B-1, r. 16 - Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas and training of the Barreau du Québec

Full text
chapter B-1, r. 16
Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas and training of the Barreau du Québec
BARREAU — PROFESSIONAL CODE — EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS
Act respecting the Barreau du Québec
(chapter B-1, s. 4).
B-1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, ss. 93, par. c and 94, par. i).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS AND APPLICATIONS FOR EQUIVALENCE
1. The secretary of the equivalences committee shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate wishing to have his training or a diploma issued by an educational instititution outside Québec recognized as equivalent.
In this Regulation,
“diploma equivalence” means the recognition by the equivalences committee that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that a candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by the Government as meeting the requirements for the permit issued by the Barreau du Québec; and
“training equivalence” means the recognition by the equivalences committee that a candidate’s training has enabled him to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by the Government as meeting the requirements for the permit issued by the Barreau du Québec.
O.C. 670-96, s. 1.
2. A candidate applying for a diploma or training equivalence shall provide the secretary of the committee with those of the following documents that are necessary to support his application, together with the fees for the examination of his application prescribed under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26):
(1)  the candidate’s university record and a description of the courses taken, with the number of credits or hours for each course and the marks obtained;
(2)  a list of the candidate’s publications;
(3)  official proof of the diplomas held by the candidate;
(4)  a document attesting to the candidate’s participation in a training session or in any other continuing education or upgrading activity in the field of law;
(5)  official proof that the candidate belongs to 1 or more bars; and
(6)  a document attesting to the candidate’s work experience in the field of law.
O.C. 670-96, s. 2.
3. Documents provided in support of an application and originally written in a language other than French or English shall be accompanied by a French or English translation, attested to by a declaration under oath by the person who made the translation.
O.C. 670-96, s. 3.
4. The secretary shall forward the documents to the members of the committee. At the first meeting following the date of receipt of those documents, the committee shall, after having given the candidate an opportunity to be heard, dispose of the applications in accordance with this Regulation.
O.C. 670-96, s. 4.
5. The committee’s decision shall be sent in writing to the candidate within 60 days following the end of the hearing.
O.C. 670-96, s. 5.
6. A candidate holding a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was issued upon completion of undergraduate or graduate university studies pertaining to legal concepts, rules and institutions substantially similar to those prevailing in Québec and comprising not less than 90 credits or the equivalent, including 45 distributed among the following subjects: civil law, civil procedure, commercial and corporate law, constitutional law, administrative law and criminal and penal law.
O.C. 670-96, s. 6.
7. Notwithstanding section 6, where the diploma in respect of which an equivalence application has been filed was issued 5 or more years prior to the application, a diploma equivalence shall be denied if the legal knowledge of the candidate no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently taught in Québec and acquired by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting permit requirements.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, a diploma equivalence shall be granted if the candidate’s training and work experience have enabled him to attain the required level of knowledge.
O.C. 670-96, s. 7.
8. A training equivalence shall be granted if the candidate demonstrates that his relevant work experience of at least 5 years in the field of law has enabled him to acquire knowledge and skills equivalent to those acquired by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting permit requirements.
O.C. 670-96, s. 8.
9. In appraising whether a candidate’s training is equivalent, the committee shall take into account the following factors in particular:
(1)  the nature and duration of the candidate’s experience;
(2)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more diplomas awarded in Québec or elsewhere;
(3)  the nature and content of the courses taken;
(4)  the training sessions completed; and
(5)  the total number of years of schooling.
O.C. 670-96, s. 9.
10. In appraising whether a candidate’s training is equivalent, the committee shall determine whether the level of knowledge and skills of the candidate corresponds to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting permit requirements who has successfully fulfilled the terms and conditions of the By-law respecting the professional training of advocates (chapter B-1, r. 14); if so, the candidate is deemed to have successfully fulfilled those terms and conditions.
O.C. 670-96, s. 10.
