C-23.1, r. 2 - Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of ministers

Full text
chapter C-23.1, r. 2
Regulation respecting the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of ministers
ETHICS AND CONDUCT — OFFICE STAFF OF MINISTERS
Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly
(chapter C-23.1, s. 123).
C-23.1
Executive Powers Act
(chapter E-18, s. 11.7).
E-18
April 30 2013
CHAPTER I
APPLICATION
1. The purpose of this regulation is to set out rules of conduct for the office staff of ministers.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 1.
2. The regulation applies to the executive secretary and other office staff, including electoral division staff and regional staff, if applicable, appointed by a minister in accordance with section 11.5 of the Executive Powers Act (chapter E-18).
The rules of conduct for the office staff of the House officers of the National Assembly and the staff of the Members are adopted by the Office of the National Assembly, in accordance with section 124.3 of the Act respecting the National Assembly (chapter A-23.1).
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 2.
3. For the purposes of this regulation, “public body” and “family member” have the meanings given in section 5 of the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (chapter C-23.1).
The “Ethics Commissioner” is the Ethics Commissioner appointed under section 62 of the Code.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 3.
CHAPTER II
VALUES AND ETHICAL PRINCIPLES
4. Office staff adhere to the values of the National Assembly stated in section 6 of the Code.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 4.
5. Office staff recognize that these values must guide them in carrying out the duties of their position and in determining the rules of conduct applicable to them, and be taken into account in interpreting this regulation. They strive for consistency between their actions and the values of the National Assembly, even when their actions do not in themselves contravene the applicable rules of conduct.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 5.
CHAPTER III
RULES OF CONDUCT
DIVISION I
CONFLICT OF INTEREST
6. In the exercise of their functions, office staff may not
(1)  place themselves in a situation where there is a conflict between their private interests and the duties of their position;
(2)  act, attempt to act, or refrain from acting, so as to further their private interests or those of a family member, or to improperly further another person’s private interests; or
(3)  use their position to influence or attempt to influence another person’s decision so as to further their private interests or those of a family member, or to improperly further another person’s private interests.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 6.
7. Office staff may not use, communicate or attempt to use or communicate information obtained in or in connection with the carrying out of the duties of their position that is not generally available to the public so as to further their or another person’s private interests.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 7.
8. Office staff may not, directly or indirectly, be party to a contract with the Government or a department or public body.
However, they may
(1)  have interests in an enterprise that is party to such a contract, provided that the extent of the interests and the circumstances in which the contract is entered into make collusion or undue influence unlikely;
(2)  receive a loan, a reimbursement, a grant, an indemnity or any other benefit from the Government or a department or public body under any Act, regulation or program; and
(3)  hold securities issued by the Government or a public body on the same terms as are applicable to all.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 8.
9. Office staff who find themselves in a conflict of interest must put an end to the situation immediately.
As long as the situation remains unresolved, the staff member concerned may not discuss, even privately, any file that may be seen, however remotely, as being related to the interest in question, and must not exert or attempt to exert, directly or indirectly, any influence with regard to such a file.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 9.
10. An office staff member who simultaneously holds another position must avoid any conflict between the duties of the two positions.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 10.
DIVISION II
GIFTS AND BENEFITS
11. Office staff must not solicit, elicit, accept or receive any benefit, whether for themselves or for another person, in exchange for intervening or taking a certain position on any issue they may be called upon to intervene or take a position on as part of their duties.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 11.
12. Office staff must refuse or, at the first opportunity, return to the donor or deliver to the Ethics Commissioner any gift, hospitality or other benefit, whatever its value, that may impair their independence of judgment in carrying out the duties of their position, or that may compromise their integrity or that of the office for which they work.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 12.
13. Office staff who have received, directly or indirectly, a gift, hospitality or other benefit that has a value of more than $200 and choose not to return it to the donor or deliver it to the Ethics Commissioner must, within 30 days, file with the Ethics Commissioner a disclosure statement containing an accurate description of the gift, hospitality or other benefit received and specifying the name of the donor and the date on which and circumstances under which it was received.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 13.
