B-1, r. 11.1 - Regulation respecting the compensation fund of the Barreau du Québec

Full text
chapter B-1, r. 11.1
Regulation respecting the compensation fund of the Barreau du Québec
BAR — INDEMNITY FUND
Act respecting the Barreau du Québec
(chapter B-1, s. 4).
B-1
Profesionnal Code
(chapter C-26, s. 89.1).
C-26
March 20 2014
DIVISION I
CONSTITUTION OF A COMPENSATION FUND
1. The board of directors of the Barreau du Québec establishes a compensation fund to be used to compensate a claimant following the use by an advocate of funds or property for purposes other than those for which the claimant had entrusted them to the advocate in the practice of his or her profession.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 1; S.Q. 2014, c. 13, s. 26.
2. The compensation fund is maintained at a minimum amount of $2,000,000.
It consists of
(1)  sums allocated to the fund by the board of directors;
(2)  assessments fixed for that purpose by the board of directors;
(3)  funds or property or sums recovered from an advocate by subrogation pursuant to section 89.1 or 159 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) following a payment made from the fund;
(4)  income earned on the funds and property constituting the fund; and
(5)  sums which may be paid by an insurer under a group insurance policy subscribed by the Bar for all its members.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 2; S.Q. 2014, c. 13, s. 26.
DIVISION II
RULES FOR THE ADMINISTRATION AND INVESTMENT OF THE SUMS OF THE COMPENSATION FUND
3. The executive committee of the Barreau du Québec administers the compensation fund and withdraws therefrom administration fees. The committee is authorized to enter into any insurance contract for the purposes of the fund and to pay the premiums from the fund.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 3.
4. The accounting for the fund must be kept separate from the accounting of the other funds of the Bar.
The sums constituting the fund are invested by the executive committee as follows:
(1)  the portion of the sums the executive committee intends to use on a short-term basis is deposited in a financial institution governed by the Trust Companies and Savings Companies Act (chapter S-29.02), the Bank Act (S.C. 1991, c. 46), the Act respecting financial services cooperatives (chapter C-67.3) or the Trust and Loan Companies Act (S.C. 1991, c. 45);
(2)  the other portion is constituted of investments presumed sound, within the meaning of article 1339 of the Civil Code, made in accordance with the investment policy of the executive committee and principles of the Civil Code applicable to such investments.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 4.
DIVISION III
COMPENSATION FUND COMMITTEE
5. The compensation fund committee, formed by the board of directors under paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), examines the claims against the fund, makes recommendations to the executive committee for claims exceeding $50,000 and decide claims not exceeding $50,000.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 5; S.Q. 2014, c. 13, s. 26.
6. The committee is composed of at least 10 members appointed by the board of directors, 9 of whom are chosen from among advocates practising in accordance with the eligibility criteria of members of statutory committees established by the board of directors, and 1 chosen from among the directors appointed to the board of directors by the Office des professions du Québec pursuant to section 78 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
The chair and the secretary of the committee are appointed by the board of directors. The secretary is by virtue of office a member of the committee.
At least 7 members are a quorum of the committee.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 6; S.Q. 2014, c. 13, s. 26.
7. The committee may sit in divisions consisting of 3 members, including the chair or a member of the committee designated by the chair to chair the division.
The decisions are made by a majority of members of the division.
Two members designated by the chair may sit to decide a claim not exceeding $50,000, where the claim is not subject to representations by the parties concerned.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 7.
DIVISION IV
COMPENSATION PROCEDURE
8. A claim against the compensation fund must
(1)  be submitted in writing;
(2)  state all facts in support of the claim and be accompanied by all relevant documents;
(3)  indicate the amount claimed; and
(4)  be sworn and filed with the secretary of the compensation fund committee.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 8.
9. To be admissible, a claim against the fund must be filed within 12 months of the claimant becoming aware that the funds or property have been used for purposes other than those for which they were entrusted to the advocate in the practice of his or her profession.
The period provided for in the first paragraph may be extended by the executive committee or, where applicable, by the compensation fund committee if the claimant shows that, for a reason beyond the claimant’s control, he or she was unable to fill the claim within the prescribed period.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 9.
10. A request made by any person to the Bar with regard to facts likely to give rise to a claim against the fund is deemed to be a claim against the fund if the request is submitted within the period referred to in section 9.
The examination of the claim begins only when the terms and conditions provided for in section 8 are met.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 10.
