79 à 82, 84 à 86, 88, 89, 91 à 93, 95, 96 et 98 à 100 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons ainsi qu’à l’une des dispositions du deuxième alinéa de l’article 7 est passible d’une amende de 350 $ à 1 050 $.
D. 583-2005, a. 19; D. 733-2012, a. 2.
20. L’exploitant qui contrevient à l’une des dispositions de l’article 4 concernant l’application des paragraphes (2) et (3) de l’article 4, de l’article 6, du paragraphe (4) de l’article 11, des articles 13 et 16 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons ainsi qu’à l’une des dispositions de l’article 16 est passible d’une amende de 350 $ à 1 050 $.
D. 583-2005, a. 20; D. 733-2012, a. 3.
21. L’exploitant qui contrevient à l’une des dispositions des articles 4, 5, du premier alinéa de l’article 7 et des articles 8 à 15 concernant l’application, des articles 9, 10, 14, 17 à 20, 22 à 26, 29 à 31, 33 à 40, 42, 44 à 47, 49, 50, 52 à 58, 60 à 72, 75 à 82, 84 à 86, 88, 89, 91 à 93, 95, 96 et 98 à 100 de la Norme N° 10 du Code canadien de sécurité sur l’arrimage des cargaisons ainsi qu’à l’une des dispositions du deuxième alinéa de l’article 7 est passible d’une amende de 700 $ à 2 100 $.
D. 583-2005, a. 21; D. 733-2012, a. 4.
22. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’arrimage (D. 284-86, 86-03-12).
D. 583-2005, a. 22.
23. (Omis).
D. 583-2005, a. 23.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 583-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 2966
D. 733-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 3625