11. When ruling on a candidate’s application for equivalence, the committee may decide
(1)  to recognize the diploma or training equivalence;
(2)  to recognize a partial diploma or training equivalence and inform the candidate of the courses or training sessions that must be successfully completed for the equivalence to be granted; or
(3)  to deny the diploma or training equivalence.
O.C. 670-96, s. 11.
12. A candidate who has new facts to present may apply to the committee for a new hearing.
The committee shall hear the candidate within 60 days following receipt of such an application and, where expedient, shall revise its decision. To that end, the secretary of the committee shall convene the candidate by registered mail not less than 10 days before the date of the hearing.
The committee’s decision shall be sent in writing to the candidate within 60 days following the end of the hearing.
O.C. 670-96, s. 12.
DIVISION 2
EXEMPTION FROM PROFESSIONAL TRAINING AND EXAMINATIONS
13. A candidate who wishes to be exempted from the terms and conditions prescribed in the By-law respecting the professional training of advocates (chapter B-1, r. 14) shall apply therefor to the secretary of the committee and shall provide him with a certificate signed by an officer and establishing
(1)  that he is member of the bar of a State or of another province or territory of Canada; and
(2)  that advocates of Québec benefit from a similar exemption in that State or in that province or territory of Canada, or else that they do not have to complete a professional training program in that place.
The committee’s decision to grant the exemption from professional training shall be sent in writing to the candidate within 15 days following acceptance of the certificate by the committee.
O.C. 670-96, s. 13.
14. A candidate exempt under section 13 may receive an attestation of training equivalence, provided that he passes an examination made up in accordance with this Division to establish whether his level of knowledge and skills corresponds to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting permit requirements.
The examination provided for in this section is intended to measure the level of knowledge of candidates who are members of another bar in order to ensure the protection of the public with a view to the full right to practise the profession of advocate in Québec.
O.C. 670-96, s. 14.
15. Considering the specificity of the legal system in force in Québec, the examination shall comprise 2 parts: one on Québec law and the other on federal law.
O.C. 670-96, s. 15.
16. The examination shall comprise 4 written tests, each lasting 3 hours, pertaining respectively to the subjects described in Schedule I.
Each test shall pertain to the application of substantive law in the context of litigation. More specifically, a test shall consist is solving practical cases inspired by concrete situations.
O.C. 670-96, s. 16.
17. Upon examination of the file, the committee shall exempt the candidate from any part of the examination pertaining to subjects for which the candidate is legally authorized to practise in Québec.
O.C. 670-96, s. 17.
18. The material organization of the examination shall be entrusted to an evaluation subcommittee. That subcommittee shall set up an evaluation team for each test, determine the topics for evaluation and draw up a list of books and other printed material useful in helping the candidate to prepare for the examination. Each evaluation team shall assume the preparation and correction of the test under its responsibility.
The tests shall be organized so as to ensure that the candidates remain anonymous.
Candidates are authorized to use any document they consider useful.
O.C. 670-96, s. 18.
19. Each test is graded on a scale of 100 points. To pass the examination, the candidate shall obtain at least 60% in each test required of him. A certificate of success shall be awarded to him for each test passed.
A candidate who fails a test may apply for revision of his evaluation within 30 days following the date on which the result is forwarded to him.
The revised decision of the committee is final and may not be appealed.
O.C. 670-96, s. 19.
20. A candidate who, after revision, still fails a test required to him may sit again for that test within 3 years following the date of the failure.
O.C. 670-96, s. 20.
21. The committee shall grant an attestation of training equivalence to a candidate who passes all the tests required of him.
O.C. 670-96, s. 21.
22. The examination shall take place at least once a year. The date and place of the tests shall be fixed by the committee, which shall send an individual notice of examination to the candidate at least 3 months before the date of the first test. Where applicable, the notice shall specify the tests from which the candidate is exempt.
O.C. 670-96, s. 22.
