C-24.2, r. 18.4 - Regulation giving effect to the Driver’s Licence Exchange Agreement between the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and The Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 18.4
Regulation giving effect to the Driver’s Licence Exchange Agreement between the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and The Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — AGREEMENT — DRIVER’S LICENCES
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 631).
C-24.2
September 1 2012
1. The Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) and the regulations made under the Code apply to the holder of a driver’s licence issued by the Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office.
O.C. 630-2012, s. 1.
2. The provisions of the Code and its regulations apply in the manner described in the Driver’s Licence Exchange Agreement between the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and the Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office, attached as a Schedule.
O.C. 630-2012, s. 2.
3. (Omitted).
O.C. 630-2012, s. 3.
SCHEDULE
(s. 2)
DRIVER’S LICENCE EXCHANGE AGREEMENT
BETWEEN
THE SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
AND
THE ISLE OF MAN DEPARTMENT OF INFRASTRUCTURE DRIVER AND VEHICLE LICENSING OFFICE
THE SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
represented by its President and Chief Executive Officer, Ms. Nathalie Tremblay, duly authorized by law,
hereinafter referred to as “the SAAQ”
AND
THE ISLE OF MAN DEPARTMENT OF INFRASTRUCTURE DRIVER AND VEHICLE LICENSING OFFICE
represented by its Director, Richard D. Pearson, duly authorized,
hereinafter referred to as the “DLO”,
DESIRING to facilitate licence exchange for the holder of a valid driver’s licence they have issued and who is moving from one jurisdiction to the other;
AGREE to guarantee the recognition and facilitate the exchange of drivers’ licences according to the following provisions:
ARTICLE 1
DEFINITIONS
Under this agreement,
1.1 “Jurisdiction” refers to Québec or the Isle of Man, whereas “jurisdictions” refers simultaneously to both Québec and the Isle of Man.
“Authority” signatory party to this agreement, refers to the administrative entity that issues drivers’ licences, i.e., in Québec, the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), and for the Isle of Man, the Driver Licensing Office (DLO) of the Department of Infrastructure, whereas “authorities” refers simultaneously to the SAAQ and the DLO.
“Driver’s licence” or “driving licence” refers to a permit issued by either of the above authorities authorizing the holder to drive a motor vehicle, subject to the terms and conditions specific to the licence class or category and any other related conditions, and subject to the laws and regulations in effect in the jurisdiction in question.
“Valid” indicates that at the time the driver’s licence issued by one authority is submitted for exchange for a driver’s licence issued by the other authority, the original driver’s licence has not expired, been revoked, suspended or cancelled by the issuing authority and is not subject to any other restrictions that prevent the holder from using it for the intended purpose.
1.2 Specific to Québec:
A class 5 licence issued by the SAAQ authorizes the holder to drive a two-axle motor vehicle with a net weight of under 4,500 kg (cars, minivans, and light trucks), a motor vehicle permanently converted into a dwelling (motor home), a tool vehicle, or a service vehicle (service truck or tow truck), and includes classes 6D (moped) and 8 (farm tractor).
When an applicant has less than 24 months of driving experience, a class 5 probationary licence is mandatory before a full class 5 driver’s licence is issued.
1.3 Specific to the Isle of Man:
Category B licences issued by the DLO authorize the holders to drive:
— Motor vehicles with a maximum authorized weight of 3,500 kg, with no more than eight passenger seats in addition to the driver’s seat, and to which a trailer of no more than 750 kg maximum authorized weight may be hitched.
— Combinations of vehicles consisting of a category B tractor and a trailer having a combined maximum authorized weight not exceeding 3,500 kg, and with the towed unit not exceeding the net weight of the towing vehicle.
In addition, categories B1 (comprised within category B), F (agricultural, forestry and horticultural tractor), K (pedestrian controlled vehicle), L (electric vehicle), S (site-engineering vehicle or steam vehicle, up to 3,500 kg maximum authorised mass) W (works truck, up to 3,500 kg maximum authorised mass) are also granted with category B licences. Category P (moped) will be granted but limited to a tricycle only unless category A or A1 (motor bicycle) licence is held.
