C-16, r. 3 - Regulation respecting professional liability insurance of the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-16, r. 3
Regulation respecting professional liability insurance of the Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec
CHIROPRACTORS — LIABILITY INSURANCE
Chiropractic Act
(chapter C-16, s. 3).
C-16
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. d).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
COMMITTEE ON PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE
1. The committee consists of 3 members who are appointed by the board of directors. The board of directors designates the chair of the committee.
O.C. 551-84, s. 1.
2. The committee shall hold its meetings at the time and place determined by its chair. The quorum of the committee is 2 members.
O.C. 551-84, s. 2.
3. The committee shall study all matters pertaining to professional liability insurance. It shall verify, in particular by studying the proof of insurance provided for in section 10, whether each chiropractor complies with the obligation prescribed in section 5, and shall report thereon to the board of directors.
O.C. 551-84, s. 3.
4. The committee shall make the recommendations it considers appropriate to the board of directors and submit to it an annual report on its activities.
O.C. 551-84, s. 4.
DIVISION II
LIABILITY INSURANCE
5. A chiropractor must hold and keep in force an insurance contract establishing coverage against any liability he or his employees may incur owing to fault or negligence committed in the practice of his profession.
In the case of a partnership of chiropractors, the insurance contract may be made in the name of the partnership, but coverage must extend individually to each chiropractor who is a partner or employee of the partnership.
In the case of a chiropractor employing other chiropractors, the coverage must extend to each chiropractor individually.
In all cases, coverage must extend to non-professional employees in the exercise of their duties.
O.C. 551-84, s. 5.
6. The amount of the coverage must be not less than $1,000,000 per loss and not less than $3,000,000 for the aggregate of losses during each period of coverage.
O.C. 551-84, s. 6.
7. The insurance contract must provide that:
(1)  the insurer undertakes to pay on behalf of the insured, up to and including the amount of the coverage, any damages that the insured may legally be bound to pay to a third party in respect of a claim filed during the period of coverage and resulting from professional services rendered or failure of the insured to render professional services in the performance of his duties;
(2)  the insurer undertakes to take up the interest of the insured and to assume his defence in any action brought against him before a civil court; the costs and expenses incurred for the inquiry, defence, negotiations and conclusion of a settlement as well as interest upon judgment, are borne by the insurer over and above the amounts of the coverage provided for in the insurance contract;
(3)  where the insured ceases to practise his profession voluntarily or dies, the insurer undertakes to sign with the insured or his legal heirs an insurance contract with coverage for professional services rendered or failure of the insured to render professional services in the performance of his duties prior to the coming into force of the contract;
(4)  the coverage applies to services rendered or the failure to render professional services prior to the coming into force of the insurance contract, until the expiry of the period of coverage.
O.C. 551-84, s. 7.
8. The exclusions generally accepted in professional liability insurance may be provided for in the insurance contract. However, an exclusion pertaining to acts committed under the influence of narcotics, soporifics, drugs or alcohol may not apply to a third party referred to in paragraph 1 of section 7.
O.C. 551-84, s. 8.
9. Where the Association des chiropraticiens du Québec has taken out a liability insurance policy in accordance with this Division for all or part of its members, a chiropractor may participate in that group insurance policy for the purposes of section 5. An insurance certificate must be issued to the Order and to each chiropractor participating in the insurance policy taken out by the Association des chiropraticiens du Québec; a copy of that insurance policy must be given to them upon written request.
O.C. 551-84, s. 9.
10. Except where he is insured pursuant to section 9, a chiropractor must, before 1 April of each year, provide the secretary with proof that he holds an insurance policy in force for a 12-month period beginning on that date and with proof that the policy complies with this Regulation.
However, where a chiropractor is entered or re-entered on the roll on a date other than 1 April, he must provide the secretary with proof that he holds an insurance policy in force at least until the following 1 April and with proof that the policy complies with this Regulation.
O.C. 551-84, s. 10.
11. (Omitted).
O.C. 551-84, s. 11.
REFERENCES
O.C. 551-84, 1984 G.O. 2, 1345
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, ss. 212 and 213

c-16, r. 3 - Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-16, r. 3
Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des chiropraticiens du Québec
CHIROPRATICIENS — ASSURANCE-RESPONSABILITÉ
Loi sur la chiropratique
(chapitre C-16, a. 3)
C-16
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. d)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
COMITÉ D’ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
1. Le comité est formé de 3 membres nommés par le Conseil d’administration. Le Conseil d’administration nomme le responsable du comité.