DIVISION 3
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
23. Any application sent to the secretary of the committee before 4 July 1996 is deemed to be made in accordance with this Regulation where the candidate has not been heard by the committee before that date.
O.C. 670-96, s. 23.
24. Any candidate in either of the following situations may apply to the committee for a new decision based on the provisions of this Regulation:
(1)  he was granted, before 4 July 1996, a training equivalence and he has not begun or completed his professional training; or
(2)  he has not completed the program of legal studies prescribed by a decision of the General Council rendered before 4 July 1996, under paragraph 2 of section 6 of the Regulation respecting training equivalence standards for the issuance of a permit by the Barreau du Québec (O.C. 140-83, 83-01-26).
O.C. 670-96, s. 24.
25. (Omitted).
O.C. 670-96, s. 25.
26. (Omitted).
O.C. 670-96, s. 26.
LIST OF THE SUBJECTS EVALUATED BY EACH TEST IN THE WRITTEN EXAMINATION
First test: Civil law I and related proceedings, which may include, in particular: persons, successions, property, obligations and the Consumer Protection Act (chapter P-40.1).
Second test: Civil law II and related proceedings, which may include, in particular: nominate contracts, prior claims and hypothecs, evidence, prescription, publication of rights and private international law.
Third test: Québec public (administrative) and labour law and related proceedings.
Fourth test: Federal public law:
(1) distribution of legislative jurisdictions;
(2) Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms;
(3) fiscal law;
(4) criminal law.
O.C. 670-96, Sch. I.
REFERENCES
O.C. 670-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 2723

B-1, r. 16 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation du Barreau du Québec

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre B-1, r. 16
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation du Barreau du Québec
BARREAU — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE
Loi sur le Barreau
(chapitre B-1, a. 4).
B-1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et 94, par. i).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES ET DEMANDE D’ÉQUIVALENCE
1. Le secrétaire du Comité des équivalences transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui désire faire reconnaître l’équivalence d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec ou une équivalence de formation.
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance par le Comité des équivalences qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés d’un candidat est équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par le Barreau du Québec.
«équivalence de formation»: la reconnaissance par le Comité des équivalences que la formation d’un candidat lui a permis d’atteindre un niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés équivalent à celui que possède le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par le Barreau du Québec.
D. 670-96, a. 1.
2. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou une équivalence de formation doit fournir au secrétaire du comité ceux des documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande, accompagnés des frais d’étude de son dossier exigés conformément au paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26):
1°  son dossier universitaire incluant la description des cours suivis, le nombre de crédits ou d’heures s’y rapportant de même que les résultats obtenus;
2°  une liste de ses publications;
3°  une attestation officielle des diplômes dont il est titulaire;
4°  une attestation de sa participation à un stage de formation ou à toute autre activité de formation continue ou de perfectionnement dans le domaine du droit;
5°  une attestation officielle de son appartenance à un ou plusieurs barreaux;
6°  une attestation de son expérience de travail, dans le domaine du droit.
D. 670-96, a. 2.
3. Les documents transmis à l’appui de la demande, qui sont à l’origine rédigés dans une autre langue que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés d’une traduction en langue française ou anglaise, attestée par une déclaration sous serment de la personne qui l’a effectuée.
D. 670-96, a. 3.
4. Le secrétaire transmet les documents aux membres du comité. À la première réunion qui suit la date de la réception de ces documents, le comité, après avoir donné l’occasion au candidat d’être entendu, dispose des demandes conformément au présent règlement.
D. 670-96, a. 4.
5. La décision du comité est transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 60 jours de la date de la fin de l’audition.
D. 670-96, a. 5.
6. Le candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau universitaire de premier, deuxième ou troisième cycle qui portent sur des concepts, règles et institutions juridiques substantiellement semblables à ceux prévalant au Québec et qui comportent un minimum de 90 crédits ou l’équivalent, y compris 45 crédits répartis parmi les matières suivantes: droit civil, procédure civile, droit commercial et corporatif, droit constitutionnel, droit administratif et droit criminel et pénal.
