C-16, r. 8.1 - Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of chiropractor within a partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-16, r. 8.1
Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of chiropractor within a partnership or a joint-stock company
CHIROPRACTORS — PRACTICE WITHIN A PARTNERSHIP OR A JOINT-STOCK COMPANY
Chiropractic Act
(chapter C-16, s. 3).
C-16
Professional Code
(chapitre C-26, s. 93, pars. g and h, and s. 94, par. p).
C-26
April 4 2013
CHAPTER I
GENERAL
1. Chiropractors are authorized, subject to the conditions set out in this Regulation, to carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
Chiropractors must ensure that the company or partnership makes it possible for them to comply at all times with the requirements of the Professional Code, those of the Chiropractic Act (chapter C-16) and their regulations.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 1.
CHAPTER II
TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF PRACTICE
2. Chiropractors are authorized to carry on professional activities within a limited liability partnership or joint-stock company if
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the shares or units of the partnership or joint-stock company are held
(a)  by at least one chiropractor;
(b)  by a legal person or trust whose voting rights attached to the shares or units are held exclusively by one or more chiropractors; or
(c)  by a combination of persons referred to in subparagraphs a and b;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the joint-stock company, or the partners or, where applicable, the managers appointed by the partners to manage the affairs of the limited liability partnership, are chiropractors; and
(3)  the board of directors of the joint-stock company or, as the case may be, the internal management board of the partnership is comprised of a majority of chiropractors, who constitute the majority of the quorum of such boards at all times.
Chiropractors must ensure that the conditions listed in the first paragraph appear in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the contract of the limited liability partnership and that the documents provide that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 2.
3. Chiropractors who wish to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must, beforehand, send the following documents to the secretary of the Order:
(1)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is covered by security complying with Chapter III of this Regulation;
(2)  if the chiropractor intends to carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company, a written document issued by a competent authority certifying the existence of the joint-stock company;
(3)  if applicable, a certified true copy of the declaration made by the competent authority, stating that the general partnership was continued as a limited liability partnership;
(4)  a written document certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is duly registered in Québec;
(5)  a written document certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company has an establishment in Québec; and
(6)  an irrevocable written authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company allowing a person, committee, disciplinary body or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to require disclosure of a document listed in section 14 from a person or a copy of such a document.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 3.
4. Chiropractors must also send to the secretary of the Order, using the form provided by the Order, a sworn declaration containing
(1)  the partnership or joint-stock company name and any other names used in Québec by the partnership or joint-stock company within which the chiropractor intends to carry on professional activities and the business number assigned to it by the competent authority;
(2)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(3)  the chiropractor’s name, member number and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  if the chiropractor intends to carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company, the address of the head office and the address of its establishments in Québec, and the names and home addresses of the directors and officers of the joint-stock company;
(5)  if the chiropractor intends to carry on professional activities within a limited liability partnership, the address of the establishments of the partnership in Québec, specifying the address of the principal establishment, the names and home addresses of all the partners domiciled in Québec and, where applicable, the names and home addresses of the managers appointed to manage the affairs of the partnership, whether or not they are domiciled in Québec;
(6)  a written document certifying that the shares or units held and the rules of administration of the partnership or joint-stock company comply with the conditions set out in this Regulation;
(7)  the names of the holders of shares or units referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 2 with the percentage of voting rights held by each shareholder; and
(8)  in the case of holders of shares or units referred to in subparagraph b of subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 2, a document certifying that the conditions of that subparagraph are complied with.
Chiropractors must, together with their declaration, pay the fees prescribed by the board of directors of the Order.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 4.
5. If two or more chiropractors carry on professional activities within the same partnership or joint-stock company, a representative must be designated to act in their place and stead for the purposes of the conditions set out in sections 3 and 10.
The representative must be a chiropractor who is either a partner, or a director or shareholder with voting rights of the partnership or joint-stock company.
The representative is also appointed to reply to requests made by the syndic, an inspector, an investigator or any other representative of the Order and to submit, where applicable, the documents that the chiropractors are required to submit.
Except for the information referred to in paragraph 3 of section 4, the representative must ensure the accuracy of the information given in the declaration.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 5.
6. Not later than 31 March of each year, the declaration referred to in section 4 must be updated and sent to the Order along with payment of the fees prescribed by the board of directors of the Order.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 6.
7. Chiropractors must immediately inform the Order of any change in the security provided for in Chapter III or in the information given under section 3 that might compromise compliance with the conditions set out in this Regulation.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 7.