D. 551-84, a. 1.
2. Le comité tient ses séances aux date, heure et lieu que détermine son responsable. Le quorum du comité est de 2 membres.
D. 551-84, a. 2.
3. Le comité étudie tout ce qui est pertinent à l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle; il vérifie, notamment en étudiant les preuves d’assurance prévues à l’article 10, si chaque chiropraticien se conforme à l’obligation prévue à l’article 5 et il en fait rapport au Conseil d’administration.
D. 551-84, a. 3.
4. Le comité formule au Conseil d’administration les recommandations qu’il juge appropriées et lui soumet un rapport annuel de ses activités.
D. 551-84, a. 4.
SECTION II
ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
5. Le chiropraticien doit détenir et maintenir en vigueur un contrat d’assurance établissant une garantie contre la responsabilité qu’il peut encourir lui-même ou par ses employés et préposés, en raison des fautes ou négligences commises dans l’exercice de sa profession.
Dans le cas d’une société de chiropraticiens, le contrat d’assurance peut être conclu au nom de la société mais la garantie doit s’étendre à chacun des chiropraticiens associés ou employés personnellement.
Dans le cas d’un chiropraticien ayant d’autres chiropraticiens à son emploi, la garantie doit s’étendre à chacun de ceux-ci, personnellement.
Dans tous les cas, la garantie doit s’étendre aux employés non-professionnels dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
D. 551-84, a. 5.
6. Le montant de cette garantie doit être d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par sinistre et d’au moins 3 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des sinistres au cours de chaque période de garantie.
D. 551-84, a. 6.
7. Le contrat d’assurance doit prévoir que:
1°  l’assureur s’engage à payer aux lieu et place de l’assuré, jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, tout dommages-intérêts que l’assuré peut légalement être tenu de payer à un tiers relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période de garantie et résultant de services professionnels rendus ou de l’omission de rendre des services professionnels par l’assuré dans l’exercice de ses fonctions;
2°  l’assureur s’engage à prendre fait et cause de l’assuré et à assumer sa défense dans toute demande dirigée contre ce dernier devant une juridiction civile; les frais et dépenses encourus pour l’enquête, la défense, les négociations et la conclusion d’un règlement de même que les intérêts sur condamnations sont à la charge de l’assureur en plus des montants de la garantie prévus au contrat d’assurance;
3°  l’assureur s’engage, lorsque l’assuré cesse d’exercer volontairement sa profession ou décède, à signer avec l’assuré ou ses héritiers légaux un contrat d’assurance dont la garantie s’étend aux services professionnels rendus ou à l’omission de rendre des services professionnels par l’assuré dans l’exercice de ses fonctions avant l’entrée en vigueur de ce contrat;
4°  la garantie s’étend aux services professionnels rendus ou à l’omission de rendre des services professionnels, avant l’entrée en vigueur du contrat d’assurance et jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de garantie.
D. 551-84, a. 7.
8. Les exclusions généralement admises en assurance responsabilité professionnelle peuvent être prévues au contrat d’assurance. Toutefois, une exclusion concernant les actes commis sous l’influence de narcotiques, de soporifiques, des drogues ou d’alcool ne peut être opposable à un tiers visé au paragraphe 1 de l’article 7.
D. 551-84, a. 8.
9. Dans le cas où l’Association des chiropraticiens du Québec a contracté pour l’ensemble ou une partie de ses membres, une police d’assurance responsabilité conforme à cette section, un chiropraticien peut adhérer, aux fins de l’article 5, à cette police d’assurance collective. Un certificat d’assurance doit être délivré à l’Ordre ainsi qu’à chaque chiropraticien adhérant à la police d’assurance contractée par l’Association des chiropraticiens du Québec et une copie de cette police d’assurance doit leur être remise sur demande écrite.
D. 551-84, a. 9.
10. Sauf s’il est assuré en vertu de l’article 9, le chiropraticien doit fournir au secrétaire, avant le 1er avril de chaque année, la preuve qu’il détient une police d’assurance en vigueur pour une période de 12 mois à compter de cette date et qu’elle est conforme au présent règlement.
Cependant, lorsqu’un chiropraticien s’inscrit ou se réinscrit au tableau à une date autre que celle du 1er avril, il doit fournir au secrétaire la preuve qu’il détient une police d’assurance en vigueur au moins jusqu’au 1er avril suivant et qu’elle est conforme au présent règlement.
D. 551-84, a. 10.
11. (Omis).
D. 551-84, a. 11.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 551-84, 1984 G.O. 2, 1573
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212