14. For the purposes of section 13, the repeated receipt of gifts, hospitality and other benefits from the same source must be taken into account.
For the purposes of section 13, the $200 is computed over a 12-month period.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 14.
15. Section 13 does not apply to gifts, hospitality or other benefits received by an office staff member in the context of a purely personal relationship.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 15.
16. Things received by the Ethics Commissioner under this Division are disposed of in accordance with section 34 of the Code.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 16.
DIVISION III
USE OF STATE PROPERTY AND SERVICES
17. Office staff use State property, including property leased by the State and services made available to them by the State, for activities related to the carrying out of the duties of their position.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 17.
DIVISION IV
DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
18. This division applies to executive secretaries.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 18.
19. Within 60 days after the notice of their appointment, and annually on or before the date set by the Ethics Commissioner, executive secretaries must file with the Ethics Commissioner a disclosure statement that
(1)  gives the name of any enterprise, association or body, whether non-profit or for-profit, in which they or a family member have an interest, including shares, stocks, pecuniary benefits, claims, priorities or hypothecs;
(2)  states the nature of any professional, commercial or industrial position, office or activity engaged in by them or a family member since the previous disclosure statement was made or since their appointment as executive secretary, and states the name of the enterprise, association or body, whether non-profit or for-profit, on whose behalf the position, office or activity was engaged in, or the fact that it was engaged in on their or the family member’s own account;
(3)  describes any other fact, situation or event of a personal, professional or philanthropic nature that could place them in a conflict of interest situation or be reasonably perceived as doing so;
(4)  gives any other information requested by the Ethics Commissioner.
An executive secretary who has no information to provide under subparagraphs 1 to 3 must fill out a statement to that effect and file it with the Ethics Commissioner.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 19.
20. Executive secretaries must inform the Ethics Commissioner in writing of any material change in the information required in their disclosure statement within 60 days after the change occurs.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 20.
21. After reviewing a disclosure statement filed under section 19, the Ethics Commissioner may request a meeting with the executive secretary concerned to ensure that adequate disclosure has been made and to discuss the executive secretary’s obligations under this regulation.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 21.
DIVISION V
POST-TERM RULES
22. This division does not apply to support staff.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 22.
23. Former office staff must conduct themselves so as not to obtain undue benefit from their prior position.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 23.
24. Former office staff must not disclose confidential information obtained in or in connection with the carrying out of the duties of their former position, and must not give advice to any person based on information not available to the public, obtained in or in connection with the carrying out of those duties.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 24.
25. Office staff who acted in connection with a proceeding, negotiation or other transaction may not act for or on behalf of anyone else in the same proceeding, negotiation or other transaction after leaving their position.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 25.
26. Office staff may not, in the year after they leave their position,
(1)  accept any appointment to a board of directors or as a member of any body, agency, enterprise or other entity that is not a State entity within the meaning of section 56 of the Code and with which they had official, direct and significant dealings in the year preceding their leaving the position, or accept employment, a position or any other post within such a body, agency, enterprise or entity; or
(2)  intervene on behalf of anyone else with any department or other State entity within the meaning of section 56 of the Code and with which they had official, direct and significant dealings in the year prior to their leaving the position.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 26.
CHAPTER IV
ADMINISTRATION AND ENFORCEMENT
DIVISION I
ETHICS COMMISSIONER
27. The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for the administration of this regulation.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 27.
28. In exercising the duties of office, the Ethics Commissioner focuses on information and prevention and maintains high standards of confidentiality, objectivity and impartiality.
In all interventions and more particularly in determining the rules of conduct applicable to the office staff of ministers, the Ethics Commissioner takes into account their adherence to the values of the National Assembly.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 28.
29. The Ethics Commissioner retains authority in respect of former office staff for a period of one year after they have left their position. Even after the expiry of that period, the Ethics Commissioner may continue an inquiry that had already begun.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 29.
