A-18.1, r. 6 - Regulation respecting the method for assessing the annual royalty and the method and frequency for assessing the market value of standing timber purchased by guarantee holders pursuant to their timber supply guarantee

Table of contents
Full text
chapter A-18.1, r. 6
Regulation respecting the method for assessing the annual royalty and the method and frequency for assessing the market value of standing timber purchased by guarantee holders pursuant to their timber supply guarantee
SUSTAINABLE FOREST DEVELOPMENT — METHOD FOR ASSESSING THE ANNUAL ROYALTY
Sustainable Forest Development Act
(chapter A-18.1, s. 126)
A-18.1
March 28 2013
1. For the purposes of this Regulation,
(1)  harvest year means the period extending from 1 April to 31 March of the following year;
(1.1)  merchantable timber means all logs or parts of logs greater than 9 cm in diameter;
(2)  reference period means the period extending from 1 April to 31 December of the following year;
(2.1)  special development plan means a special development plan within the meaning of section 60 of the Sustainable Forest Development Act (chapter A-18.1);
(3)  billed volume of timber means all merchantable timber from forests in the domain of the State that is billed to the holder of a timber supply guarantee by the timber marketing board, except timber acquired on the open market.
O.C. 167-2013, s. 1; 725-2016O.C. 725-2016, s. 1
2. The timber billed during the reference period is the timber harvested in the last complete harvest year preceding the time at which the annual royalty is assessed.
The annual royalty payable by holders of a timber supply guarantee is assessed in February of each year.
O.C. 167-2013, s. 2; 725-2016O.C. 725-2016, s. 2
3. If the volume of timber billed to a guarantee holder during the reference period is equal to or greater than 10% of the volume of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the first annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RAVBG1 = VBG2 [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]
RAAR1F5 = {(VBG2 - VBR16) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]}
RA1F7 = 50% RAAR1F5
If, however, the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the first billing is less than 50% of the annual royalty according to the volumes of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the first annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RA1F7 = 50% RAVBG1 50%
1the annual royalty according to the volume of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee
2 the volume of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee
3 the amount calculated on the basis of the market value of the standing timber related to the volume of timber billed to the holder during the reference period
4 the volume of timber billed to the holder during the reference period
5 the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the first billing
6 the volume of timber waived or deemed to have been waived by the holder at the time the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to the holder’s timber supply guarantee was made
7 the annual royalty to be paid on the first billing
The second annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RAAR2F8 = {(VBG2 - VBR16 - 50% VBR29 – VBR2PAS10) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]}
RA2F11 = RAAR2F8 - RA1F7
If, however, the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the second billing is less than 50% of the annual royalty according to the volumes of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the second annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RA2F11 = (50% RAVBG1) - RA1F7
8 the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the second billing
9 the volume of timber, not under a special development plan, waived by the holder between the time the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to the holder’s timber supply guarantee is made and 15 August of the current harvest year
10 the volume of timber, under a special development plan, waived by the holder between the time the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to the holder’s timber supply guarantee is made and 15 August of the current harvest year
11 the annual royalty to be paid on the second billing
At the end of the harvest year, the holder of a timber supply guarantee is entitled, for the timber under a special development plan waived by the holder between 16 August and 31 March of the harvest year concerned, to be reimbursed for a portion of the annual royalty, assessed using the following method:
RAARA2F12 = RAAR2F8 - (VBRA2FPAS13) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]
PRAR14 = (VBRA2FPAS13) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]
If, however, the annual royalty after waiver following the second billing is less than 50% of the annual royalty according to the volumes of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the reimbursed portion of the annual royalty is assessed using the following method:
PRAR14 = (RA1F7 + RA2F11) - (50% RAVBG1)
12 the annual royalty after waiver following the second billing
13 the volume of timber, under a special development plan, waived by the holder between 16 August and 31 March of the harvest year concerned
14 the reimbursed portion of the annual royalty
O.C. 167-2013, s. 3; 725-2016O.C. 725-2016, s. 3
4. If the volume of timber billed to a guarantee holder during the reference period is less than 10% of the volume of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the first annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RAVBG1 = Σe2 {(VBGe3) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]}
