C-11, r. 7 - Regulation respecting the exemption from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter of the French language that may be granted to children staying in Québec temporarily

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-11, r. 7
Regulation respecting the exemption from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter of the French language that may be granted to children staying in Québec temporarily
CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE — EXEMPTION — TEMPORARY STAY
Charter of the French language
(chapter C-11, s. 85)
C-11
September 1 2012
1. A child who comes to Québec for a temporary stay and who is in one of the following situations is exempted from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter of the French language (chapter C-11):
(1)  he holds a certificate of acceptance issued under section 3.2 of the Act respecting immigration to Québec (chapter I-0.2);
(2)  he holds an employment authorization or a student authorization issued in accordance with the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (S.C. 2001, c. 27);
(3)  he is exempted from the obligation to hold a certificate of acceptance, an employment authorization or a student authorization under a statute applicable in Québec;
(4)  he is a dependent child of a foreign national who holds a certificate of acceptance;
(5)  he is a dependent child of a foreign national who holds an employment authorization or a student authorization issued in accordance with the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act;
(6)  he is a dependent child of a foreign national who is exempted from the obligation to hold a certificate of acceptance, an employment authorization or a student authorization under a statute applicable in Québec;
(7)  he is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident domiciled in another Canadian province or a territory of Canada or is a dependent child of such a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, who comes to Québec to study or work.
In order to be granted an exemption, the following documents and information shall be filed:
(1)  the certificates or authorizations referred to in subparagraphs 1, 2, 4 and 5 of the first paragraph;
(2)  where applicable, a document issued by a competent authority in immigration, certifying
(a)  that the child or the foreign national who has charge of him is exempted under subparagraph 3 or 6 of the first paragraph and specifying the duration of the stay; or
(b)  that a permanent resident referred to in subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph is a permanent resident within the meaning of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act;
(3)  a document demonstrating that the child is a dependent child of a foreign national referred to in subparagraphs 4 to 6 of the first paragraph or of a Canadian citizen or permanent resident referred to in subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph;
(4)  where applicable, the following sworn declarations:
(a)  one by the Canadian citizen or permanent resident referred to in subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph, certifying that the stay is temporary;
(b)  one by the person in charge of the educational institution that will be attended or by the employer, confirming that the studies or employment are temporary.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, where refugee status within the meaning of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act is sought for the child or the foreign national he is accompanying or if the child or foreign national he is accompanying obtains a selection certificate issued under section 3.1 of the Act respecting immigration to Québec, the exemption may not be granted or, as the case may be, ceases to have effect on 30 June of the school year during which refugee status is sought or during which the selection certificate is issued.
In addition, the exemption referred to in subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph shall not last more than 3 years.
In this Regulation, “foreign national” has the meaning assigned to it by section 2 of the Act respecting immigration to Québec and “dependent child” refers to the child of a foreign national or his spouse’s child, the child of a member of the Canadian Armed Forces or his spouse’s child, or the child of a Canadian citizen or permanent resident or his spouse’s child.
O.C. 608-97, s. 1.
2. A child who is not a Canadian citizen and who stays in Québec temporarily because he is a dependent child of a person who is not a Canadian citizen and who is assigned to Québec temporarily as a representative or officer of a country other than Canada or of an international organization shall be exempted from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter if the following documents are filed:
(1)  proof that the person is registered with the competent government department;
(2)  an affidavit by that person attesting to the planned duration of his stay in Québec, from the date of his arrival; and
(3)  a document demonstrating that the child is a dependent child of that person or of his spouse.
O.C. 608-97, s. 2.
3. A child who stays in Québec temporarily because he is a dependent child of a member of the Canadian Armed Forces who is assigned to Québec temporarily shall be exempted from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter if an affidavit by the employer certifying that the parent is a member of the Canadian Armed Forces and that he is assigned to Québec temporarily and a document demonstrating that the child is a dependent child of that Armed Forces member are filed.
Such an exemption shall not last more than 3 years.
O.C. 608-97, s. 3.
4. Every application for exemption from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter by reason of a temporary stay in Québec shall be submitted to a school body and shall be accompanied by
(1)  every document which must be filed under this Regulation; and
(2)  a birth certificate of the child, mentioning his parents’ names or, failing that, any other official document issued by a competent authority and attesting to the child’s date of birth, sex and filiation.
A school body that receives an application for exemption shall forward it within a reasonable time, with the required documents, to a person empowered by the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports to verify and decide on children’s eligibility for instruction in English under section 75 of the Charter.
O.C. 608-97, s. 4.
5. Where an application for exemption is incomplete because the required information or documents have not been provided, the designated person shall so notify in writing the person who made the application informing him of the missing information or documents and of the time allotted to rectify the omission. A copy of such notice shall be forwarded to the school body.