30. The Ethics Commissioner must retain all documents relating to an office staff member for a period of 12 months after he or she has left the position of office staff member. The documents are then to be destroyed unless an inquiry under this regulation is in progress or has been suspended or a charge has been laid against the office staff member, and the documents may be relevant.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 30.
DIVISION II
ADVISORY OPINIONS OF THE ETHICS COMMISSIONER
31. In response to a request in writing from an office staff member on any matter respecting his or her obligations under this regulation, the Ethics Commissioner provides him or her with a written advisory opinion containing reasons and any recommendations the Ethics Commissioner considers appropriate.
The advisory opinion is confidential and may only be made public by the person who requested it or with that person’s written consent, subject to the Ethics Commissioner’s power to conduct an inquiry and report on the facts alleged in or discovered in connection with the person’s request.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 31.
32. An act or omission by an office staff member is deemed not to be a breach of this regulation if he or she had previously requested an advisory opinion from the Ethics Commissioner and the advisory opinion concluded that the act or omission did not contravene this regulation, so long as the facts relevant to the request were fully and accurately presented to the Ethics Commissioner.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 32.
33. The Ethics Commissioner may publish guidelines for office staff regarding the application of this regulation, provided that no personal information is included.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 33.
DIVISION III
INQUIRY AND REPORT
34. In response to a written request from the Premier or the Minister concerned, or on the Ethics Commissioner’s own initiative, and after giving the office staff member concerned reasonable written notice, the Ethics Commissioner may conduct an inquiry to determine whether the office staff member has violated the rules of conduct set out in this regulation.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 34.
35. After receiving a request for an inquiry to determine whether there has been a violation of the rules of conduct set out in this regulation, the Ethics Commissioner informs the office staff member concerned.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 35.
36. If the Ethics Commissioner considers it necessary, the Ethics Commissioner may specially authorize a person to conduct an inquiry.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 36.
37. The Ethics Commissioner and any person specially authorized by the Ethics Commissioner have, for the purposes of an inquiry and in accordance with section 93 of the Code, the powers and immunity conferred on commissioners appointed under the Act respecting public inquiry commissions (chapter C-37), except the power to order imprisonment.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 37.
38. The Ethics Commissioner may make agreements with other persons such as the Auditor General and the Lobbyists Commissioner for the conduct of joint inquiries, each under the legislative provisions that person administers.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 38.
39. If, after a verification, the Ethics Commissioner is of the opinion that there are no grounds for a request for an inquiry, the Ethics Commissioner terminates the inquiry process and records that fact in the report on the matter.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 39.
40. The Ethics Commissioner must conduct inquiries in private and with due dispatch. The Ethics Commissioner must allow the office staff member concerned to present a full and complete defence, including an opportunity to submit observations and, if the office staff member so requests, to be heard, including on the question of whether he or she has violated the rules of conduct set out in this regulation.
The Ethics Commissioner must not comment publicly on a verification or inquiry but may confirm that a request for a verification or an inquiry has been received or that a verification or inquiry is under way or has been completed. The Ethics Commissioner may also state why, after a verification, the Ethics Commissioner decided not to conduct an inquiry.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 40.
41. The Ethics Commissioner’s inquiry report is sent to the office staff member concerned, the Minister concerned and the Premier. If applicable, the Ethics Commissioner informs the person who submitted the inquiry request of the Ethics Commissioner’s findings.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 41.
42. The Ethics Commissioner may include in the report any guidelines for the general interpretation of the rules of conduct set out in this regulation.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 42.
CHAPTER V
COMING INTO FORCE
43. Executive secretaries who are employed as such on 30 April 2013 must, within the following 60 days, file with the Ethics Commissioner the disclosure statement described in section 19.
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 43.
44. (Omitted).
Decision 2013-03-15, s. 44.