RAAR1F6 = Σe7 {(VBGe3 - VBRe18) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]}
RA1F9 = 50% RAAR1F6
If, however, the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the first billing is less than 50% of the annual royalty according to the volumes of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the first annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RA1F9 = 50% RAVBG1 50%
1 the annual royalty according to the volume of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee
2 the sum of the operation performed for each annual royalty for the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee
3 the volume of the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee
4 the amount calculated on the basis of the total market value of the standing timber related to the volume of timber billed to all the holders during the reference period for the species or group of species concerned
5 the total volume billed to all the holders during the reference period for the species or group of species concerned
6 the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the first billing
7 the sum of the operation performed for each annual royalty for the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee after waiver
8 the volume of the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, waived or deemed to have been waived by the holder at the time the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to the holder’s timber supply guarantee was made
9 the annual royalty to be paid on the first billing
The second annual royalty instalment for the species or groups of species specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee is assessed using the following method:
RAAR2F10 = Σe11 {(VBGe3 - VBRe18 - 50%VBRe212 - VBRe2PAS13) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]}
RA2F14 = RAAR2F10 - RA1F9
If, however, the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the second billing is less than 50% of the annual royalty according to the volumes of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the second annual royalty instalment is assessed using the following method:
RA2F14 = (50% RAVBG1) - RA1F9
10 the annual royalty after waiver used to determine the second billing
11 the sum of the operation performed for each annual royalty for the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee after waiver
12 the volume of the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, not under a special development plan, waived by the holder between the time the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to the holder’s timber supply guarantee is made and 15 August of the current harvest year
13 the volume of the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, under a special development plan, waived by the holder between the time the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to the holder’s timber supply guarantee is made and 15 August of the current harvest year
14 the annual royalty to be paid on the second billing
At the end of the harvest year, the holder of a timber supply guarantee is entitled, for the timber under a special development plan waived by the holder between 16 August and 31 March of the harvest year concerned, to be reimbursed for a portion of the annual royalty, assessed using the following method:
RAARA2F15 = RAAR2F10 - Σe11 (VBReA2FPAS16) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]
PRAR17 = Σe11 (VBReA2FPAS16) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]
If, however, the annual royalty after waiver following the second billing is less than 50% of the annual royalty according to the volumes of timber specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, the reimbursed portion of the annual royalty is assessed using the following method:
PRAR17 = (RA1F9 + RA2F14) - (50% RAVBG1)
15 the annual royalty after waiver following the second billing
16 the volume of the species or group of species concerned, as specified in the holder’s timber supply guarantee, under a special development plan, waived by the holder between 16 August and 31 March of the harvest year concerned
17 the reimbursed portion of the annual royalty
O.C. 167-2013, s. 4; O.C. 725-2016, s. 3.
4.1. If the Minister cancels a timber supply guarantee pursuant to subparagraph 3 of the first paragraph of section 109 of the Sustainable Forest Development Act (chapter A-18.1), or terminates a timber supply guarantee pursuant to paragraph 1 of section 112 of that Act and, following the cancellation, the sales contract for the standing timber purchased pursuant to that guarantee is cancelled, the Minister is to reimburse the holder of the cancelled guarantee for the portion of the annual royalty corresponding to the volume of timber remaining harvestable by the holder before cancellation of the standing timber sales contract.
A holder granted a timber supply guarantee by the Minister in the course of the harvest year must pay, for that year, an annual royalty corresponding to the proportion of the volumes of timber the holder could purchase before the end of the harvest year. In addition, if the plant for which the guarantee is granted was or had already been operated under a guarantee and the guarantee was cancelled within 12 months of the date on which the guarantee granted took effect, the rate of the annual royalty to be paid by such a holder is the rate that applied to the holder of the cancelled guarantee at the time of the cancellation.
