A-19.1, r. 0.1 - Regulation respecting public participation in matters of land use planning and development

Full text
chapter A-19.1, r. 0.1
Regulation respecting public participation in matters of land use planning and development
LAND USE PLANNING — PUBLIC PARTICIPATION
Act respecting land use planning and development
(chapter A-19.1, s. 80.3).
A-19.1
June 19 2018July 19 2018
DIVISION 1
PRELIMINARY
2018-06-19, Div. 1M.O. 2018-06-19, Div. 1.
1. This Regulation regulates public participation in matters of land use planning and development, and sets requirements relating to the content of a public participation policy adopted under section 80.1 of the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1).
It applies to any local municipality that avails itself of the provisions of Chapter II.2 of Title I of the Act.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
(1)  public participation process means all the public participation measures that must, under a public participation policy or the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1), be accomplished in respect of an instrument;
(2)  public participation measure means any informative, consultative, active participation or feedback measure;
(3)  consultative measure means any measure intended to allow interested persons to ask questions or to make observations, in particular by expressing concerns, expectations or opinions and by making suggestions;
(4)  informative measure means any measure relating to the production and communication of information for the benefit of interested persons;
(5)  active participation measure means any measure intended to actively involve interested persons and to recognize the possibility for them to make a contribution in the decision-making process relating to an instrument, in particular by contributing to the identification of issues, the definition of options, the assessment of scenarios or the formulation of recommendations, as part of an interaction between interested persons, the representatives of the municipality and any other intervening party;
(6)  feedback measure means any measure intended to report, for the benefit of interested persons, on how the results of a consultative or active participation measure have been taken into consideration by the municipality;
(7)  interested person means every person who feels concerned by an instrument subject to a public participation process.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 2.
DIVISION 2
COMPULSORY CHARACTER OF A PUBLIC PARTICIPATION PROCESS
2018-06-19, Div. 2M.O. 2018-06-19, Div. 2.
3. A municipality must, before adopting an instrument subject to a public participation process, accomplish all the measures that are included in the process.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 3.
DIVISION 3
PUBLIC PARTICIPATION POLICY
2018-06-19, Div. 3M.O. 2018-06-19, Div. 3.
§ 1.  — General
2018-06-19, Sd. 1M.O. 2018-06-19, Sd. 1.
4. A public participation policy determines the instruments subject to a public participation process.
Such instruments must include
(1)  any by-law relating to the preparation or revision of a planning program;
(2)  any by-law amending a planning program to introduce into it a special planning program or to amend such a program so that the proposed zoning rules regarding main uses, main constructions or the dimensions of main constructions are no longer the same;
(3)  any by-law referred to in the third or fourth paragraph of section 123 of the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1); and
(4)  any resolution by which a municipality grants, in accordance with section 145.38 of the Act respecting land use planning and development, an authorization in respect of a specific project for the construction, alteration or occupancy of an immovable that is at variance with a provision referred to in subparagraph 1 of the third paragraph of section 123 of the Act.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 4.
5. The public participation measures included in a public participation process may vary according to the type of instrument subject to the process or any other relevant criterion.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 5.
6. A public participation process may begin at any time determined by the municipality, including before the adoption of any draft by-law required under the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1).
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 6.
7. The policy must be aimed at fostering participation of the greatest number of interested persons and the expression of different points of view.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 7.
8. The policy describes the role of the elected officers in each public participation process and provides for the manner in which they will be informed of the results of the various public participation measures.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 8.
9. The policy identifies the persons who are responsible for implementing it.
It may provide that public participation measures will be implemented by persons who are neither municipal elected officers nor municipal officers, provided that those persons have in the subject of the public participation process no interest likely to infringe on their ability to exercise the functions impartially.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 9.
§ 2.  — Informative measures
2018-06-19, Sd. 2M.O. 2018-06-19, Sd. 2.
10. Every public participation process must include informative measures, which must provide for the use of various means of communication.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 10.
11. The policy must provide for the dissemination of information on the main steps of the decision-making process relating to an instrument and on the consultative or active participation measures that will be accomplished during each step.
The information must be disseminated not later than the 14th day prior to the beginning of any consultative or active participation measure included in a public participation process.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 11.
12. The policy must provide, in respect of any instrument referred to in the second paragraph of section 4, for the dissemination of a text pertaining to its main foreseeable effects. In the case of an instrument referred to in subparagraph 3 of that paragraph, the policy must also provide for the dissemination of an explanatory text, which must set out any project for the construction or alteration of an immovable with which the municipality is already seized and that the instrument is intended to allow. The explanatory text must also describe the contribution, if applicable, of the instrument and the project to the directions of the planning program.
