C-15, r. 10 - Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des chimistes du Québec

Full text
chapter C-15, r. 10
Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des chimistes du Québec
CHEMISTS — STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS
Professional Chemists Act
(chapter C-15, a. 3).
C-15
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. c).
C-26
September 1 2012
1. The secretary of the Ordre des chimistes du Québec shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate wishing to have a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec recognized as equivalent.
In this Regulation, “diploma equivalence” means the recognition by the board of directors of the Order that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec demonstrates that the candidate’s level of knowledge is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting permit requirements.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 1.
2. A candidate applying for a diploma equivalence shall provide the secretary with the following supporting documents and with the costs payable pursuant to paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) for the examination of the application:
(1)  the candidate’s academic record, including a description of the courses taken;
(2)  proof that the diploma was issued;
(3)  a document attesting to the candidate’s participation in a training period; and
(4)  a document attesting to the candidate’s relevant work experience.
Where documents submitted in support of a diploma equivalence application are written in a language other than French or English, they shall be accompanied by a translation in French or English attested to under oath by the person who did the translation.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 2.
3. A candidate holding a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was issued upon completion of university studies comprising the equivalent of not less than 55 credits in chemistry, with not less than 18 credits in practical work and 30 credits in theory. Each credit shall correspond to 45 hours of class time and personal work, and the credits shall be distributed as follows:
(1)  not less than 12 credits in physical chemistry;
(2)  not less than 12 credits in organic chemistry;
(3)  not less than 9 credits in analytical chemistry; and
(4)  not less than 9 credits in inorganic chemistry or 9 credits in biochemistry or 12 credits in those subjects combined.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 3.
4. Notwithstanding section 3, where the diploma in respect of which an equivalence application has been filed was issued 5 or more years prior to the date of the application, a diploma equivalence shall be denied if the candidate’s knowledge, taking into account developments in the profession, no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently taught.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, a diploma equivalence shall be granted if the candidate’s training and relevant work experience since being issued the diploma have enabled the candidate to acquire the required level of knowledge.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 4.
5. The secretary shall forward the documents prescribed in section 2 to the committee set up by the board of directors of the Order to examine diploma equivalence applications and to make an appropriate recommendation.
At the first meeting of the board of directors following the date of receipt of the committee’s recommendation, the board of directors shall decide, in accordance with this Regulation, whether to grant a diploma equivalence and shall notify the candidate in writing within 15 days of its decision.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 5.
6. Within 15 days following a decision not to grant a diploma equivalence, the board of directors shall notify the candidate in writing and shall indicate the number of credits and the courses that are lacking or that do not meet the requirements of section 3, as well as the programs of study, the training periods or the examinations that, taking into account the candidate’s current level of knowledge, must be successfully completed for the equivalence to be granted.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 6.
7. A candidate who receives the information provided for in section 6 may apply to the board of directors for a hearing, provided that the candidate applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days following the date on which the decision not to grant a diploma equivalence is mailed.
The board of directors shall grant a hearing within 45 days following the date of receipt of an application for a hearing and, where expedient, shall revise its decision. To that end, the secretary shall convene the candidate by means of a notice in writing sent by registered mail not less than 10 days before the date of the hearing.
The board of director’s decision is final and shall be sent to the candidate in writing within 30 days following the date of the hearing.
O.C. 1691-93, s. 7; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
8. (Omitted).
O.C. 1691-93, s. 8.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1691-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 6881
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-15, r. 10 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplômes aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des chimistes du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-15, r. 10
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplômes aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des chimistes du Québec
CHIMISTES — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔMES
Loi sur les chimistes professionnels
(chapitre C-15, a. 3).
C-15
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
1. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre des chimistes du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui désire faire reconnaître l’équivalence d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec.
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par «équivalence de diplôme» la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissance d’un candidat est équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 1691-93, a. 1.
2. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme doit fournir au secrétaire les documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande, accompagnés des frais exigés conformément au paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) pour fins d’étude de son dossier:
1°  son dossier académique incluant la description des cours suivis;
2°  une preuve de l’obtention de son diplôme;
3°  une attestation qu’il a participé à un stage de formation;
4°  une attestation de son expérience pertinente de travail.
Si les documents transmis à l’appui de la demande d’équivalence de diplômes sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, ils doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français ou en anglais, attestée par une déclaration sous serment de la personne qui a rédigé la traduction.
D. 1691-93, a. 2.
3. Le candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec, bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau universitaire comportant l’équivalent d’un minimum de 55 crédits de chimie, dont au moins 18 crédits de travaux pratiques et 30 crédits de cours théoriques. Chacun des crédits représente 45 heures de présence à un cours et de travail personnel et sont répartis de la façon suivante:
1°  au moins 12 crédits de chimie physique;
2°  au moins 12 crédits de chimie organique;
3°  au moins 9 crédits de chimie analytique; et
4°  au moins 9 crédits de chimie inorganique ou 9 crédits de biochimie ou 12 crédits de ces deux matières combinées.
D. 1691-93, a. 3.
4. Malgré l’article 3, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence de diplôme a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant la date de cette demande, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être refusée si les connaissances acquises par le candidat ne correspondent plus, suite au développement de la profession, aux connaissances présentement enseignées.
Toutefois, l’équivalence doit être reconnue si l’expérience pertinente de travail du candidat et la formation qu’il a pu acquérir depuis, lui ont permis d’atteindre le niveau de connaissance requis.
D. 1691-93, a. 4.
5. Le secrétaire transmet les documents prévus à l’article 2 au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence de diplôme et formuler une recommandation appropriée.
À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de cette recommandation, le Conseil d’administration décide conformément au présent règlement s’il reconnaît l’équivalence de diplôme et il en informe par écrit le candidat dans les 15 jours de sa décision.
D. 1691-93, a. 5.
6. Dans les 15 jours qui suivent la date de sa décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme, le Conseil d’administration doit en informer par écrit le candidat et lui indiquer le nombre de crédits et les matières insuffisantes ou non conformes aux exigences prévues à l’article 3 ainsi que les programmes d’études, de stages ou d’examens dont la réussite, compte tenu de son niveau actuel de connaissance, lui permettrait de bénéficier de cette équivalence.
D. 1691-93, a. 6.
7. Le candidat qui reçoit les informations visées à l’article 6 peut demander au Conseil d’administration de se faire entendre à condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la mise à la poste de la décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme.
Le Conseil d’administration dispose d’un délai de 45 jours à compter de la date de la réception de cette demande d’audition pour entendre le candidat et, s’il y a lieu, réviser sa décision. À cette fin, le secrétaire convoque le candidat par écrit, transmis par poste recommandée, au moins 10 jours avant la date de cette audition.
La décision du Conseil d’administration est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 30 jours de la date de l’audition.
D. 1691-93, a. 7; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
8. (Omis).
D. 1691-93, a. 8.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1691-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 8857
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212