725-2016O.C. 725-2016, s. 3
5. The market value of standing timber purchased pursuant to a timber supply guarantee is assessed on 1 April of each year according to the parity technique applicable in property assessment by comparing the timber to similar timber for which the selling price is known. The value is expressed in Canadian dollars per cubic metre.
The unit rates obtained on the basis of that assessment are adjusted every 3 months according to the rate of increase in forest product price indexes.
O.C. 167-2013, s. 5.
6. (Omitted).
O.C. 167-2013, s. 6.
REFERENCES
O.C. 167-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 620
O.C. 725-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 3203

A-18.1, r. 6 - Règlement sur la méthode d’évaluation de la redevance annuelle et sur la méthode et la fréquence d’évaluation de la valeur marchande des bois sur pied achetés par les bénéficiaires en application de leur garantie d’approvisionnement

Texte complet
chapitre A-18.1, r. 6
Règlement sur la méthode d’évaluation de la redevance annuelle et sur la méthode et la fréquence d’évaluation de la valeur marchande des bois sur pied achetés par les bénéficiaires en application de leur garantie d’approvisionnement
AMÉNAGEMENT DU TERRITOIRE FORESTIER — MÉTHODE D’ÉVALUATION ET REDEVANCE
Loi sur l’aménagement durable du territoire forestier
(chapitre A-18.1, a. 126)
A-18.1
28 mars 2013
1. Pour l’application du présent règlement, on entend par:
1°  «année de récolte» : la période s’étalant du 1er avril au 31 mars de l’année suivante;
1.1°  «bois marchand» : toutes les grumes ou parties de grumes dont le diamètre est supérieur à 9 cm;
2°  «période de référence» : la période s’étalant du 1er avril au 31 décembre de l’année suivante;
2.1°  «plan d’aménagement spécial» : un plan d’aménagement spécial au sens de l’article 60 de la Loi sur l’aménagement durable du territoire forestier (chapitre A-18.1);
3°  «volume de bois facturé» : tous les bois marchands en provenance de forêts du domaine de l’État qui sont facturés au bénéficiaire d’une garantie d’approvisionnement par le Bureau de mise en marché des bois, à l’exception des bois acquis sur le marché libre.
D. 167-2013, a. 1; 725-2016D. 725-2016, a. 1
2. Les bois facturés au cours de la période de référence sont ceux récoltés lors de la dernière année de récolte accomplie qui précède le moment où s’effectue l’évaluation de la redevance annuelle.
L’évaluation de la redevance annuelle payable par les bénéficiaires d’une garantie d’approvisionnement s’effectue en février de chaque année.
D. 167-2013, a. 2; 725-2016D. 725-2016, a. 2
3. Lorsque le volume de bois facturé au bénéficiaire lors de la période de référence est égal ou supérieur à 10% du volume de bois indiqué à sa garantie d’approvisionnement, le premier versement de la redevance annuelle est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RAVBG1 = VBG2 [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]
RAAR1F5 = {(VBG2 - VBR16) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]}
RA1F7 = 50% RAAR1F5
Toutefois, si la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la première facturation est inférieure à 50% de la redevance annuelle selon les volumes de bois indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, le premier versement de la redevance annuelle est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RA1F7 = 50% RAVBG1 50%
1 la redevance annuelle selon le volume de bois indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire
2 le volume de bois indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire
3 le montant calculé sur la base de la valeur marchande des bois sur pied associé au volume de bois facturé au bénéficiaire au cours de la période de référence
4 le volume de bois facturé au bénéficiaire au cours de la période de référence
5 la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la première facturation
6 le volume de bois auquel le bénéficiaire a renoncé ou est réputé avoir renoncé au moment de la conclusion de son contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de sa garantie d’approvisionnement
7 la redevance annuelle payable lors de la première facturation
Pour le second versement de la redevance annuelle, celui-ci est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RAAR2F8 = {(VBG2 - VBR16 - 50% VBR29 – VBR2PAS10) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]}
RA2F11 = RAAR2F8 - RA1F7