D. 670-96, a. 6.
7. Malgré l’article 6, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant cette demande, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être refusée si les connaissances juridiques du candidat ne correspondent plus à celles présentement enseignées au Québec et acquises par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
Toutefois, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être reconnue si la formation et l’expérience de travail du candidat lui ont permis d’atteindre le niveau de connaissance requis.
D. 670-96, a. 7.
8. Le candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation s’il démontre qu’il possède, au terme d’une expérience pertinente de travail, d’une durée minimale de 5 ans, dans le domaine du droit, des connaissances et des habiletés équivalentes à celles acquises par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 670-96, a. 8.
9. Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de formation, le comité tient compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience;
2°  le fait que le candidat est titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
3°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
4°  les stages de formation effectués;
5°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité.
D. 670-96, a. 9.
10. En appréciant l’équivalence de formation d’un candidat, le comité détermine si le niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés du candidat correspond à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis et ayant complété avec succès les conditions et modalités prévues au Règlement sur la formation professionnelle des avocats (chapitre B-1, r. 14); le cas échéant, ce candidat est réputé avoir complété ces conditions et modalités.
D. 670-96, a. 10.
11. En disposant de la demande d’équivalence d’un candidat, le comité peut décider:
1°  soit de reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation de ce candidat;
2°  soit de reconnaître en partie l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation de ce candidat et l’informer des cours ou des stages qu’il doit suivre avec succès pour obtenir une équivalence;
3°  soit de refuser de reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation de ce candidat.
D. 670-96, a. 11.
12. Le candidat peut demander une nouvelle audition au comité afin de faire valoir des faits nouveaux.
Dans les 60 jours de la réception de cette demande, le comité entend le candidat et, s’il y a lieu, révise sa décision. À cette fin, le secrétaire du comité convoque le candidat par poste recommandée, au moins 10 jours avant la date de l’audition.
La décision du comité est transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 60 jours de la fin de l’audition.
D. 670-96, a. 12; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION 2
EXEMPTION DE FORMATION PROFESSIONNELLE ET TENUE D’EXAMEN
13. Peut être exempté des conditions et modalités prévues au Règlement sur la formation professionnelle des avocats (chapitre B-1, r. 14) le candidat qui en fait la demande au secrétaire du comité et lui fournit un certificat d’un officier établissant:
1°  qu’il est membre du barreau d’un État ou d’une autre province ou d’un territoire du Canada;
2°  que les avocats du Québec bénéficient d’une exemption analogue dans cet État, cette province ou ce territoire du Canada ou, le cas échéant, n’ont pas à y suivre un programme de formation professionnelle.
La décision du comité d’accorder l’exemption de formation professionnelle est transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 15 jours suivant l’acceptation du certificat par le comité.
D. 670-96, a. 13.
14. Le candidat exempté en vertu de l’article 13 peut alors recevoir une attestation d’équivalence de formation, en réussissant un examen déterminé conformément à la présente section, afin d’établir que son niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés correspond à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
L’examen prévu au présent article vise à mesurer le niveau de connaissance des candidats membres d’un autre barreau pour assurer la protection du public dans un contexte de plein droit d’exercice de la profession d’avocat au Québec.
D. 670-96, a. 14.
15. Compte tenu de la spécificité du système juridique en vigueur au Québec, l’examen porte sur 2 volets: le droit québécois et le droit fédéral.
D. 670-96, a. 15.
16. L’examen comprend 4 épreuves écrites d’une durée de 3 heures chacune, portant respectivement sur les matières décrites à l’annexe I.
Chaque épreuve porte sur l’application du droit substantiel dans un contexte contentieux. Plus particulièrement, une épreuve consiste en la solution de cas pratiques inspirés de situations concrètes.