Note: Category A (motor bicycle licence), category A1 (light motor bicycle comprised within category A), and category P (moped- including bicycle moped) licence will each be granted in the Isle of Man if the corresponding respective entitlement for a motor bicycle is held on the Québec licence.
ARTICLE 2
RECOGNITION AND EXCHANGE OF LICENCES
2.1 The holder of a class 5 Québec driver’s licence or probationary licence may, within 12 months of taking up residence in the Isle of Man, exchange this licence for a category B licence, together with categories B1, F, K, L, S, and W without undergoing a proficiency test, a knowledge test or an eye test.
However, if an applicant wishes to be authorized to drive a vehicle with a manual (standard) transmission, he or she will have to take a driving road test for that purpose.
The applicant will be issued a DLO driver’s licence in exchange for his or her Québec licence upon presentation of the identification required by the Isle of Man authority and payment of the fees prescribed by regulations.
2.2 The holder of a valid DLO category B driver’s licence may, within 12 months after settling in Québec, exchange the licence for a class 5 licence, including class 6D and class 8 privileges, without undergoing a proficiency test, a knowledge test or an eye test.
The applicant may exchange his or her licence upon presentation of the identification required by the Québec authority and payment of the fees prescribed by regulations and the personal injury accident insurance premiums.
However, an applicant with less than 24 months of driving experience will be issued a class 5 probationary licence.
2.3 Any restrictions on the original driver’s licence are carried over to the licence issued in exchange, with equivalent codes.
2.4 Drivers’ licences with photo submitted for exchange will match the licence specimens provided, as per the terms of this agreement.
2.5 The authority making the exchange will verify the applicant’s identity and the validity of the original licence, if necessary by contacting the issuing authority.
2.6 The driving experience recorded on the applicant’s licence or in the applicant’s file by the issuing authority will be recognized by the other authority.
2.7 When an authority recovers an original driver’s licence as the result of an exchange, it shall return it to the issuing authority.
ARTICLE 3
FINAL PROVISIONS
3.1 Samples or copies of the various drivers’ licences currently admissible for exchange and certified to be true copies by each issuing authority are appended to this agreement.
Any change by one or the other of the authorities to the sample drivers’ licences in use at the time of the agreement will be communicated to the other authority.
3.2 This understanding does not invalidate the provisions of any law or regulation applicable in Québec or in the Isle of Man with respect to the right to use a foreign driver’s licence.
3.3 The authorities will notify each other at the earliest opportunity of the nature of legislative changes made in Québec and in the Isle of Man that may impact this agreement, and of the date of coming into force, and will change the agreement accordingly.
3.4 The designated authorities are responsible for enforcing this agreement. To this effect, they undertake to set up all necessary mechanisms, including those to exchange information and to formally validate the licences submitted to the other authority under this agreement.
3.5 The authorities will assist each other in applying this agreement and, when necessary, will share information on licences submitted for exchange. A contact point is established in order to directly validate submitted licences.
Both Québec and the Isle of Man will conform to any statutory provisions applicable to the access of records held by government institutions and to the protection of personal information. Personal information with respect to licence holders received by either licensing authority will be used only for purposes which are consistent with the uses for which it is held by the licensing authority.
The authority exchanging a licence may verify its validity with the issuing authority through the use of information technology, as per terms to be determined by said authorities.
Enquiries pursuant under this article should be sent to the following addresses:
For Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Service de la diffusion et de la liaison avec les corps policiers
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-3-44
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Fax: 418 644-7167
service.operations.diffusion@saaq.gouv.qc.ca
For The Isle of Man:
The Driver Licensing Office
Department of Infrastructure
Sea Terminal Buildings
Douglas
Isle of Man
IM1 2RF
Fax: +44 1624 686920
enquiries@highways.dot.gov.im
Either authority may change the address to which enquiries will be sent by informing the other authority in writing.
3.6 Any communication regarding this agreement must be in writing and will be deemed to have been duly provided or forwarded at the time it is handed in person, delivered by courier or postage-paid registered mail, or sent by fax or email to the following addresses:
For Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Vice-présidence à la sécurité routière
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-4-1
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Fax: 418 646-6811
sylvie.boulanger@saaq.gouv.qc.ca
For The Isle of Man:
The Director of Highways
Department of Infrastructure
Sea Terminal Buildings
Douglas
Isle of Man
IM1 2RF
Fax: +44 1624 686920
Richard.Pearson@gov.im
Either authority may change the address to which documents will be sent by informing the other authority in writing.