Toutefois, si la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la deuxième facturation est inférieure à 50% de la redevance annuelle selon les volumes de bois indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, le deuxième versement de la redevance annuelle est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RA2F11 = (50% RAVBG1) - RA1F7
8 la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la deuxième facturation
9 le volume de bois, qui n’est pas visé par un plan d’aménagement spécial, auquel le bénéficiaire renonce entre le moment de la conclusion de son contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de sa garantie d’approvisionnement et le 15 août de l’année de récolte en cours
10 le volume de bois, visé par un plan d’aménagement spécial, auquel le bénéficiaire renonce entre le moment de la conclusion de son contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de sa garantie d’approvisionnement et le 15 août de l’année de récolte en cours
11 la redevance annuelle payable lors de la deuxième facturation
À la fin de l’année de récolte, le bénéficiaire de la garantie d’approvisionnement a droit, à l’égard des bois visés par un plan d’aménagement spécial auxquels il renonce entre le 16 août et le 31 mars de l’année de récolte concernée, à un remboursement d’une partie de la redevance annuelle, évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RAARA2F12 = RAAR2F8 - (VBRA2FPAS13) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]
PRAR14 = (VBRA2FPAS13) [18% (VMBSPF3 / VBF4)]
Toutefois, si la redevance annuelle après renonciation après la deuxième facturation est inférieure à 50% de la redevance annuelle selon les volumes de bois indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, la partie de la redevance annuelle remboursée est évaluée selon la méthode suivante:
PRAR14 = (RA1F7 + RA2F11) - (50% RAVBG1)
12 la redevance annuelle après renonciation après la deuxième facturation
13 le volume de bois, visé par un plan d’aménagement spécial, auquel le bénéficiaire renonce entre le 16 août et le 31 mars de l’année de récolte concernée
14 la partie de la redevance annuelle remboursée
D. 167-2013, a. 3; 725-2016D. 725-2016, a. 3
4. Lorsque le volume de bois facturé au bénéficiaire lors de la période de référence est inférieur à 10% du volume de bois indiqué à sa garantie d’approvisionnement, le premier versement de la redevance annuelle est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RAVBG1 = Σe2 {(VBGe3) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]}
RAAR1F6 = Σe7 {(VBGe3 - VBRe18) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]}
RA1F9 = 50% RAAR1F6
Toutefois, si la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la première facturation est inférieure à 50% de la redevance annuelle selon les volumes de bois indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, le premier versement de la redevance annuelle est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RA1F9 = 50% RAVBG1 50%
1 la redevance annuelle selon le volume de bois indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire
2 la somme de l’opération effectuée pour chaque redevance annuelle de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire
3 le volume de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire
4 le montant calculé sur la base de la valeur marchande totale des bois sur pied associé au volume de bois facturé à l’ensemble des bénéficiaires au cours de la période de référence pour l’essence ou le groupe d’essences en cause
5 le volume total facturé à l’ensemble des bénéficiaires au cours de la période de référence pour l’essence ou le groupe d’essences en cause
6 la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la première facturation
7 la somme de l’opération effectuée pour chaque redevance annuelle de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire après renonciation
8 le volume de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, auquel ce dernier a renoncé ou est réputé avoir renoncé au moment de la conclusion de son contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de sa garantie d’approvisionnement
9 la redevance annuelle payable lors de la première facturation
Pour le second versement de la redevance annuelle pour les essences ou groupes d’essences indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, celui-ci est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RAAR2F10 = Σe11 {(VBGe3 - VBRe18 – 50%VBRe212 - VBRe2PAS13) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]}
RA2F14 = RAAR2F10 - RA1F9