REFERENCES
Decision 2013-03-15, 2013 G.O. 2, 776

C-23.1, r. 2 - Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel

Texte complet
chapitre C-23.1, r. 2
Règlement concernant les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel d’un cabinet ministériel
ÉTHIQUE ET DÉONTOLOGIE — PERSONNEL D’UN CABINET MINISTÉRIEL
Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale
(chapitre C-23.1, a. 123).
C-23.1
Loi sur l’exécutif
(chapitre E-18, a. 11.7).
E-18
30 avril 2013
CHAPITRE I
APPLICATION
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet d’édicter les règles déontologiques que les membres du personnel d’un cabinet doivent respecter.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 1.
2. Le présent règlement s’applique au directeur et aux autres membres du personnel d’un cabinet incluant le personnel de circonscription et le personnel régional, le cas échéant, nommés par le ministre dont ils relèvent, conformément à l’article 11.5 de la Loi sur l’exécutif (chapitre E-18).
Les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des cabinets de l’Assemblée nationale et aux membres du personnel de députés sont adoptées par le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale, en application de l’article 124.3 de la Loi sur l’Assemblée nationale (chapitre A-23.1).
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 2.
3. Aux fins du présent règlement, on entend par «organisme public» et «membre de la famille immédiate» un organisme public ou un membre de la famille immédiate au sens de l’article 5 du Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale (chapitre C-23.1).
De même, on entend par «commissaire», le commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie nommé en vertu de l’article 62 de ce Code.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 3.
CHAPITRE II
VALEURS ET PRINCIPES ÉTHIQUES
4. Les membres du personnel d’un cabinet adhèrent aux valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale ainsi qu’elles sont énoncées à l’article 6 du Code.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 4.
5. Les membres du personnel d’un cabinet reconnaissent que ces valeurs doivent les guider dans l’exercice de leur fonction et dans l’appréciation des règles déontologiques qui leur sont applicables et qu’il doit être tenu compte de ces valeurs dans l’interprétation du présent règlement. Ils recherchent la cohérence entre leurs actions et les valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale, même si, en soi, leurs actions ne contreviennent pas aux règles déontologiques qui leur sont applicables.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 5.
CHAPITRE III
RÈGLES DÉONTOLOGIQUES
SECTION I
CONFLITS D’INTÉRÊTS
6. Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, le membre du personnel d’un cabinet ne peut:
1°  se placer dans une situation de conflit entre son intérêt personnel et les devoirs de sa fonction;
2°  agir, tenter d’agir ou omettre d’agir de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels, ceux d’un membre de sa famille immédiate ou, d’une manière abusive, ceux de toute autre personne;
3°  se prévaloir de sa fonction pour influencer ou tenter d’influencer la décision d’une autre personne de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels, ceux d’un membre de sa famille immédiate ou, d’une manière abusive, ceux de toute autre personne.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 6.
7. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet ne peut utiliser, communiquer ou tenter d’utiliser ou de communiquer des renseignements qu’il obtient dans l’exercice de ses fonctions ou à l’occasion de l’exercice de ses fonctions et qui ne sont généralement pas à la disposition du public pour favoriser ses intérêts personnels ou ceux de toute autre personne.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 7.
8. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet ne peut, directement ou indirectement, participer à un marché avec le gouvernement, un ministère ou un organisme public.
Toutefois, un membre du personnel d’un cabinet peut:
1°  avoir un intérêt dans une entreprise qui participe à un tel marché, sous réserve que l’importance de l’intérêt ou les circonstances entourant la conclusion du marché ne permettent vraisemblablement pas la collusion ou l’influence indue;
2°  recevoir un prêt, un remboursement, une subvention, une indemnité ou un autre avantage du gouvernement, d’un ministère ou d’un organisme public, conformément à une loi, à un règlement ou à un programme;
3°  détenir des titres émis par le gouvernement ou un organisme public à des conditions identiques pour tous.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 8.
9. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui est placé dans une situation de conflit d’intérêts doit sans délai mettre fin à cette situation.