Where an instrument applies to only part of the territory of the municipality, the information disseminated includes a map on which that part of the territory is delimited.
Information useful to the conduct of a consultative or active participation measure must be disseminated before the beginning of the measure so that interested persons have a reasonable time period to examine the measure.
In all cases, the aim of the policy must be the dissemination of clear, objective and neutral information.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 12.
13. The policy must provide, in respect of any instrument intended to allow a project with which the municipality is already seized and related to the construction or alteration of an immovable adjacent to a thoroughfare and located within an urbanization perimeter, for the posting of a notice on the site of the project.
The notice indicates the elements of the project that, because they do not comply with applicable by-laws, require an amendment, as well as the nature of the amendments required to allow the carrying out of the project.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 13.
14. The policy must aim at facilitating access, by interested persons, to the information relating to the subject of a public participation process.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 14.
§ 3.  — Consultative measures
2018-06-19, Sd. 3M.O. 2018-06-19, Sd. 3.
15. The policy determines the instruments that are subject to consultative measures, in addition to any public meeting required under the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1).
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 15.
16. A consultative measure must include the possibility for interested persons to make verbal or written observations.
The policy must grant interested persons a minimum period of 7 days to send their observations to the municipality, which period begins to run after a public meeting is held, if applicable.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 16.
§ 4.  — Active participation measures
2018-06-19, Sd. 4M.O. 2018-06-19, Sd. 4.
17. The policy determines the instruments that are subject to active participation measures.
The instruments must include any by-law referred to in the third or fourth paragraph of section 123 of the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1) that amends
(1)  main uses authorized in a zone, including conditional uses;
(2)  main constructions authorized in a zone; or
(3)  any of the authorized dimensions of a main construction, by a variation of at least 40% of its initial value.
They must also include any resolution by which the municipality grants, in accordance with section 145.38 of the Act respecting land use planning and development, an authorization with respect to a specific project for the construction, alteration or occupancy of an immovable that could only be accomplished following an alteration referred to in the second paragraph.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 17.
18. Where a public participation process includes, under section 17, one or more active participation measures, at least one of them must be accomplished before the holding of a public meeting under section 125 of the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1).
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 18.
§ 5.  — Feedback measures
2018-06-19, Sd. 5M.O. 2018-06-19, Sd. 5.
19. Every public participation process that includes a consultative or active participation measure must also include one or more feedback measures, including a mandatory written report that must be prepared and filed with the municipal council or the borough council, as the case may be.
The policy must provide the manner in which interested persons may examine the report, which may be made available after the adoption of the instrument subject to the participation process.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 19.
DIVISION 4
REPORTING
2018-06-19, Div. 4M.O. 2018-06-19, Div. 4.
20. An assessment of the application of the public participation policy must be prepared and filed with the municipal council not later than 4 years after its coming into force and, thereafter, every 4 years.
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 20.
DIVISION 5
FINAL
2018-06-19, Div. 5M.O. 2018-06-19, Div. 5.
21. (Omitted).
2018-06-19M.O. 2018-06-19, s. 21.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2018-06-19, 2018 G.O. 2, 2776

A-19.1, r. 0.1 - Règlement sur la participation publique en matière d’aménagement et d’urbanisme

Texte complet
chapitre A-19.1, r. 0.1
Règlement sur la participation publique en matière d’aménagement et d’urbanisme
AMÉNAGEMENT ET URBANISME — PARTICIPATION PUBLIQUE
Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme
(chapitre A-19.1, a. 80.3).
A-19.1
19 juin 201819 juillet 2018
SECTION 1
DISPOSITIONS PRÉLIMINAIRES
2018-06-19, sec. 1A.M. 2018-06-19, sec. 1.
1. Le présent règlement vise à encadrer la participation publique en matière d’aménagement et d’urbanisme et à fixer des exigences relatives au contenu d’une politique de participation publique adoptée en vertu de l’article 80.1 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1).
