C-24.2, r. 18.2 - Regulation giving effect to the Driver’s Licence Exchange Agreement between the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development of the Federal Republic of Germany

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 18.2
Regulation giving effect to the Driver’s Licence Exchange Agreement between the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development of the Federal Republic of Germany
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — AGREEMENT — DRIVER’S LICENCES
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 631).
C-24.2
September 1 2012
1. The Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) and the regulations made under the Code apply to the holder of a driver’s licence issued by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development of the Federal Republic of Germany.
O.C. 628-2012, s. 1.
2. The provisions of the Code and its regulations apply in the manner described in the Driver’s Licence Exchange Agreement between the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development of the Federal Republic of Germany, attached as a Schedule.
O.C. 628-2012, s. 2.
3. (Omitted).
O.C. 628-2012, s. 3.
DRIVER’S LICENCE EXCHANGE AGREEMENT
BETWEEN
THE SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
AND
THE FEDERAL MINISTRY OF TRANSPORT, BUILDING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY
THE SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
represented by its President and Chief Executive Officer, Mr. John Harbour,
hereinafter referred to as “SAAQ”
AND
THE FEDERAL MINISTRY OF TRANSPORT, BUILDING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY
represented by Mr. Rüdiger May, Division Head on behalf of the competent German authority for issuing driver’s licences,
hereinafter referred to as the “competent authority”
DESIRING to facilitate licence exchange for the holder of a valid driver’s licence they have issued and who is moving from one jurisdiction to the other, agree to guarantee the recognition and facilitate the exchange of drivers’ licences according to the following provisions:
(1) DEFINITIONS
Under this agreement:
1.1 “Jurisdiction” refers to Québec or Germany and “jurisdictions” refers to both Québec and Germany;
“Authority” refers to the administrative entity that issues drivers’ licences, i.e., in Québec, the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), and in Germany, the competent German authority to issue driver’s licences, and “authorities” refers simultaneously to both the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec and the competent German authority;
“Driver’s licence” or “driving licence” refers to a permit issued by either of the above authorities authorizing the holder to drive a motor vehicle, subject to the terms and conditions specific to the licence class or category and any other related conditions, and subject to the laws and regulations in effect in the jurisdiction in question;
“Valid” indicates that at the time the driver’s licence issued by one authority is submitted for exchange for a driver’s licence issued by the other authority, the original driver’s licence has not expired, been revoked, suspended or cancelled by the issuing authority and is not subject to any other restrictions that prevent the holder from using it for the intended purpose.
(2) DRIVER’S LICENCES COVERED
2.1 In Québec:
A Class 5 driver’s licence issued by the SAAQ authorizes the holder to drive a two-axle motor vehicle with a net weight of less than 4,500 kg (cars, minivans, and light trucks), a motor vehicle permanently converted into a dwelling (motor home), a tool vehicle or a service vehicle (service truck or tow truck).
In addition, Classes 6D (moped) and 8 (farm tractor) are included in the Class 5 licence.
When an applicant is under 25 years of age and has less than 24 months of driving experience, a Class 5 probationary licence is issued.
2.2 In Germany:
Category B driving licences issued by the competent German authority authorizes the holder to drive a motor vehicle - except a motorcycle - with a maximum authorized weight of 3,500 kg, with no more than eight passenger seats in addition to the driver’s seat, and to which a trailer of no more than 750 kg maximum authorized weight may be hitched or with a maximum authorized weight of no more than the tare weight of the towing vehicle, insofar as the combined maximum authorized weight is not more than 3,500 kg.
In addition, Categories M (two-wheeled mopeds and motor bicycles with a built-in maximum speed of no more than 45 km/h and equipped with an electric motor or internal combustion engine with a cylinder capacity of no more than 50 cm3), L (agricultural and forestry tractors with a maximum design speed of no more than 32 km/h) and S (light tricycles and quadricycles with a maximum design speed of no more than 45 km/h and a cylinder capacity of no more than 50 cm3) are included in Category B licences.
If the driving licence is obtained for the first time, it is issued on a probationary basis only; the probationary time period is set at two years as of the date of the licence is obtained. Where a driver’s licence is issued to the holder of a licence issued abroad, the probationary time period shall be reduced based on the time elapsed since the latter was obtained.