Tant que la situation n’est pas régularisée, il ne doit pas discuter, même en privé, des dossiers qui peuvent être liés de près ou de loin avec l’intérêt en cause et ne pas exercer ou tenter d’exercer directement ou indirectement quelque influence à l’égard de ces dossiers.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 9.
10. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui, parallèlement à l’exercice de sa fonction, exerce une autre fonction, doit éviter tout conflit dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 10.
SECTION II
DONS ET AVANTAGES
11. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet ne peut solliciter, susciter, accepter ou recevoir, pour lui-même ou pour une autre personne, quelque avantage que ce soit en échange d’une intervention ou d’une prise de position sur toute question sur laquelle il peut être appelé à intervenir ou prendre position dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 11.
12. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet doit refuser ou, sans délai, retourner au donateur ou remettre au commissaire tout don, toute marque d’hospitalité ou tout autre avantage, quelle que soit sa valeur, qui peut influencer son indépendance de jugement dans l’exercice de ses fonctions ou qui risque de compromettre son intégrité ou celle du cabinet.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 12.
13. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui reçoit directement ou indirectement un don, un avantage ou une marque d’hospitalité d’une valeur de plus de 200 $ et qui choisit de ne pas le retourner au donateur ou de ne pas le remettre au commissaire doit, dans les 30 jours, faire une déclaration au commissaire à ce sujet, laquelle doit contenir une description adéquate du don, de la marque d’hospitalité ou de l’avantage reçu et préciser le nom du donateur ainsi que la date et les circonstances de sa réception.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 13.
14. Pour l’application de l’article 13, il doit être tenu compte, le cas échéant, de la répétition de dons, de marques d’hospitalité et d’autres avantages reçus d’une même source.
Aux fins de l’article 13, le calcul de 200 $ se fait sur une période de 12 mois.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 14.
15. L’article 13 ne s’applique pas aux dons, marques d’hospitalité ou autres avantages reçus par un membre du personnel d’un cabinet dans le contexte d’une relation purement privée.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 15.
16. Il est disposé des biens qui sont reçus par le commissaire en application de la présente section conformément à l’article 34 du Code.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 16.
SECTION III
UTILISATION DE BIENS ET DE SERVICES DE L’ÉTAT
17. Le membre du personnel d’un cabinet utilise les biens de l’État, y compris les biens loués par l’État ainsi que les services mis à sa disposition par l’État et en permet l’usage pour des activités liées à l’exercice de ses fonctions.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 17.
SECTION IV
DÉCLARATION D’INTÉRÊTS
18. La présente section s’applique au directeur de cabinet.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 18.
19. Le directeur de cabinet doit, dans les 60 jours de sa nomination et, par la suite, tous les ans et au plus tard à la date fixée par le commissaire, déposer auprès de celui-ci une déclaration d’intérêts comportant les renseignements suivants:
1°  l’identification de toute entreprise, association ou organisme, à but lucratif ou sans but lucratif, à l’égard duquel le directeur de cabinet ou un membre de sa famille immédiate détient un intérêt, notamment sous forme d’actions, de parts, d’avantages de nature pécuniaire, de créance, de priorité ou d’hypothèque;
2°  la nature de tout poste, fonction, activité professionnelle, commerciale ou industrielle exercée par le directeur de cabinet ou un membre de sa famille immédiate depuis sa déclaration précédente ou à défaut depuis qu’il est en fonction, avec une identification de l’entreprise, de l’association ou de l’organisme, à but lucratif ou sans but lucratif, pour le compte duquel ce poste, cette fonction ou activité est exercé ou d’une indication qu’il l’exerce à son propre compte;
3°  tout autre fait, situation ou événement sur le plan personnel, professionnel ou philanthropique qui pourrait être susceptible de placer le directeur de cabinet dans une situation de conflit d’intérêts ou être raisonnablement perçue comme telle;
4°  tout autre renseignement que le commissaire peut exiger.