3.7 This agreement will come into operation after completion by both authorities of the internal formalities required. The date of coming into operation will be established in an exchange of letters.
3.8 This agreement expires on the 90th day following the date of a notice in writing to this effect in accordance with relevant legislation in effect in both jurisdictions.
Signed in duplicate, in English and French, both versions being equally valid.
In Québec, on 28 June 2011 In Isle of Man, on 9 August 2011
THE SOCIÉTÉ DE DRIVER AND VEHICLE
L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE LICENSING OFFICE
DU QUÉBEC
__________________________________ __________________________________
MS. NATHALIE TREMBLAY, MR. RICHARD D. PEARSON,
President and Director
Chief Executive Officer
O.C. 630-2012, Sch.
REFERENCES
O.C. 630-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 2073

C-24.2, r. 18.4 - Règlement donnant effet à l’Entente en matière d’échange de permis de conduire entre la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et The Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 18.4
Règlement donnant effet à l’Entente en matière d’échange de permis de conduire entre la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et The Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — ENTENTE — PERMIS DE CONDUIRE
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 631).
C-24.2
1er septembre 2012
1. Le Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) et les règlements pris en application de ce code s’appliquent au titulaire d’un permis de conduire délivré par the Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office.
D. 630-2012, a. 1.
2. Les dispositions de ce code et de ces règlements s’appliquent de la manière prévue à l’Entente en matière d’échange de permis de conduire entre la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et the Isle of Man, Department of Infrastructure, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Office apparaissant en annexe.
D. 630-2012, a. 2.
3. (Omis).
D. 630-2012, a. 3.
ANNEXE
(a. 2)
ENTENTE EN MATIÈRE D’ÉCHANGE DE PERMIS DE CONDUIRE
ENTRE
LA SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
ET
THE ISLE OF MAN, DEPARTMENT OF INFRASTRUCTURE, DRIVER AND VEHICLE LICENSING OFFICE
LA SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
représentée par sa présidente et chef de la direction, madame Nathalie Tremblay, dûment autorisée par la loi,
ci-après désignée par «Société»,
ET
THE ISLE OF MAN, DEPARTMENT OF INFRASTRUCTURE, DRIVER AND VEHICLE LICENSING OFFICE
représenté par son directeur, monsieur Richard D. Pearson, dûment autorisé,
ci-après désigné par «DLO»,
DÉSIREUX de faciliter l’échange de permis de conduire au titulaire d’un permis de conduire valide délivré par l’un et qui s’établit sur le territoire de l’autre,
S’ENTENDENT pour assurer la reconnaissance et faciliter l’échange des permis de conduire selon les dispositions suivantes:
ARTICLE 1
DÉFINITIONS
Dans le cadre de la présente entente:
1.1 «territoire» désigne le Québec ou l’Île de Man, et «territoires» désigne à la fois le Québec et l’Île de Man;
«autorité» est partie signataire de la présente entente, désigne l’entité administrative qui délivre les permis de conduire, soit pour le Québec, la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (Société), soit pour l’Île de Man, le Driver Licensing Office of the Department of Infrastructure (DLO) et «autorités» désigne à la fois la Société et le DLO;
«permis de conduire» désigne un permis délivré par l’une ou l’autre des autorités, autorisant son titulaire à conduire un véhicule automobile, sous réserve des modalités et conditions spécifiques à la classe ou à la catégorie de permis de conduire et de toute autre condition qui y est associée et sous réserve des lois et règlements y afférents en vigueur sur le territoire;
«valide» signifie qu’au moment de l’échange d’un permis de conduire par une autorité contre un permis de conduire délivré par l’autre autorité, le permis d’origine n’est pas expiré, révoqué, suspendu ni annulé et ne fait l’objet d’aucune restriction empêchant son titulaire de l’utiliser aux fins prévues.
