A-6.001, r. 10 - Regulation respecting the replacement of certificates evidencing the existence of bonds or other debt securities

Table of contents
Full text
chapter A-6.001, r. 10
Regulation respecting the replacement of certificates evidencing the existence of bonds or other debt securities
FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION — REPLACEMENT OF CERTIFICATES EVIDENCING THE EXISTENCE OF BONDS
Financial Administration Act
(chapter A-6.001, s. 67)
A-6.001
September 1 2012
1. Unless the context indicates otherwise, in this Regulation:
(0.1)  “paymaster” or “redemption agent” means a bank or a credit union that has made a service agreement with the Minister of Finance respecting the payment or encashment of bonds or other debt securities;
(1)  “bank” means a bank listed in Schedule I or II to the Bank Act (S.C. 1991, c. 46);
(2)  “credit union” means a credit union or a federation of credit unions that is a financial services cooperative governed by the Act respecting financial services cooperatives (chapter C-67.3);
(3)  “surety” means the guarantee company, its legal representatives, successors and assigns;
(4)  “secured party” means the Gouvernement du Québec, the registrar, transfer agent, chief paymaster, their legal representatives, successors and assigns;
(5)  “redemption” means the reimbursement of principal or payment of interest on a matured security;
(6)  “owner” means the owner of the security, his legal representatives, successors and assigns;
(7)  “replacement” means the issuing and delivery of a security identical to a security that has been damaged, lost, stolen or destroyed;
(8)  “Treasury Bill rate” means the cost of borrowing to the Gouvernement du Québec expressed as an annual rate on its 91-day Treasury Bills issued at a discount;
(9)  “security” means a bond or other security issued in respect of a loan made under Chapter VII of the Financial Administration Act (chapter A-6.001).
O.C. 1261-85, s. 1; O.C. 1048-88, s. 1.
2. This Regulation applies to the replacement or redemption of a security that has been damaged, lost, stolen or destroyed after its initial delivery.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 2.
3. A person who wishes to obtain the replacement or redemption for himself or on behalf of another of a security that has been lost, stolen or destroyed must provide the following documents:
(1)  a notice in writing to the Ministère des Finances advising it of the loss, theft or destruction, supplying the particulars prescribed in section 4 and addressed to: Direction du financement des organismes publics et de la documentation financière;
(2)  an affidavit before a legally qualified person that includes the particulars required by section 5; and
(3)  a suretyship or a guarantee granted by a guarantee company duly registered with the Autorité des marchés financiers and having a business establishment in Québec or, in exceptional cases where this Regulation so allows, a declaration of responsibility providing for the undertakings prescribed in sections 6 and 7.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 3; O.C. 1048-88, s. 2.
4. The notice prescribed by paragraph 1 of section 3 must include the following particulars:
(1)  the name and address of the person giving notice;
(2)  his capacity;
(3)  the name and address of the owner of the lost, stolen or destroyed security;
(4)  a description of the lost, stolen or destroyed security, indicating the serial number, maturity date, interest rate, face value and the numbers of any attached coupons;
(5)  the approximate date, place and circumstances of the loss, theft or destruction.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 4.
5. The affidavit required under paragraph 2 of section 3 must include the following particulars:
(1)  the name and address of the person making the affidavit;
(2)  his capacity;
(3)  the name and address of the owner of the lost, stolen or destroyed security;
(4)  a statement to the effect that the security reported as lost, stolen or destroyed has not been in any way sold, transferred, assigned, exchanged, alienated, seized, confiscated, hypothecated or otherwise charged;
(5)  a statement to the effect that in spite of a thorough search the security cannot be located and is not likely to ever be found;
(6)  an undertaking to the effect that if the lost, stolen or destroyed security should ever come into the possession or control of the person making the affidavit, it will immediately be returned to the Minister; and
(7)  acknowledgement by the person making the affidavit that replacement or redemption of the security is made on the strength of his statement and that without it, the Minister would not have consented to the replacement or redemption.
Where the person making the statement is not the owner of the security for which replacement or redemption is requested, he must enclose the original or a certified copy of the document evidencing his capacity.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 5.