Le directeur de cabinet pour qui les paragraphes 1 à 3 ne trouvent pas application doit remplir une déclaration à cet effet et la déposer au commissaire.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 19.
20. Le directeur de cabinet doit aviser par écrit le commissaire de tout changement significatif au contenu de sa déclaration, dans les 60 jours suivant le changement.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 20.
21. Après avoir examiné la déclaration visée à l’article 19, le commissaire peut demander de rencontrer le directeur de cabinet en vue de vérifier la conformité de la déclaration et de discuter des obligations de ce membre du personnel d’un cabinet aux termes du présent règlement.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 21.
SECTION V
APRÈS-MANDAT
22. La présente section ne s’applique pas au personnel de soutien.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 22.
23. Un membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui a cessé d’exercer ses fonctions à ce titre doit se comporter de façon à ne pas tirer d’avantages indus de ses fonctions antérieures.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 23.
24. Un membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui a cessé d’exercer ses fonctions à ce titre ne doit pas divulguer une information confidentielle dont il a pris connaissance dans l’exercice ou à l’occasion de l’exercice de ses fonctions. Il ne doit pas non plus donner à quiconque des conseils fondés sur de l’information non disponible au public, dont il a pris connaissance dans l’exercice ou à l’occasion de l’exercice de ses fonctions.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 24.
25. Un membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui a agi relativement à une procédure, une négociation ou une autre opération particulière ne peut, après qu’il ait cessé d’exercer ses fonctions à ce titre, agir au nom ou pour le compte d’autrui à l’égard de la même procédure, négociation ou opération.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 25.
26. Un membre du personnel d’un cabinet ne peut, dans l’année qui suit la cessation de ses fonctions à ce titre:
1°  accepter une nomination au conseil d’administration ou comme membre d’un organisme, d’une entreprise ou d’une autre entité qui n’est pas une entité de l’État au sens de l’article 56 du Code et avec lequel il a eu des rapports officiels, directs et importants au cours de l’année qui a précédé la cessation de ses fonctions ou accepter d’occuper un emploi, un poste ou toute autre fonction au sein d’un tel organisme ou d’une telle entreprise ou entité;
2°  intervenir pour le compte d’autrui auprès de tout ministère ou auprès d’une autre entité de l’État au sens de l’article 56 du Code avec lequel il a eu des rapports officiels, directs et importants au cours de l’année qui a précédé la cessation de ses fonctions.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 26.
CHAPITRE IV
MÉCANISMES D’APPLICATION ET DE CONTRÔLE
SECTION I
COMMISSAIRE À L’ÉTHIQUE ET À LA DÉONTOLOGIE
27. Le commissaire est responsable de l’application du présent règlement.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 27.
28. Le commissaire exerce ses fonctions dans un souci d’information, de prévention, de confidentialité, d’objectivité et d’impartialité.
Dans l’exécution de ses fonctions et plus particulièrement dans l’appréciation des règles déontologiques applicables aux membres du personnel des cabinets ministériels, il tient compte de leur adhésion aux valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 28.
29. Le commissaire conserve sa compétence à l’égard d’une personne qui a cessé d’être membre du personnel d’un cabinet durant une période d’un an suivant la fin de l’exercice de sa fonction. Il peut toutefois, après cette échéance, poursuivre une enquête qu’il avait entreprise.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 29.
30. Le commissaire conserve les documents relatifs à un membre du personnel d’un cabinet pendant douze mois suivant la fin de l’exercice de sa fonction. Ces documents sont ensuite détruits, sauf si une enquête est en cours ou a été suspendue aux termes du présent règlement ou qu’une accusation a été portée contre le membre du personnel d’un cabinet en vertu d’une loi et que les documents peuvent être pertinents.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 30.
SECTION II
AVIS DU COMMISSAIRE
31. Sur demande écrite d’un membre du personnel d’un cabinet, le commissaire donne un avis écrit et motivé, assorti des recommandations qu’il juge indiquées, sur toute question concernant ses obligations aux termes du présent règlement.