D. 670-96, a. 16.
17. Au vu du dossier, le comité exempte le candidat de toute partie de l’examen qui porte sur des matières pour lesquelles le candidat est légalement habilité à exercer au Québec.
D. 670-96, a. 17.
18. L’organisation matérielle de l’examen est confiée à un sous-comité d’évaluation. Celui-ci voit à constituer une équipe d’évaluation pour chacune des épreuves, à arrêter les sujets d’évaluation et à dresser une liste des ouvrages susceptibles de guider le candidat dans sa préparation à l’examen. Chaque équipe d’évaluation assume la préparation et la correction de l’épreuve dont elle a la charge.
Les épreuves sont organisées de manière à assurer l’anonymat des candidats.
Les candidats sont autorisés à utiliser tout document qu’ils jugent utile.
D. 670-96, a. 18.
19. Chaque épreuve est notée sur 100 points. Pour réussir l’examen, le candidat doit obtenir au moins 60 points à chacune des épreuves auxquelles il est soumis. Pour chaque épreuve réussie, il lui est décerné un certificat de réussite.
En cas d’échec, le candidat peut demander la révision de son évaluation dans les 30 jours suivant la date à laquelle le résultat lui est transmis.
La décision du comité en matière de révision est finale et sans appel.
D. 670-96, a. 19.
20. Le candidat qui, après révision, n’a pas réussi une épreuve à laquelle il devait se soumettre peut reprendre cette épreuve dans les 3 ans à compter de la date de son échec.
D. 670-96, a. 20.
21. Le comité décerne une attestation d’équivalence de formation au candidat qui réussit toutes les épreuves auxquelles il était soumis.
D. 670-96, a. 21.
22. L’examen a lieu au moins une fois l’an. La date et le lieu des épreuves sont fixés par le comité qui envoie une convocation individuelle au candidat au moins 3 mois avant la date de la première épreuve. Le cas échéant, la convocation précise les épreuves dont le candidat est dispensé.
D. 670-96, a. 22.
SECTION 3
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
23. Toute demande transmise au secrétaire du comité avant le 4 juillet 1996 est réputée effectuée conformément au présent règlement lorsque le candidat n’a pas été entendu par le comité avant cette date.
D. 670-96, a. 23.
24. Tout candidat qui est dans l’une des situations suivantes peut demander au comité de rendre une nouvelle décision pour tenir compte des dispositions du présent règlement:
1°  il a bénéficié avant le 4 juillet 1996 d’une équivalence de formation et il n’a pas débuté ou complété sa formation professionnelle;
2°  il n’a pas terminé le programme d’études en droit prescrit par une décision du Conseil général rendue avant le 4 juillet 1996, en vertu du paragraphe 2 de l’article 6 du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de formation pour la délivrance d’un permis du Barreau du Québec (D. 140-83, 83-01-26).
D. 670-96, a. 24.
25. (Omis).
D. 670-96, a. 25.
26. (Omis).
D. 670-96, a. 26.
ANNEXE I
(a. 16)
LISTE DES MATIÈRES ÉVALUÉES PAR CHACUNE DES ÉPREUVES DE L’EXAMEN ÉCRIT
Première épreuve: Droit civil I et procédures afférentes, pouvant porter notamment sur les sujets suivants: personnes, successions, biens, obligations et Loi sur la protection du consommateur (chapitre P-40.1).
Deuxième épreuve: Droit civil II et procédures afférentes, pouvant porter notamment sur les sujets suivants: contrats nommés, priorités et hypothèques, preuve, prescription, publicité et droit international privé.
Troisième épreuve: Droit public (administratif) et du travail québécois et procédures afférentes.
Quatrième épreuve: Droit public fédéral:
1° Partage des compétences législatives;
2° Charte canadienne des droits et libertés;
3° Droit fiscal;
4° Droit criminel.
D. 670-96, Ann. I.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 670-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 3530