6. The suretyship required under paragraph 3 of section 3 must provide that:
(1)  the owner of the lost, stolen or destroyed security and the surety undertake and bind themselves solidarily, without reservation, to pay the secured parties, according to their respective interest, an amount of money at least equal to the face value of the lost, stolen or destroyed security for which the replacement or redemption is requested;
(2)  the surety acknowledges that it is bound totally and unconditionally to the secured parties regardless of the correctness of representations made by the owner;
(4)  the owner and the surety acknowledge that the secured parties may collectively or individually without any intervention on the part of the others have the suretyship enforced;
(5)  the surety waives the benefits of discussion and division; and
(6)  the suretyship is irrevocable and remains in full force and effect until such time as:
(a)  the owner or the surety, in the event that the security is reported lost, stolen or destroyed should be located or found to be under the control or in the possession of one of them or of any other person, returns the security or causes it to be returned to any of the secured parties;
(b)  the owner or the surety pays the full face value of the security; or
(c)  the owner and the surety assume the defense of the secured parties against any claim, action or proceeding, whether well-founded or not and of whatever nature, and indemnity them for any amount of principal, interest, costs, fees or other expenses which any secured party might be called upon to pay following resulting from the loss, theft or destruction of the security, its replacement or redemption, the claim of any third party to rights over the lost, stolen or destroyed security, or for any other reason whether directly or indirectly, through oversight, accident, forgetfulness or neglect on the part of any of the secured parties or their respective agents, officers or employees.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 6.
7. The declaration of responsibility required under paragraph 3 of section 3 must provide that:
(1)  the owner of the lost, stolen or destroyed security relieves the Gouvernement du Québec from responsibility toward anyone including himself that might result directly or indirectly from the replacement or redemption of a security reported lost, stolen or destroyed, from a claim by any third party to rights over such a security or from any other source directly or indirectly related to the loss, theft or destruction of the security for which replacement or redemption is requested, whether by oversight, accident, forgetfulness or neglect on the part of the Gouvernement du Québec or any of its agents, officers or employees; and
(2)  the owner undertakes to indemnity, on request, the Gouvernement du Québec for any amount of principal, interest, costs, fees or other expenses which it might be called upon to pay following or resulting from any claim, action or other proceeding brought by anyone against it and arising directly or indirectly from the circumstances described in paragraph 1.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 7.
8. Where a bank or credit union requests the replacement or redemption of a lost, stolen or destroyed security, the Minister shall accept a declaration of responsibility in accordance with section 7 instead of the suretyship required under paragraph 3 of section 3.
The same applies where a person requests the replacement or redemption of a registered security lost, stolen or destroyed, or where total claims filed by a person on his own behalf during the 12 months prior to the request for replacement or redemption of a lost, stolen or destroyed security do not exceed $250, or in the case of a savings bond.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 8.
9. The Minister shall replace or redeem a lost, stolen or destroyed security after obtaining the documents required by this Regulation. For a savings bond, the Minister has 12 months in the case of the holder and 3 months in the case of a paymaster from the time of receipt of the first document required, to make payment.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 9.
10. In the case of a security damaged, lost, stolen or destroyed during the 12 months before its maturity and which is reimbursed after maturity, the Minister shall pay interest for the period following maturity until the date of reimbursement at the lesser of the following rates:
(1)  the annual rate of interest the security bears; and
(2)  the arithmetical average of the Treasury Bill rate for bills issued by the Gouvernement du Québec from the date of maturity of the damaged, lost, stolen or destroyed security to the date its principal is reimbursed.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 10.
11. A matured interest coupon that was lost or stolen while in the possession of a holder or his mandatary, legal representative, depositary or successor may not be redeemed.
Where a coupon has been lost or stolen after being cashed, the Minister shall pay the value of the coupon to the paymaster or redemption agent who cashed it. The Minister shall make the payment after obtaining all the documents required by this Regulation and upon the expiry of 3 months from the time of receipt of the notice prescribed in paragraph 1 of section 3.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 11; O.C. 1048-88, s. 3.
12. A person requesting the replacement or redemption of a damaged security for himself or on behalf of another, must:
(1)  give notice in writing to the Minister at the address indicated in paragraph 1 of section 3, with the following particulars:
(a)  the person’s name and address;
(b)  his capacity;
(c)  the name and address of the owner of the damaged security;
(d)  the approximate date, place and circumstances of the damage to the security; and
(2)  enclose the damaged security or any remnant thereof with the notice.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 12.
13. The Minister shall replace or redeem a damaged security after obtaining the documents required by this Regulation.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 13.
14. Sections 12 and 13 apply only in the case of a security whose intact surface is more than 50% of the total area of an identical security of the same issue and showing the face value, serial number and the handwritten signature required under the terms of the issue or, in the case of a savings bond, the official stamp of the issuing agent and in the case of an interest coupon where the intact portion is limited to the part bearing “Province de Québec” or “Québec”, the serial number of the relevant security and the date of maturity of the coupon or its number.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 14.
15. A person requesting the replacement or redemption of a security damaged, lost, stolen or destroyed may use the forms supplied by the Minister for this purpose.