Toutefois, si la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la deuxième facturation est inférieure à 50% de la redevance annuelle selon les volumes de bois indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, le deuxième versement de la redevance annuelle est évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RA2F14 = (50% RAVBG1) - RA1F9
10 la redevance annuelle après renonciation servant à établir la deuxième facturation
11 la somme de l’opération effectuée pour chaque redevance annuelle de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire après renonciation
12 le volume de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, qui n’est pas visé par un plan d’aménagement spécial, auquel le bénéficiaire renonce entre le moment de la conclusion de son contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de sa garantie d’approvisionnement et le 15 août de l’année de récolte en cours
13 le volume de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, visé par un plan d’aménagement spécial, auquel le bénéficiaire renonce entre le moment de la conclusion de son contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de sa garantie d’approvisionnement et le 15 août de l’année de récolte en cours
14 la redevance annuelle payable lors de la deuxième facturation
À la fin de l’année de récolte, le bénéficiaire de la garantie d’approvisionnement a droit, à l’égard des bois visés par un plan d’aménagement spécial auxquels il renonce entre le 16 août et le 31 mars de l’année de récolte concernée, à un remboursement d’une partie de la redevance annuelle, évalué selon la méthode suivante:
RAARA2F15 = RAAR2F10 - Σe11 (VBReA2FPAS16) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]
PRAR17 = Σe11 (VBReA2FPAS16) [18% (VMTBSPFe4 / VBTFe5)]
Toutefois, si la redevance annuelle après renonciation après la deuxième facturation est inférieure à 50% de la redevance annuelle selon les volumes de bois indiqués à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, la partie de la redevance annuelle remboursée est évaluée selon la méthode suivante:
PRAR17 = (RA1F9 + RA2F14) - (50% RAVBG1)
15 la redevance annuelle après renonciation après la deuxième facturation
16 le volume de l’essence ou du groupe d’essences en cause, indiqué à la garantie d’approvisionnement du bénéficiaire, visé par un plan d’aménagement spécial, auquel le bénéficiaire renonce entre le 16 août et le 31 mars de l’année de récolte concernée
17 la partie de la redevance annuelle remboursée
D. 167-2013, a. 4; 725-2016D. 725-2016, a. 3
4.1. Lorsqu’il résilie une garantie d’approvisionnement pour un cas visé au paragraphe 3 du premier alinéa de l’article 109 de la Loi sur l’aménagement durable du territoire forestier (chapitre A-18.1) ou y met fin pour un cas visé au paragraphe 1 de l’article 112 de cette loi et que, à la suite de cette résiliation, le contrat de vente de bois sur pied acheté en application de cette garantie est résilié, le ministre rembourse au bénéficiaire de la garantie qui a fait l’objet de la résiliation la portion de la redevance annuelle correspondant au volume de bois que ce dernier pouvait encore récolter avant que ne soit résilié son contrat de vente de bois sur pied.
Le bénéficiaire à qui le ministre consent une garantie d’approvisionnement en cours d’année de récolte doit acquitter, pour cette année, une redevance annuelle correspondant au prorata des volumes de bois qu’il pourra acheter avant la fin de cette année. De plus, lorsque l’usine pour laquelle la garantie est consentie faisait l’objet d’une garantie ou en avait déjà fait l’objet et que la garantie résiliée l’a été dans les 12 mois de la date de la prise d’effet de la garantie consentie, le taux de la redevance annuelle que doit alors acquitter le bénéficiaire à qui le ministre consent une garantie d’approvisionnement en cours d’année de récolte est celui qui était applicable au bénéficiaire de la garantie résiliée au moment de cette résiliation.
5. La valeur marchande des bois sur pied achetés en application d’une garantie d’approvisionnement est évaluée le 1er avril de chaque année selon la technique de la parité applicable en matière d’évaluation foncière en comparant ces bois à des bois semblables dont le prix de vente est connu. Cette valeur s’exprime en dollars canadiens par mètre cube.
Les taux unitaires obtenus sur la base de cette évaluation sont indexés trimestriellement selon l’évolution des indices de prix des produits forestiers.
D. 167-2013, a. 5.
6. (Omis).
D. 167-2013, a. 6.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 167-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 922
D. 725-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 4841