1.2 Plus spécifiquement au Québec:
Le permis de conduire de classe 5 délivré par la Société autorise son titulaire à conduire un véhicule automobile doté de deux essieux et dont la masse nette est inférieure à 4 500 kg (automobile, fourgonnette ou camion léger), un véhicule automobile aménagé de façon permanente en logement (habitation motorisée), un véhicule-outil et un véhicule de service (camion-atelier ou dépanneuse) et comprend les classes 6D (cyclomoteur) et 8 (tracteur de ferme).
Le permis probatoire de classe 5 est délivré obligatoirement avant le permis de conduire lorsque le requérant a moins de 24 mois d’expérience de conduite.
1.3 Plus spécifiquement à l’Île de Man:
Le permis de conduire de catégorie B délivré par le DLO autorise son titulaire à conduire:
— un véhicule automobile dont la masse maximale autorisée n’excède pas 3 500 kg et dont le nombre de places assises, outre le siège du conducteur, n’excède pas huit, et auquel peut être attelée une remorque dont la masse maximale autorisée n’excède pas 750 kg;
— un ensemble de véhicules composé d’un véhicule tracteur de la catégorie B et d’une remorque dont la masse maximale autorisée de l’ensemble n’excède pas 3 500 kg et dont la masse maximale autorisée de la remorque n’excède pas la masse nette du véhicule tracteur.
De plus, les catégories B1 (comprise dans la catégorie B), F (tracteurs agricoles, forestiers et horticoles), K (véhicule conduit par un piéton), L (véhicule électrique), S (véhicule de chantier ou véhicule à vapeur d’une masse maximale autorisée ne dépassant pas 3 500 kg), W (camion de travaux publics d’une masse maximale autorisée ne dépassant pas 3 500 kg) sont aussi incluses au permis de catégorie B. La catégorie P (cyclomoteur) est incluse mais limitée à un tricycle à moins que le titulaire ne détienne un permis de catégorie A ou A1 (motocyclettes).
Note: Les catégories A (motocyclettes), A1 (motocyclettes légères, comprises dans la catégorie A) et P (cyclomoteurs) seront accordées dans l’Île de Man si la classe correspondante apparaît sur le permis du Québec.
ARTICLE 2
RECONNAISSANCE ET ÉCHANGE DES PERMIS
2.1 Le titulaire d’un permis de conduire ou d’un permis probatoire québécois de classe 5, peut, dans les 12 mois de son établissement sur le territoire de l’Île de Man, échanger ce permis pour un permis de catégorie B, incluant les privilèges des catégories B1, F, K, L, S et W, sans examens de compétence ni test visuel.
Toutefois, s’il désire être autorisé à conduire un véhicule muni d’une transmission manuelle, le requérant devra subir un examen pratique à cet effet.
Le requérant obtient un permis de conduire du DLO contre remise de son permis québécois et sur production des documents d’identification requis par l’autorité de l’Île de Man, après paiement des droits et des frais fixés par règlement.
2.2 Le titulaire d’un permis de conduire du DLO valide de la catégorie B peut, dans les 12 mois de son établissement sur le territoire du Québec, échanger ce permis pour un permis de classe 5, incluant les privilèges des classes 6D et 8, sans examens de compétence ni test visuel.
Le requérant peut échanger son permis de conduire sur production des documents d’identification requis par l’autorité québécoise, après paiement des droits et des frais fixés par règlement et de la contribution d’assurance contre les dommages corporels causés par un accident de la circulation.
Toutefois, un requérant ayant moins de 24 mois d’expérience de conduite se voit remettre un permis probatoire de classe 5.
2.3 Les conditions mentionnées sur le permis de conduire d’origine sont reportées sur le nouveau permis de conduire, sous forme de codes équivalents.
2.4 Sont échangés les permis de conduire avec photo dont un spécimen aura déjà été remis, conformément à la présente entente.
2.5 L’autorité qui procède à l’échange d’un permis vérifie l’identité du requérant et la validité du permis présenté. Elle peut à cet effet contacter l’autorité de délivrance.
2.6 L’expérience de conduite indiquée au permis d’origine ou au dossier du requérant par l’autorité de délivrance est reconnue par l’autre autorité.
2.7 L’autorité qui récupère le permis de conduire d’origine lors de l’échange doit le retourner à l’autorité de délivrance.
ARTICLE 3
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
3.1 Un spécimen ou une copie certifiée conforme par chaque autorité des différents modèles de permis de conduire actuellement admissibles à l’échange est joint à la présente entente.