O.C. 1261-85, s. 15.
16. This Regulation replaces the General Regulation respecting the replacement of damaged, lost, stolen or destroyed securities and the payment of interest or capital to their holders (O.C. 372-82, 82-02-24).
O.C. 1261-85, s. 16.
17. (Omitted).
O.C. 1261-85, s. 17.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1261-85, 1985 G.O. 2, 2159
O.C. 1048-88, 1988 G.O. 2, 2828

A-6.001, r. 10 - Règlement sur le remplacement de certificats d’obligations ou d’autres titres d’emprunt

Texte complet
chapitre A-6.001, r. 10
Règlement sur le remplacement de certificats d’obligations ou d’autres titres d’emprunt
ADMINISTRATION FINANCIÈRE — REMPLACEMENT DE CERTIFICATS D’OBLIGATIONS
Loi sur l’administration financière
(chapitre A-6.001, a. 67)
A-6.001
1er septembre 2012
1. Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par:
0.1°  «agent payeur» ou «agent de remboursement»: une banque ou une caisse ayant conclu avec le ministre des Finances une convention de services relativement au paiement ou à l’encaissement d’obligations ou autres titres d’emprunt;
1°  «banque»: une banque mentionnée à l’annexe I ou à l’annexe II de la Loi sur les banques (L.C. 1991, c. 46);
2°  «caisse»: une caisse ou une fédération de caisses qui constituent des coopératives de services financiers régies par la Loi sur les coopératives de services financiers (chapitre C-67.3);
3°  «caution»: la compagnie de cautionnement ou de garantie, ses représentants légaux, successeurs et ayants droit;
4°  «garantis»: le gouvernement du Québec, le registraire, l’agent de transfert, l’agent payeur principal, leurs représentants légaux, successeurs et ayants droit;
5°  «paiement»: le remboursement de capital ou le versement d’intérêts se rapportant à un titre échu;
6°  «propriétaire»: le propriétaire du titre, ses représentants légaux, successeurs et ayants droit;
7°  «remplacement»: l’émission et la transmission d’un titre identique au titre endommagé, perdu, volé ou détruit;
8°  «taux des bons du trésor»: l’expression sous forme d’un taux annuel du coût d’emprunt supporté par le gouvernement du Québec suite à l’émission à escompte de ses bons du trésor comportant un terme de 91 jours;
9°  «titre»: une obligation ou autre valeur émise relativement à un emprunt effectué en vertu du chapitre VII de la Loi sur l’administration financière (chapitre A-6.001).
D. 1261-85, a. 1; D. 1048-88, a. 1.
2. Le présent règlement s’applique au remplacement ou au paiement d’un titre endommagé, perdu, volé ou détruit subséquemment à sa livraison initiale.
D. 1261-85, a. 2.
3. Une personne désirant obtenir, pour elle-même ou pour le compte d’autrui, le remplacement ou le paiement d’un titre perdu, volé ou détruit, doit fournir les documents suivants:
1°  un avis écrit au ministère des Finances l’informant de la perte, du vol ou de la destruction, donnant les informations indiquées à l’article 4 et adressé à la Direction du financement des organismes publics et de la documentation financière;
2°  une déclaration sous serment faite devant une personne légalement habilitée à la recevoir, contenant les éléments requis à l’article 5;
3°  un cautionnement ou une garantie consentie par une entité oeuvrant dans ce domaine, dûment inscrite auprès de l’Autorité des marchés financiers et ayant un établissement d’entreprise au Québec, ou exceptionnellement lorsque le présent règlement l’autorise, une déclaration de responsabilité prévoyant les engagements décrits respectivement aux articles 6 et 7.
D. 1261-85, a. 3; D. 1048-88, a. 2.
4. L’avis prévu au paragraphe 1 de l’article 3 doit contenir les informations suivantes:
1°  le nom et l’adresse de la personne donnant l’avis;
2°  la qualité en vertu de laquelle elle agit;
3°  le nom et l’adresse du propriétaire du titre perdu, volé ou détruit;
4°  la description du titre perdu, volé ou détruit, indiquant le numéro de série, la date d’échéance, le taux d’intérêt, la valeur nominale, les numéros des coupons qui y sont rattachés;
5°  la date approximative, l’endroit et les circonstances de la perte, du vol ou de la destruction.