11. A decision of the disciplinary council which obliges an advocate to remit a sum of money under subparagraph d of the first paragraph of section 156 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) is deemed to be a claim against the fund, if the request for an inquiry under section 122 of the Professional Code was filed with the office of the syndic within the period prescribed in section 9.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 11.
12. The compensation fund committee, when making an inquiry regarding a claim, must allow the parties concerned to make representations when so requested.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 12.
13. The maximum compensation payable from the fund is established to $500,000 for all claims concerning an advocate and $100,000 by claimant in respect of such advocate.
Where the total of the claims filed against an advocate and accepted by the executive committee or the compensation fund committee exceeds the maximum compensation provided for in the first paragraph, the maximum compensation is paid to the claimants in proportion to the amount of the claims accepted.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 13.
14. Where the executive committee believes that claims in excess of $500,000 may be filed against an advocate, it must suspend the payment of compensations until it has reviewed all claims concerning the advocate. The executive committee must
(1)  publish, in a newspaper of the region where the professional domicile of the advocate is or was located, a notice in which the Bar invites any persons to inform the Bar of claims for which a compensation is likely to be paid in accordance with this Regulation; or
(2)  draw an inventory of the funds or property entrusted to the advocate and notify in writing the persons likely to file a claim.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 14.
15. The secretary of the compensation fund committee informs members of the compensation fund committee of any claim against the fund at the first meeting after a claim is filed. The secretary also informs the executive committee when the amount of the claim exceeds $50,000.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 15.
16. The compensation fund committee decides, with regard to any claim against the fund not exceeding $50,000, whether it is expedient to accept the claim, in whole or in part, and, where applicable, it determines the compensation.
Its substantiated decision is final.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 16.
17. The executive committee, upon the duly motivated recommendation of the compensation fund committee, decides, with regard to any claim against the fund exceeding $50,000, whether it is expedient to accept the claim, in whole or in part, and, where applicable, it determines the compensation.
Its substantiated decision is final.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 17.
18. Where the compensation fund committee and the executive committee are each seized of one or more claims against the same advocate and that the claims are related, the compensation fund committee reserves its decision until the executive committee decides which claim or claims it is seized, unless the executive committee delegates the claim or claims to the compensation fund committee for decision.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 18.
19. Upon recommendation of the executive committee, the board of directors may pay compensation in excess of the amount prescribed in section 13 under special circumstances justified by humanitarian considerations.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 19; S.Q. 2014, c. 13, s. 26.
20. To receive the compensation determined by the executive committee or, where applicable, by the compensation fund committee, the claimant must sign an acquittance in favour of the Barreau du Québec with subrogation of all rights in respect of the claim against the offending member, the member’s successors, or any person, partnership or company or legal person that is bound or may be bound to make the payment, up to the amount of the compensation.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 20.
DIVISION V
TRANSITORY AND FINAL
21. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the indemnity fund of the Barreau du Québec (chapter B-1, r. 11), which continues to apply to claims filed before 20 March 2014.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 21.
22. The compensation fund referred to in section 1 consists of the funds and property allocated to the fund on 20 March 2014.
O.C. 144-2014, s. 22.
23. (Omitted).
O.C. 144-2014, s. 23.
REFERENCES
O.C. 144-2014, 2014 G.O. 2, 571
S.Q. 2014, c. 13, s. 26
S.Q. 2018, c. 23, s. 811

B-1, r. 11.1 - Règlement sur le fonds d’indemnisation du Barreau du Québec

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre B-1, r. 11.1
Règlement sur le fonds d’indemnisation du Barreau du Québec
BARREAU — FONDS D’INDEMNISATION
Loi sur le Barreau
(chapitre B-1, a. 4).
B-1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 89.1).
C-26
20 mars 2014
SECTION I
ÉTABLISSEMENT DU FONDS D’INDEMNISATION
1. Le Conseil d’administration du Barreau du Québec établit un fonds d’indemnisation devant servir à indemniser un réclamant à la suite de l’utilisation par un avocat de sommes ou de biens à d’autres fins que celles pour lesquelles le réclamant les lui avait remis dans l’exercice de sa profession.
D. 144-2014, a. 1; L.Q. 2014, c. 13, a. 26.
2. Le fonds d’indemnisation est maintenu à un montant minimal de 2 000 000 $.
Il est constitué:
1°  des sommes que le Conseil d’administration y affecte;
2°  des cotisations fixées à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration;
3°  des sommes ou des biens récupérés d’un avocat en vertu d’une subrogation prévue à l’article 89.1 ou à l’article 159 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) à la suite d’un paiement fait à même ce fonds;
4°  des revenus produits par les sommes et les biens constituant ce fonds;
5°  des sommes qui peuvent être versées par un assureur en vertu d’une police d’assurance collective souscrite par le Barreau pour l’ensemble de ses membres.