(3) RECOGNITION AND EXCHANGE OF LICENCES
3.1 In Québec:
The holder of a valid Category B German driving licence may, within 12 months after settling in Québec, exchange this licence for a Class 5 licence, including Class 6D and Class 8 privileges, without undergoing a proficiency test or an eye test.
The applicant will be issued a Québec driver’s licence in exchange for his or her German licence upon presentation of the identification required by the SAAQ and payment of the fees prescribed by regulations and the personal injury accident insurance premiums.
An applicant under 25 years of age will be issued a probationary licence of the same class unless he or she has 24 months or more of driving experience.
3.2 In Germany:
The holder of a valid Class 5 Québec driver’s licence or probationary licence may, within 12 months after settling in Germany, exchange this licence for a Category B licence, together with Categories M, L and S, without undergoing a proficiency test.
The applicant will be issued a German driving licence in exchange for his or her Québec licence upon presentation of the identification required by the German authority and payment of the fees prescribed by regulations.
An applicant who has not held a driver’s licence for over two years will be issued a probationary licence of the same class.
3.3 Any time limits or restrictions on the original driver’s licence are carried over to the licence issued in exchange, with equivalent codes.
3.4 Drivers’ licences with or without photo submitted for exchange will match the licence specimens provided, as per the terms of this agreement.
3.5 The authority making the exchange will verify the applicant’s identity and the validity of the original licence, if necessary by contacting the issuing authority.
3.6 The driving experience recorded on the applicant’s licence or in the applicant’s file by the issuing authority will be recognized by the other authority.
3.7 When an authority recovers an original driver’s licence as the result of an exchange, it shall return it to the issuing authority.
(4) FINAL PROVISIONS
4.1 Samples or copies of the various drivers’ licences currently admissible for exchange and certified to be true copies by each issuing authority are appended to this agreement.
Any change by one or the other of the authorities to the sample drivers’ licences in use at the time of the agreement will be communicated to the other authority without delay.
4.2 These provisions do not invalidate the provisions of any law or regulation applicable in Québec or in Germany with respect to the right to use a foreign driver’s licence.
4.3 This agreement may be amended at any time to take into account in particular any legal changes that come into effect within the jurisdiction of either Québec or Germany.
The authorities will notify each other at the earliest opportunity of the nature of changes made and the date of their coming into effect. They agree to change the agreement accordingly and endorse it in writing.
4.4 The designated authorities responsible for enforcing this agreement undertake to set up all the necessary mechanisms, including those to exchange information and validate licences submitted to the other authority under this agreement
4.5 The authorities will assist each other in applying this agreement and, when necessary, will share information on licences submitted for exchange. A contact point is established in order to directly validate submitted licences.
The authority exchanging a licence may verify its validity with the issuing authority through the use of information technology, as per terms to be determined by said authorities.
Enquiries from either authority should be sent to the following addresses:
For Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Service des opérations et de la diffusion
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-3-14
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Fax: 418 644-7167
For Germany:
Kraftfahrt-Bundesamt
(Federal Motor Transport Authority)
24932 Flensburg
Germany
Fax: + 49 (0) 461/316-2942
Either authority may change the address to which enquiries will be sent by informing the other authority in writing.
4.6 Any communication regarding this agreement must be in writing and will be deemed to have been duly provided or forwarded to the authority at the time it is handed in person, delivered by courier or postage-paid registered mail, or sent by fax to the following addresses:
For Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Vice-présidence aux services à la clientèle
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-1-31
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Fax: (418) 528-1221
For Germany:
Kraftfahrt-Bundesamt
(Federal Motor Transport Authority)
24932 Flensburg
Germany
Fax: + 49 (0) 461/316-2942
Either authority may change the address to which enquiries will be sent by informing the other authority in writing.
4.7 This agreement shall come into force on the agreed-upon date, after completion by both authorities of the internal formalities required. The date of coming into operation will be established in an exchange of letters.
4.8 Either authority may terminate this agreement by informing the other authority in writing at least three months before.
4.9 If during the cooperation under this Agreement any disputes occur with respect to the form and conditions of cooperation under this Agreement, the disputes will be dealt with by mutual consent.
Signed in duplicate, in French and German, both versions being equally valid.