L’avis est confidentiel et ne peut être rendu public que par celui qui l’a demandé ou avec son consentement écrit, sous réserve du pouvoir du commissaire de procéder à une enquête et de faire rapport sur les faits allégués ou découverts à l’occasion de la demande d’avis.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 31.
32. Un membre du personnel d’un cabinet est réputé n’avoir commis aucun manquement au présent règlement pour un acte ou une omission s’il a antérieurement fait une demande d’avis au commissaire et si cet avis conclut que cet acte ou omission n’enfreint pas le présent règlement, pourvu que les faits allégués au soutien de sa demande aient été présentés de façon exacte et complète.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 32.
33. Le commissaire peut publier des lignes directrices pour guider les membres du personnel d’un cabinet dans l’application du présent règlement, à condition de ne pas révéler de renseignements personnels.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 33.
SECTION III
ENQUÊTES ET RAPPORTS
34. Sur demande écrite du premier ministre, du ministre dont le membre du personnel d’un cabinet relève, ou de sa propre initiative après lui avoir donné par écrit un préavis raisonnable, le commissaire peut faire une enquête pour déterminer si un membre du personnel d’un cabinet a commis un manquement aux règles déontologiques édictées par le présent règlement.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 34.
35. Le commissaire informe le membre du personnel d’un cabinet qu’une demande de faire une enquête lui a été présentée, pour déterminer si un manquement aux règles déontologiques édictées par le présent règlement a été commis.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 35.
36. Lorsqu’il le juge nécessaire, le commissaire peut autoriser spécialement toute personne à faire une enquête.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 36.
37. Le commissaire et toute personne qu’il autorise spécialement à enquêter sont, pour les fins de l’enquête, conformément à l’article 93 du Code, investis des pouvoirs et de l’immunité des commissaires nommés en vertu de la Loi sur les commissions d’enquête (chapitre C-37), sauf du pouvoir d’ordonner l’emprisonnement.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 37.
38. Le commissaire peut conclure des ententes avec d’autres personnes, notamment avec le vérificateur général ou le commissaire au lobbyisme, afin de tenir des enquêtes conjointes, chacun en application des dispositions législatives qu’il applique.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 38.
39. Si, après vérification, le commissaire est d’avis que la demande d’enquête est non fondée, il met fin au processus et l’indique dans son rapport.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 39.
40. Le commissaire enquête à huis clos et avec toute la diligence voulue. Il permet au membre du personnel d’un cabinet qui fait l’objet de l’enquête de présenter une défense pleine et entière. Il lui donne l’occasion de lui fournir ses observations et, s’il le demande, d’être entendu, notamment sur la question de déterminer s’il a commis un manquement aux règles déontologiques édictées par le présent règlement.
Le commissaire ne peut commenter publiquement une vérification ou une enquête, mais il peut confirmer qu’une demande a été reçue à cet effet ou encore qu’une vérification ou une enquête a été commencée ou a pris fin. Il peut également indiquer pourquoi, après vérification, il a décidé de ne pas tenir une enquête.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 40.
41. Le rapport d’enquête du commissaire est remis au membre du personnel visé, au ministre dont il relève ainsi qu’au premier ministre. Le cas échéant, le commissaire informe de ses conclusions la personne qui lui a soumis le cas.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 41.
42. Le commissaire peut formuler dans son rapport des lignes directrices concernant l’interprétation générale des règles déontologiques édictées par le présent règlement.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 42.
CHAPITRE V
ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR
43. Le directeur de cabinet, en fonction le 30 avril 2013, doit, dans les 60 jours suivants, déposer auprès du commissaire la déclaration de ses intérêts visée à l’article 19.
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 43.
44. (Omis).
Décision 2013-03-15, a. 44.
RÉFÉRENCES
Décision 2013-03-15, 2013 G.O. 2, 1134