If the required information or documents have not been submitted within 90 days following the date of the mailing of the notice, the designated person shall decide on the application as forwarded to him.
O.C. 608-97, s. 5.
6. The designated person shall inform in writing the person who made the application of his decision on the child’s eligibility for instruction in English. If the child is declared eligible, the designated person shall issue an authorization.
The designated person shall inform the school body of his decision in writing.
O.C. 608-97, s. 6.
7. Subject to the third and fourth paragraphs of section 1 and the second paragraph of section 3, an exemption is valid for the validity period of the certificate of acceptance, employment authorization or student authorization or for the duration of the temporary stay. It shall cease to have effect on 30 June of the school year in which the temporary stay ends or, as the case may be, in which the maximum 3-year period provided for in sections 1 and 3 ends.
An exemption may be renewed, provided that the conditions that applied to the original application are still met.
O.C. 608-97, s. 7.
8. This Regulation replaces the Language of Instruction (Temporary Residents) Regulation (O.C. 2820-84, 84-12-19). Notwithstanding the foregoing, an exemption granted under the former Regulation shall remain effective for the period for which it was granted.
O.C. 608-97, s. 8.
9. (Omitted).
O.C. 608-97, s. 9.
REFERENCES
O.C. 608-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 1970

C-11, r. 7 - Règlement sur l’exemption de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte de la langue française qui peut être accordée aux enfants séjournant au Québec de façon temporaire

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-11, r. 7
Règlement sur l’exemption de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte de la langue française qui peut être accordée aux enfants séjournant au Québec de façon temporaire
CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE — EXEMPTION — SÉJOUR TEMPORAIRE
Charte de la langue française
(chapitre C-11, a. 85).
C-11
1er septembre 2012
1. L’enfant qui vient séjourner au Québec de façon temporaire et qui est visé par l’une des situations suivantes est exempté de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte de la langue française (chapitre C-11):
1°  il détient un certificat d’acceptation délivré en vertu de l’article 3.2 de la Loi sur l’immigration au Québec (chapitre I-0.2);
2°  il détient un permis de travail ou un permis de séjour pour étudiant délivré conformément à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (L.C. 2001, c. 27);
3°  il est exempté de l’obligation de détenir un certificat d’acceptation, un permis de travail ou un permis de séjour pour étudiant en vertu d’une loi applicable au Québec;
4°  il est un enfant à charge d’un ressortissant étranger qui détient un certificat d’acceptation;
5°  il est un enfant à charge d’un ressortissant étranger qui détient un permis de travail ou un permis de séjour pour étudiant délivré conformément à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés;
6°  il est un enfant à charge d’un ressortissant étranger qui est exempté de l’obligation de détenir un certificat d’acceptation, un permis de travail ou un permis de séjour pour étudiant en vertu d’une loi applicable au Québec;
7°  il est un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent domicilié dans une autre province canadienne ou un territoire du Canada ou l’enfant à charge d’un tel citoyen canadien ou résident permanent, qui vient au Québec pour y étudier ou y travailler.
Pour que l’exemption soit accordée, les documents et renseignements suivants doivent être produits:
1°  les certificats ou permis visés aux paragraphes 1, 2, 4 et 5 du premier alinéa;
2°  le cas échéant, un document délivré par une autorité compétente en matière d’immigration, attestant l’un ou l’autre des éléments suivants:
a)  que l’enfant ou le ressortissant étranger qui a la charge de l’enfant bénéficie de l’exemption visée au paragraphe 3 ou 6 du premier alinéa et précisant la durée du séjour;
b)  qu’un résident permanent visé au paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa est un résident permanent au sens de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.
3°  un document démontrant que l’enfant est un enfant à charge d’un ressortissant étranger visé aux paragraphes 4 à 6 du premier alinéa ou d’un citoyen canadien ou d’un résident permanent visé au paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa;
4°  le cas échéant, les déclarations sous serment suivantes:
a)  celle du citoyen canadien ou du résident permanent visé au paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa, attestant la durée temporaire de son séjour;
b)  celle du responsable de l’établissement d’enseignement qui sera fréquenté ou de l’employeur confirmant la durée temporaire des études ou de l’emploi.
Toutefois, si le statut de réfugié au sens de la Loi sur l’immigration est revendiqué pour l’enfant ou pour le ressortissant étranger qu’il accompagne ou si l’enfant ou le ressortissant étranger qu’il accompagne obtient un certificat de sélection délivré en vertu de l’article 3.1 de la Loi sur l’immigration au Québec, l’exemption ne peut être accordée ou, le cas échéant, cesse d’avoir effet le 30 juin de l’année scolaire au cours de laquelle est revendiqué le statut de réfugié ou au cours de laquelle le certificat de sélection est délivré.