D. 1261-85, a. 4.
5. La déclaration requise conformément au paragraphe 2 de l’article 3, doit contenir les éléments suivants:
1°  le nom et l’adresse du déclarant;
2°  la qualité en vertu de laquelle le déclarant agit;
3°  le nom et l’adresse du propriétaire du titre perdu, volé ou détruit;
4°  une affirmation à l’effet que le titre rapporté perdu, volé ou détruit n’a été d’aucune manière vendu, transféré, cédé, échangé, aliéné, saisi, confisqué, hypothéqué ou autrement grevé d’une charge quelconque;
5°  une déclaration à l’effet que, malgré des recherches sérieuses, le titre demeure introuvable et qu’il ne sera vraisemblablement jamais retrouvé;
6°  un engagement à l’effet que si le titre rapporté perdu, volé ou détruit venait en la possession ou sous la garde du déclarant, il serait immédiatement retourné au ministre;
7°  une reconnaissance de la part du déclarant que le remplacement ou le paiement du titre est fait sur la foi de sa déclaration et que, sans cette déclaration, le ministre n’aurait pas procédé au remplacement ou au paiement du titre.
Lorsque le déclarant n’est pas propriétaire du titre dont le remplacement ou le paiement est demandé, il doit joindre à sa déclaration l’original ou une copie conforme du document attestant la qualité en vertu de laquelle il agit.
D. 1261-85, a. 5.
6. Le cautionnement exigé conformément au paragraphe 3 de l’article 3 doit contenir les stipulations suivantes:
1°  le propriétaire du titre perdu, volé ou détruit et la caution s’engagent solidairement et sans réserve envers les garantis à leur verser, selon leur intérêt respectif, une somme d’argent au moins égale à la valeur nominale du titre perdu, volé ou détruit dont le remplacement ou le paiement est demandé;
2°  la caution reconnaît qu’elle est liée, d’une façon totale et absolue, envers les garantis sans égard à l’exactitude des représentations qui lui ont été faites par le propriétaire;
3°  le propriétaire et la caution renoncent à tout droit ou à toute réclamation quels qu’ils soient contre les garantis ou l’un d’entre eux, pouvant résulter directement ou indirectement de la mise à exécution du cautionnement;
4°  le propriétaire et la caution reconnaissent que les garantis, collectivement ou n’importe lequel d’entre eux sans l’intervention des autres peuvent poursuivre l’exécution du cautionnement;
5°  la caution renonce aux bénéfices de discussion et de division;
6°  le cautionnement est irrévocable et garde son plein effet jusqu’à la première des éventualités suivantes:
a)  le propriétaire ou la caution, au cas où le titre rapporté perdu, volé ou détruit serait retrouvé ou tomberait en la garde ou en la possession de l’un d’entre eux ou de quelque autre personne, remette ou fasse remettre ce titre aux garantis ou à l’un d’entre eux;
b)  le propriétaire ou la caution paie la pleine valeur nominale de ce titre;
c)  le propriétaire et la caution assument la défense des garantis contre toute réclamation, action ou poursuite, bien fondée ou non et de quelque nature qu’elle soit, et les indemnisent de toute somme en capital, intérêt, frais, honoraires et autres dépenses que les garantis, ou l’un d’entre eux, pourraient être appelés à payer à la suite de ou en conséquence de la perte, du vol ou de la destruction du titre, du remplacement ou du paiement du titre perdu volé ou détruit, de la réclamation de toute tierce partie prétendant avoir des droits sur le titre perdu, volé ou détruit, ou pour tout autre motif quelconque que ce soit directement ou indirectement par inadvertance, accident, oubli ou négligence de la part des garantis ou de l’un d’entre eux ou de la part de leurs agents, dirigeants ou employés respectifs.
D. 1261-85, a. 6.
7. La déclaration de responsabilité exigée conformément au paragraphe 3 de l’article 3 doit contenir les stipulations suivantes:
1°  le propriétaire du titre perdu, volé ou détruit, dégage le gouvernement du Québec de toute responsabilité à l’égard de quiconque, incluant lui-même, pouvant résulter directement ou indirectement du remplacement ou du paiement d’un titre rapporté perdu, volé ou détruit, de la réclamation de toute tierce partie prétendant avoir des droits sur un tel titre, ou de toute autre source quelconque liée directement ou indirectement à la perte, au vol ou à la destruction du titre dont le remplacement ou le paiement est demandé que ce soit par inadvertance, accident, oubli ou négligence de la part du gouvernement du Québec ou de l’un de ses agents, dirigeants ou employés;
2°  le propriétaire s’engage à indemniser, sur demande, le gouvernement du Québec de toute somme en capital, intérêt, frais, honoraires ou autre dépense que ce dernier pourrait être appelé à payer à la suite de ou en conséquence de toute réclamation, action ou autre poursuite faite ou intentée par quiconque contre lui et découlant directement ou indirectement de ce qui est énoncé au paragraphe 1.
