A-29.011, r. 3 - Regulation respecting parental insurance plan premiums

Table of contents
Full text
chapter A-29.011, r. 3
Regulation respecting parental insurance plan premiums
PARENTAL INSURANCE — PLAN
Act respecting parental insurance
(chapter A-29.011, s. 78)
A-29.011
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
INTERPRETATION
1. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise,
“Act” means the Act respecting parental insurance (chapter A-29.011);
“adjustment payment” means an adjustment payment within the meaning of section 74.5 of the Act;
“applicable premium rate” means the premium rate referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 6 of the Act;
“maximum insurable earnings” for a year means the maximum insurable earnings within the meaning of section 5 of the Act for that year;
“pay period” means the regular period for which an employee is paid or, if there is no regular period, the number of days for which an employee is actually paid.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 1.
DIVISION II
ELIGIBLE WAGES
2. For the purposes of paragraph 2 of the definition of “eligible wages” of a person for a year, in respect of an employment and in relation to an establishment, set out in the first paragraph of section 43 of the Act, a prescribed amount paid to the person during the year is an amount, other than an amount referred to in the second paragraph, paid to the person in respect of that employment and that would be included in the total amount of earnings that the person has from all insurable employment within the meaning of section 2 of the Insurable Earnings and Collection of Premiums Regulations (SOR/97-33), made under section 108 of the Employment Insurance Act (S.C., 1996, chapter 23), if insurable earnings from that employment were determined for the year in respect of the person for the purposes of that Act.
The amount to which the first paragraph refers means fees paid on an hourly, half-day or full-day basis to the person in the year,
(1)  as a member appointed by the Government to a commission, including an inquiry commission, an assessment committee, a committee or panel of experts or a working group constituted for a specified time; or
(2)  as a member of a candidate selection or review committee created for that purpose under a law of Québec.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 2; O.C. 66-2016, s. 1.
DIVISION III
PRESCRIBED PLAN
3. For the purposes of subparagraph 3 of the first paragraph of section 43.1 and subparagraph b of subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 53.1 of the Act, a prescribed plan is a plan established under a law of a state of the United States that meets the following conditions:
(1)  it is similar to the plan established by the Employment Insurance Act (S.C. 1996, c. 23); and
(2)  it provides for the payment of one or more benefits similar to one or more benefits for which payment is provided under the Act.
In this section, “state of the United States” means a state within the meaning of subparagraph ii of paragraph a of article 1 of the Agreement Between Canada and the United States Respecting Unemployment Insurance.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 3.
DIVISION IV
DEDUCTION AT SOURCE
4. For the purposes of section 60 of the Act, the amount prescribed as the employee’s premium that an employer is required to deduct from the wages paid to an employee in respect of an employment corresponds to
(1)  the product obtained by multiplying the applicable premium rate by the aggregate of the amounts each of which is the portion of the employee’s eligible wages paid to the employee for the pay period in respect of the employment in relation to an establishment of the employer in Québec; or
(2)  the amount determined in the table drawn up by the Minister under section 60 of the Act, taking into account the portion of the employee’s eligible wages paid to the employee for the pay period in respect of the employment in relation to an establishment of the employer in Québec.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 4.
5. Where the result obtained under paragraph 1 of section 4 is an amount containing a fraction of a cent,
(1)  the fraction is disregarded if it is less than one-half, unless the application of this rule operates to produce a result of zero; or
(2)  in all other cases, the fraction is counted as 1 cent.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 5.
6. The amount prescribed that is determined pursuant to section 4 for a pay period must not exceed the difference between the product obtained by multiplying the applicable premium rate by the maximum insurable earnings for the year and the total of the premiums deducted by the employer from the employee’s wages since the beginning of the year or that should have been deducted under this Regulation.
Despite the foregoing, if, during a year, an employer immediately succeeds another employer following the formation or winding-up of a legal person or following the acquisition of a major portion of the property of a business or of a separate part of a business, without there being an interruption of the services provided by an employee, the new employer must, for the purpose of applying the rule provided for in the first paragraph, take into account the premiums deducted from the employee’s wages since the beginning of the year by the preceding employer.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 6.
DIVISION V
RETURNS
O.C. 1249-2005, Div. V; O.C. 1176-2010, s. 1.
7. An employer is required to file an annual information return in prescribed form in respect of the eligible wages on which the employer is required to pay and from which the employer is required to deduct premiums under, respectively, sections 59 and 60 of the Act.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 7; O.C. 1303-2009, s. 1; O.C. 1176-2010, s. 1.
7.1. Every person who pays remuneration to which subparagraph 1 or 2 of the third paragraph of section 303 of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) refers is required to file an annual information return in prescribed form in respect of the remuneration.
O.C. 1176-2010, s. 1.