8. A chiropractor who is struck off the roll for a period in excess of 3 months may not, during the period of the striking off, directly or indirectly hold any units in a partnership or shares in a joint-stock company or hold the position of director, officer or representative of a partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 8.
9. Chiropractors must immediately inform the Order of the cancellation of the insurance coverage referred to in Chapter III, the striking off the roll, dissolution, assignment of property, bankruptcy, voluntary or forced liquidation of the partnership or joint-stock company or any other cause likely to prevent the partnership or joint-stock company from carrying on its activities. Chiropractors must also inform the Order of any change in the information provided in the declaration that is contrary to the conditions set out in section 2.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 9.
CHAPTER III
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
10. To be authorized to carry on their professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company in accordance with this Regulation, chiropractors must furnish and maintain security on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company by means of an insurance or suretyship contract or by joining a group insurance contract entered into by the Order, or by contributing to a professional liability insurance fund established in accordance with section 86.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), against the liability of the partnership or joint-stock company arising from fault on the part of the chiropractors in the practice of the profession within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 10.
11. The security must include the following minimum conditions:
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to pay in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company, over and above the minimum amount of the security to be furnished by the chiropractor pursuant to the Regulation respecting professional liability insurance of the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec (chapter C-16, r. 3), up to the amount of the security, any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay to an injured third person on a claim filed during the coverage period and arising from fault on the part of a chiropractor in the practice of the profession within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and to defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all legal costs and expenses of actions against the partnership or joint-stock company, including those of the investigation and defence and interest on the amount of the security;
(3)  an undertaking that the security extends to all claims submitted in the 5 years following the coverage period during which a chiropractor of the partnership or joint-stock company dies, withdraws from the partnership or joint-stock company or ceases to be on the roll of the Order, in order to maintain coverage for the partnership or joint-stock com-pany for fault on the part of the chiropractor while carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  an amount of at least $1,000,000 per claim and $3,000,000 for all claims filed against the partnership or joint-stock company during a 12-month coverage period; and
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to provide the secretary of the Order with a 30-day notice of intent to cancel the security, to amend a condition of this section or not to renew the security.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 11; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
12. The suretyship contract must be entered into with a bank, savings and credit union, trust or insurance company domiciled in Canada. The surety must also maintain sufficient property in Québec to honour the coverage provided for in this Chapter.
The surety must undertake to provide coverage in accordance with the conditions of this Chapter and to pay the amount due on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company by waiving the benefit of division and discussion, up to the amount of the suretyship coverage.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 12.
CHAPTER IV
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
13. Where a general partnership is continued as a limited liability partnership or where a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company is constituted, chiropractors who carry on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company must, within 15 days after the date of the constitution or continuation, send a notice to their clients whose records are active, informing them of the nature and effects of the continuation or constitution of the partnership or joint-stock company, in particular with respect to the chiropractor’s professional liability and that of the partnership or joint-stock company.
The notice may be sent directly to the clients or published in a newspaper circulated in the location where the partnership or joint-stock company carries on its activities.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 13.
14. The documents that may be required pursuant to paragraph 6 of section 3 are the following:
(1)  if the chiropractor practises within a joint-stock company,
(a)  a complete and up-to-date register of the articles and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(b)  a complete and up-to-date register of the shares of the joint-stock company;
(c)  a complete and up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(d)  any unanimous shareholders’ agreement and any voting agreement and amendments;
(e)  any agreement concerning a stock option with voting rights or concerning any other right, even if conditional, granted to a person to be issued such stocks;
(f)  the declaration of registration of the joint-stock company and any update; and
(g)  the names and home addresses of the company’s principal officers;
(2)  if the chiropractor practises within a limited liability partnership,
(a)  the declaration of registration of the partnership and any update;
(b)  the partnership contract and amendments;
(c)  a complete and up-to-date register of the partners;
(d)  where applicable, a complete and up-to-date register of the managers; and
(e)  the names and home addresses of the partnership’s principal officers.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 14.
CHAPTER V
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
15. Chiropractors who carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company constituted before the 4 April 2013 must comply with this Regulation at the latest within 1 year after that date.
O.C. 162-2013, s. 15.
16. (Omitted).
O.C. 162-2013, s. 16.
REFERENCES
O.C. 162-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 667

C-16, r. 8.1 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de chiropraticien en société

Texte complet
chapitre C-16, r. 8.1
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de chiropraticien en société
CHIROPRATICIENS — EXERCICE DE LA PROFESSION EN SOCIÉTÉ
Loi sur la chiropratique
(chapitre C-16, a. 3)
C-16
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h, a. 94, par. p)
C-26
4 avril 2013
CHAPITRE I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Un chiropraticien est autorisé, aux conditions déterminées par le présent règlement, à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions ou d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
Il doit s’assurer que cette société lui permette de respecter, en tout temps, les exigences du Code des professions, celles de la Loi sur la chiropratique (chapitre C-16) et des règlements pris pour leur application.