Il s’applique à toute municipalité locale qui se prévaut des dispositions du chapitre II.2 du titre I de cette loi.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
1°  «démarche de participation publique» : l’ensemble des mesures de participation publique qui doivent, en vertu d’une politique de participation publique ou de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1), être accomplies à l’égard d’un acte;
2°  «mesure de participation publique» : toute mesure d’information, de consultation, de participation active ou de rétroaction;
3°  «mesure de consultation» : toute mesure qui vise à permettre aux personnes intéressées de poser des questions ou de faire des observations, notamment en exprimant des préoccupations, des attentes ou des opinions et en formulant des suggestions;
4°  «mesure d’information» : toute mesure relative à la production et à la communication d’informations pour le bénéfice des personnes intéressées;
5°  «mesure de participation active» : toute mesure qui vise à engager activement les personnes intéressées et à leur reconnaître la possibilité de fournir un apport dans le processus décisionnel relatif à un acte, notamment en contribuant à l’identification d’enjeux, à la définition d’options, à l’évaluation de scénarios ou à la formulation de recommandations, et ce, dans le contexte d’une interaction entre les personnes intéressées, les représentants de la municipalité et tout autre intervenant;
6°  «mesure de rétroaction» : toute mesure qui vise à rendre compte, pour le bénéfice des personnes intéressées, de la manière dont les résultats d’une mesure de consultation ou de participation active ont été considérés par la municipalité;
7°  «personne intéressée» : toute personne qui se sent concernée par un acte soumis à une démarche de participation publique.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 2.
SECTION 2
CARACTÈRE OBLIGATOIRE D’UNE DÉMARCHE DE PARTICIPATION PUBLIQUE
2018-06-19, sec. 2A.M. 2018-06-19, sec. 2.
3. Toute municipalité doit, avant d’adopter un acte assujetti à une démarche de participation publique, accomplir toutes les mesures qui sont comprises dans cette démarche.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 3.
SECTION 3
POLITIQUE DE PARTICIPATION PUBLIQUE
2018-06-19, sec. 3A.M. 2018-06-19, sec. 3.
§ 1.  — Dispositions générales
2018-06-19, ss. 1A.M. 2018-06-19, ss. 1.
4. Une politique de participation publique détermine les actes assujettis à une démarche de participation publique.
Ces actes doivent comprendre:
1°  tout règlement relatif à l’élaboration ou à la révision d’un plan d’urbanisme;
2°  tout règlement modifiant un plan d’urbanisme afin d’y introduire un programme particulier d’urbanisme ou de modifier un tel programme de façon que les règles de zonage proposées relatives aux usages principaux, aux constructions principales ou aux dimensions des constructions principales ne soient plus les mêmes;
3°  tout règlement visé par le troisième ou le quatrième alinéa de l’article 123 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1);
4°  toute résolution par laquelle une municipalité accorde, conformément à l’article 145.38 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme, une autorisation à l’égard d’un projet particulier de construction, de modification ou d’occupation d’un immeuble qui déroge à une disposition visée au paragraphe 1 du troisième alinéa de l’article 123 de cette loi.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 4.
5. Les mesures de participation publique comprises dans une démarche de participation publique peuvent varier en fonction du type d’acte assujetti ou de tout autre critère pertinent.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 5.
6. Une démarche de participation publique peut débuter à tout moment déterminé par la municipalité, y compris avant l’adoption de tout projet de règlement requis en vertu de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1).
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 6.
7. La politique doit viser à favoriser la participation du plus grand nombre de personnes intéressées et l’expression de différents points de vue.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 7.
8. La politique décrit le rôle des élus dans chaque démarche de participation publique et prévoit la manière dont ils seront informés des résultats des différentes mesures de participation publique.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 8.
9. La politique indique les personnes qui sont responsables de sa mise en oeuvre.
Elle peut prévoir que des mesures de participation publique seront mises en oeuvre par des personnes qui ne sont ni des élus, ni des fonctionnaires municipaux, pourvu que ces personnes n’aient dans l’objet de la démarche de participation publique aucun intérêt susceptible de porter atteinte à leur capacité d’exercer ces fonctions avec impartialité.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 9.
§ 2.  — Mesures d’information
2018-06-19, ss. 2A.M. 2018-06-19, ss. 2.
10. Toute démarche de participation publique doit comprendre des mesures d’information, lesquelles doivent prévoir l’utilisation de différents moyens de communication.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 10.
11. La politique doit prévoir la diffusion d’informations relatives aux principales étapes du processus décisionnel relatif à un acte et aux mesures de consultation et de participation active qui seront accomplies lors de chacune de ces étapes.
Cette diffusion doit avoir lieu au plus tard le 14e jour avant le début de toute mesure de consultation ou de participation active comprise dans une démarche de participation publique.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 11.