7.2. Title XL of the Regulation respecting the Taxation Act (chapter I-3, r. 1) applies, with the necessary modifications, in respect of an information return provided for in this Division.
O.C. 1176-2010, s. 1.
DIVISION VI
EMPLOYMENT INSURANCE PREMIUMS AND PARENTAL INSURANCE PLAN PREMIUMS UNDER ANOTHER PROVINCE’S PLAN
8. For the purposes of section 65 of the Act, the amount prescribed is the aggregate of all amounts each of which is an amount that
(1)  was deducted as a premium from the wages paid to the person in the year under the statute of another province referred to in section 74 of the Act or under the Employment Insurance Act (S.C. 1996, c. 23); and
(2)  was remitted to the Government of Québec as a payment equivalent to an adjustment payment by the government of the other province or by the Government of Canada.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 8.
9. For the purposes of the second paragraph of section 67 of the Act, the amount prescribed is the aggregate of all amounts each of which is an amount that
(1)  was deducted or paid as a premium from the business income of the self-employed worker for the year under the statute of another province referred to in section 74 of the Act or under the Employment Insurance Act (S.C. 1996, c. 23); and
(2)  was remitted to the Government of Québec as a payment equivalent to an adjustment payment by the government of the other province or by the Government of Canada.
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 9.
DIVISION VII
FINAL
10. (Omitted).
O.C. 1249-2005, s. 10.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1249-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 5533
O.C. 1303-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 4095
O.C. 1176-2010, 2011 G.O. 2, 8
O.C. 66-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 1015

A-29.011, r. 3 - Règlement sur les cotisations au régime d’assurance parentale

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre A-29.011, r. 3
Règlement sur les cotisations au régime d’assurance parentale
ASSURANCE PARENTALE — COTISATIONS
Loi sur l’assurance parentale
(chapitre A-29.011, a. 78)
A-29.011
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
INTERPRÉTATION
1. Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, l’expression:
«Loi» désigne la Loi sur l’assurance parentale (chapitre A-29.011);
«maximum de revenus assurables», pour une année, désigne le maximum de revenus assurables au sens de l’article 5 de la Loi pour cette année;
«paiement de redressement» désigne un paiement de redressement au sens de l’article 74.5 de la Loi;
«période de paie» désigne la période habituelle pour laquelle un employé est payé ou, s’il n’y a pas de période habituelle, le nombre de jours pour lesquels un employé est réellement payé;
«taux de cotisation applicable» désigne le taux de cotisation visé au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 6 de la Loi.
D. 1249-2005, a. 1.
SECTION II
SALAIRE ADMISSIBLE
2. Pour l’application du paragraphe 2 de la définition de l’expression «salaire admissible» d’une personne pour une année, à l’égard d’un emploi, relativement à un établissement, prévue au premier alinéa de l’article 43 de la Loi, un montant prescrit qui est versé à la personne dans l’année est un montant, autre qu’un montant visé au deuxième alinéa, qui lui est versé à l’égard de cet emploi et qui serait inclus dans le total de la rémunération de la personne provenant de tout emploi assurable au sens de l’article 2 du Règlement sur la rémunération assurable et la perception des cotisations (DORS/97-33), édicté en vertu de l’article 108 de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi (L.C., 1996, chapitre 23), si une rémunération assurable provenant de cet emploi était déterminée pour l’année à l’égard de la personne pour l’application de cette loi.
Le montant auquel le premier alinéa fait référence désigne les honoraires à l’heure, à la demi-journée ou à la journée qui sont versés à la personne dans l’année en sa qualité de membre:
1°  soit nommé par le gouvernement d’une commission, y compris une commission d’enquête, d’un comité d’évaluation, d’un comité ou conseil d’experts ou d’un groupe de travail constitués pour une période définie;
2°  soit d’un comité de sélection ou d’examen de candidatures formé pour la circonstance suivant une loi du Québec.
D. 1249-2005, a. 2; D. 66-2016, a. 1.
SECTION III
RÉGIME PRESCRIT
3. Pour l’application du paragraphe 3 du premier alinéa de l’article 43.1 et du sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 53.1 de la Loi, un régime prescrit est un régime institué en vertu d’une loi d’un État des États-Unis qui remplit les conditions suivantes:
1°  il est analogue au régime institué par la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi (L.C. 1996, c. 23);
2°  il prévoit le versement d’une ou plusieurs prestations qui sont analogues à une ou plusieurs des prestations dont la Loi prévoit le versement.
Dans le présent article, l’expression «État des États-Unis» désigne un État au sens du sous-paragraphe ii du paragraphe a de l’article 1 de l’Accord entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique concernant l’assurance-chômage.