Toute modification apportée par une autorité relativement aux modèles de permis de conduire, après la signature de la présente entente, est communiquée à l’autre autorité.
3.2 La présente entente n’a pas pour effet d’invalider les dispositions d’une loi ou d’un règlement applicable sur le territoire du Québec ou de l’Île de Man relativement au droit de faire usage d’un permis de conduire étranger.
3.3 Les autorités s’informent le plus rapidement possible de la nature de tout changement législatif survenu au Québec et à l’Île de Man qui pourrait modifier l’entente, et de la date de leur entrée en vigueur, et apportent toute modification ainsi devenue nécessaire à la présente entente.
3.4 Les autorités désignées sont responsables de l’application de la présente entente. À ce titre, elles mettent en oeuvre tous les mécanismes nécessaires, y compris ceux permettant d’échanger de l’information et de faire valider officiellement les permis présentés à l’autre autorité en vertu de cette entente.
3.5 Les autorités s’assistent mutuellement dans l’application de la présente entente et s’échangent, au besoin, de l’information sur les permis présentés en vue de l’échange. Un point de contact est établi afin que la validité d’un permis puisse être vérifiée directement.
Le Québec et l’Île de Man se conformeront tous deux à toutes dispositions législatives applicables à l’accès aux dossiers détenus par les institutions gouvernementales et à la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements personnels sur les titulaires de permis reçus par l’une ou l’autre des autorités de délivrance serviront uniquement à des fins conformes aux utilisations pour lesquelles les autorités les détiennent.
L’autorité qui échange un permis peut s’assurer de la validité de ce permis auprès de l’autorité de délivrance en se servant de technologies de l’information, selon des modalités à déterminer entre les deux autorités.
Les demandes d’information présentées en vertu du présent article sont transmises aux adresses suivantes:
Pour le Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Service de la diffusion et de la liaison avec les corps policiers
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-3-44
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Télécopieur: 418 644-7167
service.operations.diffusion@saaq.gouv.qc.ca
Pour l’Île de Man:
The Driver Licensing Office
Department of Infrastructure
Sea Terminal Buildings
Douglas
Isle of Man
IM1 2RF
Télécopieur: +44 1624 686920
enquiries@highways.dot.gov.im
Chacune des autorités peut, au moyen d’un avis écrit à l’autre autorité, modifier l’adresse à laquelle les demandes doivent être transmises.
3.6 Toute communication concernant la présente entente doit être sous forme écrite et est réputée avoir été dûment fournie ou transmise à l’autorité dès le moment où elle est remise en mains propres, livrée par messager, livrée par courrier recommandé (port payé), transmise par télécopieur ou par courrier électronique aux adresses suivantes:
Pour le Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Vice-présidence à la sécurité routière
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-4-1
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Télécopieur: 418 646-6811
sylvie.boulanger@saaq.gouv.qc.ca
Pour l’Île de Man:
The Director of Highways
Department of Infrastructure
Sea Terminal Buildings
Douglas
Isle of Man
IM1 2RF
Télécopieur: +44 1624 686920
Richard.Pearson@gov.im
Chacune des autorités peut, au moyen d’un avis écrit transmis à l’autre autorité, modifier l’adresse à laquelle les documents ou les communications doivent lui être transmis.
3.7 La présente entente entre en vigueur après l’accomplissement des formalités internes requises, de part et d’autre, à cet effet. La date d’entrée en vigueur est confirmée par échange de lettres.
3.8 La présente entente prend fin le quatre-vingt-dixième jour suivant la date d’envoi d’un avis écrit prévu à cet effet, le tout conformément à la législation en vigueur, de part et d’autre, en la matière.
Fait en double exemplaire, en langue française et en langue anglaise, les deux versions étant également valides.
À Québec, le 28 juin 2011 À l’Isle de Man, le 9 août 2011
LA SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE DRIVER AND VEHICLE
AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC LICENSING OFFICE
DU QUÉBEC
__________________________________ __________________________________
MADAME NATHALIE TREMBLAY, MONSIEUR RICHARD D. PEARSON,
Présidente et chef de direction Directeur
D. 630-2012, Ann.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 630-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 3269