D. 144-2014, a. 2; L.Q. 2014, c. 13, a. 26.
SECTION II
RÈGLES D’ADMINISTRATION ET DE PLACEMENT DES MONTANTS DU FONDS D’INDEMNISATION
3. Le comité exécutif du Barreau du Québec gère le fonds d’indemnisation et y prélève des frais relatifs à son administration. Le comité est notamment autorisé à conclure tout contrat d’assurance pour les fins du fonds et à en acquitter les primes à même ce fonds.
D. 144-2014, a. 3.
4. La comptabilité tenue pour le fonds est distincte de celle des autres fonds du Barreau.
Les sommes constituant le fonds sont placées par le comité exécutif de la façon suivante:
1°  la partie des sommes que le comité exécutif prévoit utiliser à court terme est déposée dans un établissement financier régi par la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne (chapitre S-29.01), par la Loi sur les banques (L.C. 1991, c. 46), par la Loi sur les coopératives de services financiers (chapitre C-67.3) ou par la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt (L.C. 1991, c. 45);
2°  l’autre partie est constituée de placements présumés sûrs, au sens de l’article 1339 du Code civil, effectués conformément à la politique de placement du comité exécutif et aux principes de ce code applicables à de tels placements.
D. 144-2014, a. 4.
SECTION III
COMITÉ DU FONDS D’INDEMNISATION
5. Le comité du fonds d’indemnisation, formé par le Conseil d’administration en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), est chargé d’enquêter sur les réclamations déposées au fonds, de formuler une recommandation au comité exécutif pour les réclamations excédant 50 000 $ et de décider des réclamations n’excédant pas 50 000 $.
D. 144-2014, a. 5; L.Q. 2014, c. 13, a. 26.
6. Le comité est formé d’au moins 10 membres nommés par le Conseil d’administration, dont 9 choisis parmi les avocats en exercice selon les critères d’éligibilité des membres des comités statutaires établis par le Conseil d’administration, et 1 choisi parmi les administrateurs nommés au Conseil d’administration par l’Office des professions du Québec en vertu de l’article 78 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
Le président et le secrétaire du comité sont désignés par le Conseil d’administration. Le secrétaire est membre d’office du comité.
Le quorum du comité est constitué d’au moins 7 membres.
D. 144-2014, a. 6; L.Q. 2014, c. 13, a. 26.
7. Le comité peut siéger en division composée de 3 membres dont le président ou un autre membre du comité désigné comme président de division par le président du comité.
Les décisions prises par une division le sont à la majorité.
Toutefois, le comité peut siéger à 2 membres désignés par le président pour décider d’une réclamation qui n’excède pas 50 000 $ lorsque celle-ci ne fait pas l’objet de représentations de la part des parties concernées.
D. 144-2014, a. 7.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE D’INDEMNISATION
8. Une réclamation au fonds d’indemnisation doit:
1°  être faite par écrit;
2°  exposer les faits à son appui et être accompagnée de tous les documents pertinents;
3°  indiquer le montant réclamé;
4°  être assermentée et déposée auprès du secrétaire du comité du fonds d’indemnisation.
D. 144-2014, a. 8.
9. Pour être recevable, une réclamation au fonds doit être déposée dans les 12 mois de la connaissance par le réclamant de l’utilisation des sommes ou des biens à des fins autres que celles pour lesquelles ils avaient été remis à l’avocat dans l’exercice de sa profession.
Le délai prévu au premier alinéa peut être prolongé par le comité exécutif ou, le cas échéant, par le comité du fonds d’indemnisation si le réclamant démontre que, pour une raison indépendante de sa volonté, il n’a pu déposer sa réclamation dans le délai requis.
D. 144-2014, a. 9.
10. Une demande faite au Barreau par toute personne, relativement à des faits susceptibles d’entraîner une réclamation au fonds, est réputée être une réclamation au fonds, si la demande a été transmise dans le délai prévu à l’article 9.
Toutefois, l’examen de cette réclamation ne débute que lorsque les conditions prévues à l’article 8 sont satisfaites.