D. 1249-2005, a. 3.
SECTION IV
DÉDUCTION À LA SOURCE
4. Pour l’application de l’article 60 de la Loi, le montant prescrit à titre de cotisation d’employé qu’un employeur doit déduire du salaire qu’il verse à un employé à l’égard d’un emploi correspond à l’un des montants suivants:
1°  le produit obtenu en multipliant le taux de cotisation applicable par l’ensemble des montants dont chacun représente la partie du salaire admissible de l’employé qui lui est versée pour la période de paie à l’égard de cet emploi relativement à un établissement de l’employeur au Québec;
2°  le montant établi à la table dressée par le ministre en vertu de l’article 60 de la Loi, en tenant compte de la partie du salaire admissible de l’employé qui lui est versée pour la période de paie à l’égard de cet emploi relativement à un établissement de l’employeur au Québec.
D. 1249-2005, a. 4.
5. Lorsque le résultat obtenu en vertu du paragraphe 1 de l’article 4 est un montant avec une fraction de cent, l’une des règles suivantes s’applique:
1°  il n’est pas tenu compte de la fraction si elle est moindre qu’une demie, à moins que l’application de la présente règle n’ait pour effet de ramener le résultat à zéro;
2°  dans les autres cas, la fraction est comptée comme 1 cent.
D. 1249-2005, a. 5.
6. Le montant prescrit qui est déterminé conformément à l’article 4 pour une période de paie ne doit pas excéder la différence entre le produit obtenu en multipliant le taux de cotisation applicable par le maximum de revenus assurables pour l’année et le total des cotisations qui ont été déduites par l’employeur du salaire de l’employé depuis le début de l’année ou qui auraient dû l’être en vertu du présent règlement.
Toutefois, lorsqu’un employeur succède immédiatement à un autre employeur au cours d’une année, par suite de la formation ou de la dissolution d’une personne morale ou de l’acquisition de la majorité des biens d’une entreprise ou d’une partie distincte d’une entreprise, sans qu’il y ait interruption des services fournis par un employé, le nouvel employeur doit, aux fins d’appliquer la règle prévue au premier alinéa, tenir compte des cotisations qui ont été déduites du salaire de l’employé depuis le début de l’année par l’employeur précédent.
D. 1249-2005, a. 6.
SECTION V
DÉCLARATIONS
D. 1249-2005, sec. V; D. 1176-2010, a. 1.
7. L’employeur doit produire annuellement une déclaration de renseignements, au moyen du formulaire prescrit, à l’égard du salaire admissible sur lequel il est tenu de payer et de déduire une cotisation en vertu, respectivement, des articles 59 et 60 de la Loi.
D. 1249-2005, a. 7; D. 1303-2009, a. 1; D. 1176-2010, a. 1.
7.1. Toute personne qui paie une rétribution visée au paragraphe 1 ou 2 du troisième alinéa de l’article 303 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) doit produire annuellement une déclaration de renseignements, au moyen du formulaire prescrit, à l’égard de cette rétribution.
D. 1176-2010, a. 1.
7.2. Le titre XL du Règlement sur les impôts (chapitre I-3, r. 1) s’applique, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à l’égard d’une déclaration de renseignements prévue à la présente section.
D. 1176-2010, a. 1.
SECTION VI
COTISATIONS À L’ASSURANCE-EMPLOI OU AU RÉGIME D’ASSURANCE PARENTALE D’UNE AUTRE PROVINCE
8. Pour l’application de l’article 65 de la Loi, le montant prescrit représente l’ensemble des montants dont chacun constitue un montant qui remplit les conditions suivantes:
1°  il a été déduit à titre de cotisation, sur le salaire qui a été versé à la personne dans l’année, en vertu de la loi d’une autre province qui est visée à l’article 74 de la Loi ou en vertu de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi (L.C. 1996, c. 23);
2°  il a été remis au Gouvernement du Québec à titre de paiement équivalent à un paiement de redressement par le gouvernement de l’autre province ou par le Gouvernement du Canada, selon le cas.
D. 1249-2005, a. 8.
9. Pour l’application du deuxième alinéa de l’article 67 de la Loi, le montant prescrit représente l’ensemble des montants dont chacun constitue un montant qui remplit les conditions suivantes:
1°  il a été déduit ou payé à titre de cotisation, sur le revenu d’entreprise du travailleur autonome pour l’année, en vertu de la loi d’une autre province qui est visée à l’article 74 de la Loi ou en vertu de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi (L.C. 1996, c. 23);
2°  il a été remis au Gouvernement du Québec à titre de paiement équivalent à un paiement de redressement par le gouvernement de l’autre province ou par le Gouvernement du Canada.
D. 1249-2005, a. 9.
SECTION VII
DISPOSITION FINALE
10. (Omis).
D. 1249-2005, a. 10.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1249-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 7396
D. 1303-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 5920
D. 1176-2010, 2011 G.O. 2, 8
D. 66-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 1197