Signed in Québec, Signed in Bonn,
on 5 September 2007 on 2 July 2007
FOR THE SOCIÉTÉ DE FOR THE FEDERAL MINISTRY
L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE OF TRANSPORT, BUILDING
DU QUÉBEC AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT
OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC
OF GERMANY
________________________________________ ________________________________________
JOHN HARBOUR, MR. RÜDIGER MAY,
President and Chief Division Head
Executive Officer
O.C. 628-2012, Sch.
REFERENCES
O.C. 628-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 2066

C-24.2, r. 18.2 - Règlement donnant effet à l’Entente en matière d’échange de permis de conduire entre la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et le ministère fédéral des Transports, de la Construction et des Affaires urbaines de la République fédérale d’Allemagne

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 18.2
Règlement donnant effet à l’Entente en matière d’échange de permis de conduire entre la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et le ministère fédéral des Transports, de la Construction et des Affaires urbaines de la République fédérale d’Allemagne
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — ENTENTE — PERMIS DE CONDUIRE
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 631).
C-24.2
1er septembre 2012
1. Le Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2) et les règlements pris en application de ce code s’appliquent au titulaire d’un permis de conduire délivré par le ministère fédéral des Transports, de la Construction et des Affaires urbaines de la République fédérale d’Allemagne.
D. 628-2012, a. 1.
2. Les dispositions de ce code et de ces règlements s’appliquent de la manière prévue à l’Entente en matière d’échange de permis de conduire entre la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et le ministère fédéral des Transports, de la Construction et des Affaires urbaines de la République fédérale d’Allemagne apparaissant en annexe.
D. 628-2012, a. 2.
3. (Omis).
D. 628-2012, a. 3.
ENTENTE EN MATIÈRE D’ÉCHANGE DE PERMIS DE CONDUIRE
ENTRE
LA SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
ET
LE MINISTÈRE FÉDÉRAL DES TRANSPORTS, DE LA CONSTRUCTION ET DES AFFAIRES URBAINES DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE FÉDÉRALE D’ALLEMAGNE
LA SOCIÉTÉ DE L’ASSURANCE AUTOMOBILE DU QUÉBEC
représentée par son président-directeur général, monsieur John Harbour,
ci-après désignée «la Société»
ET
LE MINISTÈRE FÉDÉRAL DES TRANSPORTS, DE LA CONSTRUCTION ET DES AFFAIRES URBAINES DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE FÉDÉRALE D’ALLEMAGNE
représenté par le chef de division, monsieur Rüdiger May, agissant au nom de l’autorité allemande compétente pour l’émission et la délivrance du permis de conduire,
ci-après désigné «l’autorité compétente»
DÉSIREUX de faciliter l’échange de permis de conduire au titulaire d’un permis de conduire valide délivré par l’un, qui s’établit sur le territoire de l’autre, sont convenus d’assurer la reconnaissance des permis de conduire et d’en faciliter l’échange, selon les dispositions suivantes:
1. DÉFINITIONS
Dans le cadre de la présente entente,
1.1 «territoire» désigne le Québec ou l’Allemagne et «territoires» désigne à la fois le Québec et l’Allemagne;
«autorité» désigne l’entité administrative qui émet les permis de conduire, soit pour le Québec, la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec (la Société), et pour l’Allemagne, l’autorité allemande compétente pour l’émission et la délivrance du permis de conduire, et «autorités» désigne à la fois la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec et l’autorité allemande compétente;
«permis de conduire» désigne un permis émis par l’une ou l’autre des autorités, autorisant son titulaire à conduire un véhicule automobile, sous réserve des modalités et conditions spécifiques à la classe ou catégorie du permis de conduire et de toute autre condition qui y est associée et sous réserve des lois et règlements y afférents en vigueur sur le territoire;
«valide» signifie qu’au moment de l’échange d’un permis de conduire par une autorité contre un permis de conduire émis par l’autre autorité, le permis d’origine n’est pas expiré, révoqué, suspendu ni annulé par l’autorité émettrice, et ne fait l’objet d’aucune restriction empêchant son titulaire de l’utiliser aux fins prévues.
2. PERMIS DE CONDUIRE VISÉS
2.1 Plus spécifiquement pour le Québec:
Le permis de conduire de classe 5 émis par la Société autorise son titulaire à conduire un véhicule automobile doté de deux essieux et dont la masse nette est de moins de 4 500 kg (automobile ou fourgonnette ou camion léger), un véhicule automobile aménagé de façon permanente en logement (habitation motorisée), un véhicule outil et un véhicule de service (camion atelier ou dépanneuse).