De plus, l’exemption visée au paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa ne peut excéder 3 ans.
Dans le présent règlement, l’expression «ressortissant étranger» a le sens que lui donne l’article 2 de la Loi sur l’immigration au Québec et l’expression «enfant à charge» désigne soit l’enfant d’un ressortissant étranger ou l’enfant de son conjoint, soit l’enfant d’un membre des Forces armées canadiennes ou l’enfant de son conjoint, soit l’enfant d’un citoyen canadien ou d’un résident permanent ou l’enfant de son conjoint.
D. 608-97, a. 1.
2. L’enfant qui n’est pas citoyen canadien et qui séjourne au Québec de façon temporaire parce qu’il est un enfant à charge d’une personne qui n’est pas un citoyen canadien et qui est affectée de façon temporaire au Québec à titre de représentant ou de fonctionnaire d’un pays autre que le Canada ou d’une organisation internationale est exempté de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte si les documents suivants sont produits:
1°  une preuve de l’inscription de cette personne auprès du ministère compétent;
2°  une déclaration sous serment de cette personne attestant la durée prévue de son séjour au Québec, à compter de la date de son arrivée;
3°  un document démontrant que l’enfant est un enfant à charge de cette personne ou de son conjoint.
D. 608-97, a. 2.
3. L’enfant qui séjourne au Québec de façon temporaire parce qu’il est un enfant à charge d’un membre des Forces armées canadiennes qui est affecté de façon temporaire au Québec est exempté de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte, si une déclaration sous serment de l’employeur attestant que ce parent est membre des Forces armées canadiennes et qu’il est affecté de façon temporaire au Québec et un document démontrant que l’enfant est un enfant à charge de ce membre des Forces armées, sont produits.
Cette exemption ne peut excéder 3 ans.
D. 608-97, a. 3.
4. Toute demande d’exemption de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte en raison d’un séjour temporaire au Québec doit être présentée à un organisme scolaire et être accompagnée:
1°  de tout document dont la production est exigée en vertu du présent règlement;
2°  d’un certificat de naissance de l’enfant mentionnant le nom de ses parents ou, à défaut d’un tel certificat, de tout autre document officiel délivré par une autorité compétente et faisant preuve de la date de naissance de l’enfant, de son sexe et de sa filiation.
L’organisme scolaire qui reçoit une demande d’exemption doit la transmettre dans un délai raisonnable, avec les documents requis, à une personne à qui le ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport a conféré le pouvoir de vérifier l’admissibilité des enfants à l’enseignement en anglais et de statuer à ce sujet en vertu de l’article 75 de la Charte.
D. 608-97, a. 4.
5. Lorsqu’une demande d’exemption est incomplète parce que les renseignements ou les documents requis n’ont pas été fournis, la personne désignée doit aviser par écrit la personne qui a fait la demande, en indiquant les renseignements ou les documents manquants et le délai pour remédier à cette insuffisance. Une copie de cet avis est transmis à l’organisme scolaire.
Si les renseignements ou les documents ne sont pas remis dans les 90 jours de la date de la mise à la poste de l’avis, la personne désignée prend une décision selon la demande telle qu’elle lui a été transmise.
D. 608-97, a. 5.
6. La personne désignée communique par écrit, à la personne qui a fait la demande, sa décision quant à l’admissibilité de l’enfant à recevoir l’enseignement en anglais. Si l’enfant est déclaré admissible, la personne désignée délivre une autorisation.
Elle informe, par écrit, l’organisme scolaire de sa décision.
D. 608-97, a. 6.
7. Sous réserve des troisième et quatrième alinéas de l’article 1 et du deuxième alinéa de l’article 3, l’exemption est valide pour la période de validité du certificat d’acceptation ou du permis de travail ou du permis de séjour pour étudiant ou pour la durée du séjour temporaire. Elle cesse d’avoir effet le 30 juin de l’année scolaire au cours de laquelle se termine le séjour temporaire ou, le cas échéant, au cours de laquelle se termine la période maximale de 3 ans prévue aux articles 1 et 3.
L’exemption peut être renouvelée pourvu que soient remplies les mêmes conditions que celles exigées pour la demande initiale.
D. 608-97, a. 7.
8. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur la langue d’enseignement des personnes séjournant de façon temporaire au Québec (D. 2820-84, 84-12-19). Toutefois, une exemption accordée en vertu de ce dernier règlement continue d’avoir effet pour la période pour laquelle elle a été accordée.
D. 608-97, a. 8.
9. (Omis).
D. 608-97, a. 9.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 608-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 2630