D. 162-2013, a. 1.
CHAPITRE II
CONDITIONS ET MODALITÉS D’EXERCICE
2. Un chiropraticien est autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles dans une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou dans une société par actions si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus:
a)  soit par au moins un chiropraticien;
b)  soit par une personne morale ou une fiducie dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales sont détenus en totalité par un ou plusieurs chiropraticiens;
c)  soit une combinaison de personnes visées aux sous-paragraphes a et b;
2°  les administrateurs de la société par actions, les associés ou, le cas échéant, les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour gérer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, sont en majorité des chiropraticiens;
3°  le conseil d’administration de la société ou, selon le cas, le conseil de gestion interne est formé en majorité de chiropraticiens, lesquels doivent constituer, en tout temps, la majorité du quorum de tels conseils.
Le chiropraticien s’assure que les conditions énoncées au premier alinéa sont inscrites dans les statuts de la société par actions ou stipulées dans le contrat de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi prévu que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 162-2013, a. 2.
3. Le chiropraticien qui veut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit préalablement transmettre au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents suivants:
1°  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme au chapitre III du présent règlement;
2°  dans le cas où il entend exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions, un document écrit délivré par une autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
3°  le cas échéant, une copie certifiée conforme de la déclaration faite par l’autorité compétente, indiquant que la société en nom collectif a été continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
4°  un document écrit attestant que la société est dûment immatriculée au Québec;
5°  un document écrit attestant que la société maintient un établissement au Québec;
6°  une autorisation écrite irrévocable de la société donnant le droit à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal visés à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de toute personne la communication d’un document mentionné à l’article 14 ou d’une copie d’un tel document.
D. 162-2013, a. 3.
4. Le chiropraticien doit également transmettre au secrétaire de l’Ordre, sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre, une déclaration assermentée contenant les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nom ainsi que les autres noms utilisés au Québec par la société au sein de laquelle il entend exercer ses activités professionnelles et le numéro d’entreprise attribué par l’autorité compétente;
2°  la forme juridique de la société;
3°  son nom et numéro de membre ainsi que son statut au sein de la société;
4°  dans le cas où il entend exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions, l’adresse du siège de la société ainsi que celle de ses établissements au Québec, et le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des administrateurs et des dirigeants de cette société;
5°  dans le cas où il entend exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, l’adresse des établissements de cette société au Québec, en précisant celle du principal, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle de tous les associés domiciliés au Québec et, s’il y a lieu, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des administrateurs nommés pour gérer les affaires de la société, qu’ils soient ou non domiciliés au Québec;
6°  un document écrit attestant que les actions ou les parts sociales détenues ainsi que les règles d’administration de la société respectent les conditions prévues au présent règlement;
7°  le nom des actionnaires visés au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 2 en spécifiant pour chacun le pourcentage des droits de vote qu’ils détiennent;
8°  lorsqu’il s’agit d’actionnaires visés au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 2, une confirmation suivant laquelle les conditions de ce sous-paragraphe sont respectées.
Le chiropraticien doit acquitter avec sa déclaration les frais prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
D. 162-2013, a. 4.
5. Lorsque plusieurs chiropraticiens exercent leurs activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société, un répondant doit être désigné pour agir en leur lieu et place aux fins des conditions prévues aux articles 3, 4 et 10.
Ce répondant doit être un chiropraticien et être, soit associé, soit administrateur ou actionnaire avec droit de vote de la société.
Il est également mandaté pour répondre aux demandes formulées par le syndic, un inspecteur, un enquêteur ou un autre représentant de l’Ordre et pour fournir, le cas échéant, les documents que les chiropraticiens sont tenus de transmettre.
À l’exception des renseignements visés au paragraphe 3 de l’article 4, le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis dans la déclaration.
D. 162-2013, a. 5.
6. Au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année, la déclaration visée à l’article 4 doit être mise à jour et transmise à l’Ordre avec le paiement des frais prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
D. 162-2013, a. 6.
7. Le chiropraticien doit informer l’Ordre sans délai de toute modification à la garantie prévue au chapitre III ou aux informations transmises en vertu de l’article 3 susceptible de compromettre le respect des conditions prévues au présent règlement.