D. 1261-85, a. 7.
8. Lorsqu’une banque ou une caisse demande le remplacement ou le paiement d’un titre perdu, volé ou détruit, le ministre accepte une déclaration de responsabilité conforme à l’article 7 à la place du cautionnement exigé conformément au paragraphe 3 de l’article 3.
Il en est de même lorsqu’une personne demande le remplacement ou le paiement d’un titre nominatif perdu, volé ou détruit ou lorsque le total des réclamations produites par une même personne, pour son propre compte, au cours des 12 mois précédant une demande de remplacement ou de paiement d’un titre perdu, volé ou détruit, n’excède pas 250 $ ou lorsqu’il s’agit d’une obligation d’épargne.
D. 1261-85, a. 8.
9. Le ministre procède au remplacement ou au paiement d’un titre perdu, volé ou détruit lorsqu’il a obtenu les documents requis en vertu du présent règlement. Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’agit d’une obligation d’épargne, le ministre dispose d’un délai de 12 mois pour en effectuer le paiement, dans le cas d’un détenteur ou de 3 mois dans le cas d’un agent payeur, ces délais étant calculés à compter de la date de production au ministre du premier document requis.
D. 1261-85, a. 9.
10. Pour un titre endommagé, perdu, volé ou détruit au cours des 12 mois précédant sa date d’échéance et dont le remboursement est effectué après cette date, le ministre paie de l’intérêt pour la période de temps écoulée entre la date d’échéance et le remboursement selon le moindre des taux suivants:
1°  le taux annuel auquel ce titre porte intérêt;
2°  le taux correspond à la moyenne arithmétique des taux des bons du trésor émis par le gouvernement du Québec au cours de la période débutant à l’échéance du titre endommagé, perdu, volé ou détruit et se terminant à la date du remboursement de son capital.
D. 1261-85, a. 10.
11. La valeur d’un coupon d’intérêt échu qui a été perdu ou volé alors qu’il était en possession d’un détenteur ou de son mandataire, représentant légal, dépositaire ou ayant droit, ne peut être payée.
Cependant, lorsqu’un coupon a été perdu ou volé après son encaissement, le ministre paie la valeur de ce coupon à l’agent payeur ou à l’agent de remboursement qu’il l’a encaissé. Le ministre en effectue le paiement après avoir obtenu tous les documents requis en vertu du présent règlement et à l’expiration d’un délai de 3 mois calculé à compter de la production de l’avis visé au paragraphe 1 de l’article 3.
D. 1261-85, a. 11; D. 1048-88, a. 3.
12. Lorsqu’une personne demande, pour elle-même ou pour le compte d’autrui, le remplacement ou le paiement d’un titre endommagé, elle doit:
1°  donner avis par écrit au ministre, à l’adresse mentionnée au paragraphe 1 de l’article 3, en fournissant les informations suivantes:
a)  ses nom et adresse;
b)  la qualité en vertu de laquelle elle agit;
c)  les nom et adresse du propriétaire du titre endommagé;
d)  la date approximative, l’endroit et les circonstances où le titre a été endommagé;
2°  joindre à cet avis le titre endommagé ou ce qu’il en reste.
D. 1261-85, a. 12.
13. Le ministre procède au remplacement ou au paiement d’un titre endommagé lorsqu’il a obtenu les documents requis en vertu du présent règlement.
D. 1261-85, a. 13.
14. Les articles 12 et 13 ne s’appliquent que dans le cas d’un titre dont la superficie restante représente plus de 50% de la superficie totale d’un titre identique de la même émission, et qui montre à sa face même, la valeur nominale du titre, le numéro de série de ce dernier et la signature manuscrite d’une personne dont la signature était requise selon les modalités de l’émission ou, dans le cas d’une obligation d’épargne, le timbre officiel de l’agent émetteur et s’il s’agit d’un coupon d’intérêt, lorsqu’il n’en subsiste qu’une partie portant la mention «Province de Québec» ou «Québec», le numéro de série du titre auquel il se rapporte et la date d’échéance du coupon d’intérêt ou son numéro.
D. 1261-85, a. 14.
15. La personne demandant le remplacement ou le paiement d’un titre endommagé, perdu, volé ou détruit peut utiliser les formules fournies à cette fin par le ministre.
D. 1261-85, a. 15.
16. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur le remplacement de titres endommagés, perdus, volés ou détruits et le versement d’intérêts ou de capital à leurs détenteurs (D. 372-82, 82-02-24).
D. 1261-85, a. 16.
17. (Omis).
D. 1261-85, a. 17.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1261-85, 1985 G.O. 2, 3503
D. 1048-88, 1988 G.O. 2, 3985