C-11, r. 8 - Regulation respecting the language of instruction of children residing on Indian reserves

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-11, r. 8
Regulation respecting the language of instruction of children residing on Indian reserves
CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE — INSTRUCTION — INDIAN RESERVES
Charter of the French language
(chapter C-11, s. 97)
C-11
September 1 2012
1. A school body is authorized to make an exception to the application of the provisions of Chapter VIII of Title I of the Charter of the French language (chapter C-11) in respect of a child who resides or has resided on an Indian reserve, in a settlement in which a native community lives or on Category I and Category I-N lands within the meaning of the Act respecting the land regime in the James Bay and New Québec territories (chapter R-13.1), on the following conditions and in the following circumstances:
(1)  the child is receiving instruction primarily in English or in a native language on an Indian reserve, in a settlement in which a native community lives or on Category I and Category I-N lands within the meaning of the Act respecting the land regime in the James Bay and New Québec territories, or received such instruction during the last school year;
(2)  the child leaves the Indian reserve, settlement or lands to continue his studies outside the reserve, settlement or lands; and
(3)  authorization to make an exception to the application of the provisions of Chapter VIII of Title I of the Charter is granted in respect of the child.
O.C. 2820-84, s. 1; O.C. 1758-93, s. 1.
2. The Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports shall issue to the school body an exemption for any child mentioned in section 1, subject to the following conditions:
(1)  a certificate of school attendance of the child in a school located on an Indian reserve, in a settlement in which a native community lives or on Category I and Category I-N lands within the meaning of the Act respecting the land regime in the James Bay and New Québec territories (chapter R-13.1) for the current school year or for the preceding school year shall be submitted to the Minister by the school body;
(2)  the certificate of school attendance mentioned in subparagraph 1 shall indicate that the instruction given to the child during the current school year or during the preceding school year was given primarily in English or in a native language, and the certificate shall be signed by the principal of the school attended;
(3)  the child’s birth certificate, bearing the names of his parents, shall be submitted to the Minister.
O.C. 2820-84, s. 2; O.C. 1758-93, s. 2.
3. (Omitted).
O.C. 2820-84, s. 3.
REFERENCES
O.C. 2820-84, 1985 G.O. 2, 65
O.C. 1758-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 6921

C-11, r. 8 - Règlement sur la langue d’enseignement des enfants qui résident ou ont résidé dans une réserve indienne

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-11, r. 8
Règlement sur la langue d’enseignement des enfants qui résident ou ont résidé dans une réserve indienne
CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE — ENSEIGNEMENT — RÉSERVE INDIENNE
Charte de la langue française
(chapitre C-11, a. 97).
C-11
1er septembre 2012
1. Un organisme scolaire est autorisé à déroger à l’application des dispositions du chapitre VIII du titre I de la Charte de la langue française (chapitre C-11), à l’égard d’un enfant qui réside ou a résidé dans une réserve indienne, dans un établissement où vit une communauté autochtone ou sur les terres de la catégorie I et de la catégorie I-N au sens de la Loi sur le régime des terres dans les territoires de la Baie-James et du Nouveau-Québec (chapitre R-13.1), aux conditions et dans les circonstances suivantes:
1°  cet enfant reçoit, dans une réserve indienne, dans un établissement où vit une communauté autochtone ou sur les terres de la catégorie I et de la catégorie I-N au sens de la Loi sur le régime des terres dans les territoires de la Baie-James et du Nouveau-Québec, l’enseignement majoritairement en anglais ou dans la langue autochtone ou a reçu un tel enseignement lors de la dernière année scolaire;
2°  cet enfant quitte cette réserve indienne, cet établissement, ces terres dans le but de poursuivre ses études à l’extérieur de cette réserve, de cet établissement ou de ces terres;
3°  une autorisation à déroger à l’application des dispositions du chapitre VIII du titre I de la Charte est délivrée à l’égard de cet enfant.
D. 2820-84, a. 1; D. 1758-93, a. 1.
2. Le ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport délivre à l’organisme scolaire une autorisation à déroger à l’égard de tout enfant visé à l’article 1, aux conditions suivantes:
1°  une attestation de la fréquentation scolaire de cet enfant dans une école située dans une réserve indienne, dans un établissement où vit une communauté autochtone ou sur les terres de la catégorie I et de la catégorie I-N au sens de la Loi sur le régime des terres dans les territoires de la Baie-James et du Nouveau-Québec (chapitre R-13.1), pour l’année scolaire en cours ou pour l’année scolaire précédente, est présentée au ministre par l’organisme scolaire;
2°  l’attestation de fréquentation scolaire mentionnée au paragraphe 1 indique que l’enseignement donné à l’enfant durant l’année scolaire en cours ou, selon le cas, durant l’année scolaire précédente, a été dispensé majoritairement en anglais ou dans la langue autochtone; cette attestation doit être signée par le directeur de l’école fréquentée;
3°  un certificat de naissance de l’enfant, portant le nom de ses parents, accompagne l’attestation.
D. 2820-84, a. 2; D. 1758-93, a. 2.
3. (Omis).
D. 2820-84, a. 3.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 2820-84, 1985 G.O. 2, 161
D. 1758-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 8897