D. 162-2013, a. 7.
8. Un chiropraticien radié pour une période de plus de 3 mois ne peut, pendant la période de radiation, détenir directement ou indirectement aucune action ou part sociale dans une société ou être administrateur, dirigeant ou représentant d’une société.
D. 162-2013, a. 8.
9. Le chiropraticien doit, sans délai, aviser l’Ordre de l’annulation de la garantie d’assurance visée au chapitre III, de la radiation, de la dissolution, de la cession de biens, de la faillite, de la liquidation volontaire ou forcée de la société ou de toute autre cause de nature à constituer un empêchement pour la société de poursuivre ses activités. Il doit en outre l’aviser de toute modification aux renseignements fournis dans la déclaration révélant une contravention aux conditions prévues à l’article 2.
D. 162-2013, a. 9.
CHAPITRE III
GARANTIE DE LA RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
10. Le chiropraticien doit, pour être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société conformément au présent règlement, fournir et maintenir pour cette société, soit par contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement, soit par l’adhésion à une assurance collective contractée par l’Ordre, soit par la souscription à un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle établie conformément à l’article 86.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), une garantie contre la responsabilité que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes commises par le chiropraticien dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de cette société.
D. 162-2013, a. 10.
11. La garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de payer au lieu et place de la société, en excédent du montant minimal de garantie que doit fournir le chiropraticien conformément au Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec (chapitre C-16, r. 3) et jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à un tiers lésé relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant des fautes commises par un chiropraticien dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action dirigée contre elle, et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais de justice et autres frais de toute action contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  l’engagement suivant lequel cette garantie s’étend à toute réclamation présentée pendant les 5 années qui suivent la période de garantie au cours de laquelle un chiropraticien de la société décède, quitte la société ou cesse d’être inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre, de façon à maintenir une garantie en faveur de la société pour les fautes commises par le chiropraticien lorsqu’il exerçait ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
4°  un montant de garantie d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par réclamation et 3 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie de 12 mois;
5°  l’engagement de l’assureur ou de la caution de donner au secrétaire de l’Ordre un préavis de 30 jours lorsqu’il entend résilier la garantie, la modifier quant à l’une des conditions prévues au présent article ou ne pas la renouveler.
D. 162-2013, a. 11; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. Le contrat de cautionnement doit être conclu auprès d’une banque, d’une caisse d’épargne et de crédit ou d’une compagnie de fiducie ou d’assurance qui doit être domiciliée au Canada. La caution doit en outre maintenir au Québec des biens suffisants pour honorer la garantie prévue au présent chapitre.
La caution doit s’engager à fournir une garantie conforme aux conditions prévues au présent chapitre et à payer la somme due par la société en ses lieu et place en renonçant aux bénéfices de division et de discussion, jusqu’à concurrence du montant du cautionnement.
D. 162-2013, a. 12.
CHAPITRE IV
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
13. Lorsqu’une société en nom collectif est continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou lorsqu’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou une société par actions est formée, le chiropraticien qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société doit transmettre à ses clients dont les dossiers sont en cours, dans les 15 jours suivant la date de la continuation ou de la formation, un avis les informant de la nature et des effets de la continuation ou de la formation de la société, notamment quant à sa responsabilité professionnelle et à celle de la société.
L’avis peut être remis directement à ses clients ou être publié dans un journal distribué dans la localité où la société exerce ses activités.
D. 162-2013, a. 13.
14. Les documents qui peuvent être exigés en application du paragraphe 6 de l’article 3 sont les suivants:
1°  si le chiropraticien exerce au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre complet et à jour des statuts et règlements de la société;
b)  le registre complet et à jour des actions de la société;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
d)  toute convention unanime des actionnaires et toute entente relative à l’exercice du droit de vote ainsi que toute modification afférente;
e)  toute convention portant sur l’octroi d’option d’achat d’actions comportant droit de vote ou portant sur tout autre droit, même conditionnel, conféré à une personne de se faire émettre de telles actions;
f)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
g)  le nom des principaux dirigeants de la société et leur adresse résidentielle;
2°  si le chiropraticien exerce au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
b)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des associés de la société;
d)  le cas échéant, le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
e)  le nom des principaux dirigeants de la société et leur adresse résidentielle.
D. 162-2013, a. 14.
CHAPITRE V
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRE ET FINALE
15. Le chiropraticien qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions formée avant le 4 avril 2013 doit, au plus tard dans l’année suivant cette date, s’y conformer.
D. 162-2013, a. 15.
16. (Omis).
D. 162-2013, a. 16.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 162-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1015