De plus, les classes 6D (cyclomoteur) et 8 (tracteur de ferme) sont incluses au permis de classe 5.
Lorsque le requérant est âgé de moins de 25 ans et que son expérience de conduite est inférieure à 24 mois, un permis probatoire de classe 5 lui est délivré.
2.2 Plus spécifiquement pour l’Allemagne:
Le permis de conduire de la catégorie B émis par l’autorité allemande compétente autorise son titulaire à conduire un véhicule automobile - à l’exception des motocycles - dont la masse maximale n’excède pas 3 500 kg et dont le nombre de places assises, outre le siège du conducteur, n’excède pas huit, et auquel peut être attelée une remorque dont la masse maximale autorisée n’excède pas 750 kg ou dont la masse maximale autorisée n’excède pas la masse à vide du véhicule tracteur, sous réserve que la masse maximale autorisée de l’ensemble ne dépasse pas 3 500 kg.
De plus, les catégories M (cyclomoteurs à deux roues et vélomoteurs ayant une vitesse maximale par construction ne dépassant pas 45 km/h et équipés d’un moteur électrique ou d’un moteur à combustion interne d’une cylindrée inférieure ou égale à 50 cm3), L (tracteurs agricoles et forestiers dont la vitesse maximale par construction n’excède pas 32 km/h) et S (tricycles et quadricycles légers à moteur ayant une vitesse maximale par construction ne dépassant pas 45 km/h et une cylindrée inférieure ou égale à 50 cm3) sont incluses au permis de catégorie B.
Si le permis de conduire est obtenu pour la première fois, il n’est délivré qu’à titre probatoire; le délai probatoire est fixé à deux ans à compter de la date d’obtention du permis. En cas de délivrance d’un permis de conduire à un titulaire d’un permis émis à l’étranger, le délai probatoire doit être réduit du temps écoulé depuis l’obtention de ce dernier.
3. RECONNAISSANCE ET ÉCHANGE DES PERMIS
3.1 Au Québec:
Le titulaire d’un permis de conduire allemand valide de la catégorie B peut, dans les douze mois de son établissement sur le territoire du Québec, échanger ce permis pour un permis de classe 5, incluant les privilèges des classes 6D et 8, sans examen de compétence ni test visuel.
Il obtient un permis de conduire québécois contre remise de son permis allemand et sur production des documents d’identification requis par la Société, après paiement des droits et des frais fixés par règlement et de la contribution d’assurance contre les dommages corporels résultant d’un accident d’automobile.
Toutefois, un requérant âgé de moins de 25 ans se voit remettre un permis probatoire de la même classe à moins que son expérience de conduite soit de 24 mois et plus.
3.2 En Allemagne:
Le titulaire d’un permis de conduire québécois valide de classe 5 ou d’un permis probatoire québécois valide peut, dans les 12 mois de son établissement sur le territoire allemand, échanger ce permis pour un permis de catégorie B, incluant les privilèges des catégories M, L et S, sans examen de compétence ni test visuel.
Il obtient un permis de conduire allemand contre remise de son permis québécois et sur production des documents d’identification requis par l’autorité allemande, après paiement des droits et des frais fixés par règlement.
Le titulaire d’un permis de conduire depuis moins de deux ans se voit remettre un permis probatoire de la même classe.
3.3 Les délais et les conditions mentionnés sur le permis de conduire d’origine sont reportés sur le nouveau permis de conduire, sous forme de codes équivalents.
3.4 Sont échangés les permis de conduire avec ou sans photo dont un spécimen aura déjà été remis conformément à la présente entente.
3.5 L’autorité qui procède à l’échange d’un permis vérifie l’identité du requérant et la validité du permis présenté. Elle peut, à cet effet, contacter l’autorité émettrice.
3.6 L’expérience de conduite indiquée au permis d’origine ou au dossier du requérant par l’autorité émettrice est reconnue par l’autre autorité.
3.7 L’autorité qui récupère le permis de conduire d’origine lors de l’échange retourne ce permis à l’autorité émettrice.
4. DISPOSITIONS FINALES
4.1 Un spécimen, ou une copie certifiée conforme par chaque autorité des différents modèles de permis de conduire actuellement admissibles à l’échange est joint à la présente entente.