12. La politique doit prévoir, à l’égard de tout acte visé par le deuxième alinéa de l’article 4, la diffusion d’un texte portant sur ses principaux impacts prévisibles. Dans le cas d’un acte visé par le paragraphe 3 de cet alinéa, la politique doit également prévoir la diffusion d’un texte explicatif, lequel doit faire état de tout projet de construction ou de modification d’un immeuble dont est déjà saisie la municipalité et que l’acte vise à permettre. Le texte explicatif doit, en outre, présenter la contribution de l’acte et du projet, le cas échéant, aux orientations du plan d’urbanisme.
Lorsqu’un acte s’applique à une partie seulement du territoire de la municipalité, l’information diffusée comprend une carte sur laquelle est délimitée cette partie du territoire.
Des informations utiles au déroulement d’une mesure de consultation ou de participation active doivent être diffusées avant le début de cette mesure, de sorte que les personnes intéressées disposent d’un délai raisonnable pour en prendre connaissance.
Dans tous les cas, la politique doit viser la diffusion d’informations claires, objectives et neutres.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 12.
13. La politique doit prévoir, à l’égard de tout acte qui vise à permettre un projet dont est déjà saisie la municipalité et qui est relatif à la construction ou la modification d’un immeuble adjacent à une voie de circulation et situé à l’intérieur d’un périmètre d’urbanisation, l’affichage d’un avis sur le site du projet.
Cet avis indique les éléments du projet qui, étant non conformes à la réglementation applicable, requièrent une modification, de même que la nature des modifications nécessaires afin de permettre sa réalisation.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 13.
14. La politique doit viser à faciliter l’accès, par les personnes intéressées, aux informations qui se rapportent à l’objet d’une démarche de participation publique.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 14.
§ 3.  — Mesures de consultation
2018-06-19, ss. 3A.M. 2018-06-19, ss. 3.
15. La politique détermine les actes qui sont soumis à des mesures de consultation, outre toute assemblée publique requise en vertu de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1).
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 15.
16. Une mesure de consultation doit comprendre la possibilité pour les personnes intéressées de formuler des observations oralement ou par écrit.
La politique doit accorder aux personnes intéressées un délai minimal de 7 jours pour transmettre à la municipalité de telles observations, lequel commence à courir, le cas échéant, après la tenue d’une assemblée publique.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 16.
§ 4.  — Mesures de participation active
2018-06-19, ss. 4A.M. 2018-06-19, ss. 4.
17. La politique détermine les actes qui sont soumis à des mesures de participation active.
Ces actes doivent comprendre tout règlement visé par le troisième ou le quatrième alinéa de l’article 123 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1) qui modifie:
1°  les usages principaux autorisés dans une zone, y compris les usages conditionnels;
2°  les constructions principales autorisées dans une zone;
3°  l’une des dimensions autorisées d’une construction principale, et ce, par une variation d’au moins 40% de sa valeur initiale.
Ils doivent également comprendre toute résolution par laquelle une municipalité accorde, conformément à l’article 145.38 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme, une autorisation à l’égard d’un projet particulier de construction, de modification ou d’occupation d’un immeuble qui ne pourrait autrement se réaliser qu’à la suite d’une modification visée par le deuxième alinéa.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 17.
18. Lorsqu’une démarche de participation publique comprend, en vertu de l’article 17, une ou des mesures de participation active, au moins l’une d’entre elles doit être accomplie avant la tenue d’une assemblée publique en vertu de l’article 125 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A-19.1).
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 18.
§ 5.  — Mesures de rétroaction
2018-06-19, ss. 5A.M. 2018-06-19, ss. 5.
19. Toute démarche de participation publique qui comprend une mesure de consultation ou de participation active doit également comprendre une ou des mesures de rétroaction, dont obligatoirement la production et le dépôt d’un rapport écrit au conseil municipal ou au conseil d’arrondissement, le cas échéant.
La politique doit prévoir la manière dont les personnes intéressées peuvent prendre connaissance du rapport, lequel peut être rendu disponible après l’adoption de l’acte assujetti à la démarche de participation.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 19.
SECTION 4
REDDITION DE COMPTES
2018-06-19, sec. 4A.M. 2018-06-19, sec. 4.
20. Un bilan de l’application de la politique de participation publique doit être produit et déposé au conseil municipal au plus tard 4 ans après son entrée en vigueur et, par la suite, à tous les 4 ans.
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 20.
SECTION 5
DISPOSITION FINALE
2018-06-19, sec. 5A.M. 2018-06-19, sec. 5.
21. (Omis).
2018-06-19A.M. 2018-06-19, a. 21.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2018-06-19, 2018 G.O. 2, 4341