D. 144-2014, a. 10.
11. La décision du conseil de discipline qui impose à un avocat l’obligation de remettre une somme d’argent conformément au paragraphe d du premier alinéa de l’article 156 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) est réputée être une réclamation au fonds, si la demande d’enquête en vertu de l’article 122 du Code des professions a été transmise au bureau du syndic dans le délai prévu à l’article 9.
D. 144-2014, a. 11.
12. Le comité du fonds d’indemnisation, lorsqu’il enquête au sujet d’une réclamation, doit permettre aux parties concernées qui en font la demande de faire des représentations.
D. 144-2014, a. 12.
13. L’indemnité maximale payable à même le fonds est établie à 500 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamants concernant un avocat et à 100 000 $ par réclamant par rapport à cet avocat.
Lorsque le total des réclamations acceptées par le comité exécutif ou le comité du fonds d’indemnisation concernant un avocat excède l’indemnité maximale prévue au premier alinéa, celle-ci est répartie entre les réclamants au prorata du montant des réclamations acceptées.
D. 144-2014, a. 13.
14. Lorsque le comité exécutif croit que des réclamations excédant 500 000 $ peuvent être présentées pour un avocat, il doit suspendre le versement des indemnités jusqu’à ce que l’ensemble des réclamations concernant cet avocat soit évalué. Il doit, selon le cas:
1°  faire publier, dans un journal de la région où l’avocat a ou avait son domicile professionnel, un avis dans lequel le Barreau invite toute personne à lui faire connaître les réclamations susceptibles de donner lieu à une indemnisation conformément au présent règlement;
2°  faire dresser un inventaire des sommes ou des biens confiés à cet avocat et aviser par écrit les personnes susceptibles de déposer une réclamation.
D. 144-2014, a. 14.
15. Le secrétaire du comité du fonds d’indemnisation informe les membres du comité du fonds d’indemnisation de toute réclamation au fonds à la première réunion suivant son dépôt. Il en informe également le comité exécutif lorsque le montant de la réclamation excède 50 000 $.
D. 144-2014, a. 15.
16. Le comité du fonds d’indemnisation décide, à l’égard de toute réclamation au fonds dont le montant n’excède pas 50 000 $, s’il y a lieu d’y faire droit, en tout ou en partie et, le cas échéant, il en fixe l’indemnité.
Sa décision motivée est finale.
D. 144-2014, a. 16.
17. Le comité exécutif, sur recommandation motivée du comité du fonds d’indemnisation, décide, à l’égard de toute réclamation au fonds qui excède 50 000 $, s’il y a lieu d’y faire droit, en tout ou en partie et, le cas échéant, il en fixe l’indemnité.
Sa décision motivée est finale.
D. 144-2014, a. 17.
18. Lorsque le comité du fonds d’indemnisation et le comité exécutif sont chacun saisis d’une ou de plusieurs réclamations concernant un même avocat et que ces réclamations ont un lien de connexité, le comité du fonds d’indemnisation réserve sa décision jusqu’à ce que le comité exécutif ait décidé de la ou des réclamations dont il est saisi, à moins que le comité exécutif la ou les délègue au comité du fonds d’indemnisation pour décision.
D. 144-2014, a. 18.
19. Sur recommandation du comité exécutif, le Conseil d’administration peut verser une indemnité supérieure au montant prévu à l’article 13 dans des circonstances exceptionnelles motivées par des considérations humanitaires.
D. 144-2014, a. 19; L.Q. 2014, c. 13, a. 26.
20. Avant de recevoir l’indemnité fixée par le comité exécutif ou, le cas échéant, par le comité du fonds d’indemnisation, le réclamant doit signer une quittance en faveur du Barreau du Québec avec subrogation dans tous les droits concernant sa réclamation contre le membre fautif, ses ayants cause et toute personne, société ou personne morale qui est ou pourrait être tenue à ce paiement, jusqu’à concurrence du montant de l’indemnité.
D. 144-2014, a. 20.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
21. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur le fonds d’indemnisation du Barreau du Québec (chapitre B-1, r. 11), lequel continue de s’appliquer aux réclamations déposées avant le 20 mars 2014.
D. 144-2014, a. 21.
22. Le fonds d’indemnisation visé à l’article 1 est constitué des sommes et des biens déjà affectés à cette fin au 20 mars 2014.
D. 144-2014, a. 22.
23. (Omis).
D. 144-2014, a. 23.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 144-2014, 2014 G.O. 2, 859
L.Q. 2014, c. 13, a. 26