Toute modification apportée par une autorité relativement aux modèles de permis de conduire en vigueur lors de la signature de la présente entente est communiquée sans retard à l’autre autorité.
4.2 Les présentes dispositions n’ont pas pour effet d’invalider les dispositions d’une loi ou d’un règlement applicable sur le territoire du Québec ou de l’Allemagne relativement au droit de faire usage d’un permis de conduire étranger.
4.3 La présente entente peut être modifiée de façon à tenir compte des modifications qui seront apportées au droit interne applicable au Québec ou en Allemagne.
Les autorités s’informent le plus rapidement possible de la nature de ces modifications et de la date de leur entrée en vigueur. Elles conviennent de toute modification ainsi devenue nécessaire à la présente entente et les consignent par écrit.
4.4 Les autorités désignées responsables de l’application de la présente entente s’engagent à mettre en oeuvre tous les mécanismes nécessaires, y compris ceux permettant d’échanger de l’information et de valider les permis présentés à l’autre autorité en vertu de cette entente.
4.5 Les autorités s’assistent mutuellement dans l’application de la présente entente et s’échangent, au besoin, de l’information sur les permis présentés en vue de l’échange. Un point de contact est établi afin que la validité d’un permis puisse être vérifiée directement.
L’autorité qui échange un permis peut s’assurer de la validité de ce permis auprès de l’autorité émettrice en se servant de technologies de l’information, selon des modalités à déterminer entre les deux autorités.
Les demandes d’information présentées par les autorités sont transmises aux adresses suivantes:
Pour le Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Service de la diffusion et de la diffusion
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-3-14
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Télécopieur: (418) 644-7167
Pour l’Allemagne:
Kraftfahrt-Bundesamt
(Office fédéral pour la circulation des véhicules à moteur)
24932 Flensburg
Allemagne
Télécopieur: + 49 (0) 461/316-2942
Chacune des autorités peut, au moyen d’un avis écrit transmis à l’autre autorité, modifier l’adresse à laquelle les demandes doivent être transmises.
4.6 Toute communication concernant la présente entente doit être sous forme écrite et est réputée avoir été dûment fournie ou transmise à l’autorité dès le moment où elle est remise en mains propres, livrée par messager, livrée par courrier recommandé (port payé), ou transmise par télécopieur, aux adresses suivantes:
Pour le Québec:
Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec
Vice-présidence aux services à la clientèle
333, boulevard Jean-Lesage, C-1-31
Québec (Québec) G1K 8J6
Canada
Télécopieur: (418) 528-1221
Pour l’Allemagne:
Kraftfahrt-Bundesamt
(Office fédéral pour la circulation des véhicules à moteur)
24932 Flensburg
Allemagne
Télécopieur: + 49 (0) 461/316-2942
Chacune des autorités peut, au moyen d’un avis écrit transmis à l’autre autorité, modifier l’adresse à laquelle les documents ou les communications doivent être transmis.
4.7 La présente entente entre en vigueur à la date convenue, après l’accomplissement des formalités internes requises, de part et d’autre, à cet effet. La date d’entrée en vigueur est fixée par échange de lettres.
4.8 Une autorité peut mettre fin à la présente entente au moyen d’un avis écrit d’au moins trois mois transmis à l’autre autorité.
4.9 Tout différend qui pourrait surgir quant à l’application et à l’interprétation de la présente entente est réglé, d’un commun accord, par voie de consultation.
Fait en double exemplaire, en langue française et en langue allemande, les deux textes faisant également foi.
Fait à Québec, Fait à Bonn, le 2 juillet 2007
le 5 septembre 2007
POUR LA SOCIÉTÉ DE POUR LE MINISTÈRE FÉRÉDAL DES
L’ASSURANCE TRANSPORTS, DE LA CONSTRUCTION
AUTOMOBILE DU CONSTRUCTION ET DES AFFAIRES
QUÉBEC URBAINES DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE
FÉRÉDALE D’ALLEMAGNE
________________________________________ ________________________________________
JOHN HARBOUR, RÜDIGER MAY,
Présidente-directeur général Chef de division
D. 628-2012, Ann.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 628-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 3262